Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Duke Of Gordon Hotel, Kingussie

Newtonmore Rd, Kingussie, PH211HE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Heather Mullen said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th September 2020

Lovely two night stay with four course dinner and cooked breakfast each morning. Set in the beautiful landscape of Kingussie, just a stone’s throw away from the railway station and a gorgeous 1800’s barracks walk. Would recommend to families and friends to go stay for a relaxing break.

Leanne Mitchell said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2020

The hotel room was a bit dated and could have been done with a coat of paint, the bathroom was very small But apart from that everything else was really good, the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Overall we would recommend staying here.

irene cranston said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st September 2020

This was a really nice hotel with nice large rooms with king size beds. It was located in the centre of Kingussie and what was there was all in walking distance. The staff were excellent and the service was excellent too but the best part of this hotel is the quality of the food. The chef should be complimented on his quality of food, the presentation of food and the amount of food. I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend this hotel for a lovely comfortable stay with good service, good staff and good food.

C Haddow said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th September 2020

Just back from a 3 night break at this hotel. Our room was spacious and clean. Staff were helpful and welcoming. We had 4 course evening meal in the resturant which was excellent value for money. Restrictions were In place for covid which was expected. Would return and recommend to others.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st September 2020

We had a very enjoyable stay with the hotel following all guidelines for the restrictions at present . Food was excellent with the menu changing each night for dinner

Pauline Collins said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2019

Lovely hotel. Room 423 good size. Reception staff , bar staff, and restaurant staff very helpful. Beautiful dining room. Meals excellent and bar meals lovely. Would recommend hotel to family and friends.

Fiona Grieve said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th May 2018

We had a lovely break away for my birthday. Dinner was really good, 4 courses plus coffee! And to top it all there wad a ceilidh in the ballroom! A wonderful evening.

Monica Payne said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th April 2018

Had a really enjoyable stay.

ADELE MCGUFFIE said...

40%
40%
50%
30%

Stayed 11th April 2018

Staff overall very nice. We had dinner on first night included and were surprised to find it was a buffet later to realise we were put in with a bus tour. ( we were expecting a nice hot dinner- mainly a cold buffet) We were not offered an alternative which I later saw we could have eaten in the bar. Room large and clean but window screwed shut - big sign on window telling you that. Room could do with some tlc, damp round windows etc. Brilliant shower. Having paid £270 for the 2 nights I honestly felt it was overpriced, I wanted to complain but I don’t like doing it .

Mary Allison said...

20%
20%
20%
20%

Stayed 10th February 2018

Food very poor standard Had to be moved room no hoer coming from shower. Had to have Dinner 6.30 on the Saturday night Around a function that was on. Did not think this was very considerate towards other quests. We should be advised when booking this could happen.

Henry Campbell said...

84%
90%
70%
90%

Stayed 1st July 2016

FOOD WAS GREAT . ROOM WAS GREAT .

john barclay said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th February 2016

Enjoyed our stay.Ambience of hotel and decor very good. appreciated a comfy bed and two good chairs in a roomy bedroom.

ALEXANDER KEENAN said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 31st October 2015

Hotel a little dated but otherwise friendly staff and good service

A Fenix said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th September 2015

Carpets in bedrooms could do with a clean.

John Hutchison said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th August 2015

Had a very enjoyable stay with our Canadian friends in August. Suite of rooms excellent!

Sisir Banerjee said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2015

Good food and very accommodating for special needs for allergy sufferers. Nice layout etc. Likely to book again Good value for money.

Alexander Surrie said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd May 2015

First rate most enjoyable

Martin Bird said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th April 2015

Great stay - always enjoyable entertainment in lovely lounge - We got great room overlooking town garden - lovely Staff always welcoming Really like how hotel is using Scottish soap in bathrooms!! Really nice touch - great for tourism - would make me buy!!

Michael Roberts said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th April 2015

We were hoping for a relaxing break for a couple of days. We got one. The food was enjoyable and the buffet on Saturday was excellent. The staff were very helpful and efficient. Great location with plenty to do and see.

David Thompson said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th April 2015

Big Modern room, staff very friendly and well organised.

M Prentice said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th February 2015

A cosy,friendly hotel with good food. This is our 5th stay here.

Henry Melrose said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th September 2014

very enjoyable stay.corridor carpets could do with an update!

Karen Paterson said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Lovely weekend hotel welcoming and staff friendly. Had a ground floor room which was handy although bathroom small had everything we needed and beds comfortable.

John Brown said...

50%
70%
40%
40%

Stayed 24th May 2014

we travelled independantly but were included in two bus parties. Initially we were told we had to wait until our table number could have access to the buffet dinner. No drinks service in the dining room due to the bus parties. Food not great at all. Bar staff young and very unprofessional.