Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, Darlington

9 - 12 Priestgate, Darlington, DL1 1NW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

A guest said...

70%
90%
60%
60%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Hotel was ok, rooms big

Mandy Hanley said...

54%
80%
20%
60%

Stayed 16th August 2019

We booked this hotel as a stop over from scotland to leicester. I read the mixed reviews and initially things went well. The room was ok, we paid extra for the premier room, apart from a small double bed, it looked odd in the room and the furniture around it was clearly for a king size bed. The bed was old and uncomfortable, the roll together was a nightmare even lying on your own you rolled to the centre of the bed, the main issue we had was at dinner, starters and main were good and served in good time, then everything went downhill when we waited 45 minutes for a sticky toffee pudding and a fruit salad! Other people in the restaurant waited the same time for starters and mains, apparently a group of 10 people were In upstairs! Surely a hotel the size of this one could serve more than 10 people at a time? The poor waiter did not know where to put himself and kept apologising, when we complained to the manager he offered us a drink but only when we complained about the time! The 2 girls who were waiting for Chilli got their meal after 45 minutes and it was cold, they left without paying! I refused to pay for our other drinks and went to reception to make sure they were not added on to our bill. There is also a strange configuration regarding lifts! Anyway I wouldn't rush back here, clearly short staffed and whilst that is not always an issue lack of communication to customers is. Nothing was said to us at check out, did you enjoy your stay? I think they knew what our answer would be!

Mandy Hanley said...

54%
80%
20%
60%

Stayed 16th August 2019

We booked this hotel as a stop over from scotland to leicester. I read the mixed reviews and initially things went well. The room was ok, we paid extra for the premier room, apart from a small double bed, it looked odd in the room and the furniture around it was clearly for a king size bed. The bed was old and uncomfortable, the roll together was a nightmare even lying on your own you rolled to the centre of the bed, the main issue we had was at dinner, starters and main were good and served in good time, then everything went downhill when we waited 45 minutes for a sticky toffee pudding and a fruit salad! Other people in the restaurant waited the same time for starters and mains, apparently a group of 10 people were In upstairs! Surely a hotel the size of this one could serve more than 10 people at a time? The poor waiter did not know where to put himself and kept apologising, when we complained to the manager he offered us a drink but only when we complained about the time! The 2 girls who were waiting for Chilli got their meal after 45 minutes and it was cold, they left without paying! I refused to pay for our other drinks and went to reception to make sure they were not added on to our bill. There is also a strange configuration regarding lifts! Anyway I wouldn't rush back here, clearly short staffed and whilst that is not always an issue lack of communication to customers is. Nothing was said to us at check out, did you enjoy your stay? I think they knew what our answer would be!

Lisa Angus said...

84%
90%
100%
60%

Stayed 10th August 2019

Excellent location , room smart and tidy , limited menu but not bad for the price we paid . Beautiful decoration and friendly staff. Breakfast alittle disorganised but once we ordered good quality cooked breakfast. Only thing we found was some guests smoking outside the main entrance doesn’t look good .

CAROL STUART said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th August 2019

A lovely hotel and lovely staff Food was excellent and location was perfectly

Aimee Jayne Gibson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th July 2019

Brilliant stay well worth the money..we will be back 7?

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th July 2019

Excellent stay we even added another night there , Every thing was perfect staff ,food and room nothing to complain about x

Alistair McDonald said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 16th July 2019

enjoyed our stay at the Kings Hotel, this centrally located hotel was ideally located for our requirements and we found the staff very friendly and helpful.

jacqueline oliver said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2019

Lovely stay, nice and clean with friendly helpful staff. Food supberb ! Good facilities in room teas made, iron and safe. Very central for town, plenty of nearby pubs and shops, would definitely recommend.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

Donna Liddle said... Hotel has replied

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th July 2019

The room was ok, not cleaned to a very high standard though. Pillows had make up on them and the sink hadn’t been cleaned. Staff were great though when I complained they sorted it straight away. Food was lovely and again staff were very attentive and friendly

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feed we will look into your comments to improve our service to guests

keith fairnington said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th June 2019

Good location in the centre of town. Very welcoming and friendly staff.We would like to say Jess in the bar made our stay worth while. Food and accomodation very good.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

Paul Todd said... Hotel has replied

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2019

We have just stayed here on sunday, we arrived slightly early and we were booked straight in as room was ready by the reception staff. room was nice and clean, we had a meal on the night and also breakfast and both were fantastic, the lad who showed us to our seats(sorry cant remember his name but we had knew him from a different hotel) is very polite and we want for nothing. the hotel is very central for all the local pubs and shops, free parking also is a bonus, will we stay here again, too right we will and already planning it, Thanks again to all the staff that made our stay so good

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Great recent weekend stay in March. Modern, large and functional rooms with very helpful staff. Reasonable price. Would defiantly stay again. Used additional parking facilities. Great centre of town location

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2019

Stayed for 3 weeks here while I was training in Darlington. The rooms had everything that you could possibly want. The service at the reception was very quick and professional and very friendly. I chose to eat my evening meals in the Kings restaurant. The meal choice was very good along with all the special nights. Every meal that I chose was beautiful presented and very filling. I looked forward to my meal every day! The service in the restaurant was excellent. They were all pleasant and very professional. I would certainly recommend this hotel . Thank you for making my stay a happy one.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th March 2019

I stayed in a large twin room the room was clean and large it had a good size shower there was tea and coffee it had parking but not for my big van but it’s only a two minute walk to a large car park I would stay again and recommend it the staff were friendly

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

This is a really nice hotel. Very well presented. Clean and well decorated communal areas. Nice restaurant with good menu. All the staff were friendly and professional.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th April 2019

Comfortable hotel in the centre of Darlington. Excellent value for money.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2019

The staff were so helpful - arrived early for a wedding and they let me into my room 2 hours early which was a REAL help and think they upgraded us too! Ordered a wine to the room which arrived promptly. Great customer service all round and couldn’t beat the central location.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback