Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Lumley Castle Hotel, Durham

Chester le Street, Durham, DH34NX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Louise Wallace said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2020

The castle and grounds are very impressive. We booked a castle state room which did not disappoint. Very spacious. Four poster bed. Wonderful. The food was good however as the hotel restaurant was busy (partly due to Eat our to Help out) we couldn’t get a table in the restaurant and had to eat in the bar. This spoiled the stay somewhat. The staff were very friendly and did all they could in the situation. However they were also extremely busy with the extra dinners. Worth a visit though.

Louise Wallace said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2020

The castle and grounds are very impressive. We booked a castle state room which did not disappoint. Very spacious. Four poster bed. Wonderful. The food was good however as the hotel restaurant was busy (partly due to Eat our to Help out) we couldn’t get a table in the restaurant and had to eat in the bar. This spoiled the stay somewhat. The staff were very friendly and did all they could in the situation. However they were also extremely busy with the extra dinners. Worth a visit though.

Kathy Pattinson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th September 2019

The room was fine, beds soft, comfortable, everything clean but the stand out for the Lumley was the staff. Denise and the morning wait staff ere exceptional. They couldn’t do enough to make your stay the best it could be! Thank you ladies and gentlemen .....you certainly did that!

Alison Taylor said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th August 2018

Lovely stay at a wonderful castle. Enjoyed the Grand Afternoon Tea in the Black Knight Restaurant. Had a room in the mews. A very quiet and tranquil area. Rooms not huge but you have everything you need and a good en-suite. Bedding and towels etc very luxurious. Only thing that was a nuisance is adjusting the shower. Really difficult to adjust the temperature and I wasted lots of water until I could actually get under the water. Fabulous breakfast in the morning. Plenty of parking.

P Witherwick said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th July 2018

What a gem of an hotel-food really tasty

A guest said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 16th December 2015

I brought my partner up as a birthday surprise to stay in what I can call an amazing castle, and we wasn't disappointed at all the look on the missus face made it all worth the while. I made comments to people and they decided to go up on Valentine's Day.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th January 2016

Really enjoyed the Five nights we spent. The girls were delighted. We also enjoyed the restaurant . The girls spent some time exploring the castle and enjoyed the experience. This was my third experience at the castle and the girls second. We will probably come back again.

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 10th January 2016

Just back from a overnight stay and Banquet really enjoyed it , we stayed in room 81 top of the house so to speak small room but very well laid out rather warm but we just turned radiator off , The room was accessed via two court yards quite a few steps down to second courtyard and to room and as my husband is disabled a little inconvenient but our fault for not stating this at time of booking ,having said that it was only one night so we managed , Very steep flight of stairs to the Banqueting suite but the very nice gentleman at reception took us up via the service lift and brought us back down again at the end of the evening , We found all staff pleasant and helpful. Banquet food not the best quality we have had but nice enough , I have a shell fish allergy and the fish course is served in a scallop shell but they went out of there way to serve mine in a dish just in case of cross contamination. Entertainment was amazing and so funny , very enjoyable experience