Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hollin House Hotel, Macclesfield

Jackson Lane, Macclesfield, SK10 5BG, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Marie O'BRIEN said...

90%
90%
80%
100%

Stayed 4th September 2022

I booked the hotel break for our Ruby wedding anniversary and requested an upgrade to a superior room. On arrival we were given a room that was very small and not what I had expected by the photo when booking. I rang down to reception to say so but was told that it was a superior room. After looking at my booking on myhotelbreak I showed reception the photo of the room I booked only to be told they didn't know why that photo was on their page, it was not one of their rooms. 15 minutes later reception rang to say they had found the room on the photo and we could move there. To say we were disappointed was an understatement. It was bigger but very, very rundown. One lamp didn't work, iron burn marks on the carpet and the view from the window was terrible looking onto a very dirty flat roof. We nearly came home on the second day. On a plus side down stairs in the hotel was very nice and the food was excellent. All in all we felt the room spoilt our stay and anniversary which was very sad .

A Mills said...

60%
30%
90%
N/A

Stayed 18th August 2022

Staff very good food in restaurant above average service professional but breakfast not so good limited and hotel could do with major uplift

A guest said...

84%
90%
70%
90%

Stayed 13th June 2022

A lovely place to stay , good rooms , nice relaxed atmosphere? Very pleasant staff . Food was excellent. My only quibble would be the tables were left for a long time with empty glasses etc and should have been wiped down immediately after guests left their tables . Lovely decor on ground floor n dining areas etc. Can see it being a 4* once the outdoors are landscaped better and providing lovely seating area to enjoy the peace n tranquility. Will definitely be going back !! .

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2022

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful and made our trip special.

CAROLYN SIDDALL said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 28th October 2021

Nice hotel, friendly staff and good food

A guest said...

50%
50%
70%
30%

Stayed 22nd August 2021

stayed 3 nights, the room was clean ,but it could have been cleaner. the dado rail and the picture surrounds, and top of tv had not seen a duster for a while. I thought the menu could have been better, not a lot of choice and supplements on the meals were steep, £4.00 for a tiny bowl of chips,£8 extra to have Lamb and £8 for cheese board. Menu didn`t change much. Some of staff were pleasant but many not. would I stay again? don`t think so. If i was in the area again I would stay at Shrigley Hall, where we stayed before.

A guest said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2020

Evening meal was good, breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, service brilliant and staff very helpful and obliging. We felt very safe with all staff wearing face coverings. Room felt tired and ready to be refurbished, but was clean and comfortable. Hotel was a stunning old house with an impressive staircase, nice lounge and bar. Needs a bigger parking area. We had a lovely overnight break and would not hesitate in going again.

Chris Holdsworth said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st August 2020

Very pleasant stay , we had an issue with our room being full of steam due to a hot tap being left open but the young lady upgraded us to a lovely suite without issue .The food was top class and the staff could not have been better .Special thank you to the lady on reception ( story forgot her name ) she was relatively new but very people friendly.

Susan Holland said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 30th July 2020

Nice comfortable stay. Good food and drink. Good value for money. The Philippine waitress very professional, giving excellent service

Glenn Nash said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2020

We were disappointed that the room wasn’t cleaner than it was due to it being closed for so long and they told us the hotel had been deep cleaned. The door into the room witch is a FIRE DOOR did not self close we had to pull/push it hard to close it. The light above the bed on the left hand side was flickering all the time it was on. The bedside lamp didn’t work. The hotel needs a much needed update. The stair carpet is quite worn. We stayed in room 48.

Lynne Maurice said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th February 2020

Enjoyed our stay, nice old hotel but could do with a bit updating here and there. The bar and dining area were lovely and the food was fantastic. Also all the staff were very friendly and attentive. Thank you everyone.

A guest said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 19th April 2019

Nice building. Helpful reception lady

A guest said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 5th May 2019

Beautiful location, clean and generally nice

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th December 2018

Awesome property and the food was great value and tasty. It looked really fancy in the main house section and the open fires are so welcoming.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th November 2018

The location was perfect, there was parking space and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were pancakes for breakfast. Our room was tastefully decorated and had a beautiful view. The bathroom decor was amazing with a stand alone bath. Could have done with a comfy chair and second chair to sit together at the table reading maps. The bar was open 24 hours but they didn't have drinks we liked. Real ale drinkers.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th November 2018

Cosy room. Nice bath. Good cup of tea! Quiet location.

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th December 2018

Stayed here with my new husband and it was beautiful and clean. The food was amazing and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Although the house was stunning the room was very basic for a superior double.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th December 2018

Gem of a hotel in a picturesque setting. We booked for my Husbands birthday and ate in the restaurant, food was absolutely amazing, couldn't fault anything. Staff were also lovely. The Hotel is beautiful, with fabulous log fires. We will certainly go back and maybe stay a night or two.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th November 2018

Very nice hotel with excellent and friendly staff. Breakfast was lovely. The hotel is situated in a good location with plenty of places to eat and drink. Good hotel for enjoying a walk. The room was clean and tidy. I would recommend.