Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairn Hotel, Edinburgh

10/18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh, EH7 5JR, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

sarah cairns said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th January 2020

We had a lovely stay at the Cairn hotel. Staff were very helpful on the phone before arrival and also very helpful with more parking information on arrival. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were again helpful with directions to the Playhouse (we were going to see the Lion King), which was literally minutes away (walking distance). For breakfast there were the usual options of several cereals, fruits, croissants, etc. The cooked options were bacon, beans and scrambled egg. We all really enjoyed breakfast and again staff were on hand to help and were very friendly. We would definitely go back next time we're in Edinburgh.

Lynda Mckevitt said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th January 2020

We stayed for 1 night Friday 17th January for my birthday. Upgraded to apartment which was across the road from the main hotel. It was lovely, very clean and modern. Ned extremely comfortable. Breakfast tje next morning was very nice.

Kelly McAuley said...

100%
100%
100%
N/A

Stayed 15th January 2020

Would highly recommend to all. Excellent service, location and value for money. I look forward to visiting again very soon.

Maria Shields said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th December 2019

Lovely hotel, conveniently located near the Edinburgh Playhouse. Nice warm room with coffee, tea, water, crisps & biscuits. All staff were very helpful and welcoming.

irene blue said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 16th December 2019

Excellent hotel and good selection for breakfast. Would recommend to anyone. Centrally situated for Playhouse and Princes street

Katrina Weir said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 15th December 2019

Hotel was fantastic! We arrived prior to check in time, we were made very welcome and had a few drinks in the bar while our rooms were prepared, they were ready really quickly. We were a party of 8 people, and the staff were fab! Rooms were great, we booked superior doubles , all were immaculate and one of the comfiest beds I’ve slept on in a hotel! Rooms also had two bottles of water and a wee hamper of crisps and biscuits and the usual tea and coffee supplies! Breakfast wasn’t a full scottish as stated on the booking , but it was lovely, toast scrambled eggs , bacon and beans in a buffet style so could help yourself to as much as you wanted, also had plenty of croissants , pancakes fresh fruit and cereals ....was fab hotel and would return

john johnston said...

90%
80%
100%
N/A

Stayed 13th December 2019

Had a very pleasant stay at the Cairn Hotel, room was very clean and well equipped. Great location for visiting the Christmas Market and Theatre which is a two minute walk away, Plenty on nice restaurants around the corner. Hotel price was great value for money. would stay here again.

Jessie Walker said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th December 2019

Spent 1 night here & it was great. Very easy & friendly check in service. Room was warm & clean & staff were friendly & helpfull. Breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice. Would definitely book again if staying in Edinburgh as close to everything.

kim wilson said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 3rd December 2019

The hotel was great value for money, through the web site. It was central enough for us but anyone with mobility issues might struggle.

A guest said...

30%
30%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 22nd November 2019

The best thing about the room was the shower. One bedroomed apartment as pictured is not what we got. The room was freezing cold and we asked for extra heaters which the receptionist didn't do.

gayle wallace said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Lovely hotel, room was ideal for our stay. Extremely surprised with breakfast as we were only expecting continental but had a choice of cooked foods as well, really tasty. Complimentary crisps, biscuits and water in the room gave it that extra special touch. Will definitely stay here again if attending another show at the playhouse.

Karen Paterson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th October 2019

I cannot fault this hotel one bit, the rooms were huge and very clean, quite during evening, nice breakfast choice, lovely staff. Will definitely choose this hotel when staying in Edinburgh again, location was superb.

Lucy Moran said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd October 2019

Great Hotel & Great Location Upgraded to a mini apartment which had a massive bed and big shower room Ideal place to stay with 10 minute walk to the Main Street/centre Breakfast was included which was fine to start the day

Alexander Gillespie said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 9th October 2019

Good location

Robert Crabtree said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 1st September 2019

Nice clean hotel good breakfast and two minutes walk to Edinburgh centre

Sharon Nelson said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 30th April 2019

What an absolute bargain, room was beautiful big comfy beds and so close to the theatre and good restaurants. Staff were great, very helpful. Free breakfast included in price and really good quality in lovely surroundings. Would definetly stay again

Fiona McDougall said...

85%
100%
N/A
70%

Stayed 18th April 2019

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Lovely big comfortable bed. Microwave and fridge which would be very handy if you were staying for a few days. Ideally located for Playhouse and Princes Street. Will definitely be back and would recommend.

Shelley Cinar said...

100%
100%
100%
N/A

Stayed 16th April 2019

Had a lovely stay at the cairn hotel in Edinburgh, we were in a one bedroom apartment across the road from main hotel and couldn't fault it. Will definitely be back ??

Lorraine Speirs said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 15th April 2019

Friendly staff, clean large room. Good breakfast and excellent location for Edinburgh Playhouse and on bus route into Princes Street.

elizabeth mulhearn said...

75%
60%
90%
N/A

Stayed 13th April 2019

Hotel staff very friendly. Decor and cleanliness also very good however our room 408 was very small with literally only a few inches separating the bed from the wardrobe. The room is also directly above the very large main door so can be very noisy with everyone going in and out. Lovely hotel but this room certainly shouldn’t be considered an executive room.

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th April 2019

Nice hotel, great location and a bargin at £55 a night b&b...

SUE HEWITT said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th April 2019

Fantastic!

Lauren Logan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd April 2019

Great apartment. Clean and modern. Close to town centre. Friendly staff and enjoyed the breakfast.x

Susan Fotheringham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2019

Lovely hotel in a great location. 10 minute walk from Waverley Station and a 2 minute walk from The Playhouse. Lovely room with welcome hamper with tea, coffee, biscuits, water and crisps. Would definitely go back to this hotel again and would recommend to family and friends.

Linda Adam said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th March 2019

Great central location and friendly efficient staff. Room very modern and clean with comfy beds but "small double" is extremely small, nowhere to place cases without fear of tripping over them unfortunately. Only power sockets are either side of bed so too far away from mirror for use of hairdryer/ straighteners. Bathroom same, very tight, great shower and fittings but no hooks for dressing gown/fresh clothes etc which would make a big difference. Breakfast (continental) was very good, with lots of choices. Overall great value for this location but although my hubby and I are pretty average in stature we would need to consider upgrade cost to standard size room in future.