Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Friars Carse Hotel, Dumfries

Auldgirth, Dumfries, DG20SA, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Douglas Lauffer said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2017

nice and peaceful.

N Duncan said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th February 2017

Had a lovely stay at Friars C. Rooms were clean and fresh and the variety on the menu was lovely. Hope to visit again.

Mr Gillan said...

85%
N/A
100%
70%

Stayed 4th November 2016

i stayed in one of the cottages which was very good although i had breakfast and dinner in the hotel

WILLIAM ROBSON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th May 2016

WHEN I ARRIVED TO CHECK IN, THEY DID NOT HAVE MY BOOKING FROM YOURSELVES, SO THEY SENT ME TO HETLAND HALL (AS THEY HAD NO OPTION) WHICH WAS 20+ MILES BACK FROM WHERE I CAME FROM, I STAYED THERE FOR 1 OF THE NIGHTS AND THEN LAST NIGHT AT FRIARS C, BOTH SETS OF STAFF WERE GREAT AT BOTH HOTELS. WHY DID MYHOTEL NOT SEND MY DETAILS TO FRIARS C?

kate currie said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th March 2016

We had a lovely few days stay at this hotel. Very comfortable and extremely helpful staff, in fact they couldn't do enough to make your stay a pleasant one. Gorgeous surrounding, and the food was outstanding. Would recommend a stay here.

Margaret Connelly said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2015

lovely area good staff rooms let it down a bit but it would not stop me from going again thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

William Paterson said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 19th October 2015

I would love to have been able to review this Hotel but unfortunately I didn't even get to stay here. After meticulously researching where to stay we arrived on the day to find out they supposedly double booked us. We were sent close by to a less than adequate hotel. We were only unsuccessfully contacted on the morning of our break which is unacceptable and not enough time to make other arrangements. The replacement hotel was not surprised to see us and I suspect this happens regularly.

cristian lazaroaie said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th September 2015

good location,food and staff but they need an upgrade in the rooms,we will going back anytime!

Stephen Laing said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th September 2015

Had a lovely stay. Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. Food was excellent. will return again.

colin Biggart said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2015

Well me and my new wife spent or first nite there and we couldnt have picked a better place and the food was the best we have ever had 5 star .

Heather Thomson said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th June 2015

Peacefull and quite. The rooms are ok but the bathrooms need upgraded. They need to pay more attention to cleaning the forgotten areas. Like under radiators and dust the stair way

Chris Rafferty said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st June 2015

My boyfriend & I had a fantastic stay at Friars Carse over the weekend. From the moment we arrived at the hotel to the moment we left we felt very welcome. The hotel and grounds were beautiful & immaculate. Dinner & breakfast were delicious and served promptly. I will be returning very soon for another stay. Thank you!

Christine Young said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 24th April 2015

Really enjoyed our overnight stay at friars cards room was comfortable food very good and hotel outlook was beautiful

Mrs Colvin said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st April 2015

Possibly the stair carpets could be shampooed / replaced Instruction for usage of Hair Dryer and location of light switches could be mentioned in handbook Otherwise enjoyed the stay, food and service were very good

John Murphy said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th April 2015

Hotel set in beautiful surroundings. Friendly staff. Would return.

joe glynn said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th March 2015

Lovely hotel,good food, attentive staff.enjoyed stay except the shower in room (larch) didn't work,eventually manager agreed to reduced bill but couldn't bring himself to apologise.he didn't seem to appreciate how this spoiled an otherwise enjoyable stay

Ruth Baker said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th March 2015

Mix up over rooms was resolved immediately and perfectly by the staff. Service was excellent, hotel was homely, food good and the grounds were lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend and would visit again.

david cowan said...

44%
30%
80%
20%

Stayed 18th February 2015

cracked window in bedroom (birch) Room too warm (unable to control heating) unable to open room window In oak paneled lounge with open fire place the backgrounf music was Radie 1 !!! my meal consisted on starter 3 peices of mackeral,,main a slab of chicken on a bed of rice surrounded by green beans followed by basic cream cheese cake !!! Also

STEVEN MORRIS said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th December 2014

We stayed at Friars Carse in December with friends and we had a great time. The staff were friendly and smiling (which means alot) and the food was the best we have eaten (we visit many hotels). We can't wait to return in the summer.

Mr Richmond said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th November 2014

Having stayed at this hotel 35 years ago, we were pleasantly surprised by the refurbishment that had taken place in particular the installation of a lift. The receptionist (Mary) was very pleasant and helpfull in all requests,also the serving staff were very obliging. We shall certainly be returningto Friars Carse in the future

david pike said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th October 2014

This is our 4th stay at Friars Carse and we will no doubt be returning, it ticks all the boxes and is just what we need for a peaceful and tranquil stay. The restaurant food was excellent the service in the hotel was good and the location is fantastic. the bedroom was clean and tidy and this was the only small criticism of our stay as in comparison to the other rooms we have stayed in at this hotel this room had no view worthy of mention and mad the room seem dark,(the room was ASH) Still this was only a small inconvienience and would not stop us from returning. We also stayed at Dumbleton Hall in the summer for 4 nights and again we had a lovely time there as well.

Mrs Palmer said...

77%
50%
80%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2014

Very enjoyable stay and would visit again. I have also put a review on Trip Advisor.

Mr Tripney said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th October 2014

Lovely little hotel in an idyllic setting. Friendly helpful staff and good food. Popular with anglers.

pamela corkindale said...

47%
10%
70%
60%

Stayed 3rd August 2014

Staff very pleasant, hotel grounds stunning. Our room was very clean but decor was very basic and needed attention

A Wilson said...

57%
30%
70%
70%

Stayed 23rd July 2014

Lovely grounds and could be lovely with some investment. Staff were friendly