Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, Blackburn

Blackburn Road, Blackburn, BB5 5JP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Linsley Colin said...

40 %
100%
10%
10%

Stayed 17th January 2024

Restaurant unbelievably slow about 15 people in for evening meal waiting 45 minutes for starters witch was only soup then another 30 minutes for main meal offered complementary drink for our excessive wait.....

Karen McDermott said...

84 %
90%
100%
60%

Stayed 21st July 2023

We really enjoyed our stay. We have been before and always have a lovely time. The staff are friendly and helpful.The Spa is amazing and very clean and relaxing. We love it here. The only thing was the change of menu and choices, last time the menu and the food was amazing. This time the menu and food was more pub grub than restaurant style. It was ok but not the best. Although breakfast was amazing lots of choice and everything you could wish for. I

Carolyn Clark said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th January 2023

Lovely hotel. Staff very nice room lovely

Michael Gowers said...

84 %
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2022

Great relaxing Stay Food was great Steam rooms We're great.

Sarah Hopper said...

74 %
30%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th September 2022

Lovely massive hotel. Spa/pool/thermal suites really good Lovely food Nice, friendly staff apart from Sara the lady behind the bar who was rude to her co worker in front of customers. Very unprofessional! Rooms could do with sound proofing as can even hear toilet habits of people in the room above!

Keith Lincoln said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2022

Pleasantly surprised at the standard of accommodation and the general ambience of the hotel. Staff pleasant and service good. Dining room well organised. Breakfast was amongst the best.

Brenda Stott said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd September 2022

A lovely setting and interesting history to the hotel,originally a castle with additional blocks added on,which makes it have a lot of corridors,but fine once you get used to it. The weather was lovely so had a drink outside and then took advantage of the pool for a swim before dinner. All the staff were very welcoming, the restaurant team were very helpful both in the evening and at breakfast.

Janette Neill said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st September 2022

Lovely hotel with spacious rooms. We were upgraded on arrival which was really nice. Everything you need is in the room including an undercounter fridge. (ventilation needed as the fridge caused the sideboard to get really hot) staff are very attentive and polite. Food was amazing and presentation was outstanding. Spa was open but have to say there was 3 steam rooms but only one worked. Huge lovely pool with swim in sauna. Locals mentioned that it had went downhill since reopening. My first impression was WOW when I first entered only to find not all perfect. Some blocked off doors as well which makes me think there's more to come perhaps. Will be back again.

Stephen Hall said...

84 %
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 11th August 2022

Good hotel in pleasant location. Friendly staff providing a good level of service. Food was ok as was the drinks service. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

david hallmark said...

77 %
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 6th August 2022

Difficulty getting in the room with key card room no sauna or steam room working told been out of order since September 2021. Good service in restaurant and delicious

Mike Bond said...

87 %
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th July 2022

Our mistake in turning up a day early. Reception were very kind and managed to accommodate us. Room clean and tidy and bed v comfortable. Curtains well fitted, ensuring total room darkness. V good. Generous bathroom with both bath and separate shower. Enjoyed dinner first night but service was really slow! Two hours plus was a lot of waiting time between courses. I know there was a large wedding party going on but the restaurant was just plain understaffed. We last stayed here back in the late eighties. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

Jacqueline Jameson said...

90 %
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 23rd June 2022

Great value hotel for the price. Fantastic room. Staff lovely and really helpful. We arrived on Thursday and it was difficult to get a drink at the bar due to no staff. They did give us all complimentary drink with our evening meal.

Julie Draper said...

94 %
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 16th June 2022

We enjoyed our stay at Dunkenhalgh Hotel Pleasant staff, great food & service

Alun jones said...

94 %
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th June 2022

Lovely hotel, communication was excellent, the staff in this establishment are amazing, they can’t do enough for you . Dinner in the evening had plenty of choice and was good quality, breakfast was just as good in the morning. Overall a wonderful stay and I can definitely recommend this hotel , Thankyou dunkenhalgh hotel for making my wife’s birthday a memorable one .

John Pearson said...

80 %
100%
100%
40%

Stayed 29th May 2022

Hotel was great the staff were brilliant. The food was overpriced and tasteless. Some of the food was also overcooked and dry.

carla graham said...

90 %
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 14th May 2022

Myself and My partner recently stayed here I was blown away with how clean and lovely the hotel was and not to forgot how lovely all the staff members are we were all inclusive for dinner and breakfast and complements to the chef and the dinner was absolutely amazing! The only slight downfall for our trip away was how warm the room was we loved the room just not the heat of it as it was above the pool we are all ready planning our next trip to here but will remember to ask to be put away from the pool as the heat was unbearable at points

David Titterington said...

87 %
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 8th May 2022

Nice clean spacious room, very comfortable king plus bed Staff friendly and helpful Very good value for money Would not hesitate to book again

Isabel Baillie said...

94 %
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th April 2022

We enjoyed our break at Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa. Very welcoming staff. Evening meal and breakfasts were of a high standard, plenty choice. Attentive staff. Dunkenhalgh is centrally placed in Northern England, with good motorway links. Even with these links, it is peaceful and rural.

Dawn Rodgers said...

87 %
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th April 2022

Fantastic short break. Excellent gym and swimming pool. Friendly staff

Stephen Littler said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th March 2022

Hotel location is great lovely views good place to relax, staf friendly and pleasant, room and food could'nt be faulted. Would certainly book again for a weekend away.

Annie Wood said...

94 %
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st November 2021

We had a lovely stay. The food, rooms and staf very good. A shame the spa was being refurbished.

John Wilson said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd October 2021

Hotel was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful,food was good quality, breakfast was well organised and plenty of choice.I would recommend this hotel to anyone, we will certainly be going back again

Alan Williams said...

94 %
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2021

Smooth check in, lovely big room. Came here on the dinner bed and breakfast. Enjoyed the food a lot and had a really good time. The only feedback I would give is that when guests have finished eating give them a minute or two before whipping away the plates. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and I really enjoyed it. Lots of options veggie wise for my wife. She did ask for just vanilla ice cream as a dessert and was told that there was none. However I got vanilla ice cream with my sticky toffee pudding which seems a bit strange. So overall we had a really good time. I did say on the booking that I booked for our wedding anniversary. It would have been nice to have someone on reception acknowledge this I'm not a suggesting we should get something for nothing. Just a simple "We hope you enjoyed your anniversary while here" it's those little things that leave a lasting impression. Overall though very impressive thank you.

Julie Graham said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Hotel & room lovely, we enjoyed our swim in the warm pool and the food & service was excellent

Vivienne Holmes said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2021

Great room size with large wallmounted tv screen.bed settee ,table and chairs ,super king bed ,modern bathroom . Restraunt excellent .staff excellent .