Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Gretna Chase Hotel, Gretna

Sark Bridge, Gretna, DG16 5JB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th May 2024

Lovely overnight stay, friendly staff and great food at dinner and breakfast. Will be back.

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th May 2024

Fabulous Sunday night stay at a fabulous £70 - Sunday night saver! Lovely spacious, clean room, comfy bed and very nice supper and breakfast. Wanted to stop longer.

Fred Wonders said...

97 %
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 12th May 2024

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel the offer we had was dinner, bed and breakfast with £15pp towards an evening meal (or for £10pp we could upgrade too the steak night experiance) that's what we did and it was lovely. The room we had was a deluxe room which was huge the bed was comfortable and there was plenty of choices with the tea/coffee facilities. The staff were very polite and helpful especially the lass behind the bar as she guided us through the steak experience. The bar was well stocked and our drinks were pulled to perfection. Breakfast was buffet style but there was plenty of choice both continental & cooked

A guest said...

94 %
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th May 2024

Very enjoyable stay despite one of the bar staff being very unhelpful when asked about the steak deal and couldn’t answer our question. Simply stated she didn’t know she only worked in the place! Also was charged for a spilled full drink which was placed on a wobbly table therefore no fault of our own

Allison Bonner said...

27 %
70%
10%
0%

Stayed 5th May 2024

Absolutely appalling we rang ahead through the week to book our table for dinner as asked in an email as it was busy bank holiday weekend. Upon checking in we were asked again to book a table for dinner, i said i’ve already rang,& booked a table but it hadn’t been written nxt to our names i said 7pm thank you. We arrived just after 7 to find there were no seats left for dinner and we were shown to reception area which we weren’t happy about. We waited nearly an hour for our starter which wasn’t great, then told our steak was ready we asked for well done it was cremated and dry as sticks. They did ask us to move to the bar when a table came available approximately 45 minutes later but we refused as we were sat with our drinks waiting for our food. The room was nice and clean and bed comfortable but won’t be staying here again in 35 years of hospitality and being a chef i’ve never been asked to sit in reception to eat when other residents are checking in disgusting .

Amanda Gibson said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th April 2024

On the plus side...Great location, lovely comfy clean, spacious rooms, lovely little garden. Evening dinner was delicious although it lacked any form of presentation. ( Important to me ) On the negative side.. breakfast was partly poor. Undercooked egg,( slimy on top ) brown hadnt even seen the grill, tomato raw, mushrooms too raw. Bacon ,sausage beans all ok. . Drinks at bar quite pricey£8.95 for a glass of wine.

john gardiner said...

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th April 2024

Absolutely Great Hotel, Very Well Presented Rooms and Staff Were Superb. Would Recommend To Anyone Wanting a Pleasant Break In a Lovely Location. Food Was Also Superb And We Both Had The Mixed Grill Which Was Delicious. Value For Money 100% ?????

pam salmon said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st April 2024

We.had a wonderful overnight stay . A friendly welcome , lovely room and it was very spacious, clean and quiet The meal was great value and tasty , and washed down with a good house wine Would definitely stay again

Karen Brady said...

97 %
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2024

Fantastic hotel! Food here is excellent really fresh. Staff are great very welcoming too. We will definitely be back great find.

joanne sayers said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st March 2024

Lovely overnight stay on a great offer. Deluxe room was very nice and felt so Comfy. Food amazing and staff were very friendly and they done a great job. Fantastic stay will stay again.

David Priestley said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st March 2024

Very good hotel Very good deal will be going back

A guest said...

84 %
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 29th March 2024

Lovely room. Could do with more fruit choices at breakfast. Staff very nice.

Walter Glen said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2024

Great hotel, location. Meet and greet night with master chef 5 course tasting menu magnificent. Staff friendly and very helpful re hotel etc. A definite re visit in the future.

danny mcguinness said...

90 %
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd March 2024

Great stay, helpfull staff and good rooms, good food and very clean on one small fault our room could have been warmer did not see any heater or heating controls except one for heated towel rail in bathroom otherwise very happy with hotel.

William Smith said...

87 %
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 26th January 2024

Hotel clean and tidy. All the staff we spoke too very friendly and helpful.

A guest said...

70 %
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 2nd January 2024

Lovely hotel with lovely grounds and within walking distance of designer outlet village. Disappointed with dinner as was given a bar menu instead of restaurant menu with limited options. Staff apologised as hotel had been closed for 4 days, also advised there would be no salad with any dish as they didn't have any even tho one of the 2 starters was a caesar salad, and strangely my burger came with lettuce and tomato on it. I specifically chose this hotel as it was a £25pp off the menu which I preferred rather than a limited set menu

Barbara Holmes said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2023

Dinner bed and breakfast offer with late checkout and room upgrade. Couldn’t fault the hotel, spotlessly clean, food very good and staff friendly. Barmaid charged for desserts by mistake but quickly sorted out and refund given.

Ann Morgan said...

97 %
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th December 2023

Was a beautiful hotel very clean, staff very helpful and pleasant, food was lovely good value

Archie Williamson said...

87 %
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th November 2023

We stayed in a lovely room. The breakfast on the first morning was served on a very cold plate. The food wasn’t that warm because of that. The coffee was the same, only stayed warm for a minute. The dinner was lovely apart from my wife’s sweet was quite hard . The waitress Karrie? was very good in the cirstances

Andrew Schofield said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th November 2023

We loved our stay at this hotel. Friendly and efficient staff, lovely location. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Meals were lovely, the Indian menu on Sunday evening was an added bonus. Great value for money. We'll definitely go back.

Richard Wilson said...

97 %
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd November 2023

Our 2nd stay at this well run hotel. Really friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is spotlessly clean. Lovely breakfast and evening meal. Cannot fault it.

A guest said...

97 %
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2023

Excellent Hotel, Room was spotless and staff superb,

M Maxwell said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th September 2023

Nice big room. Very comfortable. Food excellent.

A guest said...

80 %
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th September 2023

Noisy plumbing from room above

Thomas McCallum said...

97 %
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th September 2023

Had a great time at the Chase and the service was great , came away after having really relaxing time . Looking forward to going back.