Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Claymore Hotel, Arrochar

Loch Long, Arrochar, G83 7BB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

A guest said...

57%
70%
50%
50%

Stayed 25th June 2022

We did not pay a lot of money for the break away and we are not overly fussy people but it could have been a lot better. The room had a cobweb or two but was adequately furnished. We think the chambermaid was just overworked. The hotel needs a bit of money spent in it to upgrade it. Guttering could have been cleared, window sills broken and rotten and the car park like a mud and water pool, some stones to fill up the massive holes would be a benefit. But our biggest complaint was the staff (apart from the chambermaid)generally a lack of interest in the guests. At the first breakfast- finished at 9.30am there was little left ( there had been 2 bus loads in) it was 9 am when the waiter said ‘You should have been earlier’ that was after being cross questioned if we had paid?? The second morning was worse! 3 congealed fried eggs and little else and we sat down earlier. What we did notice was the staff ate what was left and mculously the food was restocked. The constant clearing up and resetting tables for dinner when the breakfast was still on was really annoying, hurrying to get finished to eat! The hotel is in such a lovely setting with fantastic views, it could be improved greatly with a bit of TLC and some staff training. The two nights we were there had ‘entertainment’ for the guests (2 bus loads) it was quite good but very very loud!

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th May 2022

Excellent service, food good although set menu. Buffet breakfast lovely. Walking weekend so great location.

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 29th April 2022

Lovely hotel . Loved the pool table/entertainment. Food was lovely . Staff were friendly

David McArthur said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th April 2022

Brilliant hotel Great service

Karl Pickup said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th March 2022

Lovely hotel, great staff, food very good

Linda Coote said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 1st March 2022

A comfortable and friendly hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay with you.

pat doogan said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th February 2022

clean and tidy hotel with friendly staff just bathrooms need a wee upgrade shower would help

Joseph McKenna said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 25th February 2022

This hotel was in a great location we thought it was very comfortable and nice rooms. The food was OK but the seating arrangement was bad we were moved twice after sitting where we were placed this did not take away from our stay there.

Yvonne Stuart said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 22nd January 2022

All positive comments from us apart from very very poor w-fi. Hotel staff just lovely, food was fine too.

Lorraine Scally said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd January 2022

Really good value for money. Could do with some heating as felt the hotel in hallways and room cold.

Nicola Mackay said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th December 2021

Some areas need updating. Bars and restaurants are lovely. Very attentive staff and all very polite. Great value for money

Gerard McLaughlin said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd December 2021

This is the second time we have stayed at the Claymore and once again we had a fantastic weekend. The staff are lovely, the views exceptional and the hotel is cosy and warm. It has everything you need for a weekend break, a cosy little bar, entertainment in the evening and the food was tasty. We will definitely be returning.

Iain Kennedy said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th November 2021

Obliging staff, very clean room, plenty of choice for breakfast , would recommend to others without hesitation.

Gerard McLaughlin said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 19th November 2021

We had an excellent stay at the Claymore. The room was warm and comfortable and the view amazing. The staff could not have been more helpful or attentive. Special mention for Mark in the restaurant.

Lorraine Scally said...

67%
20%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th November 2021

Hotel reception, restaurant and bars excellent. Rooms could do with a good clean and a lick of paint. Very dirty and tired. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food and service very good

Philip Lee Thompson said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st November 2021

A rather frosty reception! We were told to come back after 4pm when our room would be ready! When we got to our loch view room, we were pleasantly surprised. Small, but newly decorated, clean and warm with a great view. Dinner was included for the first night which was very good. Lovely, helpful staff, in particular Oor Willie. Breakfast was very good too. All in all a great break, in a gorgeous location (we had fabulous weather). Great value for money. We'll certainly be back. Highly recommended

Fiona Wilkinson said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd October 2021

We had a lovely stay at the Claymore. The hotel is tired and could do with some refurbishment. We had upgraded to a loch view room which was good, clean and comfortable with a beautiful view. The staff were all very hard working and very polite. Our waitress in the dining room was very attentive and helpful.

Margaret Gemmell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2021

We had an enjoyable stay last weekend at the Claymore Hotel, the staff were great and very accommodating, we had a lovely room overlooking the loch which was serene even though it was raining.We were able to have our meals in the bar which was great as we could have our dog with us, thank you, food was really good especially the breakfast. We will go back to this hotel again.hopefully the weather will be better.

james Smith said...

85%
70%
100%
N/A

Stayed 24th September 2021

The hotel was a bit tired looking and could do with a refurb and a good deep clean, although our bedding was clean enough and if you consider what we paid it was value for money. What I would say that the staff were outstanding and very attentive and made our stay most enjoyable.

John Caldwell said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 10th September 2021

Staff were friendly. Food was average. We stayed in the old part of the hotel and the decor was poor. Wall paper torn, ceilings with water damage etc.

Raymond Hill said...

70%
50%
100%
60%

Stayed 13th August 2021

Had a great couple of nights with my wife for our 23rd anniversary, all staff were fantastic and really made sure we were attended to (Very Very good staff Hotel should be proud) under cirstances/climate. Hotel location is stunning by Loch Lomond makes you appreciate how nice our country is. Hotel itself is tired and needs some TLC to raise standard/quality. Overall value for money for what we paid.

Kathleen Watters said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th August 2021

Hotel was beautiful. Staff really friendly.

A guest said...

74%
50%
100%
70%

Stayed 3rd August 2021

Very friendly staff and welcome. Clean rooms and good service in the dining room. Could do with a complete upgrade. Definitely value for money. Enjoyed our stay

Lorna Blades said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th July 2021

My partner and I arrived on Friday 30th July. The hotel was busy which is always a good sign. I had asked for a room with a scenic view, we were booked into Room 1 which was a corner room in the main hotel with a window at the front and side. The views were spectacular. The room was clean, spacious enough and with plenty storage and places to keep out luggage. The room and bathroom are in need of some TLC but we weren't too bothered as we were going to spend most of our time outside and we just wanted to relax. The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, particular praise has to go to the bar person, I think his name is Scott and also the member of staff in the restaurant, I didn't get his name, tall with dark hair, think he is garian perhaps. They were both so friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our shower, we didn't have any , we called reception and the manager of the hotel came to the room and after running the shower for 20 minutes he managed to get us some luke warm water. He apologised for the inconvenience and offered us a complimentary dinner on the Saturday evening. For the price we paid I can absolutely recommend this hotel. The restaurant and bar area are lovely. Dinner was included on the first night, breakfast both mornings. Food was great, no complaints at all. All in all we had a great time. The only thing I would comment on is the midges, please wear repellent or Skin So Soft when you arrive. This is just an aside, nothing at all to do with the visit, hotel or staff, just a wee recommendation if you are prone to the wee so and so's nibbling away. One minor comment I would make to the hotel is I would dispose of the shower mats, they are worn and a bit grubby and in need of being replaced. Home and suitably relaxed :-)

Bill Cowan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2021

Hotel and location lovely. Food very good and staff excellent rooms clean. Bed a bit small but that's just because we are used to a king size bed. Mark looked after us well in the breakfast/dinning room.