Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Golf & Spa, Peebles

Cardrona, Peebles, EH458NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Stuart Arnott said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th June 2019

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. We have been there 3 time now and we always find it gives excellent service. The food is good the rooms are large and very clean and the staff are very helpful. I personally liked the room we had as it looked over the 18th hole of the golf course.

A guest said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th June 2019

On arrival we were allocated a room on the 4th floor but as the lift was out of order we requested another room. Our request was granted and our room on the lower level overlooking the golf course was superb and we thanked the Receptionist for her assistance. Dinner was very good but Breakfast although being of a buffet nature was good but no menu available. Our request for Eggs Benedict (which was shown in the Bedroom Menu) was turned down with the excuse that it would take too long to prepare. However my wife and myself had an enjoyable time and would stay again. One other point the Wine List sat dinner was rather expensive.

Colin Powell said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd April 2019

Very pleased with the patio room overlooking the practice/golf course, great king size bed. Stayed two nights, evening meal, was excellent as was the service. Played golf on second day with my wife, and really enjoyed the layout, even if the greens were slow after hollow tinning. Had wonderful entertainment the first evening whilst dining, watched a " boot camp" session, outside the restaurant. Only disappointment was the hot/cold buffet breakfast, the first morning their was no baked beans or black pudding, which accompanied by haggis is normally the standard breakfast in Scottish hotels and particularly Cardrona, as I have stayed many times and am still a member of macdonalds hotels.

jennifer mitchell said...

80%
70%
N/A
90%

Stayed 18th April 2019

Lovely hotel with fantastic views. the room we were in was slightly dated (frayed curtain and arms on armchairs faded) however perfectly adequate for the price we paid. Hubby enjoyed the golf course whilst I made use of the gym and leisure facilities, pool was very busy but to be expected as half term. We had the d,b&b deal with bottle of Prosecco which we felt was excellent value for money. Food: evening meal was fantastic, compliments to the chef, and there was a good selection at the breakfast buffet, both hot and cold. Only niggles were no coffee sachets on the complimentary tray in the room which I mentioned to reception as we left and Prosecco wasn't in the room at 3pm (when check in time was) which meant staff were accessing the room when I was using the facilities. However saying that I was allowed an early check in at 2pm so can't really grumble. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others

Teresa McQuillen said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th April 2019

Booked a 2 night break in this lovely hotel with excellent facilities. Room was very comfortable with lovely white soft towels! Didn’t get to eat in the main restaurant as we were on B&B basis so ate in the lounge. Menu was limited but the food was lovely and well presented. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and would definitely visit again. Excellent value for money.

alex mclean said...

84%
80%
70%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2019

Excellent stay few issues with service /wait time!!! Think they were short staffed . Simple communication would have sufficed. Apart from that enjoyed our stay .

A guest said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 9th April 2019

We stayed at the Cardrona with relatives visiting from London. As we had stayed previously and really enjoyed it, we knew it would be ideal. It was very busy when we arrived - and continued to be throughout our stay. It appeared the hotel were under-staffed, not ideal given it was end of term holiday. (We overheard one employee had worked 17 hours that day). This had an impact on our whole break. At breakfast on the first morning it was like a cattle market - they had obviously realised it was busier than usual and decided to put flasks of tea, coffee and out. This was awful as all flasks were empty and on refilling, the coffee was abysmal. Eventually the (rushed off her feet) waitress got us a pot of coffee at our table - which we would usually expect in a 4* hotel. They had run out of many items eg plates, bowls, yoghurt, pastries. The staff were struggling to keep up with everything (not their fault). There was no option to toast bread and we weren’t offered any. The hot options were better replenished. A TOTALLY different experience on the 2nd morning - we were offered tea, coffee and a selection of toast as soon as we sat down! All items were refilled as soon as they were needed. A much better breakfast experience. Understaffed bar - took a while to get served. Rooms clean but bathroom floor tiles need fixed before people get injured. My scores should have been lower for service but we love this hotel and it’s tranquility. Under-staffing has let them down.

john crossan said...

37%
10%
30%
70%

Stayed 10th April 2019

Bad enough losing most of your day not booking in till 3pm even worse rooms still not ready

E Orr said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2019

Beautiful hotel if you are looking for a quiet break with lovely walk. The staff were very professional and service was excellent. The rooms were a little cool on arrival however soon warmed up and the food was excellent. Our 2nd stay at this hotel in a matter of months - would definitely recommend.

Carol Yuill said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th April 2019

Hotel was first class executive room had a super king size bed and a patio overlooking the golf course. Food was delicious and staff friendly and informative.

Mr Jamieson said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 8th April 2019

Had a fantastic time ,food was really good ,staff amazing 10mout of 10

Francis James Flynn said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd April 2019

Good afternoon This was our eighth visit to this hotel and will visit it again, great location and staff make you most welcome. Maybe only slight fault on main meals, not enough vegetables, potatoes, greens and request for extra charge, not given! Breakfast is wonderful, with all options available for all diets. Bin needed at bus stop for litter left by residents (plastic water bottles etc) at unofficial stop that bus company accommodates, very handy for all guest going to Peebles or Melrose. I informed management staff of this! Hotel has signs up for the Loop System for deaf people, nothing is working and staff know nothing about it. The main yellow sign is at the main desk (foyer) I told them on my visit over a year ago, no action yet! These hiccups would not stop me from visiting again! Kind regards Francis Flynn

Ann Adams said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th April 2019

Spent a wonderful 2 nights here. Beautiful views during dinner and breakfast. Lovely restaurant called francos 5 mins down the road. Food at hotel was lovely on the 1st night, followed by a huge variety at breakfast too.

RICHARD MALLOY said...

100%
100%
100%
N/A

Stayed 5th April 2019

Had a lovely weekend in the Cardrona, dinner was lovely as was the service, breakfasts were also really good hotel is very clean and staff were all very friendly. Would not hesitate to go back. My husband also played golf which he enjoyed.

Thomas Wilson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st March 2019

Just returned after a 2 night break at the Cardrona Hotel Peebles. My wife and I at a lovely time there and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were some of the best staff we have come across. They were very cheerful and very helpful. Nothing was too much bother for them. As for the booking with My Hotel Breaks couldn't have been any easier. Excellent service from both companies.

Derek Davie said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 31st March 2019

Nice place, friendly staff, alcohol a bit pricey

Marie Pollock said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th March 2019

The bedroom was very clean, comfortable and spacious, with lovely views. The evening meal was delicious and well presented. The fillet steaks were particularly good and cooked to perfection. The buffet breakfast was excellent and all food items kept very hot. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Dee O'Donnell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th March 2019

Had a great 2 day break at the McDonald Cardrona ,lovely room the dinner and breakfast were fabulous and the staff were so nice and friendly . Will definitely be returning .

keith fairnington said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2019

A very pleasant stay. Staff friendly and welcoming,food very good.

carole cardwell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th February 2019

Lovely hotel in a great setting. Room spacious and well decorated. Food and service very good.

Chris McCormack said... Hotel has replied

47%
50%
30%
60%

Stayed 17th February 2019

For a hotel that claims to be a 4 star it is anything but. The only thing 4 star about it is the prices. Arrived a little early so we were told the room wasn't ready and to sit in the lounge. The lounge was mobbed with one person serving at the bar. I can't fault the guy, he looked as if he was run ragged. 20 minutes later we got our coffees. Got to the room which was very clean but in major need of redecoration. There was paint falling off the ceiling and the bathroom tiles were a mess. Went for dinner on the first night and if my duck had not been plucked, it would have flown off my plate it was so raw. Asked for water 3 times before anyone decided to bring it over, no one was clearing the tables and waited over 40 minutes for my desert. The food was much better the second night but the service was no better and had exactly the same problem when asking for water. Again at no point do I blame the staff as they were great, however the level of staffing for the demand is ridiculous and the poor people are run off their feet. Going for breakfast was no different and had to wait as no tables had been cleared. In summary the Hotel chain need to reevaluate their staffing levels and the hotel including pool area is in major need of decorating.

Hotel reply...

Good Evening Guests review was very on track as we experienced a huge surge in bookings and the team were very much under pressure with many of the team on holidays this further impacted service. Since taking over the hotel I have been changing systems and it is taking a little longer for these positive changes to bed in. Our rooms do vary in standard and furnishings and our rooms on the top floor are the most tired rooms and these are scheduled for makeover this year with new carpets curtains and soft furnishings. Thank you for your candid comments and I do hope my apologies can be accepted as this is certainly not how service should be and following on from the feedback service will be being changed to ensure a positive guest experience. Regards Marc Adams General Manager

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 4th February 2019

Very pleasant 2ngts stay, room was lovely, comfy bed, only comment is few lose tiles in bathroom floor nearly cut my foot, overall very good

Debra Potts said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th November 2018

We had a couple of issues with our room, which were quickly sorted out. I would like to thank Adam on reception for his help, and Duncan in the restaurant for ensuring our evening was excellent.

Derek Brown said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th October 2018

Had lovely time at the Cardrona. Food and service very good.

Elizabeth Ainsbury said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Lovely hotel with fantastic friendly staff and amazing food! A little tired in places but it’s setting in the beautiful scenery of the Scottish Borders makes up for that! Would definitely recommend.