Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Claymore Hotel, Arrochar

Loch Long, Arrochar, G83 7BB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Margaret Gemmell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2021

We had an enjoyable stay last weekend at the Claymore Hotel, the staff were great and very accommodating, we had a lovely room overlooking the loch which was serene even though it was raining.We were able to have our meals in the bar which was great as we could have our dog with us, thank you, food was really good especially the breakfast. We will go back to this hotel again.hopefully the weather will be better.

james Smith said...

85%
70%
100%
N/A

Stayed 24th September 2021

The hotel was a bit tired looking and could do with a refurb and a good deep clean, although our bedding was clean enough and if you consider what we paid it was value for money. What I would say that the staff were outstanding and very attentive and made our stay most enjoyable.

John Caldwell said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 10th September 2021

Staff were friendly. Food was average. We stayed in the old part of the hotel and the decor was poor. Wall paper torn, ceilings with water damage etc.

Raymond Hill said...

70%
50%
100%
60%

Stayed 13th August 2021

Had a great couple of nights with my wife for our 23rd anniversary, all staff were fantastic and really made sure we were attended to (Very Very good staff Hotel should be proud) under cirstances/climate. Hotel location is stunning by Loch Lomond makes you appreciate how nice our country is. Hotel itself is tired and needs some TLC to raise standard/quality. Overall value for money for what we paid.

Kathleen Watters said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th August 2021

Hotel was beautiful. Staff really friendly.

A guest said...

74%
50%
100%
70%

Stayed 3rd August 2021

Very friendly staff and welcome. Clean rooms and good service in the dining room. Could do with a complete upgrade. Definitely value for money. Enjoyed our stay

Lorna Blades said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th July 2021

My partner and I arrived on Friday 30th July. The hotel was busy which is always a good sign. I had asked for a room with a scenic view, we were booked into Room 1 which was a corner room in the main hotel with a window at the front and side. The views were spectacular. The room was clean, spacious enough and with plenty storage and places to keep out luggage. The room and bathroom are in need of some TLC but we weren't too bothered as we were going to spend most of our time outside and we just wanted to relax. The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, particular praise has to go to the bar person, I think his name is Scott and also the member of staff in the restaurant, I didn't get his name, tall with dark hair, think he is garian perhaps. They were both so friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our shower, we didn't have any , we called reception and the manager of the hotel came to the room and after running the shower for 20 minutes he managed to get us some luke warm water. He apologised for the inconvenience and offered us a complimentary dinner on the Saturday evening. For the price we paid I can absolutely recommend this hotel. The restaurant and bar area are lovely. Dinner was included on the first night, breakfast both mornings. Food was great, no complaints at all. All in all we had a great time. The only thing I would comment on is the midges, please wear repellent or Skin So Soft when you arrive. This is just an aside, nothing at all to do with the visit, hotel or staff, just a wee recommendation if you are prone to the wee so and so's nibbling away. One minor comment I would make to the hotel is I would dispose of the shower mats, they are worn and a bit grubby and in need of being replaced. Home and suitably relaxed :-)

Bill Cowan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2021

Hotel and location lovely. Food very good and staff excellent rooms clean. Bed a bit small but that's just because we are used to a king size bed. Mark looked after us well in the breakfast/dinning room.

Margaret Elaine Colton said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2021

Hotel rooms need a bit of TLC, food was good & bar expensive

Caroline Haining said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2021

Staff so friendly and helpful. Bit of a delay getting our room due to 2 coach loads arriving same time as us. We took our dog not a problem. Our room was really nice. Clean tidy. No shampoo shower gel in bathroom but we were told this on their web page. No entertainment but we knew that through the covid restrictions. If you want Wifi you need to sit at the front of the hotel. Rooms do not get wifi.great if you want a relaxing break. Overall parts of the hotel a bit tired. But cannot fault the staff. I have booked to go again great value.

john dutton said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

What a great weekend... laughed from start to finish. Staff were brilliant especially Scott the bar manager and joesef. Will definitely be back.

A guest said...

67%
20%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2021

The staff at the hotel were incredibly welcoming. The view from our hotel window was beautiful and both breakfast and dinner were of a high standard. The only thing I’d recommend that would need improving was the hygiene of the room. Our room had great potential but was let down by the many stains on the carpet and the walls. The wooden features in the bathroom were very dirty and the kettle and cups were not properly cleaned. However, we enjoyed our stay overall.

A guest said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th June 2021

I had a great time we have been before but disappointed that there was no entertainment as promised due to bespoke hotel chain arrochar complained that claymore was taking there customers away so owners stopped entertainment because of this we had to go to another hotel which had entertainment because of this my wife tripped over and cut both her hands ? full of blood claymore manger Garry gave her first aid ??need entertainment which was promised lots of people ?

A guest said...

54%
50%
100%
10%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Hotel was ok the meal was not good the chicken was like a frozen one from farmfoods with a dripple of sauce on it the breakfast was lovely and the staff were so nice but the dinner spoiled it all

Ian Campbell said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th June 2021

The hotel is in a fantastic peaceful location with a great view of the cobbler, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless and have everything you need, all in all a great place for a relaxing couple of days

Janette Wood said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th June 2021

All in all a nice break. Hotel a bit tired in areas, but perfectly adequate. Room and shower room on the small side, but clean and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Staff friendly and helpful.

pauline hood said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 13th June 2021

Hotel was clean, our room was spotless, going along one of the corridors there was a very strong smell of damp, food was okay. Staff very friendly and our dog was made to feel very welcome

Michelle Graham said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th June 2021

Great hotel for the money, the room was sea view which was great . Would recommend

Russell Tanner said...

70%
50%
100%
60%

Stayed 11th June 2021

contacted hotel a couple of weeks prior to our arrival as I had noticed that not all rooms have showers and I require one. On arrival original room had no shower and we were allocated another with a shower, unfortunately I didn't check it was operating until the following morning when we discovered that it had no pressure when attempting to run as we had already decanted all our stuff in room we decided to make the best of it. The food was alright and i would say good value for money, the service from the staff was first class. The decor in the rooms is tired as are some of the communal areas. We paid the extra for a loch view which was well worth the money the scenery is stunning.

mark giles said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th June 2021

Lovely hotel rooms was not great but we got moved to a loch view .

Cherry-ann Lindsay said...

67%
50%
100%
50%

Stayed 11th June 2021

Lovely quaint hotel and our room overlooked the loch. But outdated and needs a bit of refurbishment but the customer service was fabulous. I'd definitely go back for great location and staff

john park said...

47%
40%
70%
30%

Stayed 8th June 2021

Very disappointed in this hotel the room was very poor and the food was not very good. The outside of the hotel looks run down and doesn’t create a good impression when you arrive

Linda Drummond said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th June 2021

We had a lovely stay at the Claymore. The staff were extremely helpfull nothing was a problem. The food was nice service really quick. Arrochar is a beautiful place some amazing drives along the loch

coutts mhairi said...

30%
10%
80%
0%

Stayed 9th June 2021

The hotel is in Need of a major investment and total refurbishment, the only glimmer of hope the claymore has is it’s staff who were veRy helpful and accommodating

james thomson said...

40%
40%
50%
30%

Stayed 5th June 2021

All in all enjoyed our weekend in arrochar. As of the hotel we had booked a double room some months before only to be given a twin when we questioned this we were told there’s none left but we’re given another twin room as first one was tired looking. food on first night was a disappointment we had to send back so decided to eat out after that.