Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, Blackburn

Blackburn Road, Blackburn, BB5 5JP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Annie Wood said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st November 2021

We had a lovely stay. The food, rooms and staf very good. A shame the spa was being refurbished.

Neil Jackson said...

50%
80%
30%
40%

Stayed 11th November 2021

Good value. Meals were nothing exceptional what you might get at a pub. Room was clean, tidy and well heated. Tea and coffee was not replenished on the second day. Luckily parking charges suspended as £10 per day extortionate. Pool was open and well heated.

John Wilson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd October 2021

Hotel was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful,food was good quality, breakfast was well organised and plenty of choice.I would recommend this hotel to anyone, we will certainly be going back again

Alan Williams said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2021

Smooth check in, lovely big room. Came here on the dinner bed and breakfast. Enjoyed the food a lot and had a really good time. The only feedback I would give is that when guests have finished eating give them a minute or two before whipping away the plates. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and I really enjoyed it. Lots of options veggie wise for my wife. She did ask for just vanilla ice cream as a dessert and was told that there was none. However I got vanilla ice cream with my sticky toffee pudding which seems a bit strange. So overall we had a really good time. I did say on the booking that I booked for our wedding anniversary. It would have been nice to have someone on reception acknowledge this I'm not a suggesting we should get something for nothing. Just a simple "We hope you enjoyed your anniversary while here" it's those little things that leave a lasting impression. Overall though very impressive thank you.

Julie Graham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Hotel & room lovely, we enjoyed our swim in the warm pool and the food & service was excellent

Vivienne Holmes said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2021

Great room size with large wallmounted tv screen.bed settee ,table and chairs ,super king bed ,modern bathroom . Restraunt excellent .staff excellent .

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th August 2021

Staff were lovely, the food was nice especially the breakfast which was excellent. Room good size and clean.

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 5th August 2021

Recently stayed at the Mecure Dunkenhalgh for an overnight break, after having visited previously. Enjoyed the use of the thermal suite and pool and jacuzzi. We each had a 50 minute treatment included and chose the back, neck and scalp massage. This was a very relaxing treatment with focus massage on whichever area we needed, we both enjoyed it. The food in the evening was delicious and we were very impressed with what was included as part of our package, (starter, main and dessert), we both devoured the steak. Breakfast was also good. Our only criticisms would be, the bedroom was far too hot and we couldn't open all windows, as one had obviously been painted closed and the other disappointment was the lunch from the bar; there was no brown bread available and then we were presented with white sliced bread, would have expected a higher standard for the price paid. However, we enjoyed our stay and was definitely value for money. Thank you

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd August 2021

Just returned from a two night stay at the Dunkenhalgh Hotel with my wife. Great value and a wonderful old building full of history. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Couldn’t really fault it bearing in mind the rates. We will definitely be back

philip Taylor said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th October 2020

Excellent hotel, pleasant staff, good facilities and excellent Covid measures in place. Will be back again soon.

Vivien Booth said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

Lovely stay at Dunkenhalgh Hotel, our 3 course dinner was very tasty, our room was very spacious and clean. We made us of the gym and pool before enjoying our breakfast before checking out, great staff and would love to stay again sometime.

trevor anderton said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 15th February 2020

We had a lovely stay at this hotel , we love this place and it brings back so many memory’s , we had a couple of issues this time , but on the whole everything was ok .

Turney Logan said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th November 2019

Apart from a damp wall the deal was absolutely amazing.

Michael Whittaker said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Excellent stay, Staff very helpful and the food was really good value for money. Would recommend this hotel and will be going back.

A guest said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2019

Perfect from start to finish

Jane Rorison said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th October 2019

We had a lovely stay on sat night. The hotel & restaurant staff were very friendly & helpful. Room was large, beds were comfy. Dinner was delicious & our breakfast didn't disappoint. Would stay again

Lynn Woodrup said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2019

Had a lovely nights stay but some things a little disappointing IE: our room was not ready on arrival at 2.30pm when check in is from 2pm, we was given a different room and a complimentary drink, and the men's and ladies changing rooms in the leisure facilities where freezing cold on both the Saturday and Sunday and when mentioned to staff on Saturday the lady went down to look but on the Sunday the lady just said ok. Overall we had a lovely stay the room was lovely, the food was delicious and Zoie in the restaurant could not do enough for us as could many of the other staff members. Would stay again.

Trevor Swindells said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 25th August 2019

We had a family get together for my wife’s 65th birthday and booked three rooms and six guests,we used the pool and saunas,which were fabulous.We had the red menu which was very good,however,my wife ordered the rib eye steak which had a supplement of £7.95,it was dry and tough and certainly not worth the money,the other five meals were very good,so,all in all a nice night away.

Joanne Page said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th August 2019

Good value for money. Lovely room & pleasant staff. Ate in restaurant and food was really nice. Bit disappointed that there were no robes & slippers or branded toiletries in room (the spa uses decleor products) or in the spa showers. Some TLC needed in spa as tikes loose & missing in some of the thermal suite rooms. Pool nice size but could have been a little warmer

shaun rooney said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th June 2019

Really enjoyed our stay, rooms a bit dated but food and service fantastic, also spa facilities excellent

Michele Simpson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Lovely hotel with the bonus of great leisure area - pool & spa facilities. Very comfortable rooms /bathrooms Excellent service/staff throughout the hotel Gorgeous food at very reasonable prices

Elaine Carlton said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 25th November 2018

Lovely staff, excellent food and clean environment, but no wine list as being updated and no bottles of wine could be purchased so wine had to be bought by the glass with no knowledge of price! Think hotel may be in process of a takeover and certainly due a refurbishment in areas.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Very friendly staff, excellent meals - only downside was that the heating in the bedroom was off on arrival. It was a very cold frosty night and the room took some time to heat up.

Linda Slack said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 6th September 2018

Everything was better than expected. It was for my wife's 60 th. We would definitely return.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th August 2018

We were upgraded to an Executive Double room. For such a large old building the hotel was exceptionally clean. Check in/out times of 14.00/12.00 were generous. A well- appointed Leisure and Spa complex. The food was delicious. Sky Sports on the bedroom TV was a bonus. By far the most pleasing point was the attentive and friendly service provided by all the staff. We would definitely recommend this hotel, which although in a quiet secluded location, is actually just 1 min from the motorway.