Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Portpatrick Hotel, Portpatrick

Heugh Road, Portpatrick, DG9 8TQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Jim Robb said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 26th June 2022

First room unacceptable due to excessive draught. “Sea view” only accessible from small window leaning over a chair, having paid extra for!

James Hill said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th June 2022

Hotel was fantastic staff very helpful food lovely and hot plenty to choose from waiter Callum and barmaid Sam excellent would recommended it would go back at some point many thanks Mr and Mrs hill also would say staff were very good with our dog millie

kirsty alexander said...

60%
50%
70%
60%

Stayed 23rd May 2022

Stunning views, nice refurb decor of ground floor reception, corridors and bar areas. Welcoming helpful staff. Food was on average, we enjoyed haggis stack starter, fish and chips & cheese board.(dinner included in our price) We stayed room 122 superior twin sea view room, bed was comfortable, Room decor was a little tired, carpet needed replaced, floor boards are old, and the floor had obvious dips in it on the main footfall area across room to toilet. Toilet is basic, shower is over bath, would have expected more modern for superior suit. The windows where to be replaced, however, we only found this out when the manager tried to enter our room unexpectedly using his key! He seemed confused that the room was occupied. We where compensated for this 'mis communication' after my hubby was not happy at attempted entry and discussed further with manager. Dinner we where seated beside the Joiners from Liverpool here to replace windows. We had to ask to move table, as they where just to loud using un charming language, making business calls and watching YouTube videos.?in main dinning room! The lovely Sam moved us to another table, no problem. Sam is a great asset to this hotel in my opinion she just has a certain charm to her nature that we both appreciated, and could tell other guests did also.The dining room is is well decorated, service is slow, but think this is due to staff training I think. The work on windows was started in other rooms on same floor. I expected to be woken by the waves lapping in the bay, but instead I was woken 7.15 am with drone of joiners chat on the balcony below. For this reason we stayed out longer for the day to avoid most of the hammering and banging. (no notification that there would be building work going on during out stay) not standard practice I would think for the beginning of season, but I think hotel had recently changed owners. At least the windows are being replaced and this will compliment future guest stays. I would stay again in a refurbished room.

Barbara Johnstone said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2022

I thought this was a beautifully situated hotel looking over Portpatrick. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful - really enjoyed our wee break ??

Marie Crabb said...

77%
40%
90%
100%

Stayed 26th March 2022

We had a lovely stay. The room was spacious and warm. Evening meal was lovely with attentive staff. Breakfast was really tasty. All in all a great break - wish we’d stayed longer.

Frank Bonnar said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 25th March 2022

Beautiful setting up on hill stunning views staff very friendly helpful in every way food was lovely and very tasty typical hotel prices for drink will definitely be back

ivie trousdale said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2022

We had a sea view room which was great, particularly as the sun shone for the whole weekend. The room was clean with modern furniture. Decor needed to be freshened up in both room & ensuite. However staff could not have been more helpful or friendly - dining room staff had to work very hard as hotel was busy. Good choice of food, reasonably priced and quality was perfectly acceptable. NO complaints and will probably go back at some stage (particularly if they promise the same sort of weather!)

Vicki Rusted said...

47%
0%
80%
60%

Stayed 19th March 2022

Room was tired looking and needed updated. Cracks in the plasterwork, ripped curtains, a very uncomfortable bed and wind whistling through the windows. On top of which there was no radiator in the room therefore very cold. Reception did provide two heaters when we complained. Used a £99 voucher for DB&B and upgraded to a Superior Double with a SeaView for a further £100. Definitely not worth the money. Would not recommend. Can’t fault the staff though, very helpful and friendly. Not their fault the room we had was in need of repair.

Margaret Duncan said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th March 2022

Had a wonderful stay at the Portpatrick hotel. The room was basic but clean and very well maintained. The view from the window was beautiful down to the harbour. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The portions at meal times were more than enough for us and the food was warm and tasty. All communal areas were comfortable, clean, tidy and again very well maintained. And to top it off the sun shone all weekend making the stay extra special. All in all a fantastic weekend.

Ann Fleming said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th March 2022

Hotel was clean our room was small but I know they have bigger rooms. Staff were friendly and food and service excellent. Location and views are stunning and weather was lovely when we stayed so seen hotel at its best ?

morag buchanan said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2022

We really enjoyed our break at the weekend. Hotel was lovely and our room was clean and comfy. Staff were friendly and helpful but hotel was very short staffed, especially in the kitchen and dining room. This led to a very long wait for dinner, though guests were very understanding. Service was really good at breakfast. Lots of hotels have the same problem just now, partly due to covid. We will definitely be back again.

Jacqueline Watson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2021

All the staff were very helpful and pleasant from the minute we walked in the door. The room was excellent had been redecorated and the food was first class.

A guest said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th September 2021

Main hotel was nice,staff were lovely but room was disappointing and bathroom awful. No toiletries apart from a small bar of soap. Couldn't make sense of my bill so would advise to pay as you go and you couldn't get anything to eat between breakfast and dinner.

Gaynor Cunningham said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th September 2021

Very friendly staff

LORAINE DODDS said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2021

Good, helpful staff, great location.

Jim Jardine said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 3rd August 2021

Rooms very good. Meals very good and staff excellent.

Fiona Patterson said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st July 2021

Hi stayed there sat and sun nights food great and staff very helpful. Views specular. Only downside was decor needed updating but everywhere is like that recently. Very clean and comfortable.

Jacqueline Rosser said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 29th July 2021

Had a wonderful relaxing break. The staff in the hotel are so friendly and helpful especially Charlie on reception. The food was very good. The room was a bit tired, could do with upgrading considering you have to pay extra but the view was fantastic. Definitely will be back.

Stuart Macdonald said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th July 2021

Fantastic trip during these testing times, our only gripe was the en-suite which was very restricted for space, room 204, and the lift was out of order, but we are both able bodied and fit so no worries, when I brought it to the staffs notice the next day they did offer to move us, albeit the hotel was nearly full, we declined the offer as we were leaving the next day. The hotel, however, compensated my wife and I with a meal on the house which was lovely, so we were very grateful for this and it made our break that bit special, we would definitely return as everything else was fab. We played golf at the local course, again the people were very friendly so we would return.

Jacky Thompson said...

64%
70%
60%
60%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Room wasn't ready at 4pm but we where given complimentary drinks and it wasn't that much later we got our key. The hotel is still very much finding its feet after reopening but all hotels we have visited so far are having the same problems. Severe lack of staff in the dining area both mornings we sat for over half an hour before we where acknowledged with tea & toast but one hour for the actual breakfast I couldn't fault the breakfast as it was roasting though and we did enjoy our stay as the weather was lovely.

A guest said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th May 2021

Really enjoyed our 2 night stay in this hotel and would definitely return. The hotel has recently reopened therefore all staff are new so there were the inevitable teething problems...but everyone was very friendly and helpful therefore I’m sure the few minor issues will be resolved as they find their feet. Despite a very long wait for breakfast, the food was good and plenty of choices were available. Dinner was included in our deal and was delicious. The best part of this stay was the amazing view of the harbour from our bedroom window and, yes the water pressure in the shower was non existent, but on the whole we were happy.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2020

When we visited the hotel for a few days, we were greeted on arrival by a very friendly lady on reception. Went to our room which was nice very clean and really warm which was great as the weather was so awful. Bathroom is a little old but perfectly acceptable and again it was very clean, the beds and pillows were comfy and we slept very well. The views are spectacular looking on to the sea and the village below .breakfast was very tasty and always hot which isn't always the case with buffet breakfasts, evening meals were good and a special mention to the restaurant staff.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2020

Visited recently, the hotel staff were brilliant and restaurant staff were friendly and looked after us. Only downside is the steps down to village especially in darkness can't see a thing.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th August 2020

We had a lovely stay at The Portpatrick Hotel. My gluten free dietary requirements were extremely well catered for with a separate gluten free menu. I was very impressed with the way staff went through the menu with me and my meals were the best I have had in a hotel. Well done to everyone. The location is absolutely stunning and staff are efficient and friendly.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd August 2020

Beautiful location. Thirty minutes from ferry ports to Ireland. Lovely original building. Excellent value for money.