Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Ernespie House Hotel, Castle Douglas

Ernespie Road, Castle Douglas, DG7 3JG, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

stevie easton said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

had a lovely two nights. great staff, nice room,good food, amazing views, will be back.

William Sykes said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 16th November 2019

The Ernespie Hotel is a lovely secluded building on the edge of the equally lovely Castle Douglas. The staff were amazing and helpful. The room we stayed in, D - was charming although a little chilly to begin with but heated up. This is understandable because it is a large spacious room. Comments have been made regarding the but we found the water in the hand basin and the shower very hot if required. The food was good but could be improved and the value very good. The cooked breakfast was very enjoyable and one of the best I have had for a little while.

A guest said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th November 2019

Original room allocation was not very nice and heater not working. Very quickly given a far superior room with working radiator. Heating did not come on until 8.00am the first morning of our stay but this was quickly rectified and the heating was on by 6.00am the next morning. All the staff were very pleasant and immediately attended to any of our requests.

Lynne Conaghan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th October 2019

Fabulous 2 night stay at the hotel. New owners took over last year and have undertaken work upgrading the rooms. Work is continuing with scaffolding up to put a new roof on the main part of the hotel, there was a slight damp smell in the stairwell foyer however this will be due to the roof. New Windows were also going in. Staff were fabulous, nothing too much trouble, also making time to talk to guests. The owner also came out at mealtimes to check everything was okay. My family and I look forward to returning to this hotel next year to see the further improvements made. One to watch I do hope this hotel thrives to become one of the best in the area. Nice to see that both owners and staff have the same vision and are working for the business to succeed.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th September 2019

What a lovely stay we had. The food was outstanding and the staff were very attentive, especially Kerry, it was a beautiful area and very relaxing atmosphere.

stewart robertson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th July 2019

We loved this place.We found the room,the friendly service and the food exemplary.Castle Douglas is a charming town.

Neil Beattie said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd June 2019

We went there for a short break and to visit Kirkcudbright. We were given a warm welcome and, considering that the current owners have only had the hotel for 9 months, were impressed by the general ambience and décor. The grounds have some beautiful specimen trees and promise to be quite beautiful. The room was comfortable with an excellent shower. The breakfasts and dinners were just excellent and we can recommend the curries at dinner. The owner and staff were keen to look after our needs and the whole experience was very good. This hotel is one to watch after they have had more time to complete their restoration of it to its full glory! he

B Vallely said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 22nd November 2018

The personnel in the hotel were all very welcoming, but the room and the dining area were both very cold. The shower room was very small with no light at the mirror and no place in the shower cubicle for shampoo etc.

Joseph Lafferty said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2018

We stayed for two nights with four friends had a good time the couple that run the hotel are great very helpful and friendly the food was very good and the service was excellent would recommend this place to anyone will be going back

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2018

Excellent food, good location, service is second to none, very friendly and helpful, obviously being refurbished, still to be finished, going back next week, really enjoyed our stay, close to the town, which has lots of shops

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th September 2018

I used this hotel for one night while visiting Castle Douglas. In the past I have staying in hotels in the town. This however is a lot better. There is space, inside and out, no locals propping up the bar and a nice family run feel. I am aware that it is a relatively new business for the owner so there are teething problems needing sorted like WiFi to the far off rooms but this comes with time and investment. My favorite artwork covers the walls and the sitting room is cosy but big enough for meetings. Dinner was good (could do with a simple salad option though). Good value for money, nice to be out of town but close enough if required if they keep up the great service and boost the WiFi it will stay my choice when visiting this area.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd October 2018

We stayed one night.Warm welcome from new owners who are busy upgrading the hotel. Our room was comfortable and very Victorian in size.Excellent dinner the curries are very good,Price is reasonable and it will be interesting to see how the hotel develops under new ownership

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd October 2018

We were there one night visiting the area, we both slept well and really enjoyed our breakfast. It was wellcooked and presentation excellent. Booking out was quick and easy. I would recommend this hotel.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th October 2018

Beautiful house and location, friendly professional staff, roomy and comfortable accommodation, relaxing large but cosy lounge, great food and quirky interesting grounds.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th August 2018

Excellent location with views across the countryside. Relaxing bar and lounge area. Friendly, attentive staff. Comfortable bed.