Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Muthu Ben Doran Hotel , Tyndrum

, Tyndrum, FK20 8RZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

72%

David Devoy said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2021

We spent a very enjoyable night in Tyndrum at the Muthu Ben Doran Hotel. Finding the way in from the main A82 can be a bit of a challenge, especially in the dark. There is a sign but the best advice I could give would be to look out for the Tyndrum Lower Rail Station sign then take a shrp right as you turn down the road. The staff ware very friendly and welcoming, the rooms were comfortable and the meals were good value.

Marian Barker said...

67%
80%
50%
70%

Stayed 9th September 2021

Out of 8 nights in Scotland this was the most disappointing stay. The hotel itself was gorgeous but the staffing levels were obviously very low which impacted on the service provided. Our room wasn't ready on arrival and we were given a twin room instead of a double. As we were already tired by our journey we just accepted the room without quibbling. A number of guests told us that service in the dining room was poor and they were going to eat elsewhere. The food was good but the service poor. Breakfast could have been better if there had been hot plates to put our food on.

A guest said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th September 2021

Hello, we have just returned from a lovely stay at Ben Doran Hotel. Staff were really friendly and helpful, food was lovely and really big portions. I would say the bedrooms need a bit of modernising now as they do not match the lovely building and reception area which are very modern. However we enjoyed our stay.

Karen cosgrove said...

47%
20%
100%
20%

Stayed 15th December 2018

The hotel staff especially Chris in reception were a credit to the hotel, Chris went over & above to make our stay memorable & for that were very grateful ? On the downside the rooms were very tired & the good was forgettable ( sorry) but in general the hotel was lovely.

VINCENZO Brizzi said...

37%
30%
30%
50%

Stayed 10th June 2018

Staff pleasant but Sorry hotel very basic won't stop again

Brian McLaren said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd December 2017

Room heating controlled by management. Not satisfactory.

Laura Mcleod said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th December 2017

Really good stay. Despite multiple coaches booked in the hotel was quiet. Rooms clean but basic. Staff worked so hard. Meal on our 2nd night ran like a military operation. 10/10 for staff. Would recommend and would return via my hotel break as best value by far......

edward wilkinson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd December 2017

Lovely spacious room. Food well above average. Entertainment surprisingly good. Staff professional enough. Excellent value for money. Only let down were staff when finishing shift late at night talking loudly outside back door which kept us awake for quite a while.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd December 2017

Very nice hotel in a lovely little village. Rooms a bit outdated but clean, warm and with everything you need. Drink prices reasonable and staff pleasant and helpful. Enjoyed our 3 course meal. Not a huge portion at breakfast but sufficient.

Charles McGill said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st December 2017

Most enjoyable break in an excellent hotel. The quality of the service and the food was remarkable in what was an inexpensive break away. Our room on the ground floor overlooking the gardens (albeit winter time) was way beyond the standard we expected and the public rooms, bar area and restaurant reflected an environment offering real value for money. The staff were superb. From reception welcome and check-out to brvice and especially restaurant service no-one we encountered let down their team and were indeed a credit to Muthu Hotels. God help us all if a hard Brexit kicks in and these workers have to return to Eastern Europe as it would be a hard push to replace them with British youngsters displaying the same attention to excellence. I'm not trying to make a political point, just stating a sad fact IMO.

IC Holloway said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th November 2017

Pleasant and friendly staff

David Thompson said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th November 2017

We had a good room with a fantastic view. In general the hotel feels a little dated and is clearly set up for Coach parties thereby benefitting from volume and managing costs tightly. This certainly explained the very attractive price that we paid for DBB. The food was of very high standard considering the price paid. The hotel staff were all very welcoming and helpful. We will return

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th November 2017

Very pleasantly surprised. Room was spacious, clean and very well equipped, food although quite basic was extremely well cooked and the service was all you would expect from very pleasant staff. Would not hesitate to stay again.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th November 2017

Really enjoyed stay at Ben Doran Hotel The food and staff were excellent, as was the hotel and the grounds A really great MyHotelBreak deal

A guest said...

50%
70%
30%
50%

Stayed 11th November 2017

Room was ok but were wakened by noises above at 5.30am. Liked the bath robes. No hair drier. Great location. Hard to understand restaurant staff. Food could have been hotter. Overall a bit disappointed ??

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th November 2017

A cosy and friiendly hotel that we will definitely return to in the future,It is in a beautiful location surrounded by snow capped mountains with the West Highland Way on the doorstep.

ina o'brien said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th November 2017

Very pleasantly surprised, fabulous value for money on the special break price , will definitely recommend to friends and family, can't wait for next special break, hope next time we can have two days.

samuel mcculloch said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th November 2017

Staff very helpful, rooms bit tired but hotel very clean Food ok no complaints good deal at rate we booked Would return anytime

Gus Rennie said...

54%
60%
30%
70%

Stayed 4th November 2017

No clear route into hotel, it was dark when we arrived and there was nothing to indicate where the hotel was situated. Christmas decorations all I’ve hotel and Christmas music being played on the 4th and 5th of November? Shown to table at breakfast sat for 15 minutes and hadn’t been asked if we wanted tea or coffee or even if we wanted breakfast.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st October 2017

My heart sank. After booking and I saw all the negative reviews on TripAdvisor. My trepidation was not improved when I saw the fleet of Heritage Coaches in the car park. But, the pleasant, efficient receptionist took our details, asked what time we wished to book for dinner and breakfast and advised us of checkout time before directing us to our room. Our twin room was clean, warm with all the necessary facil, plus extra touches of slippers, gowns, shortbread and our pre ordered bottle of wine. Dinner was a treat. Although the dining room was with a coach party, we were seated away. Service was prompt, well presented and well cooked food. Staff were again efficient, attentive and polite. Following dinner, an added bonus was the evening entertainment and a very reasonable bar bill. The very substantial breakfast was a similar experience to dinner. We checked out after having paid just £59. Usually in life, you get what you pay for, sometimes you get even more, this time we did. The experience was a delight. Thank you.

A guest said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st June 2017

The location was brilliant.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th June 2017

Great location in village of Tyndrum. Very friendly staff. Understand Hotel is now under new ownership. Should be a good stop over for Highland High Way walkers

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2017

A really great place for a holiday with stunning views all around. The rooms were very clean and well serviced. There were flowers everywhere and were all well looked after. The meals were excellent and could not be faulted. The staff were delightful and very friendly. We had a small problem requiring a hospital visit which the management sorted out very efficiently and even phoned us after we left for home to make sure we had arrived safely.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th May 2017

This was our second visit to the Ben Doran Hotel. Had a lovely welcome and quickly settled in.Soon was to learn from posters and info in reception area that the hotel group is now under new management..MGM Muthu Hotels,there is a picture of the new chairman in the reception area. We enjoyed meals,thought choices were nice and they catered for most people,if you had dietary issues ,just have a word with restaurant team....Staff were lovely and very obliging,some I remembered from my previous visit..We had a lovely sunset one evening,so glass of wine in hand we sat in the gardens and enjoyed the lovely views and flowers that surround this hotel..Wishing Ian Cleaver a very happy well deserved retirement,and welcome Muthu Group..So glad that the staff are being retained ,and I look forward to many more holidays in the Highlands.

A guest said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 23rd March 2017

This was a trip organised by my elderly parents and I tagged along to help due to their poor health. The negative comments I have read seem to me to be based on unrealistic expectations. The staff are lovely, hard working and caring. The meals are at fixed times and, as they are feeding so many, may seem a little rushed. I felt they went like clockwork and were efficient. My father took ill whilst here and Carina the Manager sought us out to see what she could do. It feels a little like a family holiday as many guests have come back time and again and are very friendly. The entertainment was fun. Bit of Scottish humour, music from parents' era, dancing (incl Dad with his walking stick!). I was probably the youngest here but enjoyed myself very much. These 'oldies' know how to have fun.