Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Craiglynne Hotel, Grantown On Spey

Woodlands Terrace, Grantown On Spey, PH263JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Cairn McGhie said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th May 2022

Finding the hotel is easy enough, it’s on the main road in Grantown-on-Spey. There is not a lot of car parking available so best to get to the hotel as close to check in time to miss out on a spot. Service was wonderful from front desk, restaurant and bar staff, they were all very polite and helpful. Hotel decor was a bit dated in to what was expected, could definitely do with some modernising, also don’t expect to get any WiFi or phone signal in the rooms. WiFi is available on the ground floor but outside of that it’s very hot or miss. The lack of power outlets in the room is also problematic, there were two power outlets in our entire king size room, none of which were at the beside. One outlet to power the tv, hairdryer or any personal electrical device is less than to be desired. Bathroom is very clean, could do with better water pressure in the shower. Bed was incredibly comfy and a good size. Food was fantastic both dinner and breakfast servings, not a large menu and mostly traditional but all superbly presented. The hotel only allow the food and drink to be charged to the room during dinner however. Overall we enjoyed our stay but found that if we had paid the full retail price for the kind room for one night, we would not of found it good value for money. Bed an breakfast for £175 per night is very expensive when breakfast is a buffet service and there is nothing else included in that price, I would also like to point out that the “garden view” is a view of the car park, front grounds full of benches and the main road. I don’t think we would rebook this hotel in future and couldn’t recommend a stay here, however I could definitely recommend the restaurant and bar to anyone who is looking to dine or have a drink in Grantown-on-Spey

Fred Wonders said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th April 2022

We had a lovely 2 night stay here we were very impressed by the size of the hotel when we arrived. The staff were very pleasant & helpful through out our stay. The bedrooms were comfortable with plenty of storage. The bar area was very pleasant and the drinks were reasonably priced the meals in the restaurant were a bit pricey but it is the Highlands of Scotland so you could expect that. Breakfast was a buffet style but there was plenty of choice for everyone.

A guest said...

57%
70%
60%
40%

Stayed 20th April 2022

We paid for a Superior Room and got one of the newly refurbished and updated rooms which was OK. We stayed for 3 nights B&B, had dinner there on the first night, but found the menu did not change (apart from soup) for any of the remaining nights, so we tried eating out. Breakfast was very poor, as there was three coach trips in the hotel and the entire breakfast was self-service buffet. Needless to say, the buffet was cold and messy by the time they were finished and some things were finished and had to be asked for, e.g. plates, bread, yogurt, marmalade, etc.

james thomson said...

64%
40%
90%
60%

Stayed 15th April 2022

We had a relaxing and great weekend and staff very helpful

Robert McAughey said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th April 2022

Lovely hotel and staff . Made to feel welcome and excellent service

ian mcaulay said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th April 2022

Had a nice stay at hotel staff are fantastic food was great hotel room we stayed in was a bit tired but was nice and clean The hotel bar restaurant and reception was a nice place to relax we would definitely stay again

Lorraine Hardie said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st April 2022

Staff very helpful, nothing was a bother, hotel could do with TLC, and updated. Also food menu could do with different daily specials.

John Telfer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th March 2022

Very happy with our stay room was comfortable staff were very friendly and helpful food was excellent and the hotel ticked all the correct boxes for us

A guest said...

74%
30%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2022

Lovely friendly and attentive staff. Well organised and welcoming reception.

jacqueline keenan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2022

Had a great stay here , rooms were clean , food was excellent and staff very efficient and friendly, we were on the walking break which was excellent ( the weather playing a big factor in it as it was beautiful for March ) got provided with a packed lunch which was great . Definitely will go back

Antony Coe said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th March 2022

Hotel a bit dated ,room small ,bathroom ceiling flaking badly , food was very nice ,staff were friendly

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th February 2022

Room was only average because although shower was good with plenty the bath taps were blocked off & door handle was falling off. Food & service in the restaurant was really good much improved from our last visit at the beginning of December

james kellie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2022

Excellent decor improvements to bedroom. Very fresh and comfortable bedding. Vast improvement with buffet breakfast from previous visits . Most enjoyable. Food service and choice of menu did not disappoint. Staff service was courteous and friendly. We will be back in four weeks and looking forward to our next visit.

Raymond Morrin said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd December 2021

Very nice hotel. breakfast was lovely. Only thing was the TV signal was poor but only there one night

Brenda Stott said...

64%
20%
80%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2021

The Craiglynne is an old hotel and unfortunately although the bedrooms and bathrooms are quite sizeable they are in need of complete refurbishment. Shower was still over a bath and water flow was soo weak it was difficult to use. Windows are still single glazed and dripped with damp in the morning. Other areas of the hotel such as restaurant and bar were unheated and although it was unseasonaly warm these rooms were extremely chilly. Three different groups of workmen were staying and had they not been there the hotel I feel would have been extremely empty as we saw very few other guests during our stay. Overall although a very reasonable myhotelbreak deal we would not be venturing back to this hotel in a hurry. Staff however were extremely pleasant and attentative and the food choices were good and very well cooked and presented.

Carolyn Davidson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2021

Staff were all very friendly and helpful & following Covid guidelines as they should. The dinner & breakfast were great and hot. Our room was very clean & very comfortable bed. Easy hotel to find.

A guest said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 17th October 2021

Staff very nice and very helpful ,room was lovely and spotless but no wi fi which was inconvenient. Had to return Sunday dinner as couldn’t even cut the beef , breakfast was good .

D fraser said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd October 2021

We were delighted with our stay at the Craiglynne Hotel. Our room seemed to have been recently refurbished as well as en-suite and was very nice. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. We ate in dining room on the three nights of our stay and food was delicious. Been to hotel a few times in the past but this was best ever. Many thanks.

Fiona Harris said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th October 2021

Stayed here for 2 nights last week, on a great priced deal. Warm friendly welcome from Taylor on reception got us off to a great start. Room was big & comfortable - only slight down side was that it was ground floor next to one of the hotel's entrances, so we didn't have any privacy. Perhaps blinds or net curtain would be a good addition to these rooms, as an alternative to having to keep heavy curtains closed all the time. Hotel itself is lovely - and felt very covid safe, despite it being quite busy. Don't understand any of the negative review comments about bar prices - we thought £8.35 for a pint & a white wine was very reasonable! Breakfast & dinner delicious. And the service throughout the hotel was excellent - the staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient! Yes, as some reviews state, there are some areas of the hotel that are a little "tired" - but does this affect the comfort and enjoyment of staying there? Absolutely not! Would definitely stay again, and recommend to others.

Joe Law said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Well situated hotel within Grantown On Spey and the staff are very welcoming. We had an interior room that had no view, looking out onto a internal well limited light and room required an upgrade. Request a room with a view. Food is exceptional, the evening meal is of top quality, well presented. Again, restaurant staff outstanding. Lovely walks around hotel down to the river Spey.

alexina mckay said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Hotel very clean rooms very good could do with shelves in toilet you have to keep all toiletries on floor Recepioniist very rude to fellow workers when we were paying our bill which was wrong had to be checked

Margaret Graham said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st September 2021

A very pleasant stay and one we hope to repeat. Very professional and well trained staff who were all working hard in what we appreciate are difficult times.Our room was a little tired with wallpaper falling off but very clean.Food quality and presentation were of a high standard and service was first class.

Linda Thomson said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 13th September 2021

Had 3 nights here, it was very nice, the room was a bit basic and could do with a freshen up, the meals were lovely and fresh and the staff were so nice. The weather played a big part it was beautiful so we were out and about.

Peter Anderson said...

64%
60%
60%
70%

Stayed 13th September 2021

Great deal for 2 night break. Room was comfortable and spacious. Unfortunately the water pressure in the shower was non existent and I gave up even trying to run a bath. Shower curtain rail was detached from ceiling and still unfixed when I left. Both issues were reported to reception on our first night.

A guest said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th August 2021

Hotel comfortable and clean. Room a little dated and shower room had a damp smell. Appreciate that current owners are upgrading the property so is a work in progress. Food very good for breakfast and dinner. Staf very pleasant except one barman who really shouldn’t be in hospitality!