Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Tulloch Castle Hotel, Dingwall

Dingwall, Dingwall, IV159ND, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Ian Campbell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th October 2022

Room was very clean and comfortable with plenty tea and coffee, very quiet for a great sleep, we left before breakfast started but staff were still on hand to make us something, overall a great place to stay

lynne allison said...

27%
20%
30%
30%

Stayed 5th April 2022

It was ok, our room was very underwhelming after seeing the pictures. When we asked was that the only room, we were told that there were other rooms available but with a £90 charge! A bit steep, so clearly we were not given the best room available. The waiting staff at night was a young guy who clearly did not want to be there, mumbled under his mask, threw plates down and generally was rude. Breakfast I asked for poached eggs when they arrived they were still clearly uncooked.

A guest said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 23rd March 2022

Nice hotel but needing some updating and a lick of paint. Breakfast was fantastic but dinner menu could be updated as not a big selection to choose from. This hotel doesn’t have a lift. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Myra Shields said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2021

We had an amazing stay at the castle from start to finish. Every member of staff were very friendly, particularly Ross and Ryan. The ghost tour was very informative and we would love to visit again.

Billy McLarty said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2021

We had a lovely time at Tulloch Castle and would recommend a visit for anyone looking for a different experience on an overnight stay. The castle room was lovely, large bed, room great size and the bathroom had both bath and separate shower. The food was lovely and the menu had a good variety to choose from. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Staff pleasant. It was a great stay and we really enjoyed it. Great value using the voucher for Dinner, bed and breakfast.

Donna Lynne said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 15th October 2021

Hotel was lovely and full of character. The staff were wonderful and very welcoming. The downside was the bedroom, it was very simple, lack personal touch. It was freezing cold even with the heating on which they seem to control as it cuts out and comes on itself. I had to sleep with a jumper on. However the bathroom was beautiful and the heating was hot in there. At one point I even stood in bathroom to get a heat. Ordered breakfast by room service and it arrived cold , fry up food was all dried out whilst scrambled egg was watery so never ate. The dinner we had in the bar was lovely and the staff were very welcoming. So tyw hotel has highs and lows.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th October 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the food was excellent as was the service from the waiting staff. Everyone was very polite and helpful. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to our friends. It is a castle and the down side would be that there are lots of stairs to climb to the bedchambers and no lift.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2021

Arrived safely at Tulloch Castle after a bit of a search, not easily spotted, never saw a sign on the Main Road, however a very helpful lady in Tesco store gave us directions. The room we had was lovely though not much of a view given its elevated position. I have to follow a Gluten Free diet and it was no problem. On one night the Chef made a special sauce for the dish I had chosen which was delicious, thumbs up to Tulloch Castle for catering. We enjoyed our brief stay and would certainly go there again.

Robert Dixon said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th September 2021

Really enjoyed our night at Tulloch castle. Lovely really big room. Dinner and breakfast were very good.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th May 2021

Excellent service from staff. Good food and comfortable bedroom.

Douglas Cruden said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 27th April 2021

Spent 2 very good nights here, upgraded on check in to the Davidson suite, lovely big room as you come in from the front door, ground floor. Recently refurbished, nice decor, big bathroom, with shower & bath. Queen size bed ,couch, chairs, we even had a tree in the room. We ate in the hotel as we were b&b, food very good, good variety, as was breakfast, all in all, a wonderful 2 night break, recommended.

Douglas Cruden said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 27th April 2021

Spent 2 very good nights here, upgraded on check in to the Davidson suite, lovely big room as you come in from the front door, ground floor. Recently refurbished, nice decor, big bathroom, with shower & bath. Queen size bed ,couch, chairs, we even had a tree in the room. We ate in the hotel as we were b&b, food very good, good variety, as was breakfast, all in all, a wonderful 2 night break, recommended.

Amanda Anderson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th December 2020

Lovely stay, staff very welcoming and the food was good. Highly recommend the ghost tour!

Fiona Matthew said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2020

Had a wonderful 2 night stay. Social distancing measures were 1st class with hand sanitiser stations all over the hotel. Our room was huge and spotless. Evening meal was delicious, breakfast was amazing and plenty of choice. Staff were all lovely and so helpful. We will be back.

A guest said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 2nd October 2020

A relaxing break , in a hotel filled with character. Enjoyed the quality of our room, and the staff were very friendly and informative.

A guest said...

70%
50%
70%
90%

Stayed 9th October 2020

We found it difficult to find the hotel as there was no signs in the town for directions, and the satnav doesn't take you right to the hotel. On arrival I was early and asked was this a problem and was promptly told check in was 3pm with no offer of using the bar for a drink or coffee until the room was ready. When we got to the room I found curtains with big holes in them, a crack window repaired with selotape, a side table with scratches and paint on it and the walls were marked and scuffed. We were very disappointed in this 4 star hotel. At breakfast the next the next morning we asked for toast that never arrived. I have to say the service from the rest of the staff during the rest of our stay was excellent.

linda wallace said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th September 2020

Beautiful hotel with lots of historical charm. Rooms, bed, pillows and bathroom all perfectly comfortable. Staff extremely helpful and accommodating. Waiting staff very attentive. We felt extremely safe during our stay with all current Covid regulations being met. Would d definitely recommend this hotel.

A guest said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 20th August 2020

Enjoyed our stay. Restaurant staff and reception staff were efficient and pleasant. Bespoke Hotels need to up their game on decoration of hotel interior. Fire doors in the corridors need a good clean and a coat of paint. Turret Restaurant alcove ceiling badly damaged with what looks like water damage and not something you want to look at when having a meal.Do not think it justifies the charge per room, compared to other hotels in myhotelbreaks portfolio. Will not stay at this hotel again.

DUNCAN FERGUSON said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th November 2019

Lovely old hotel and with this in mind ,am aware of difficulty in heating. However the corridors were nice and warm but the room was chilly, a small heater was provided but quite ineffective with the high ceilings. The lighting in the bedroom was very poor. Would suggest secondary double glazing - reducing the heat loss and saving money. Also should do away with the single use plastic toileteries . I would still go back despite this as it is very atmospheric and I prefer old hotels.

A guest said...

57%
50%
50%
70%

Stayed 20th October 2019

Room was absolutely FREEZING even though this was a castle I would have thought that there would be heating of some sort , the radiator in the room was badly needing bled, was hot at top but not at the bottom , there was a towel heater on the wall in bathroom also an old style radiator, both were either for decoration or were turned of as there was absolutely no heat eminating from them , if the heating was working there might have been less condensation dripping from the windows. The shower was ok , but the glass door should be longer to stop the floor from being completely soaked & thus becoming dangerous ( someone could slip on the flooring). Also the dado rail around the walls in the bedroom were thick with dust , dnt think it had been dusted in months. Food was ok but could do with more selection for meals in the restaurant, there was a better selection in the bar menu, breakfast was fine plenty to choose from .Staff were fine & pleasant. Location was fine as long as you had a car , (at the top of a steep hill ). Would I return ?? Maybe but the heating problem needs to be addressed.

James Clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th April 2018

The staff were very welcoming at Tulloch Castle. We had a beautiful room with a very large bed. It was clean and well furnished. There was a good selection on the menu and the steak and ale pie was the best I have tasted. Would stay here again.

Jeffrey Thornhill said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th March 2018

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night to celebrate our Anniversary.The castle was very atmospheric.Room was quite small but had everything we needed and a lovely newly refurbished bathroom.The staff were all quite young but very friendly and efficient. Dinner on Saturday night was superb and breakfast was well cooked and lots of choice.Fantastic value for money.All in all a lovely break.

Carol Ross said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th January 2018

Had a 2 night BB break, with dinner on first night and bottle of wine in the room. We book this to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were not sure what to expect as some reviews were mixed. But were very pleasantly surprised. Main reception had a lovely big coal fire going when we arrived on after a very snowy journey. The room was lovely, although a bit cold when we first arrived. But both heaters were off, as the large pipe feeding the radiators was hot,so when radiator was turned on it heated quickly. Meals were good. We also had a meal on second evening. Staff were attentive and friendly. Had a really lovely weekend and would (already have) recommended it to friends and family. As it is an old building. Some areas are a little chilly. But only in stairs or corridors, so not a problem. Take warm clothes if staying in winter.

kathleen bain said...

100%
N/A
100%
100%

Stayed 19th April 2016

On arriving at the castle we where met with a wonderful building. The inside was stunning , staff and service great , our dining experience lovely. Unfortunately our room let the whole experience down. While we booked a small double with a shower! As we were only staying one night. I feel the room didn't serve the purpose to which it was meant for. The shower had so little water coming through I could not shower, the shower curtain had bad mould on it, and the sink which was in bedroom (that didn't bother me) although the tap was so loose I had to turn it and hold it while I used it. I feel if the room had been slightly better my stay would have been that more enjoyable.

heather anderson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th April 2015

My stay was fine. I felt the outside areas could have been tidied up a bit in the central courtyard .