Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Waverley Castle Hotel, Melrose

Waverley Road, Melrose, TD6 9AA, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

76%

E Paterson said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2022

Choice of food was good, this is a bus tour hotel, service hit and miss.

A guest said...

37%
50%
10%
50%

Stayed 3rd August 2022

Large room but with tiny window and windows stuck shut with paint. On arrival bathroom had not been cleaned, indeed toilet had been really and truly used!! Next day came back at 3-30 and no housekeeping had been done. Was told “ must have been overlooked” and someone eventually arrived to make bed. Same next day BUT bathroom had been done. 4th day caught a cleaner in corridor and asked for a clean bath as wet one was still lying on floor with towels. Had by this time resigned our selves to accepting the lack of housekeeping. Dirtiest carpet I have ever had in any hotel bedroom! Hotel is geared up for bus tours. Packed dining room with tables where we were seated 4ins apart. Very uncomfortable. Tea and coffee dispensed from large flasks. One good point : the dining manageress was very helpful. Very young waiting staff drafted in for busy evenings but, although inexperienced, were friendly and approachable. Food was ok when given a la crate menu. We would never return to this hotel or recommend it .

Susannah Walsh Dady said...

7%
10%
10%
0%

Stayed 2nd August 2022

Dreadful hotel. I have visited many hotels with myhotelbreak and you should feel embarrassed offering this venue to your customers. We were in room 27 and as you moved closer to the room turning each corner and opening another door you were hit with the smell. Damp, musty sour odour. as if these ground floor rooms had been flooded at some time. The food was not 3 star it wasn't even 1 star. Cheapest of cheap produce some of it unrecognisable. With salad leaves that had been baked in the oven or prepared on the plates for dinner, after breakfast had been served, to save time. I doubt very much that the chef had actually cooked any dish from scratch. We had both ordered onion rings and fries served soft, mushy and look warm. The restaurant supervisor lacked any degree of professionalism, who was dismissive of complaints verging on being rude. I had conversations with several guests who also held similar views on the supervisor. Not the front of house person any hotel should employ, this hotel would do well to consider her role within their hotel. The local restaurants in Melrose must have been clapping their hands in glee when the Waverley hotel re-opened their restaurant to paying guests, as many of them chose to eat out. Even on the morning of checkout the lady in front of us was complaining about her stay. I doubt the duty manager recorded this complaint. When the same employee asked us if our stay was ok? and we replied well no it wasn't ok, he chose not to pursue our response. I felt as though guests were being herded like cattle in the dining room. The tables seating 2 guests were 4 tables in a row side by side with approximately 4 inches between each one. I had guests sitting to my left and right, there was no privacy or personal space.

Isabell Connor said...

64%
70%
80%
40%

Stayed 26th July 2022

Enjoyed a lovely 2 night stay at the waverly castle hotel, staff were all very nice friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable, dinner on the first night unfortunately the food wasn't the best, however overall the stay was good

Anne Hampson said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th July 2022

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Good location for walking and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The help of the Night Porter was invaluable on the last night of our stay when my husband required medical assistance. He calmly dealt with the situation and we appreciated his help very much.

Allan McCulloch said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th July 2022

The hotel itself is dated but you can’t let that get in the way of what is a lovely place with exceptional staff. Go for the options with meals as the food is very good and well presented. Thank You to all for a lovely weekend.

Frank Kennedy said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th July 2022

Very good break away, nice room up grade on arrival by pleasant staff member, the heat in the hallways was uncomfortable tho

Michelle Graham said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th June 2022

Great hotel in a super location. Food was good and staff were very friendly and very welcoming.

A guest said...

60%
70%
70%
40%

Stayed 23rd April 2022

This is a lovely old hotel with nice scenic surroundings. Entertainment on the Sat night was unexpected and very enjoyable... good fun evening. However the food does let the hotel down. Both dinner and breakfast was very disappointing. However on mentioning this at reception the hotel did take the cost of breakfast off our bill which was a really nice goodwill gesture. Overall though a pleasant overnight stay.

A guest said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 18th March 2022

The food was very good but the decor in the rooms looked as if it had been done by an amateur.

Campbell Graham Porter said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th March 2022

We had a pleasant 2 nights at the Waverley Castle Hotel after not being able to get anywhere since 2020, The rooms and staff were super, the only thing we had a problem with was the main meal on the Tuesday night, we both decided to have the Risotto but we both thought it was not the proper risotto rice used, it was rather stodgy and not as smooth as we usually have in our local restaurant. Everything else at the hotel was very good. We both enjoyed the porridge on both mornings for breakfast, it was the best we have tasted in any hotel we have visited. So full marks to the chef for that.

Gareth William Petty said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th March 2022

Great location, great food and very friendly helpful staff. Comfortable and clean bedrooms with en suite although a little tired and in need of some TLC in places. We took advantage of an excellent deal which included a food and drinks voucher. Would certainly go back if a similar deal were to arise.

John Russell said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 5th March 2022

Hotel was very dated and in need of a makeover. Staff where excellent from start to finish. We had a meal in the restaurant. Booking was for 7:30. We didn’t get served our main course till 9:00. We where not in a hurry and young waitress came over a few times to apologise at delay. Food was lovely. We were offered a free dessert due to the issues. We were too full up to take this offer but appreciated the gesture. We we’re compensated for the issues at checkout.We felt that our room, although quite spacious, was very sply furnished/ decorated. The bathroom was very good size but with a tiny shower. Room needed reconfigured.

Colin Mauchlen said...

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 19th February 2022

Had a great overnight break. Staff were all so polite,friendly and attentive. Room was a little dated but didn’t really detract from the stay. Food was great and service very prompt and polite. Gotta say thanks to Liam the barman. What a lovely fella he is so friendly and provided 1st class service. Room 111 could be doing with some TLC. room was very warm and I couldn’t turn off the radiator as the valve handles were inoperable. Showering was a bit of a challenge for myself at 6ft 3 cubicle was very snug and water pressure was almost non existent. Those little faults aside we had a great stay and will seriously consider returning.

A Connor said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th February 2022

Very good overnight stay. Staff friendly and helpful. Food was good and the break was very good value.

john wilson said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th February 2022

Hotel a bit dated but still great value. Location excellent staff helpful rooms warm and clean. Food good.

Gail Hamp said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 12th February 2022

Hotel was set in a beautiful location, from the outside the was very Grand! Inside was a lovely reception area, the building is old, but they have done their best to keep the interior presentable. Our was fresh and walls had a modern touch with an aubergine colour as the main feature. The room was clean and warm, with tea and coffee making facilities. We had a special offer which included a £40 voucher for food and drink, this made it a very reasonable price for an overnight stay. The food was presented in a nice way, I was a little disappointed with the fries that came with a burger I ordered, but overall good value.

A McPate said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th February 2022

Very enjoyable stay helpful staff keen to please will definitely return

Billy McLarty said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd January 2022

When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist was very welcoming, his name was Chuck and he could not have been more helpful, explained where everything was and booked us in for dinner. Staff where all very nice and pleasant. Food was lovely, we had main and dessert, varied menu and not overly priced. The only thing we felt could have been better would have been the room, it was very basic. We really enjoyed our stay and would return.

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th January 2022

Lovely and friendly staff particularly the bar person who was very helpful. Dinner was good and several choices. Breakfast was also excellent. Room was basic but clean and good size. Not many guests in the hotel as it was early January but it was warm and comfortable. The breakfast room, ballroom and bar are all well maintained. Short walk to village and lots of good walks in the area. Will definitely return. Thanks for lovely stay

Gill Murray said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th December 2021

Our first visit to this Hotel through myhotelbreak.com and with such a superb offer. We were 2 adults and 1 large dog and our room was on the ground floor with easy access to the outside. We opted to have our dinner in our room and this was delivered to us both nights. 2 things make a good stay for us - good food and good staff and we received both of these in bucket fulls! The food for breakfast and dinner both days was absolutely superb and the staff we met from all departments were just fantastic. It has been a tough time for Hotels recently but the Waverley Castle is making its mark and greatly deserves to be supported. We are looking forward to our next stay with you already. Many thanks to everyone.

Andrea Sutherland said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2021

Had a very nice stay here. You can see they are trying their best to update the hotel decor wise. The staff are lovely , friendly and helpful. Food was very nice. We stayed here on the dbb deal which was a fantastic deal. We took our little dog with us also. We would definetly return here.

Alan Deans said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th December 2021

Booked 4 rooms on DB and B option. December We had a great stay. Rooms were basic but clean and warm. Dinner was very good with great choices. Buffet Breakfast was very good (except fried eggs bit rubbery) haggis was excellent and there was plenty of choice. Hotel was very quiet due to current restrictions un this suited us and allowed us to make great use of the games room and bar. Staff were first class and couldn’t have done anymore for us. Hotel was on edge of town so we got minibus taxi for 8 people to town for only £6.50 each way.

Walter Scott said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th December 2021

Very enjoyable stay.Food was excellent.Great value for the money.

Alistair Johnstone said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th November 2021

Stayed 1 night DB&B 4/11. The hotel is an impressive 19th century former spa hotel in it's own grounds, located between Melrose and Galashiels. It is an ideal base in the Scottish Borders for walkers and tourists, and only an hour's drive from Edinburgh. Formerly primarily catering for coach tours under the ownership of Shearings, it is now owned by Bespoke Hotels, who have a long term task of refurbishment. While still having an air of fading grandeur, if prospective visitors do not set their sights too high, they will find a friendly, clean, quirky, comfortable hotel. Our Room 26 Twin was clean and warm, 32 inch TV with full freeview channels, and well appointed ensuite. The upstairs bar was comfortable, with a reasonable choice of reasonably priced drinks. Breakfast was buffet style in the main dining room with a good choice of hot and cold options. Dinner was at 1830 or 1930. A reasonable choice, generous portions, well cooked. Also a good wine list reasonably priced. As I have already said, don't expect the Ritz, but with the offers available on myhotelbreak, this is a well located comfortable hotel offering good value for money off-season.