Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, Blackburn

Blackburn Road, Blackburn, BB5 5JP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Turney Logan said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th November 2019

Apart from a damp wall the deal was absolutely amazing.

Michael Whittaker said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Excellent stay, Staff very helpful and the food was really good value for money. Would recommend this hotel and will be going back.

A guest said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2019

Perfect from start to finish

Jane Rorison said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th October 2019

We had a lovely stay on sat night. The hotel & restaurant staff were very friendly & helpful. Room was large, beds were comfy. Dinner was delicious & our breakfast didn't disappoint. Would stay again

Nicole Freer said...

37%
80%
30%
0%

Stayed 28th September 2019

Lively hotel and bedroom. Struggled with the food. I am vegetarian and only 1 thing subtable on the menu, obviously sweet potatoes curry like every other place! When I didn't eat the curry I was questioned by staff. I advised that it wasnt to my taste and instead of asking what I.woild prefer I was literally presented with a 'veg stir fry' that to be honest was just as bland and had only 2 vegetables in it. I wasnt even asked if I wanted it... Upon check out we were told we didn't need to pay anything as we had paid for the package on arrival and paid for drinks at the bar... but less than 2 hours after leaving the hotel took £27 from our bank, we are still trying to.fogure out what this was for with no reply from the hotel at all..

Lynn Woodrup said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2019

Had a lovely nights stay but some things a little disappointing IE: our room was not ready on arrival at 2.30pm when check in is from 2pm, we was given a different room and a complimentary drink, and the men's and ladies changing rooms in the leisure facilities where freezing cold on both the Saturday and Sunday and when mentioned to staff on Saturday the lady went down to look but on the Sunday the lady just said ok. Overall we had a lovely stay the room was lovely, the food was delicious and Zoie in the restaurant could not do enough for us as could many of the other staff members. Would stay again.

Trevor Swindells said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 25th August 2019

We had a family get together for my wife’s 65th birthday and booked three rooms and six guests,we used the pool and saunas,which were fabulous.We had the red menu which was very good,however,my wife ordered the rib eye steak which had a supplement of £7.95,it was dry and tough and certainly not worth the money,the other five meals were very good,so,all in all a nice night away.

Joanne Page said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th August 2019

Good value for money. Lovely room & pleasant staff. Ate in restaurant and food was really nice. Bit disappointed that there were no robes & slippers or branded toiletries in room (the spa uses decleor products) or in the spa showers. Some TLC needed in spa as tikes loose & missing in some of the thermal suite rooms. Pool nice size but could have been a little warmer

Kate Donaldson said...

0%
N/A
0%
N/A

Stayed 20th July 2019

Myhotelbreak made booking for us and despite the hotel receiving our booking, they chose not to tell us they were overbooked and had no room for us to stay that night. We only found out as we were leaving to drive almost an hour to the hotel l, when I rang to make dinner reservation. The attitude of hotel staff was shocking and said they would initially just get sales team to contact us next day! They then said they would move someone out if a single room and put another bed in that single room but would charge us the same amount! It was our wedding anniversary so was a huge pet down. Myhotelbreak were great and tried to sort it out and have agreed to follow my complaint up. The hotel were still advertising rooms as being available that night on a number of websites so whole situation was appalling given we had arranged childcare, bought new outfit to go away etc and had packed. Huge disappointment, would avoid hotel at all cost.

shaun rooney said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th June 2019

Really enjoyed our stay, rooms a bit dated but food and service fantastic, also spa facilities excellent

chelsea buckley said...

64%
10%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st May 2019

Booked a 1 night spa break at the hotel for 2 of us. All of the staff in hotel, spa and restaurant really helpful. The hot stone back massage was great and spa facilities good :) The food in the restaurant at the evening was lovely especially the lemon tart dessert! Overall greats night stay and good value for money x

Geraldine Woodward said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 26th April 2019

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were lovely.

Michele Simpson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Lovely hotel with the bonus of great leisure area - pool & spa facilities. Very comfortable rooms /bathrooms Excellent service/staff throughout the hotel Gorgeous food at very reasonable prices

Elaine Carlton said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 25th November 2018

Lovely staff, excellent food and clean environment, but no wine list as being updated and no bottles of wine could be purchased so wine had to be bought by the glass with no knowledge of price! Think hotel may be in process of a takeover and certainly due a refurbishment in areas.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Very friendly staff, excellent meals - only downside was that the heating in the bedroom was off on arrival. It was a very cold frosty night and the room took some time to heat up.

Ann Kane said...

40%
40%
50%
30%

Stayed 7th October 2018

Check in was easy however the special request l had entered had been ignored, l discussed my requirements with the receptionist who quickly amended our room to one more suitable. It was a nice room in the courtyard and on level ground had the usual amenities but was a little dark. We decided not to use the spa area so no comment re this aspect. Our inclusive evening meal was fine except for the dessert when l discovered mould on the last raspberry - already eaten a few so this made me feel a little sick, l pointed out this error to the waitress who cleared the plates and she said she would let the chef know. I was later approached by the head waitress who said because of my issue with the dessert could she get us another drink - my hubby had a glass of wine and l a coffee. This in no way compensates for food that has gone off so l hope in future they will pay more attention to what is being sent out of the kitchen. My husband didn’t sleep well and thought the bed was too soft. Breakfast was good with lots of choice on the continental counter and the cooked breakfast was very tasty. Overall a relatively good overnight break and would give it another go in the future

Linda Slack said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 6th September 2018

Everything was better than expected. It was for my wife's 60 th. We would definitely return.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th August 2018

We were upgraded to an Executive Double room. For such a large old building the hotel was exceptionally clean. Check in/out times of 14.00/12.00 were generous. A well- appointed Leisure and Spa complex. The food was delicious. Sky Sports on the bedroom TV was a bonus. By far the most pleasing point was the attentive and friendly service provided by all the staff. We would definitely recommend this hotel, which although in a quiet secluded location, is actually just 1 min from the motorway.

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd July 2018

Lovely building property Fabulous and friendly service Lovely breakfast Seems like a lovely neighbourhood place Cor residents Good wifi

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd June 2018

Having read a few reviews, I was a little ner of staying here. But WOW what a gorgeous building, with real history. From check in to check out ALL the staff were positive, friendly and professional. Our room was large, clean and comfortable (605) in the executive wing. With a lovely view. We were very cosy...especially as the weather turned cold and snowy. We had dinner in the restaurant and my husband said his steak was faultless. Super desserts too. Breakfast was a great selection of continental and hot food in a buffet style. The spa area and pool were lovely and we enjoyed the experience rooms. Only small niggle...and I mean small. Although clean, the towels and bedding looked a little less than white. But that doesn't take away from a 5 star review. We will be back.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2018

The property is beautiful and very clean. The staff simply cannot do enough to help you and the quality of food served is top class, I’d have no problem recommending this place to friends and family.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd July 2018

What a stunning hotel I felt so relaxed and staff were a credit to you well done

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th July 2018

Really friendly and helpful staff, particularly the lady who checked us in

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th July 2018

The hotel provided a short history on the house and extension by means of a pampthet outlining the past occupiers, who bulit it and when it became a hotel. The staff were polite and friendly and the hotel has a seperate gym and spa facilities as well as a swimming pool. The bed was comfortable and i had a good nights sleep.