Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Castletown Hotel, Castletown

Main St, Castletown, KW148TP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th October 2020

A truly lovely little hotel in Castletown near Thurso. Fresh decor and new carpets when we visited made it an extra pleasure. The room was cosy and the power shower was fab. Free WiFi for use, and a newsagent behind if you want extras for your room. Tea and coffee and biscuits provided. Comfy bed and linen. The food was delicious. Hubby had the steak and was raving about it. Cleared the plate quickly. Staff were a delight and couldn't do enough for you.

S Porter said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2019

Hotel had a fire some time ago, the car park was like a building site.The room was quite small and not what you would expect for the price they charged. Breakfast and evening meals were first class

martin samson said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th December 2016

Castletown Hotel is a small Scottish Hhtel, clean and comfortable but with no gretat airs or graces. The rooms were clean, warm and adequately equipped for a short stay. The bed was comfortable. The hoer was aittle erractic but eventually cme through OK. We ate in the bar which had a nice warm coal fire. The food was excellent, fresh and well cooked, and the portions were very large. Breakfst was served in the dining room buffet style with hot food also offered cooked to order. The staf were all very friendly and helpful. All in all a very pleasant stay.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd October 2016

Comfy room if a little noisy with traffic early morning. Good food and friendly staff, good value.

Bill Thomas said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable stay,the food was exceptional and the receptionist was lovely,so easy to talk to and able to deal with our booking,will certainly stay there again.

rachel miller said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 21st May 2015

Stayed 3 nights, very quiet, lovely walk to the beach not far from hotel. Staff all lovely and friendly, food fantastic and not overpriced. Room very comfortable, clean. Would definitely go back.

Mary Nelson said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th October 2014

We had a lovely 4 day stay at hotel. Room was basic but very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Food was excellent, especially breakfast which included fresh fruit and yoghurt, porridge and cereals, and full cooked selection. Dinner choice very good. If possible try to include a Sunday in your stay as carvery lunch or dinner is absolutely superb. Amazing choice of roasts and accompanying veg and trimmings second to none. Desserts to die for. Overall, extremely good quality and value. I will be back.

Stewart Warburton said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2014

Town centre hotel. Old but well looked after. Staff friendly and efficient. Food excellent. Good breakfast.

Elaine MacKinnon said...

44%
40%
30%
60%

Stayed 21st April 2014

On arrival at this two star hotel we were given a very poor welcome. The receptionist and waitress kept talking to each other about their next day off and hardly acknowledged us. We were told to sign a form but not told what we were signing for. The same waitress was unable to answer any of our questions due the rest of our stay e.g. What money allowance did we have from our DBB booking against the menu. The room was basic, dated, but very clean. Lots of hot water in the ensuite. The breakfasts were very good with lots of lovely fresh fruits followed by a traditional Scottish cooked breakfast. The chef Andrew did a marvellous job and was extremely friendly offering us lots of local advice. Breakfast in the morning was in the dining room but all other meals were in the bar where the tables were not too clean looking and felt tacky possibly due to the cleaning materials used. The evening chef also did a good job but the menu choice was very limited. The hotel offered a reasonable rate and was a good base from which to travel east and west but overall we wouldn't return preferring a higher quality hotel.

Ann Richardson said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 14th April 2014

Very good value for money. Bedrooms/ bathrooms clean and food was of a good standard. Staff all very friendly and helpful. To improve upon grading some decoration required.

graham nisbet said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th May 2012

good value for money. Staff all very nice. A good small hotel with standards

Hotel reply...

Thanks for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, kind regards Andy Mackay and all the team