Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, Bishopton

Earl of Mar Estate, Bishopton, PA75NW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Graeme Little said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th November 2018

Brilliant visit again. So relaxing and peaceful. Can't wait to return.

Jim Harrigan said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2018

Overall enjoyable stay. Excellent leisure facil. Nice food. Staff pleasant and helpful. Would be happy to return.

Angela Towers said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th January 2018

We had a great time. The entire weekend was so relaxing. The room at the Spa was amazing the outlook was beautiful and also was ideal for going in for a swim in the morning... We had high tea after spa treatment , dinner in the restaurant and breakfast in the morning and the food was excellent, The reception staff both at the hotel and spa were so helpful and very welcoming. The massage was as usual fantastic and out o the spa days we have been on there relaxation room is the best .

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st December 2017

Only slight concern were the stairs required to reach our superb room as my wife has had some recent knee problems. Staff were happy to look at alternatives but as we loved the room she managed although had we been staying for longer we may have had to consider the offer to change rooms.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th February 2017

Everything was great, couldn't fault a thing. Really happy with the vegetarian options that were available. Would have been good if there was a bit of music on for hotel guests

Ann McLean said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd December 2016

Had a great night at Mar Hall for a Christmas party night with my friend staying in a twin room. Staff were so friendly and approachable. Facil are great although I was quite disappointed that they don't have a Jacuzzi. I don't understand why Hotels do this as it all adds to your enjoyment of the pool area. Food was amazing and our room was gorgeous. I will definitely be back with my husband and I would highly recommend!

Ali Robertson said...

5%
0%
10%
N/A

Stayed 12th October 2016

I booked this for a couple of nights relaxation spa break for myself and a friend as a treat. On entering hotel were greeted with poor customer service no information given as you would expect from a quality hotel, was asked to present c/c & was told there would be an extra £50 deducted on top of balance to cover any unforeseen extras. Have been to many top class hotels & have always been asked if you would like to leave c/c open or closed. When we eventually found our room it was very disappointing head boards squint as well as picture on wall dust & finger prints on glass top nightstand & mattress 's on bed were not even 2inches thick in fact my friend commented her mattress in her spare room which she would class as 'done' was in better condition. After calling reception we got moved room & this was just as bad, with an enormous generator buzzing in the background. After a chat with management we decided not to stay as there was nothing luxurious about this hotel. And nothing more they could offer us to rectify it. I did get a full refund & when doing so she asked reception to inform the spa of cancelling her facial booked for the following day. We went to a Hilton hotel for the remainder of our break which was far superior & whilst there had several phone calls from Mar hall spa wanting to re arrange her appointment due to a member of staff being ill. So in actual fact reception hadn't even managed to cancel appointment. Definitely disappointing & would not return. What should have been a relaxing stay turned into an extremely stressful day I was so embarrassed about having to complain and kept apologising to my friend for this happening none of which was within my control. Very poor. I would strongly recommend NOT BOOKING THIS HOTEL!

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 8th May 2016

Excellent Hotel wonderful views

Mark Simpson said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 5th March 2016

Stunning location, great food and rooms are amazing! Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Carol-Anne Buchan said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th March 2016

Lovely room although too far from the the main hotel, I am 7 months pregnant and it was too far to walk, we were supposed To have tea and petit fours which we never got after dinner. We had our 2 year old son with us and we had to pay £15 for his dinner which was bit steep especially as he is so small. We ordered breakfast in our room to save me walking round and was charged £10.00 extra for the privilege, also a wee bit steep.

Megan Fallan said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th April 2015

Lovely stay, fantastic food, comfort and facilities

M Borland said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th March 2015

Room 9 was ideal for disabled client - next to lift and lovely views (just be careful of the bathroom handle which is very close to the wall and can cause scrapes to the hand/finger)

jane kinnaird said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st February 2015

We have booked many hotels with classic Britain and mar hall was the best yet .we can't wait to go back.we are celebrating our first anniversary in September and hope to celebrate there

Margaret Montgomery said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th March 2014

Very nice clean hotel - found Mar Hall to be very cold - small movable heater in room as large heater did not work - bedroom plug would not stay down in toilet sink - furniture in bedroom a bit shabby - in small bar window would not shut you could feel the draft - ladies toilet off the main hall stuck half way luck not to have banged your face - food overall vert good - swimming pool area tiles a bit grotty round the pool. - Should not complain at the price we got this hotel for - disappointed at a 5 star rating hotel having quite a lot of faults.

Michele Graham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Mar Hall. Staff where all very attentive. The breakfast was amazing.

C McNeill said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th December 2013

THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR VISIT

Alan Dunford said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th November 2013

Lovely traditional hotel. Would certainly consider booking again.

Carol Thomson said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th October 2013

Beautiful room and hotel, thoroughly enjoyedour stay

audra baxter said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th August 2013

Lovely hotel but room cld be cleaner. Dust on head board of four poster and wardrobes. Carpet and walls scuffed and skirtings needed painted. Expected more from a 5 star hotel.

Avril Hardie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th July 2013

Very enjoyable stay. The spa is absolutely fabulous. Cannot complain at all!

Brian James said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th July 2013

Had a fantastic time. Reception staff were superb. Very friendly, as was the porter. Room was beautiful, only downside was the heat at night, but obviously that out of everyones control! Had dinner in the Italian restaurant which was lovely. Again waiter & bar staff very polite & attentive. The chef was rather irritating! Other diners beside us also commented on her constant screech of "service". Found her to be rather rude toward waiting staff. Was unable to determine if it was actually banter but don't think so! After dinner we took drinks out onto the decking, however were unable to stay due to the midgies! Again that's out of hotels control. Perhaps a patio heated would help. All in all, had a fantastic time. It's our 3rd visit at Mar Hall & it certainly won't be our last.

R Falconer said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th June 2013

the service and food in the cristal restaurant was first class, the spa and pool was also very good. the only disappointment was the room no47, we had upgraded and I phoned the hotel and was told it would be a four poster room and it was not. the room we got was large with a lovely bathroom but the main area felt dull and in need of a "sharpen up" also one of the bath robes had a huge hole on it. our stay was a surprise treat for my partners birthday and the overall experience was very good but clouded by the "room experience"

Anne MacDonald said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

We had a lovely time at Mar Hall and will definitely be back. if you are looking for a romantic break away, this property will fit. All staff we came into contact with were friendly and accommodating and the 'fine dinning' was excellent. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very spacious along with a generous sized bathroom, would love to try one of the rooms with a 'four poster bed' next time. We also used the leisure facilities.

susan russell said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

beautiful hotel and spa. staff also very attentive. definately 5 star luxury

Sam Bryant said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th January 2013

Overall a brilliant stay, room was fantastic & staff couldn't be nicer, and food was 1st class