Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, Darlington

9 - 12 Priestgate, Darlington, DL1 1NW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

patricia finnigan said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th December 2019

always love this hotel service is great nothing too much trouble and location great

sheila sykes said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 14th March 2020

Had a great stay and will certainly use again. The reason for the food rating is that the cooked breakfast was cold and had been sitting too long under lamps or in ban maries. the evening dinner was fabulour

Philip Bradley said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

Really nice hotel in the centre of Darlington .Lovely room free parking would definitely use again

Hotel reply...

than you for your feedback

Billy Hutchinson said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2020

Stayed here several times before and rarely have any problems, on this occasion our stay was excellent!!

Hotel reply...

than you for your feedback

Cheryl Hodds said... Hotel has replied

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 15th February 2020

Rooms very good. Parking at the hotel was poor. Although hotel waa lovely leaks in roof on our landing which disrupted walkways. Breakfast.. waited a long time to be served then put on table in other room which wasnt dressed, other people seated on our table without being asked and staff very miserable in restaurant.

Hotel reply...

than you for your feedback

Alan Bartlett said... Hotel has replied

80%
90%
70%
80%

Stayed 14th February 2020

Enjoyable stay. Room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We did manage to get a space in the carpark which took out the hassle of finding an alternative car park. There is a handy entrance from the carpark straight into the bar and reception is just after that. The hotel is in an ideal location right in the centre of town. All the staff were friendly and helpful although it was a bit chaotic at breakfast, due I'm sure to them trying to run it on lowest staff members. As a result, our breakfast went to another table to people who came in the breakfast room after us, we were in breakfast for over an hour and my wife was nearly late for work. Other than that though we had an enjoyable stay.

Hotel reply...

than you for your feedback

Geoff Pennington said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2019

2nd stay here. Great hotel great staff and excellent location we will be back next year

Hotel reply...

thank you for your kind feedback look forward to welcoming you back

Billy Hutchinson said... Hotel has replied

95%
90%
100%
N/A

Stayed 21st September 2019

Friendly staff, great location, nice free parking although we only just managed to get in as some idiot had taken 2 spaces, lovely breakfast but portion size of full English was quite a bit smaller than our last visit a couple of months ago! Overall great place to stay and we will definitely be back!!

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

patricia finnigan said... Hotel has replied

74%
90%
90%
40%

Stayed 20th September 2019

it was a lovely hotel with lovely helpful staff only one fault and that was breakfast although its nice to be waited on in this day and age its not practical a buffet is more the style these days it took far too long which the staff apoligised for and was cold and there was only 10 people in so don't know how long you would wait if full but would stay again

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feed back sorry about problems with breakfast

Maxine Wilson said... Hotel has replied

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 30th August 2019

Hotel was lovely as was our hotel room but more toiletries would have been better as only one shower gel, soap etc. Also breakfast wasnt brilliant as my husband's bacon was bit hard and black pudding was rock hard he couldn't even put his fork in it but my bacon roll was fine. Overall good value for money and a lovely hotel.

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

70%
90%
60%
60%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Hotel was ok, rooms big

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

Mandy Hanley said... Hotel has replied

54%
80%
20%
60%

Stayed 16th August 2019

We booked this hotel as a stop over from scotland to leicester. I read the mixed reviews and initially things went well. The room was ok, we paid extra for the premier room, apart from a small double bed, it looked odd in the room and the furniture around it was clearly for a king size bed. The bed was old and uncomfortable, the roll together was a nightmare even lying on your own you rolled to the centre of the bed, the main issue we had was at dinner, starters and main were good and served in good time, then everything went downhill when we waited 45 minutes for a sticky toffee pudding and a fruit salad! Other people in the restaurant waited the same time for starters and mains, apparently a group of 10 people were In upstairs! Surely a hotel the size of this one could serve more than 10 people at a time? The poor waiter did not know where to put himself and kept apologising, when we complained to the manager he offered us a drink but only when we complained about the time! The 2 girls who were waiting for Chilli got their meal after 45 minutes and it was cold, they left without paying! I refused to pay for our other drinks and went to reception to make sure they were not added on to our bill. There is also a strange configuration regarding lifts! Anyway I wouldn't rush back here, clearly short staffed and whilst that is not always an issue lack of communication to customers is. Nothing was said to us at check out, did you enjoy your stay? I think they knew what our answer would be!

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

Lisa Angus said... Hotel has replied

84%
90%
100%
60%

Stayed 10th August 2019

Excellent location , room smart and tidy , limited menu but not bad for the price we paid . Beautiful decoration and friendly staff. Breakfast alittle disorganised but once we ordered good quality cooked breakfast. Only thing we found was some guests smoking outside the main entrance doesn’t look good .

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

CAROL STUART said... Hotel has replied

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th August 2019

A lovely hotel and lovely staff Food was excellent and location was perfectly

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

Aimee Jayne Gibson said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th July 2019

Brilliant stay well worth the money..we will be back 7?

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th July 2019

Excellent stay we even added another night there , Every thing was perfect staff ,food and room nothing to complain about x

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

Alistair McDonald said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 16th July 2019

enjoyed our stay at the Kings Hotel, this centrally located hotel was ideally located for our requirements and we found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feedback

jacqueline oliver said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2019

Lovely stay, nice and clean with friendly helpful staff. Food supberb ! Good facilities in room teas made, iron and safe. Very central for town, plenty of nearby pubs and shops, would definitely recommend.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

Donna Liddle said... Hotel has replied

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th July 2019

The room was ok, not cleaned to a very high standard though. Pillows had make up on them and the sink hadn’t been cleaned. Staff were great though when I complained they sorted it straight away. Food was lovely and again staff were very attentive and friendly

Hotel reply...

thank you for your feed we will look into your comments to improve our service to guests

keith fairnington said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th June 2019

Good location in the centre of town. Very welcoming and friendly staff.We would like to say Jess in the bar made our stay worth while. Food and accomodation very good.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

Paul Todd said... Hotel has replied

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2019

We have just stayed here on sunday, we arrived slightly early and we were booked straight in as room was ready by the reception staff. room was nice and clean, we had a meal on the night and also breakfast and both were fantastic, the lad who showed us to our seats(sorry cant remember his name but we had knew him from a different hotel) is very polite and we want for nothing. the hotel is very central for all the local pubs and shops, free parking also is a bonus, will we stay here again, too right we will and already planning it, Thanks again to all the staff that made our stay so good

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Great recent weekend stay in March. Modern, large and functional rooms with very helpful staff. Reasonable price. Would defiantly stay again. Used additional parking facilities. Great centre of town location

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2019

Stayed for 3 weeks here while I was training in Darlington. The rooms had everything that you could possibly want. The service at the reception was very quick and professional and very friendly. I chose to eat my evening meals in the Kings restaurant. The meal choice was very good along with all the special nights. Every meal that I chose was beautiful presented and very filling. I looked forward to my meal every day! The service in the restaurant was excellent. They were all pleasant and very professional. I would certainly recommend this hotel . Thank you for making my stay a happy one.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th March 2019

I stayed in a large twin room the room was clean and large it had a good size shower there was tea and coffee it had parking but not for my big van but it’s only a two minute walk to a large car park I would stay again and recommend it the staff were friendly

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

This is a really nice hotel. Very well presented. Clean and well decorated communal areas. Nice restaurant with good menu. All the staff were friendly and professional.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your great feedback