Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Craiglynne Hotel, Grantown On Spey

Woodlands Terrace, Grantown On Spey, PH263JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Sandra Fernie said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 28th August 2019

I was a little sceptical re the booking on reading recent reviews about the hotel. I shouldn't have been as hotel was everything I could have asked for. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was a little tired but was clean although Shower wasn't that great. Food was excellent despite only have a choice of 3 starters, mains & desserts. Not a problem for me as liked something on the menu. I would definitely go back as a very enjoyable couple of days.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st April 2019

Again very good place we stopped over.

Glenn Lewis said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

Nice hotel.relaxing break.

H Paterson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th January 2019

Had a lovely 2 night break. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Loved sitting by the cosy open fires. Will definitely return to this hotel again.

A guest said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th November 2018

Booked the garden room which was an upgrade. Rooms extremely tired and need reburbished! Wouldn't like to see the standard room! Shower door didn't close properly, broken door handle, only 1 ceiling light working. Bathroom mirror light didn't work and covered in dust. Extractor fan carpeted with dust! Very disappointed. Couldn't fault the staff or the food, both excellent. However, wouldn't return due to room.

James Taylor said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th November 2018

The hotel requires general updating. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was very good especially breakfast. Bedrooms etc need to be modernised as well as bathrooms.

Susan Thompson said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st October 2018

Very pleasant surroundings , warm, friendly and helpful staff. Very efficient service. No waiting around, public areas immaculate, Reception staff very informative. A pleasant break, and we would not hesitate to recommend/ visit again.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2018

Very comfortable nice food friendly staff will definitely be back

Chris Hoffland said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th June 2018

A charming hotel, nice lounge areas and a snug bar nook. The dining area was large, light and airy. Our room was comfortable. All the staff were very helpful and courteous, and went the extra yard to manage any requests we made. The standard menu was OK, the a la carte produced some real gastronomic gems; wines were reasonably priced. All in all an enjoyable 2 days, and for me very good value overall. Our room (108) overlooked a road approximately 40 metres away, but traffic noise was not an issue even with the windows open.

Elizabeth Snell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th June 2018

Stayed 2nights at craiglynne room was great and on the ground floor. Food was really good and staff very helpful. Would stay again and would be happy to recommend it to friends.

marion tinney said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th April 2018

Lovely tribute night at this elegant hotel . Our rooms were spacious and clean but as most hotels of this era needs a little tlc , but Not much . The meals were very nice and breakfast amazing . Will visit again . Staff were very friendly , very helpful and joined in with us at the tribute night . If I see Ralph Peterson advertised in any of your hotels , I will be booking if I can . What a great birthday treat this break was.

Karen cosgrove said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th December 2017

We stayed at The Craiglynne Hotel for the weekend recently & what a beautiful hotel it is as well as the surrounding area, the staff were excellent & very helpful especially Samantha who was on reception when we arrived & couldn’t do enough for us, all of the staff are a credit to this wonderful Hotel, we were on a B&B & dinner package & the food was of an excellent standard both breakfast & dinner so well done again to their amazing chef, we will definately return & will highly recommend to friends & family ??

Norman Lynch said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd November 2017

The front facing garden view twin room we had was tired in certain areas, thread bare seating chairs but a lovely bay window. A minuscule portable ancient TV and on the first night both my wife and I could not sleep well in the beds as they were very uncomfortable. In the morning we felt like going home but the lady at reception offered us another room which was much better so we stayed on for the two nights and glad we did. All staff were very nice and helpful at all times and the food was awesome as was the choice.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th November 2016

Great staff, good food with big portions, great value break

Gail Henderson said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th November 2016

Lovely friendly staff a bit tired a bit disapointed that myhotel break did not inform us the entertainment break we had booked was cancelled

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 9th August 2016

We have stayed at the Craiglynne hotel on several occasions and always find the hotel clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. On this occasion we had an free upgrade from Myhotelbreaks to a lovely, large room with a bay window at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens. The room was clean and comfortable but the soft furnishings could do with some upgrading. The food was well cooked but with limited choice and quality. The hotel is at one end of the main street in Grantown On Spey which has some unusual, independent shops and there are some lovely walks in the area.

A guest said...

90%
90%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2016

we had a very enjoyable time at the craiglynne hotel staf very pleasant and helpful, the only slight hiccup being that our room did not get tidied on Friday , there were clean towels left outside the room but we were unsure whether to take them into the room or not. we decided to leave them but they were still there on the Saay morning. the only problem was our bin could have done with getting emptied. as this was the only blip it would certainly not put us of this hotel and we would definitely recommend it

M Corcoran said...

67%
0%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th March 2016

Kettle blew up and went on fire on using on arrival room looked onto brick wall room was so small it was claustraphobic

A Murdoch said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th February 2016

We had a great stay everything was superb the staff were brilliant but the chef excelled. Will be back

Stuart Macdonald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th November 2015

Fantastic all round experience. The hotel is lovely. Very comfortable public rooms. The best asset this hotel has is the staff. The lady at reception (never did get her name) was very welcoming and efficient. (Forgive the name spelling) Assen in charge of the restaurant was magnificent and Charlotte and a young lady from Bulgaria (didn't get her name) were superb. Florin in the bar was brilliant. Other staff working away in the background always had a smile and a hello. We didn't meet or see the kitchen staff but the food and presentation was wonderful. Just fantastic experience. Hotel is at end of Grantown town, just a short walk from the shops and square.

Jenny Ewing said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th November 2015

What a lovely hotel. Staff were excellent, very friendly and obliging at all times. Lovely location and we even got the snow - seasonal

Marlyn Sinclair said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th November 2015

We have just returned from a l ovely 2 night stay at the Craiglynne. The staff were so very welcoming and helpful.The receptionist used our name at all times and was most helpful telling us where we could find entertainment in the town. Our room had recently been tastefully refurbished and the bed was clean and comfortable. Our dinners were taken from the house menu and were delicious and served piping hot and. The choice for breakfast was good and food was cooked to order, we found the waiting staff most polite and attentive. Even the housekeeping staff smiled and said hello when we encountered them at times. The log fires in the main reception area were both lit and added to the air of relaxation in the hotel. Whilst the hotel is an old building and in need of maintenance in areas e.g. squeaky floorboards in the corridors, doors to rooms did not look very secure, all in all we have had a lovely time and felt we got real value for money during our stay and hope to return for another visit.

Mrs Grant said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th October 2015

Very helpful at reception, meals lovely, mealtimes restrictive off season. Waiting Staff v busy...but efficient enough. Room & bed comfortable. Thank you.

Doreen Forrest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th September 2015

Hotela bit jaded could not see through windows as double glazing all misty. Asked specifically for a double room to be given twin. It was our anniversary and lady on desk said they hadn't been informed but it was clearly marked on my confirmation from you. They did send housekeeping to put the beds together but to be honest there was only one chair and no room to swing a cat. Would be pushed to go there again except have to say staff were lovely.

Shona McLean said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th September 2015

Enjoyed stay, staff helpful - changed our room quickly on request (due to noise from ventilation unit from kitchen). Room given (131) - door closer not operating correctly with door not closing fully, large cracking in window and wash basin badly cracked