Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carberry Tower Mansion House & Estate, Musselburgh

Carberry Tower Estate, Musselburgh, EH218PY, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

Norma Stevenson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th October 2019

Fantastic stay at a unique hotel with a lovely location, great food and friendly staff.

veronica gilmartin said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th July 2019

Had a fantastic stay at the Carberry tower, lovely upgrade of room, would definitely recommend

Sharon Kerrigan said...

77%
100%
60%
70%

Stayed 5th July 2019

The grounds were fantastic and the suite second to none but had issues with restaurant only serving one main course, not serving bottles of beer for 15+ minutes and then attempting to charge us full price despite having a dinner deal with the room. We were then almost charged an extra £100 upon check out as they did not see the £100 voucher I included at time of booking. Really lovely place but spoiled by some carelessness.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd June 2019

Amazing hotel, it can’t be missed, it is only 25 minute by car from Edinburgh.We stayed in the Royal Suite, what an amazing room, for queens and kings :). And the food, I do not have words to say, compliments to the chef. Staff extremely polite and helpful who says this hotel is different it is lying for sure.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st May 2019

Beautiful estate! Each room had it's own personality and charm. Loved the manicured gardens and grounds. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Super clean. Staff very welcoming. Highly recommend. Would definitely stay here again

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th June 2019

We chose Carberry Tower as our stay to unwind before our flight home from Edinburgh. It is about 45 minutes from EDI, but the quiet calmness of the property was well worth it. Breakfasts were very pleasant, full menu, staff was excellent. Restaurant was a bit cramped and loud when large groups were present, but the staff did their best to accommodate and serve throughout. Food was excellent. Or room was small, but very comfortable and efficient. Recently remodeled, so the bathroom with shower was very nice. WiFi is very good throughout. There is one very small lift that was added in 2008 and was much appreciated, as we were on the 3rd floor. The second floor rooms are named after royal family visitors that have stayed. The Queen Mum’s Family occupied previous to conversion. Grounds are beautiful and walkable. Lots of public rooms on Ground floor for relaxing and a whiskey bar for tasting. Reception staff were very capable and pleasant. We would certainly be pleased to revisit our stay

Debbie louise Rafferty said...

64%
80%
70%
40%

Stayed 15th February 2019

Very nice and welcoming, staff were all very pleasant and helpful food was acceptable could have been better... lacked seasoning. Would go back but may eat elsewhere. Breakfast service was not great . Had to wait 15 minutes for bacon , I didn’t receive an apology which was not great.

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 25th June 2018

Very nice indeed. Was upgraded to suite. Staff very welcoming.

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 18th December 2016

we were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel,it was like visiting some ones lovely grand home but still had a comfy feel to it, our very large bedroom with four poster bed was great.We booked in the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent as was the breakfast would certainly stay again

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th January 2017

Fabulous building. Comfortable room and bed. Friendly staff. Good food.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2017

excellent food and comfortable lounges (many of them) staff working hard to be professional

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th February 2017

We had the most wonderful three days at Carberry Tower on one of their deals, we extended our stay by another night on Valentines due to the reasonable rate offered for a DBB package, we stayed in the Bowes Lyon Suite and it was fantastic, everything was good, the food in the bistro was also well worth the eating. Great walks around the estate and North Berwick is not far, for great beach walks. We also went to Tentallon Castle which is well worth the visit.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th March 2017

Another superb visit to Carberry Tower, this time with friends. Rooms spacious and very well appointed with lovely views over the Estate. Staf very friendly and attentive. Food in the Campaign Bistro was excellent and beautifully presented. Look forward to another visit in the not too distant future. Would thoroughly recommend Carberry Tower.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th March 2017

Myself and my boyfriend spent a fantastic two nights at Carberry. The building itself is amazing, with plenty of rooms to wander around and then sit and have a drink in. We were in a classic room, which was a good size...massive bathroom! Tea, coffee, water, hairdryer all provided as well as a really good information pack. The estate itself gives a really good walk taking you to a few historic view points. The area is very peaceful resulting in an excellent nights sleep. We experienced lots of food at Carberry. We had an afternoon tea on arrival, dinner and breakfasts both mornings. Everything was lovely, the dinner's especially, well cooked and reasonably priced. Breakfast included with continental options and a full Scottish breakfast on offer with haggis and tatti scones included! The staff are friendly and very quick to get things sorted as needed. Overall I found the castle and stay even better than expected! Note it is also easy to get into Edinburgh, around 30 minutes driving. We took Uber's which cost around £15 each way.