Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, Darlington

9 - 12 Priestgate, Darlington, DL1 1NW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

A guest said...

37%
80%
20%
10%

Stayed 11th August 2022

Had 2 booking via myhotelbreak.com All has been said on my other review

A guest said...

37%
80%
20%
10%

Stayed 11th August 2022

Arrived at The Hotel with our relations { 2 Bookings } no problems checking in went out for the afternoon and relaxed before going for our evening meal. We had booked the evening meal for 7 pm and down for a drink before the meal.We ordered our starters at 7pm and there was only 1 other couple dining.We waited until 8 pm and our starter still had not arrived so i complained to the manager who said she would look into the delay.After waiting again the starters eventually arrived. We then had to wait another 45 mins for the main meal. The menu for the main meal was disgusting they did not have a great deal to choose and said it was delivery shortages for half the food. I had to send my meal back a curry which the chicken was dry with no sauce We then had to wait for desserts in all the meal took 3 hours not very happy as mine was a delayed xmas voucher and our other guests was for a birthday { Both bookings were in my Name ] also my room 426 was not down on the list for breakfast and if it had not been for the duty manager we would not have been allowed breakfast (rooms 424 & 426 regards Rob Murray.

Therese Smaill said...

30%
60%
20%
10%

Stayed 23rd July 2022

Dinner was a farce! Asked on arrival what time we'd like to book dinner in restaurant for and when we arrived it was set for breakfast. A member of staff passed us and explained there was a wedding on and dinner would be in bar. We then were given a sheet with 3starters ,mains(one of which was unavailable!) and desserts rather than set menu. I've an egg allergy and only two of the items were suitable. There were approximately 14 people eating and one table of 6 walked out with a very loudly voiced complaint. It was 2 hours plus before we got our main course and my husband's fish and chips platter was photoed by bar manager Carl in disgust as totally inappropriate for any chef to serve. Keith refused to eat it and went gry! We've used " my hotelbreak" for years .....this hotel definitely let your brand down!! The catering manager not on duty that night( a Sat with a wedding on) let the hotel down. The chef in my opinion took no pride in his service!

shannon quinn said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th July 2022

Nice clean rooms, staff were really helpful and nice. We had a 3 course meal in restaurant and couldn’t fault was lovely. Right in the centre so close to shops and bars. We would definitely return.

david belshaw said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th April 2022

Cannot fault this Hotel at all

helen Sayers said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st March 2022

Lovely stay ,lovely staff at bar Carl and jess very pleasant and friendly giving great service with the food ,also free parking which was a bonus

Kirsty Woodward said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 12th March 2022

Great location - very clean accommodation and the prestige suite was very nice. Food was average. Would definitely return to this hotel if up in the Darlington area in the future.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2022

As part of two couples who stayed one night this week. Excellent hotel, extremely central and great value for money. Booked a deal which included afternoon tea and was impressed. The hotel was quiet, and the rooms were clean and we were given an early check in. Couldn't fault anything and look forward to our next stay there

Donna Willis said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd January 2022

Great hotel and excellent service. Staff were brilliant, especially the barman who served us on the night- couldn't do enough for us. Will definitely be visiting again.

Hotel reply...

many thanks for your kind feedback

Elaine Hubble said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th August 2021

Great hotel right in the centre of Darlington

Hotel reply...

many thanks for your kind feedback

Linda Floan said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 21st July 2021

Firstly when looking out of room there was loads of bird poo all over the alcove/railing bit, we did say and someone did come to clean it up a bit. We had lunch on the wed in hotel, I got homemade vegetable soup and basically it was a puree which I never ate, my husband got the macaroni for dinner, it was very very bland, no taste of anything at all. Disappointed ??. I asked for a Hennessy brandy which was on the bar drinks list, none in a big hotel like this! Had to ask for a steak knife. Some just little things. But overall good. The staff were all nice Andrew in particular. Steak was lovely so was both breakfasts. Would we stay again yes, we did like Darlington.

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback i will look into points you have brought to my attention

patricia finnigan said... Hotel has replied

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th December 2019

always love this hotel service is great nothing too much trouble and location great

Hotel reply...

thank you for your kind feedback hope to see you again soon

sheila sykes said... Hotel has replied

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 14th March 2020

Had a great stay and will certainly use again. The reason for the food rating is that the cooked breakfast was cold and had been sitting too long under lamps or in ban maries. the evening dinner was fabulour

Hotel reply...

thank you for your kind feedback

Philip Bradley said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

Really nice hotel in the centre of Darlington .Lovely room free parking would definitely use again

Hotel reply...

than you for your feedback

Billy Hutchinson said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2020

Stayed here several times before and rarely have any problems, on this occasion our stay was excellent!!

Hotel reply...

than you for your feedback

Cheryl Hodds said... Hotel has replied

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 15th February 2020

Rooms very good. Parking at the hotel was poor. Although hotel waa lovely leaks in roof on our landing which disrupted walkways. Breakfast.. waited a long time to be served then put on table in other room which wasnt dressed, other people seated on our table without being asked and staff very miserable in restaurant.

Hotel reply...

than you for your feedback

Alan Bartlett said... Hotel has replied

80%
90%
70%
80%

Stayed 14th February 2020

Enjoyable stay. Room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We did manage to get a space in the carpark which took out the hassle of finding an alternative car park. There is a handy entrance from the carpark straight into the bar and reception is just after that. The hotel is in an ideal location right in the centre of town. All the staff were friendly and helpful although it was a bit chaotic at breakfast, due I'm sure to them trying to run it on lowest staff members. As a result, our breakfast went to another table to people who came in the breakfast room after us, we were in breakfast for over an hour and my wife was nearly late for work. Other than that though we had an enjoyable stay.

Hotel reply...

than you for your feedback

Geoff Pennington said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2019

2nd stay here. Great hotel great staff and excellent location we will be back next year

Hotel reply...

thank you for your kind feedback look forward to welcoming you back

Billy Hutchinson said... Hotel has replied

95%
90%
100%
N/A

Stayed 21st September 2019

Friendly staff, great location, nice free parking although we only just managed to get in as some idiot had taken 2 spaces, lovely breakfast but portion size of full English was quite a bit smaller than our last visit a couple of months ago! Overall great place to stay and we will definitely be back!!

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

patricia finnigan said... Hotel has replied

74%
90%
90%
40%

Stayed 20th September 2019

it was a lovely hotel with lovely helpful staff only one fault and that was breakfast although its nice to be waited on in this day and age its not practical a buffet is more the style these days it took far too long which the staff apoligised for and was cold and there was only 10 people in so don't know how long you would wait if full but would stay again

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feed back sorry about problems with breakfast

Maxine Wilson said... Hotel has replied

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 30th August 2019

Hotel was lovely as was our hotel room but more toiletries would have been better as only one shower gel, soap etc. Also breakfast wasnt brilliant as my husband's bacon was bit hard and black pudding was rock hard he couldn't even put his fork in it but my bacon roll was fine. Overall good value for money and a lovely hotel.

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

70%
90%
60%
60%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Hotel was ok, rooms big

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

Mandy Hanley said... Hotel has replied

54%
80%
20%
60%

Stayed 16th August 2019

We booked this hotel as a stop over from scotland to leicester. I read the mixed reviews and initially things went well. The room was ok, we paid extra for the premier room, apart from a small double bed, it looked odd in the room and the furniture around it was clearly for a king size bed. The bed was old and uncomfortable, the roll together was a nightmare even lying on your own you rolled to the centre of the bed, the main issue we had was at dinner, starters and main were good and served in good time, then everything went downhill when we waited 45 minutes for a sticky toffee pudding and a fruit salad! Other people in the restaurant waited the same time for starters and mains, apparently a group of 10 people were In upstairs! Surely a hotel the size of this one could serve more than 10 people at a time? The poor waiter did not know where to put himself and kept apologising, when we complained to the manager he offered us a drink but only when we complained about the time! The 2 girls who were waiting for Chilli got their meal after 45 minutes and it was cold, they left without paying! I refused to pay for our other drinks and went to reception to make sure they were not added on to our bill. There is also a strange configuration regarding lifts! Anyway I wouldn't rush back here, clearly short staffed and whilst that is not always an issue lack of communication to customers is. Nothing was said to us at check out, did you enjoy your stay? I think they knew what our answer would be!

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

Lisa Angus said... Hotel has replied

84%
90%
100%
60%

Stayed 10th August 2019

Excellent location , room smart and tidy , limited menu but not bad for the price we paid . Beautiful decoration and friendly staff. Breakfast alittle disorganised but once we ordered good quality cooked breakfast. Only thing we found was some guests smoking outside the main entrance doesn’t look good .

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

CAROL STUART said... Hotel has replied

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th August 2019

A lovely hotel and lovely staff Food was excellent and location was perfectly

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback