Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Craiglynne Hotel, Grantown On Spey

Woodlands Terrace, Grantown On Spey, PH263JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Anita Peebles said...

60 %
10%
80%
90%

Stayed 30th May 2024

Food was good, room clean and beds comfortable but decor bit tired. Shower over bath only ran either very very hot (too hot) or cold, seriously need replaced only time I have ever paid to stay somewhere and not been able to have a shower. There was a bath but I don’t like baths (would not book a room with no shower) would not return.

JOHN SMITH said...

80 %
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 5th April 2024

the offer on with the hotel was free upgrade to a refurbished room the room was fine but it was at the back of the hotel with a view of the kitchen window and the staff accommodation When we looked at the other rooms it was quite correct it was an upgraded room ,The breakfast was fine but the evening meal was not so good and not worth nearly £40.00 for two fish and chips main courses .The special offer price we paid was probably what the stay was worth we would not have been pleased to have paid a higher price ,that said the staff are all first class and nothing is too much trouble

mark giles said...

97 %
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2024

We had a fantastic stay lovely room and well worth the money we will be back

Evelyn Wallace said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st March 2024

Had a lovely time, staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was great.

A guest said...

77 %
80%
100%
50%

Stayed 17th November 2023

Would have liked more plain & normal food options for the starter, main meal for the evening dinner, more in line with a 3 star hotel with more affordable prices. Also the pie of the day wasn’t available on any of our 3 evenings there which was really disappointing

Margaret Scott said...

94 %
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th October 2023

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Nice sized rooms and spotless. Good service from staff and very friendly.

LINDA CROMAR said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st October 2023

Enjoyable stay. Room was fine apart from squeaking floorboards but only to be expected as older hotel. Staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Food was okay but small portions. Would go back again.

A guest said...

70 %
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 4th September 2023

The hotel was ok but I found it astonishing how a scottish hotel decked in tartan and everything else our country has to offer does not sell any Scottish beer. Apart from my own complaint I heard several American guests asking the same question??

Mary Hughes said...

77 %
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st June 2023

Had a lovely two night stay. Staff were helpful and took time to chat. Food was tasty. Second night was very busy 3 tour buses and a group of motor cycles which made for a very noisy dinner. Parts of the hotel needing a bit of tlc but on the whole good break.

A guest said...

67 %
10%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th April 2023

The room was large, ground floor with a bay window. The hotel staff arranged for us to eat in the bar because of the two dogs , which was good.

Patricia Cook said...

84 %
80%
70%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2023

Just returned from a short break at this hotel. It was very good value and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The public areas were comfortable and cosy. The food was excellent and very tasty. Our bedroom was comfortable and spacious with plenty of drawers and hanging space. It would have been nice to have the biscuits replenished on the tea tray

Michelle Dunlop said...

90 %
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2023

Staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was truly lovely. Would definitely recommend a stay and its in a great location for visiting the surrounding area.

A guest said...

57 %
70%
70%
30%

Stayed 6th April 2023

We have stayed at this hotel several times and on this occasion we were happy with the hotel, the staff and the area. The only problem we encountered was our evening meal of venison was horrid. The venison was tougher than my leather shoes. It was dry, tough and tasteless. The other items on the plate were fine and fresh but the venison looked like it was a lump from the back of a freezer that had been stuck to the wall and missed for some time. It was the toughest and most tasteless mess I have ever encountered. If it had been cheap, I might have expected lower quality but it was not cheap and I could have had fish and chips twice for the cost of the lump of venison. I would probably stay at the hotel again but would eat dinner elsewhere.

Paula Urquhart said...

60 %
50%
80%
50%

Stayed 23rd March 2023

The craiglynne Hotel is lovely looking old building looking across to a peaceful park leading to the woods. The inside, particularly the rooms could use some attention though. Paper and plaster tape coming off the walls, our bathroom door didn’t close at all. The food was ok but that’s it, ok. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Duncan Meechan said...

70 %
50%
70%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2022

A beautiful building although the interior was very old and dated. The staff were lovely and the food was delicious. The room was pretty old and kinda tatty looking, damp patches on walls doors the squeezed when opened or closed. Floors buckled under your feet in corridors, but to be honest it really was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel and it was a decent enough stay especially for the price. If you want top of the range accommodation then this isn’t the place for you but if you like to get what you pay for and you can put up with the poor decoration etc then definitely this will suit you. I enjoyed it and would certainly go back.

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2022

We enjoyed our one night stay at the hotel and would come back.

Mark Rodger said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2022

Excellent Victorian hotel highly recommended

Mark Rodger said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2022

Excellent Victorian hotel highly recommended

ian mcaulay said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2022

Great stay old hotel with fantastic character staff were great nothing was any trouble.stayed two nights with breakfast included enjoyed the food .nice wee bar and lounge area . Won’t hesitate to stay again. Well done the staff.

A guest said...

40 %
80%
20%
20%

Stayed 9th November 2022

Good hotel but our experience was disappointing as the service at dinner and breakfast was very poor .

A guest said...

60 %
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 25th September 2022

Breakfast wasn't great. Evening meal menu, although satisfactory, only had three choices for each course . Decided to have a gin from gin menu but they didn't have my first two choices. Some staff had no communication skills i.e. they literally did not speak to us.

A guest said...

80 %
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th September 2022

This is a very charming old-style hotel which has undergone extensive refurbishment, but it is still a bit dated...which is part of its charm. Our room was very comfortable, but a bit cold (especially the big bathroom!) All staff was extremely nice and the food was simple, but very well cooked.

Michael Matuszak said...

90 %
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th September 2022

Stayed here about 12 years ago and much improved since then. Refurbished room was really nice. (No fire exit notice though which we pointed out to reception, it’s a legal requirement). Food was good. All in all enjoyable stay!

Wayne Adam said...

77 %
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st August 2022

Friendly helpful attentive staff .good food .lovely period features in public areas with plenty seating to spare but still feel cosy & welcoming. maintenance needs to be caught up with in some area’s to preserve the building at its best.(hopefully just down to Covid cutbacks ) Overall it wouldn’t stop us from returning again as was a great location for exploring surrounding area

Bobby Mitchell said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd July 2022

Excellent hotel, really friendly staff and food was amazing. Rooms were pretty basic but excellent value for what you pay! Would stay here again