Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Portpatrick Hotel, Portpatrick

Heugh Road, Portpatrick, DG9 8TQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

71%

J McCrear said...

67%
40%
90%
70%

Stayed 17th September 2021

Lovely views Staff very friendly and helpful However 2nd floor bedroom had quite a few damp spots

Gaynor Cunningham said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th September 2021

Very friendly staff

LORAINE DODDS said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2021

Good, helpful staff, great location.

Mmcivor Cchristine said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2021

Lovely hotel and excellent food , staff very friendly, we took our wee puppy with us and the staff served us in a different dining room in a timely manner would recommend this hotel.

M Logan said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th August 2021

Food good. Room adequate though did whack my head of the sloping ceiling. Felt it should have had a mind your head sticker. Staff very friendly and all areas clean. Disappointed at the charge of £13.90 for two glasses of wine. Bar might have been busier if prices more reasonable.

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 11th August 2021

Enjoyed our stay. Bedroom clean and comfortable. Bathroom a bit tired and no toiletries except soap. Restaurant food was acceptable although breakfast buffet was non existant on first day as we were the last sitting. Lovely lounge area and bar. Staff helpful and friendly

Jacqueline Skingsley said...

60%
60%
80%
40%

Stayed 7th August 2021

We were disappointed with the food at the Hotel. The full breakfast was over cooked and dry. The evening meal of lamb was two thin slices of meat. The double room was on the small size but adequate for our two night stay. The hotel location was superb and the sea view from our room was lovely. Portpatrick is a lovely place to visit.

A guest said...

70%
50%
70%
90%

Stayed 8th August 2021

We had a lovely stay here, a great base with amazing views. We stayed 4 nights, dinner included 2 of these nights. Food at the restaurant was great! We had £25pp towards the full menu or could have their 3 course deal menu. You can easily get a starter & steak dinner for the £25 which was a far superior meal to the 3 course deal menu which was smaller helpings & much less interesting. Scallop starter & steak main were excellent.. wine v reasonably priced & food was always piping hot. Really needed more restaurant staff at breakfast as the staff were run off their feet & customers were beginning to get annoyed waiting on things that would likely normally be out as a buffet service but not just now due to Covid. The bedroom on the 2nd floor we were initially given was small & dark with a tiny sea/harbour view window, attic ceiling & stained carpet.. we asked to change room as we’re staying 4 nights & this was a v sad room we were given - we were offered a different brighter room without any hassle even though the hotel was busy. This room had a sea view over car park on the ground floor & was far better although the bathroom was still extremely tired (had a hole in the ceiling with wires from old light fitting & odd looking pipes/plumbing, ancient floral tiles) it was functional, shower pressure being on the ground floor was great! We love Portpatrick so would go back as it’s so handy, your at the harbour in minutes..

A guest said...

64%
10%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th July 2021

Stench of wet dog at bottom corner of bed sheet.asked for dog free room not possible all rooms share dogs....why ......surely some rooms could be dog free.

Jim Jardine said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 3rd August 2021

Rooms very good. Meals very good and staff excellent.

Mary Irwin said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 3rd August 2021

Enjoyed my stay at PortPatrick hotel but the hotel requires a bit of updating in rooms. Paint peeling of ceiling and toilets requiring updating. Staff lovely/helpful throughout stay. Not enough staff on at breakfast time which caused delays. Young staff who did their best.

Fiona Patterson said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st July 2021

Hi stayed there sat and sun nights food great and staff very helpful. Views specular. Only downside was decor needed updating but everywhere is like that recently. Very clean and comfortable.

Jacqueline Rosser said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 29th July 2021

Had a wonderful relaxing break. The staff in the hotel are so friendly and helpful especially Charlie on reception. The food was very good. The room was a bit tired, could do with upgrading considering you have to pay extra but the view was fantastic. Definitely will be back.

Carole Stryker said...

64%
50%
90%
50%

Stayed 28th July 2021

The room was fine, we had asked for a ground floor room with a walk in shower and that's exactly what we got. The only thing that we had to complain about was the meals. Cold fish, sauce on lamb was really sweet, My husband has a problem with food at the moment and we fully appreciate that part of the problem was us. The manager and the staff in the restaurant could not have been better, and soon sorted it out for us

A guest said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th July 2021

Had a lovely stay at the hotel. Basic room. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Portpatrick is a lovely area to visit.

G Watson said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st July 2021

We had a nice couple of nights at the hotel with dinner on our first night. The reviews said the hotel had undergone some upgrading but the room we were given was not upgraded and the bathroom was very dated although it was clean and tidy. The rest of the hotel was good and the staff were all very pleasant. The great weather let us enjoy the view of the village from the hotel terrace which made up for the room.

Stuart Macdonald said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th July 2021

Fantastic trip during these testing times, our only gripe was the en-suite which was very restricted for space, room 204, and the lift was out of order, but we are both able bodied and fit so no worries, when I brought it to the staffs notice the next day they did offer to move us, albeit the hotel was nearly full, we declined the offer as we were leaving the next day. The hotel, however, compensated my wife and I with a meal on the house which was lovely, so we were very grateful for this and it made our break that bit special, we would definitely return as everything else was fab. We played golf at the local course, again the people were very friendly so we would return.

jacqueline orr said...

64%
10%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th June 2021

Hotel rooms very sad could do with being up dated, bathroom terrible the only consolation was that it was clean. Staff were lovely, food really good and bar was nice.

Mr Lynch said...

70%
50%
70%
90%

Stayed 23rd June 2021

Food very good service could be better room clean tidy shower poor just not our standard bed not great dinning room lovely bar area very good staff on reception very helpful

Hugh McDonald said...

44%
30%
70%
30%

Stayed 22nd June 2021

I paid an additional £20 for a room with a sea view. The room was a double the smallest I have ever experienced in any hotel. It was cam ceiling which reduced the already floor area. We did have a sea view through a window which was a imum of 60 cm . The meal I ordered was a 3 course from the a la carte menu. The first course was good , the main dish was very poor and the desert was average. Not a good advert for the hotel. More would have been said at the time if Scotland v Croatia wasn't the priority.

Jacky Thompson said...

64%
70%
60%
60%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Room wasn't ready at 4pm but we where given complimentary drinks and it wasn't that much later we got our key. The hotel is still very much finding its feet after reopening but all hotels we have visited so far are having the same problems. Severe lack of staff in the dining area both mornings we sat for over half an hour before we where acknowledged with tea & toast but one hour for the actual breakfast I couldn't fault the breakfast as it was roasting though and we did enjoy our stay as the weather was lovely.

A guest said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th May 2021

Really enjoyed our 2 night stay in this hotel and would definitely return. The hotel has recently reopened therefore all staff are new so there were the inevitable teething problems...but everyone was very friendly and helpful therefore I’m sure the few minor issues will be resolved as they find their feet. Despite a very long wait for breakfast, the food was good and plenty of choices were available. Dinner was included in our deal and was delicious. The best part of this stay was the amazing view of the harbour from our bedroom window and, yes the water pressure in the shower was non existent, but on the whole we were happy.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2020

When we visited the hotel for a few days, we were greeted on arrival by a very friendly lady on reception. Went to our room which was nice very clean and really warm which was great as the weather was so awful. Bathroom is a little old but perfectly acceptable and again it was very clean, the beds and pillows were comfy and we slept very well. The views are spectacular looking on to the sea and the village below .breakfast was very tasty and always hot which isn't always the case with buffet breakfasts, evening meals were good and a special mention to the restaurant staff.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2020

Visited recently, the hotel staff were brilliant and restaurant staff were friendly and looked after us. Only downside is the steps down to village especially in darkness can't see a thing.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th August 2020

We had a lovely stay at The Portpatrick Hotel. My gluten free dietary requirements were extremely well catered for with a separate gluten free menu. I was very impressed with the way staff went through the menu with me and my meals were the best I have had in a hotel. Well done to everyone. The location is absolutely stunning and staff are efficient and friendly.