Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa, Wellesbourne

Walton, Wellesbourne, CV35 9HG, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

A guest said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th April 2022

2 night stay in June 22. Room was excellent, nice view. Staff friendly and accommodating. Food good. Restaurant was busy (understaffed I was told) but they did their best and wait was acceptable in the cirstances. Would certainly book here again if coming to the area. If you're coming here to explore the area Warwick castle is a MUST. Great day out, bird of prey show exceptional (especially the young lad who 'acts out' the show.

A guest said...

50%
60%
20%
70%

Stayed 8th May 2022

Nice rooms , bar and restaurant. Lovelly setting Let down by bad management. Gardens / fountains in need of care and attention. Welcome mats outside rooms worn bare Every window in hotel is rotten I pushed a pencil through mine. Entry doors to corridor outside rooms rotten , safety / fire glass falling out of external doors. Rooms have window handles removed or are screwed shut as so rotten . 50% of staff incapable. 25% of hotel occupied by asylum seekers No kitchen staff meals slow and wrong ( ie chips coming out with starters ??) No waste bins anywhere on site

Linda Deez said...

57%
60%
50%
60%

Stayed 23rd April 2022

Not very clear communication as to how to get to our room..we were hastily given a map and told to drive to the hall..there was nothing at the hall to even give us a clue where our room was.. other visitors were also lost..no staff anywhere. The hall was very dated..smelt of damp and needs a lit of maintenance work ...the room was nice but there were cobweb in the heating vents...when driving on the road leading to hotel there were more than 10 large pot holes which nearly damaged our car...would not book here again as lacking in staff who could be bothered to help with our stay...definitely check where you are staying as the hall had no lift and you had to drive back to hotel for restaurant meals and breakfast!!

Timothy Harrison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th April 2022

Fantastic hotel, lovely location, great food and very helpful and polite staff. Excellent value for money.

S Cairns said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 15th April 2022

Disappointed with our stay. Thr rooms are needing updating. I do not think a sun sail at the window is the best. Paintwork is shabby. I had to ask for our room to be cleaned as someone spilt a drink all down the wall and it had been left. Tea/coffee was not topped up had to keep asking. Shower screen can only be moved in over towards the tap which meant you had to climb jnto the bath to turn the water on, crazy set up. The managers in dining room were apologetic, short of staff and the ones they did have were inexperienced. I was shocked to watch them setting the tables holding the cutlery by the end that goes in your mouth! Breakfast disappojnting, toaster only toasts one side of bread or it burns if you put it in twice. Scrambled egg looked burned and all mixed up. Very slow service, same menu for all 3 nights of our stay. Spa area, set times when children are allowed, no jacuzzi, steam room out of order, sauna could only fit 4 people in. Manager apologetic overall, I would not stay here again, over priced i thought, does have lovely grounds. If you arrive in the dark, there are huge pot holes, even in the passing bays, be VERY careful!

Lynne Towers said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th April 2022

We had an amazing time on our Easter weekend at Walton Hall, we did a dinner, bed and breakfast deal for both nights, we had a good choice for the evening meal and the food was fabulous and very well cooked and presented. We have stayed at this hotel before and will be staying again, very highly recommend for a tranquil, peaceful stay in beautiful countryside. The ladies spa changing rooms possibly could do with a face lift but perfectly clean

Rachel Green said...

50%
70%
10%
70%

Stayed 16th April 2022

We booked a twin room for a girls night away and we were given a double I went to change it and we were given another double do just kept it . The hotel itself is lovely and the food is great the service really needs a good shake up . The brvice took forever and the restaurant service was stressful.

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th April 2022

We had a very enjoyable 2 nights dbb. Beautiful setting in wonderful grounds and country side. The room was large, light with huge ensuite. The food and service was very good. We plan to return in the future, highly recommended.

Jason Medar said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th April 2022

Beautiful surroundings, lovely room, good food, Amazing Spa

Jason Medar said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th April 2022

Beautiful surroundings, lovely room, good food, Amazing Spa

Andrea Wilson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th April 2022

A lovely hotel with really great staff - so helpful ! Pool was very nice and the meal was brilliant.Fantastic grounds to walk round - we will be back !

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th April 2022

Enjoyable stay,staff friendly and helpful,food was lovely,room was nice and clean

Nicky Lees said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st April 2022

Lovely, relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings. Will definitely be back for more rest and relaxation!

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 19th March 2022

Great value break for a night away, the hotel was ok, the surroundings were amazing very tranquil and scenic. Food great , staff polite and efficient. Downside there was a very limited choice of dinner sittings due to a ‘coach party’ and the bar was very busy for one person until eventually they were assisted.

Wendy Richardson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th March 2022

Beautiful room views and food bed really comfy would definitely stay again

Kirsty Woodward said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th January 2022

Great service and nice hotel. Improvement points: Terrible sewerage smell in both reception and the main bar area that was reported to hotel staff not only by myself but also a number of other guests. Also, there was a 3 course meal included in the deal - please be aware there is a surcharge on steak (which is absolutely understandable) however I do feel this should be communicated in advance of ordering, this was not disclosed either verbally or on the provided menu.

helen smith said...

34%
0%
20%
80%

Stayed 17th February 2022

We had booked a one night stay but arrived early and had lunch in the bar. The hotel was nice and we checked in at 3pm. Most of the rooms you have to exit the hotel , walk to your room and go through an external door to get to a corridor to get to your room. Unfortunately we had a catalogue of annoyances. The first room we had the door key entry did not work, so after two trips to the reception we were moved to another room, after a swim in the pool, we went back to our room there was a humming sound coming from downstairs and the toilet was making a noise as it was running from the cistern all the time. We asked the to sort this before we had our dinner so we could go back to a nice quiet room after dinner. A nice dinner later wanting to relax in our room we couldn’t as nothing had been resolved. Back to reception and they said they would move us again, we then had to pack up our things and move to the third room of the day. After a nice quiet sleep, we went for a great breakfast, only to be locked out of our room on our return. Back to reception and another complaint. The duty manager came to our room and let us in. Three rooms is not what I expected and as most of the rooms are a four minute walk away fro the reception we were not happy at the number of times we had to go back and forth. Many apologies from the staff but it marred what I am sure would have been a nice stay. I am annoyed as the staff told me they had bedrooms closed for a long time. I am sure that they should have been checked before guests started arriving. In our case three rooms for a one night stay I was definitely not happy. No offer of a discount or free drink was made for our inconvenience. I was very unhappy and told them I was not happy at having to move all the time. It does not excuse that the rooms should have been checked and maintained before our stay.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st June 2021

We found the staff very helpful in all departments of the hotel.The room was fine with aircon, with all the coffee and tea items,we were aware before arrival we would have to replenish from reception. There was ample amounts of good quaiity food at Breakfast and Dinner,having a lunchtime snack could take a little time but we were there to relax so didn't bother us. Nice grounds to walk around,could do with a bit more attention,but we were aware that due to covid,maintenance would be limited. We would stay here again,no problem. Thank you to the staff for helping to enjoy our stay.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th June 2021

Just got back from overnight stay with my daughter, after reading reviews was really worried, but honestly from the drive into the premises everything was perfect. Room lovely and spacious, food excellent, staff excellent, nothing to much trouble for them. Pool lovely and grounds beautiful, was a really relaxing 24 hrs can’t wait to go back thank you to all staff.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd June 2021

We liked the pool and the breakfast. Room was spacious. Lovely grounds with lake.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th May 2021

Lovely setting, very quite, excellent shower. Bed was comfortable. Able to park close to room. Plenty of choice at breakfast. Dinner choice very limited although they did say they are going to increase the menu choice soon.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th June 2021

Very friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was good and the setting is fantastic. Also the room was available early so we checked in early which was a nice bonus!