Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Briery Wood Country House Hotel, Windermere

Ambleside Road, Windermere, LA23 1ES, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

95%

Jim Wilson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th June 2019

We stayed in one of the garden rooms which had recently been refurbished to an extremely high standard. The hotel was spotless and the staff were all very pleasant and friendly. We will definitely stay here again

Sharon Rudge said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2019

Excellent hotel, lovely cream tea and breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. A very enjoyable stay.

Jack Longbottom said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2018

We went on a special offer and was delighted with the hotel and the extras on the deal. Our room had been recently refitted and was really superb, all the finishing touches and top quality fixtures and fittings. The hotel has really high standards and well maintained, staff were friendly and attentive along with efficient. We missed out on the extra day deal and were disappointed, but fully appreciated what we did have. The breakfast was really good with lots of choice and lots on our plates. We did not have dinner in the restaurant, as the menu was not to our choosing on this particular day, but do not be put off by that, I am sure others would have been well pleased with the menu and the meal. The normal price may be more than I would normally pay, but next time in the area I will certainly look at booking here. Full marks for everything we had.

Brian Murphy said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th September 2018

Lovely hotel. Good food . Dining room would benefit from softer lighting for evening meals and some background music. Maybe even a candle or two to help create atmosphere. Our room was very large and had everything we needed. Housekeeping was excellent. Only complaint was the last night of our stay we were told we had to have our coffee out with the public bar area because it was busy with people from a conference which was going on in the hotel, not very pleased as we had already changed our dinner time to suit and were then told again that we would have to wait until conference people had been fed (they were late) ! Also husband had to send undercooked fish back to kitchen. We did however have a lovely stay but the last night did take the shine off it a wee bit!

Barbara Lloyd said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2018

Hotel was in a great location and room was lovely.Staff very friendly and helpful and bar and lounge area comfortable and bar well stocked.Food was exceptional both at dinner and breakfast.Will definitely stay again

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th September 2017

Excellent value for money, great comfortable rooms with powerful shower.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th September 2017

The staff should be commended for their helpful and positive attitude - we felt very comfortable and at home from the start. Also the breakfast was excellent, great choice and beautifully cooked local food.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th September 2017

Excellent hotel and food, staff are lovely can not fault this hotel excellent value, will definitely be staying here again. Next time will be taken our pet as this hotel is pet friendly as with most hotels in Windermere.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th October 2017

This country house is beautiful! The bed was HUGE and really cosy! Everything was extremely clean and it is such a welcoming place! We took our bullmastiff dog and upon first arrival, we were concerned we may have got our wires crossed as it looked too nice to be able to take dogs in but she was made very welcome! Staff went above and beyond and were very friendly and attentive! Loved it here!!

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 13th October 2017

Stayed for one night ,dog friendly and very old charm ,had a ground floor room which led out onto the garden ,shame about the weather as it was lovely .Breakfast was good but fruit and croissants had all gone and not replenished for later diners, bar food menu was a bit limited if you don't want to drive out again after a long day out .all in all we would return

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2017

The staff were more than friendly they were very attentive at every point. The hotel is extremely clean and well kept in a great setting and perfect location!! Can not speak highly enough about our stay