Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Billesley Manor Hotel, Alcester

, Alcester, B496NF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Sarah Higman said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 21st October 2018

Reception staff could have been a bit friendlier, but all the waiting and bar staff were excellent. Parts of the hotel could do with a little freshening up but overall very good, and our room was nice too. Spacious and clean with a huge comfy bed. I have a lot of dietary restrictions (no gluten, dairy or egg) which was difficult to manage at breakfast as there were very few free from alternatives. The chef managed to provide a nice dinner on the first night which met my requirements, but think it may have been a different chef the second night as it wasn't particularly good. Overall a very pleasant stay, would recommend, but please give some attention to the 'free from' options available

Andrew Webster said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th October 2018

Excellent service and great food. Sometimes noise from events can be a little disruptive

julie smith said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 10th October 2018

On the whole a Nice hotel, but on check in I was advised there was no lift and the staircase extremely steep and its spl shape, no good when your on crutches and no offer of having our room changed to a ground floor one, it took me ages to get up the stairs and left me in considerably more pain than i was already in! Yes i know its an old building probably listed and thats why a lift cannot be fitted but surely an offer of a downstairs room would of been nice! Our room was ok, I wouldn’t say there was anything fantastic about it though, it was dirty in places, spiders and a huge amount of ladybirds! Room was stifling hot, there was no fan in there, opening the windows only invited more bugs and ladybirds in! The television kept making funny noises too lol The bathroom looked nice, jacuzzi bath and separate shower, however the bath was dirty and there was hairs in it, the shower needed a good clean too, very small for a tall person, water pressure was terrible! The complimentary toiletries were all sticky where they have quite obviously been refilled and spilt down the sides. Onto the restaurant, what can I say, the waiter was lovely (Levente) very pleasant, pulled my chair out for me, brought us water and explained the menu to us, what we didn’t expect was the miniscule portions we received, the chicken was lovely but we sat there thinking the waiter was going to bring us potatoes and or veggies but nope, it was basically a small chicken breast cut into 3 with 3 miniature carrots and when i say miniature i mean it they were microscopic, and the most ridiculously bit of cauliflower we’ve ever seen it was like a small floret had been shaved into slithers and we received one slither on the plate! The dessert was the best bit, the cheesecake was lovely however it was supposed to be lime flavoured but we couldn’t taste the lime. I slept terribly the room was still stifling hot and I was in pain from climbing mount everest again (the staircase) and quite noisy. Come breakfast time we arrived to be greeted by staff who looked as miserable as sin! It was a buffet style breakfast, nothing to write home about, edible but thats about it! For £120 the night i expected it to be a lot better than it was, especially as it is supposed to be a bespoke 4 star hotel! By morning I was still in a lot of pain, so after breakfast we checked out, when almost £40 had been added to my bill which certainly wasn’t mine, receptionist did take it off though without complaint. Overall I left tired and in more pain than normal, quite spoilt my partners birthday, I don’t think we will be returning, sorry!

Mandy Williamson said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th March 2018

Booked just one night for husbands birthday. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with half tester bed, very in-keeping with the age of the building. Lovely view of the garden. Dinner was very good, emphasis more on quality than quantity. After dinner served my husband with plate of fruit and chocolate with Happy Birthday written in chocolate - nice touch. Breakfast ok, seemed low on some breakfast items. All staff were efficient and attentive. Will certainly be back.

Maureen Bancroft said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th November 2017

We were very warmly welcomed. The hotel building is impressive. The decor throughout was quite dated, whilst I appreciate it has to be in keeping with the building, it was crying out for some updating. The food was really tasty, service was slow and our dessert took for ever to arrive. The staff did apologise. Breakfast again was tasty, hot plates provided and the buffet food was hot. Definitely would return if the occasion arose in the future.

A guest said...

57%
70%
50%
50%

Stayed 12th November 2017

Room was nice but not as good as I would of expected for a 4*hotel superior. Inclusive evening meal is very limited with only a couple of choices for each course. The service was polite but we waited a good ten minutes before even being offered a drink. Food was well presented but we did comment on the squid risotto being bland and tasteless. Breakfast was good and if we stayed again we would probably do bed and breakfast basis only.

Anthony Bryant said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2017

Despite a wedding reception going on during our stay, service at dinner and breakfast was excellent. Superior room in the main building was a little tired but very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Standard room at other end of building overlooking topiary garden was a better standard but smaller. Overall a really nice stay. Great food. Excellent leisure club.

John Brown said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 2nd April 2017

We spent a very pleasant couple of days at Billesley Manor in beautiful early Spring sunshine. The DB&B package that we purchased through My Hotel Break was vey good value, enhanced by the room upgrade that we received. The hotel is in a lovely location and if you are interested in such things, is on the site of a medieval plague village. The hotel has a few rough edges but it would be churlish to complain to much. The dining experience was mixed, dinner was excellent and the staff charming but the kitchen went into melt down at breakfast. The spa and pool area was nice and the grounds were well maintained. There is plenty of local interest with Stratford and several NT properties close by. Overall a great choice for a mini break.

Alistair powell said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th March 2017

What can I say, we only stayed for one night. But we couldn't fault the place. We stayed in room 15, which wasn't a room it was an apartment. Although it looked a little tired we could not have asked for anymore. We proceeded to sample the bar late afternoon then took a little swim in the spa. Later on the night we went down to the restaurant which was booked the day before over a phone call from the lovely girl on reception. The 3 course meal was spot on and a lovely bottle of wine. Overall we could not fault the place, the service was excellent. We will be returning.

Stephanie Rudge said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd March 2017

A lovely stay at Billesley, staff and service were excellent and food lovely - although if you have a large appetite you may find portions too small, we love it as we can have all courses!! The room we had was nice but needed some tlc, decorating needed and there was some noise from the next room as it had a connecting door with ours - think reception should advise of this when checking in. Also, booking with my hotel break, we were told there would be wine in the room on arrival - this was not the case although when we asked at reception they said they would sort it out - we returned to our room later after a drink in the bar and a stroll in the grounds, and it was still not provided. I called reception and they did get it bought to us. All in all, a lovely stay and we will have no hesitation in re-visiting.

A guest said...

54%
70%
30%
60%

Stayed 2nd December 2016

The main thing that let's this hotel down is the customer service (or lack of it!) They need to be reminded who is the paying customer!

A guest said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2016

Character of the building throughout was lovely. Room was stylish and bed very comfortable. By daylight the grounds also looked great and very well maintained. Breakfast choice was very good.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th October 2016

Breakfast was wonderful. The room was spacious and beautifully presented, with a lovely view of the topiary garden.

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 30th October 2016

Lovely hotel, stunning grounds, friendly bar staff and tasty breakfast

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st November 2016

My friends, family and I stayed as a hen party, looking for a quality and relaxing stay and we weren't disappointed! We had an over night stay with a treatment, afternoon tea, 3 course dinner, and breakfast for what I would say is very good value for money given the quality of our stay. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The spa facil were great, and yes it was busy around the pool etc but that just shows how lovely it was, everyone wanted to make the most of it. The rooms were very comfortable and the food was delicious- top marks! The best bit was the staff who from start to finish were the most polite, helpful and welcoming I've ever experienced. Not one employee walked past you without saying hello. They couldn't do enough for you, especially Jaryd who went above and beyond helping some of us with the bags when he saw us crossing the car park and hand delivered the meal to a room when one of our party were unwell. I will definitely be returning

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th November 2016

What a wonderful hotel retaining its very old history. The staff were well trained and caring and particularly so in the restaurant where we were served an excellent a la carte evening meal and hearty breakfast. We have stayed here a couple of times in the past. Its a very relaxing hotel, with good food and spa/pool which this time we made full use of. The hotel management went out of it way and allocated us what was probably the best and largest bedroom suites in the hotel, a four poster bed and an enormous bathroom. All facil provides, ie, bathrobes, tea/coffee and a large basket of quality soft towels. This is one to recommend and return to.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th October 2016

Booked Billesley Manor last minute on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. We were given a great room with views over the amazing gardens. The bathroom was clean and modern. The pool area is a little old fashioned but was warn clean and well looked after with a sauna and steam room. The DBB deal was given a limited but well cooked dinner and a good buffet style breakfast. If you are looking for a 5 star luxury country house hotel that's probably a bit too much of an ask for Billesley Manor Some of the staff obviously lacked training and a bar that can't make a Bloody Mary A ; Because they didn't know how and B; The didn't have the ingredients was not a good sign. But the hotel and its grounds are beautiful and steeped in history. At the price we paid for our stay the Hotel represented excellent value for money and I will definitely stay again.