Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Craiglynne Hotel, Grantown On Spey

Woodlands Terrace, Grantown On Spey, PH263JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

D fraser said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd October 2021

We were delighted with our stay at the Craiglynne Hotel. Our room seemed to have been recently refurbished as well as en-suite and was very nice. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. We ate in dining room on the three nights of our stay and food was delicious. Been to hotel a few times in the past but this was best ever. Many thanks.

Fiona Harris said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th October 2021

Stayed here for 2 nights last week, on a great priced deal. Warm friendly welcome from Taylor on reception got us off to a great start. Room was big & comfortable - only slight down side was that it was ground floor next to one of the hotel's entrances, so we didn't have any privacy. Perhaps blinds or net curtain would be a good addition to these rooms, as an alternative to having to keep heavy curtains closed all the time. Hotel itself is lovely - and felt very covid safe, despite it being quite busy. Don't understand any of the negative review comments about bar prices - we thought £8.35 for a pint & a white wine was very reasonable! Breakfast & dinner delicious. And the service throughout the hotel was excellent - the staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient! Yes, as some reviews state, there are some areas of the hotel that are a little "tired" - but does this affect the comfort and enjoyment of staying there? Absolutely not! Would definitely stay again, and recommend to others.

Linda Coote said...

54%
50%
70%
40%

Stayed 5th October 2021

A very nice stay although room was very small and bathroom even smaller,but were spotless,Food menu at night was no good for our age we got £30 between us and would struggle to get one course each, we would have preferred the bus coaches menu,first hotel we have been at that you could not get fish and chips!!

Michelle Graham said...

34%
30%
0%
70%

Stayed 3rd October 2021

Hotel was good and good excellent. Only fault was the customer service was pretty poor I phoned up about our stay and spoke to someone and they said they would deal with the issue however when we arrived on Sunday nothing had been done no communication. Very poor

Joe Law said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Well situated hotel within Grantown On Spey and the staff are very welcoming. We had an interior room that had no view, looking out onto a internal well limited light and room required an upgrade. Request a room with a view. Food is exceptional, the evening meal is of top quality, well presented. Again, restaurant staff outstanding. Lovely walks around hotel down to the river Spey.

alexina mckay said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Hotel very clean rooms very good could do with shelves in toilet you have to keep all toiletries on floor Recepioniist very rude to fellow workers when we were paying our bill which was wrong had to be checked

Margaret Graham said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st September 2021

A very pleasant stay and one we hope to repeat. Very professional and well trained staff who were all working hard in what we appreciate are difficult times.Our room was a little tired with wallpaper falling off but very clean.Food quality and presentation were of a high standard and service was first class.

Linda Thomson said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 13th September 2021

Had 3 nights here, it was very nice, the room was a bit basic and could do with a freshen up, the meals were lovely and fresh and the staff were so nice. The weather played a big part it was beautiful so we were out and about.

Peter Anderson said...

64%
60%
60%
70%

Stayed 13th September 2021

Great deal for 2 night break. Room was comfortable and spacious. Unfortunately the water pressure in the shower was non existent and I gave up even trying to run a bath. Shower curtain rail was detached from ceiling and still unfixed when I left. Both issues were reported to reception on our first night.

A guest said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th August 2021

Hotel comfortable and clean. Room a little dated and shower room had a damp smell. Appreciate that current owners are upgrading the property so is a work in progress. Food very good for breakfast and dinner. Staf very pleasant except one barman who really shouldn’t be in hospitality!

Margaret Johnston said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th August 2021

Spent three days here...can't praise it enough. Staff in dining room were very attentive..Food was amazing well except for my soup on the Saturday night ,the chef came out and personally apologised as it seem there was no Bourdon in it..these things happens..rooms were clean and due to covid regulations we had to request for room to be cleaned etc..Bar staff were great think her name was Jess sorry if its not but ended up buying 3 bottles Kinrara gin ..Can't fault anything about this hotel and I'm looking at going back soon... If you like walks plenty walks in the area try Dava way also go to the Grantown on Spey Museum..couple there have great knowledge of the area and history.

Moira Grant said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th August 2021

We had a lovely time. Reception efficient and we were quickly in our room. All covid recommendations adhered to.. Food in restaurant was good and staff polite and welcoming. Layout in hotel on ground floor good but a wee bit confusing in room area. I hope over the next year the decor will be redone as it was tired but as we are recovering from Covid the hotel was clean and that was more important.

CAROLINE MCMAHON said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th July 2021

Very disappointed with this hotel it is badly needing updated, it has a stuffy smell and our room was tired. The staff were friendly and helpful but we will not be back.

A guest said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th July 2021

Room was adequate for our needs clean and close to an outside door which was good for us with our dog. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had our meals in the bar area which Was dog friendly and we were made very welcome. We would use this hotel again !

Margaret Mcguire said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd July 2021

Had a lovely couple of days staying here very clean hotel but needs upgrading. Food was good .we had an issue with the menu on Sunday as we weren't aware they changed it as my husband is very fussy eater but the water named mark was so obliging and got us what we wanted thanks

james thomson said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 25th June 2021

Lovely weekend spent here staff were lovely great base for looking around the highlands

Lorna braid said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th June 2021

Great hotel made better by fantastic friendly and helpful staff. When we had a problem with the shower it was looked at immediately and an alternative room offered. The food is of a good standard and well presented. This is a period property and is furnished in this style which we prefer hotels of character over chain hotels which all look the same but keep this in mind before you book.

Jim Grout said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th June 2021

Husband and I enjoyed our two night stay. Hotel was clean and staff were very friendly and competent what they were doing. Food was good and well presented. Ample parking and no road noise.

A guest said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 5th June 2021

Hotel was great and the staff were friendly. However the package advertised online at the time of booking wasn’t what we actually got on arrival.

Duncan Shaw said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2021

Enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return. Service was 1st class , the only slight problem we had was because we were staying for 2 nights our room didn't get serviced, which was fine apart from running out of toilet paper and milk for our tea and coffee. The receptionist quickly gave us the toilet paper when I asked so it was fine

James Hill said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th May 2021

Had a great stay lovely clean hotel with great staff and food was made very welcome as was our wee dog will definitely return in the future only gripe was the very creaky floorboards but it's an old building so that's to be expected

A guest said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 3rd May 2021

Staff friendly, food great , fabulous location, and we will come back

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st May 2021

For one of the first nights of opening following the COVID restrictions easing, hotel had made a real effort to keep everybody at ease. Lots of hand-wash etc. Staff cheerful and helpful, room was clean and warm. Toilet & Shower in a small 'boxed off' section of the room, shower worked well. Only detail is the sink in room, as carpet can get wet, but understandable given the age of the hotel. This would not put us off staying again. Beer Garden might cause issues when warmer weather arrives. Open fires welcome feature on such a cold weekend.

Jane keep said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st May 2021

Good cheap break,no frills but room was clean ,bed comfy ,and ..for all we paid we weren’t expecting anything else..staff friendly and helpful as required. They are in process of upgrading some rooms at present and I think when all done will greatly improve. Could do with changing pillows they were rather hard . Food from restaurant good though not a huge choice at present.

Elizabeth Thomson said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th April 2021

Hotel being renovated, room we had still to be done, but beds comfy and room clean and adequate and reflected on price we paid, lovely food and very nice staff.Good lounge and bar areas, lovely outside gardens with beer garden. Second visit and will certainly visit again.Great location.