Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Waverley Castle Hotel, Melrose

Waverley Road, Melrose, TD6 9AA, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

A guest said...

57%
40%
70%
60%

Stayed 26th September 2021

Visited this hotel for two nights from 26th September. Reception: nice welcome and quick sign in. But had to pay for our two nights on arrival? Asked for local walking maps around the hotel but didn’t have any? They currently run booked slots for breakfast and dinner. Latest dinner slot (when we visited) was 19.30. Room: nothing like any of the pictures you see on the hotel web site! Guess these are the rooms that cost extra? Our room needed a lot of TLC. Paint chipped and wallpaper coming off the wall under the window. Too many chairs in the room leaving not a lot of space. There was a damp smell particularly in the en suite which was very cramped. If you were a “larger person” - the shower cubical (roughly 2.5ft square) might have been uncomfortable. Good pressure in the shower. Toiletries ok. Nice fluffy towels. Restaurant: been decorated recently and it was really nice. Tables for two very close to others for two. Had dinner first night: my wife ordered haggis Bon Bon’s (I think) for starter and wooosh they arrived in two minutes - not great - been kept hot and not freshly cooked. The sauce to accompany them was served in a bowl like a soup with the Bon Bon’s “floating” in it. Much better to serve them on a small plate with a small jug of sauce. Rest of the food was ok but they could do a bit better on portion control. We had the same main but the portions of potatoes and veg were way different. Interesting that the menu here looked a lot like that in the Portpatrick Hotel where we were a few weeks ago - same hotel group runs both. Breakfast was buffet style. Had booked 9.30 slot and almost every food/juice container was empty - had to ask for bacon. Two really good guys in the restaurant (didn’t see name badges) - one wore glasses and slightly balding and the other a younger guy (Zimbabwean I think he said) with a short ponytail - great customer focus! Had to ask for salt and pepper - none on the table? Bar: as with the restaurant - looks like recently decorated and nice. Woman behind the bar great - friendly and very efficient even when busy. There is (on some nights) entertainment in the ballroom (next to the bar) but nothing while we were there. There is a games room with a pool table - £1 a game. Bar bill added directly to your account - no need to sign and no receipt for what you’ve ordered so if you are keeping tabs on what you are spending - hope your memory is good? General: general areas are in real need of a makeover e.g. carpets in poor condition particularly on stairs, paintwork with lots of chips etc. Bus tours in each night we were there. WiFi throughout and speed was good. Plenty car parking spaces. 15 minutes walk into town along footpath with street lights. Looking for lunch out - we had some in the Ship Inn in town. Great food and really friendly staff and good value. Hope you find this useful.

Janette Wood said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th September 2021

An older property with various small problems that come with age but nevertheless a nice, clean and comfortable hotel. Room a bit plain but bed, pillows etc very comfortable and towels clean and fluffy. A good size with everything we needed for just 2 nights. Was a bit surprised on going for dinner the first night, just how closely everyone was seated to each other considering that Covid restrictions for social distancing were in place. Breakfast was tasty and plenty of choice....Dinner was nice but chicken was just a tad dry. Bar was very comfortable for a few drinks and there is a sizable games room just along from it with various board games, a large screen TV and a pool table. All in all, we enjoyed and would visit again.

James Martin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th September 2021

A fantastic 2 night break for my wife and I. The check-in was slick, professional and the staff member was extremely helpful and personable. The room was lovely and spacious, clean and tidy. The restaurant staff were all amazing, every single one of them we spoke to were great, again, very personable. The food was of a very high standard. Checking out, with the same member of staff who checked us in, again was slick. There was a query on the bill and this was explained and remedied without any issues at all. A massive thank you to everyone at the Hotel, you all made our short stay very special. Would we return ? In a heartbeat. Would we recommend this Hotel to others ? Absolutely, you won’t regret it.

Mary Robertson said...

44%
60%
40%
30%

Stayed 19th September 2021

No one seemed to know what they were doing room was clean food was not good even got the desert wrong certainly won't rush back

Janice Teece said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 15th September 2021

Room at hotel was big and lovely but food in my opinion was not hotel quality ate 8n a pub next night and the difference was night and day

R Vass said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th September 2021

Hotel was good , food was good, some freshening of rooms required but clean an good value for what we were looking for.

R Vass said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th September 2021

Hotel was good , food was good, some freshening of rooms required but clean an good value for what we were looking for.

John Morgan said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 12th September 2021

Stay was average. Room quiet and comfortable. Food adequate but very bland.

brian wedderburn said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 7th September 2021

Room good size, place in general needs uplift. Brilliant breakfast, poor evening meal not given written fayre. Staff great, specially Joshua in dining room, very polite, helpful and attentive

gayle morrison said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th September 2021

We stayed 2 nights and had spacious room with lovely view. Food ok, staff professional and efficient. Good location for walking into Melrose

IAN SOKELL said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th August 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay from 27/8 to 29/8 to meet friends & explore the local area. Some area's of the hotel do look a little tired but overall it is in excellent condition with many area's looking recently refurbished & decorated . Our room (226) was spacious & clean with everything we needed, although the water pressure in the shower was a little weak. All of of the staff we encountered were very polite & helpful especially in the dining room, bar & on reception. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice & the evening meals we had on both nights were reasonably priced & overall very tasty.Unfortunately this was let down by the slower service on the second night compared to the previous night & the steak my wife received which was very small & had been over-cooked. We did make the staff aware of this who explained there was a new chef on-duty & gave us a complimentary bottle of wine as an apology. The singer/entertainer on the Saturday night was good & made the evening very enjoyable. Overall we had an excellent stay & would certainly stay here again & recommend this hotel.

Catherine Shannon said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th August 2021

We were upgraded to a premium room which was great, lots of space but unfortunately it was above the kitchens and the fans or something started at 6am and were very noisy, so much so the room was vibrating& the spoon was rattling in the teacup! This also happened at night til the kitchens closed, it would have been good if they advise the guests of this, it spoiled a lovely relaxing break

George Winch said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd August 2021

We came here for our Ruby anniversary and were not dissapointed. The welcome was very good, the room very acceptable and clean. Free car parking was a big help and the grounds very good. A nice walk along the tweed was followed by a very nice meal. We upgraded from the special menu which was very good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We will be back to this hotel.

Stewart Anderson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th July 2021

Reception, Restaurant and Bar staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and of a reasonable size, although pretty basic in most respects. That said, there were three comfortable chairs, (a huge improvement on many double or twin rooms with only one chair!). The weather was stunningly hot throughout our stay, but there appeared to be a problem with not being able to switch off the heating system, so in some areas of the hotel were still pumping out heat from radiator pipes even though it was stiflingly hot. The carpeting and decor of the dining room was of a much higher standard than the rooms, and was very attractive and relaxing. The breakfasts were very pleasant indeed. We chose to eat in the restaurant both nights of our stay. The first evening we elected to use the set menu and the food was quite good; certainly good value for money. On the second night we celebrated our anniversary by choosing from the a la carte menu. The standard of the food was in a completely different league and we were absolutely delighted that we had chosen to eat here for our special occasion and with the choice of excellent food on this menu. Melrose was a short walk of 20 minutes or so from the hotel and proved to be a lovely little town, with its abbey and gardens well worth visiting. We were also able to visit the amazing Abbotsford, only a few miles away. All in all, we were delighted with our stay. The hotel proved an ideal centre for all that we wanted to do and see.

Margaret Duncan said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Had a lovely stay at the Waverley Castle Hotel. The room and bathroom were clean but in need of a little tlc. We had dinner on one night which was ok but nothing to write home about. Breakfast was brought to us because of COVID restrictions and set us up for the day. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and all the staff were lovely. They were all helpful and friendly.

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th June 2021

The hotel was very pleasant and the rooms were good. The one negative was that the hotel was very hot and there was no way to reduce the heating. The staff were very good and the meals were reasonable.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th March 2020

The room and location was good. Breakfast was included, and was of good quality. Good access to games room.

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 5th February 2020

Good location and easy to find about one mile out of Melrose, plenty of parking available. Small single room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was O.K., the dining room was busy with coach trips but the staff were keeping the buffet style breakfast well supplied. Overall my stay was good value for the price paid.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th March 2020

Friendly staff. Room clean. Plenty parking. Value for money.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th February 2020

Excellent value for the money stayed 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast 21st feb ---23rd feb with 4 free drinks each on the saturday night free, and it was not crappy drinks smirnoff bells morgans was on offer with free mixers .. Good breakfast to start the day, evening meal 4 choices for starters 4 choices for main 4 choices for dessert there is allways something you will like food was hot and tasty . Staff friendly enough, big thanks to James very funny hotel entertainer who put a lot into his show even tho it was out of season . Rooms very warm and comfey ok white gloss paint might be chipped in a few placed in the corridors and a few floor boards creek but common it must be so hard to keep a 77 bed roomed hotel perfect . Will definitely go back to this hotel for another weekend stay

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th March 2020

The rooms were comfortable, staff were great and the meals were excellent with a great choice. Entertainment was good with James Mullaney being a star in our opinion with a great comedy act