Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Craiglynne Hotel, Grantown On Spey

Woodlands Terrace, Grantown On Spey, PH263JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

A guest said...

47%
50%
50%
40%

Stayed 28th February 2020

Had to have room changed as no aerial in TV. Bath old and dirty. Shower very difficult to turn on. Food not great - Cullen skink had 3 bits. Of fish in it. Mains arrived before starter plates cleared. Charged £12 for dog staying which we hadn't been made aware of prior to booking, then leaflet in room said £10 charge for pets.

Novia Maines said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 27th February 2020

We stayed in a twin room. Had been modernised a little but still cosmetic work to be done. An old building so understandable. The bed was very comfy and the room was clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We are in the restaurant in the evening. Our meals were lovely. A full cooked breakfast in the morning was really nice.

A guest said...

64%
40%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th February 2020

Friendly staff but seemed a bit unorganised and unsure at times on reception and at meal times. There was a mix up with our room as me and my partner were given a twin room but as we were only staying a short time we didn't make a fuss. Bedroom itself was fine but not cleanest and a bit chilly. The bathroom was dated with a poor heater and shower which didn't really warm up (for Scottish February weather it was particularly cold).

John Gilchrist said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th February 2020

Excellent stay. Food was lovely staff were nice room was spotless had a great time. Definitely be back.

William Gardner said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 21st February 2020

Nice a hotel but in need of some tlc

Gavin McLean said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 16th February 2020

Good value for money especially with food and drink voucher as part of the B&B package. Evening menu a bit limited but ok value. Room clean and comfortable. Control of heat may be an issue for some. Overall happy with short break accommodation.

A guest said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 14th February 2020

Had a smashing 2 night stay, rooms a bit tired but staff were brilliant. Breakfast was ok, food at night was much better. Would go back.

Joanne Hillier said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th February 2020

The hotel was great

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th February 2020

Stayed overnight at the Craiglynne Hotel (got a brilliant deal which included bar credit towards food and drink) with family and had a great time. We had 3 rooms which were all clean, comfy and cosy. Didn't have dinner but spent some time in the bar later on and staff were lovely. Breakfast was tasty and prompt, although I think our server was a wee bit harassed but settled when the rush calmed down. On the whole, staff were lovely as was the hotel and we would definitely come back.

Kevin Watson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2020

Great hotel staff friendly and rooms good size and clean.food was amazing and great touch off cheese board and strawberry and chocolate in room for us. Highly recommended this hotel can’t wait to go back

Amy Macdonald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th January 2020

Lovely hotel, the room was very clean. It's an amazing location for exploring the area. It was great value for money, staff were helpful and friendly. Happy that the hotel is dog friendly but could be doing with somewhere to dispose of dog waste, there is a wheelie bin across the main road you can use but I couldn't find anywhere within the hotel grounds to dispose of it.

marisa heron said...

27%
10%
50%
20%

Stayed 30th November 2019

Room had a toilet that overflowed so moved to another room , much smaller and it was extremely cold radiator didn’t work only heat was a thing on the wall , didn’t say anything is didn’t want to move for 3rd time , very poor rooms walks shower room and blind very dirty , dinner at 7.30 and waited 50 min for starter , no instructions for dinner what we could order ? Had to ask what package was , it could possibly be a good hotel but that will take lots of money and time I wouldn’t stay again , didn’t have shower as it was too cold left early to go home , not worth the journey from Glasgow , didn’t look at reviews when I booked but did day before arriving and most of them true , I messaged hotel with concerns and wanted reassurance but got nothing back , have been in another bespoke hotel and they were like night and day , hope this is helpful

william carrigan said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Hotel was ideal and great price staff nice room was warm and big enough for us

Allan Burnett said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

Hotel was very nice and staff very helpful lift was broken so they moved us to the first floor and upgraded us meals and breakfast was very nice

stephanie orr said...

54%
30%
80%
50%

Stayed 23rd November 2019

Hotel was old and dated. Room was absolutely disgusting, sink had hairs in it before we even used it and marks on the bed that we only noticed at 1.20AM when we pulled back the covers to go to sleep, so we slept with none. Dinner tasted absolutely beautiful, tho was a poor selection which resulted in my friend having to order from childrens menu. breakfast was disgusting with a poor amount for a “full Scottish breakfast” and grease literally dripping from the bacon. Also asking waiters not to put tomatoes and mushrooms on the plate yet they were still there. Not nice. Will deffo not be back.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th November 2019

Room allocated had damp smell, got room changed and had nice views out the front, need to update mattresses as a bit springy, stay was fine.

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 14th November 2019

Really enjoyed our stay at the Craiglynne hotel, where we visited frequently many years ago. We were wary after reading some reviews which weren't very positive that it wouldn't be as good as we remembered. I can happily say that we were not disappointed with the accommodation, room was very clean and comfortable, possibly even recently decorated. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. Only criticism was that it could have been hotter but that might have been due to dish lids constantly being lifted by diners. We were disappointed with the dinner menu however, not a lot of choice and the same every night, both in the main dining area and the bar - same menu. The fish and chips were nice but the gnocchi was overcooked and lacking in flavour. We chose to eat out the second night I'm afraid. Overall it didn't spoil our stay and we'd have no hesitation in returning for another visit.

A guest said...

64%
10%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th November 2019

Enjoyed our stay . The heating in the hotel wasn’t sufficient. Large open reception area with a log fire at each end but unless you were beside the fire it was cool. Food and staff were excellent .

Yvonne Ferguson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th November 2019

Lovely time at the Craiglynne Hotel. Breakfast was great. The fish and chips on Friday night were lovely and tasty. Staff really friendly. The rooms we had was very large and cosy. Will return in the future.

H Paterson said...

70%
80%
60%
70%

Stayed 29th October 2019

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and hotel was clean. The only problem we encountered was at breakfast when I asked the waitress for decaf coffee ( I have a heart condition and not allowed any caffeine), she didn't seem to understand what decaf was and gave me normal coffee. The wifi wasn't working in the hotel either for the entire time we were there and we had to pay for our stay in cash.

Sandy Goodall said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2019

Made most welcome, comfortable stay

A guest said...

64%
90%
90%
10%

Stayed 24th October 2019

Hotel nice and clean Friendly staff. Food not good

Anne Stephen said...

64%
70%
50%
70%

Stayed 7th October 2019

A pleasant enough, and very inexpensive couple of nights. Our room was quite small and had a view of a wood panelled wall, which was to be expected given the price paid. Had we experienced a better room in the almost empty hotel, we would have been more inclined to return. Dinner on the first night was a little chaotic. Having ordered and waited patiently for 40 minutes, the waitress told us that our order had been forgotten by the kitchen staff and it would arrive in two minutes. Twenty five minutes later it did arrive, all the while the waitress kept telling us it was 'no problem' and 'no worries' repeatedly. Our desserts also were delayed and when eventually they arrived, one was the wrong order. The 'correct' order arrived a few minutes later, but was a blob of blueberry jam on cream rather then the blueberry cranachan on the menu. On signing for the restaurant service, we were charged for three courses rather than two. This was resolved quickly when I pointed out the mistake. All the food was tasty enough, but I gather there was an alternative menu which we hadn't been shown. The experience was more laughable than annoying, but it certainly meant we didn't eat there on the second evening. Breakfast was good and special praise has to go to the newish young waiter (from Lossiemouth), who took an interest in what his diners had planned for their day.

Alan McCrone said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th October 2019

The hotel was pleasant but the room we were given had a window looking straight at a wall. The breakfast was very good. For anyone with dogs there is an excellent walkway opposite the hotel.

John Stewart said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our break. Food was excellent and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Contrary to other reviews I have read, the room was spotless and the shower was good.