Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Golf & Spa, Peebles

Cardrona, Peebles, EH458NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

76%

Mrs Hanlon said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st December 2019

Really enjoyed our stay at Cardrona. The Hotel staff were lovely, polite and friendly. Rooms were cosy and clean. Like the walk in shower. Reception area was nice and warm. We ate out for dinner as we felt the menu for dinner wasn't very extensive and was quite expensive. (£10 extra for a steak).Menu looks better value at the Marine Hotel Troon. We did have breakfast, which was cooked to order and very good.

Elaine Mclean said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2019

Had a fantastic night away here. Food, surroundings and staf were spot on. Had a great nights sleep too. Will defo be back in the new year and recommend this hotel to family and friends. See you again soon! x

Elaine O’Neil said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 4th November 2019

The hotel looked ‘tired’ from the outside but was cosy and welcoming on the inside. The staff were friendly and professional at all times. Evening meals were good. Breakfasts were less good. The room was spacious and had great views. Would not hesitate to stay there again!

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 4th November 2019

hotel was lovely, staff were nice. Evening meal was delicious, breakfast was good, nice selection. The cooked breakfast was a little bit of a disappointment, sausages weren't the best and I couldn't believe the chef and the waiter thought it was acceptable to serve a potato scone that was so well done it would of broken something.

Peter Smith said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2019

A wonderful nights stay.

Daniel McKinlay said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd October 2019

Very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Daniel McKinlay said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd October 2019

Very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

NICOLA TAIT said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th October 2019

Lovely stay at this hotel last weekend. Room was beautiful and we got a free upgrade to a golf course view room. The murder mystery we attending during our stay was a lot of fun and the food served during was really nice. My only complaint was that the buffet breakfast served was quite overcooked but there was a big selection on offer.

William Houston said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th October 2019

Thankyou for another wonderful overnight stay. My wife and myself really enjoy everything about Cardrona . If we were being picky it would be to say that the way breakfast is laid out could be improved. The plates are cold and therefore the fried food is cold by the time of eating

A guest said...

84%
100%
50%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2019

Very good stay however one or two problems with this stay. Appeared that hotel was understaffed, one person on reception at a busy check in time and then that person had to leave his/her station to check up on housekeeping. Leaving a number of folk waiting to check in. No glass of Prosecco with dinner as described in booking doent, although not a great problem in the overall picture. In general staff very helpful, polite and efficient. Other half a bit disappointed with cleanliness of bathroom and room, bin not emptied for two days, not a huge task to ask

A guest said...

47%
60%
30%
50%

Stayed 16th October 2019

Good size bedroom with two comfortable chairs. However, threadbare carpet, outdated TV with limited programmes and very dull, obviously needing replacement. Two teacups but only one saucer throughout period of stay. No table for drinks or cups. Main lounge area cold as were parts of the dining room (saw a lady in dining room going to room for coat). Evening dinner OK but service slow and no offer of water at table. Breakfast was a tragedy and the worst ever experienced and we have stayed in many hotels. Tea/coffee self service from flasks and was always cold and a visit was required away from table for anyone who was adventurous enough to want a second cup. Self service toast was OK but jam was at opposite side of room and toast machine was not delivering toast to front of machine which meant that patrons were literally looking for their toast. Re jam, this was in open pots and highly unhygienic and the types of jam was unmarked - the lady in front used the spoon in service to taste the jam. The same applies to the yoghurt - in an open container and open to the surrounding elements - plain yoghourt only. No salt/pepper on table at either breakfast or dinner - no butter on table at breakfast. Breakfast tables never cleared and used dishes continued to aculate. Staff, including at reception, were aloof and not friendly in any way. Lift out of service on last morning and attitude towards assistance with cases due to this was 'tough' - could not have cared less. We have booked many hotels with you - this is the worst and certainly not worthy of their 4 star rating.

A guest said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 8th October 2019

The hotel was very with the exception of the hot breakfast. Everything was cold and very poor.

William Miller said...

80%
100%
N/A
60%

Stayed 6th October 2019

We had a wonderful break small mishap checking in as the hotel had not cancelled a previous booking but was soon worked out and everything went to plan staff were all very pleasant and helpful and could not do enough for us would certainly go back again great value for the money

Alison Craig said...

67%
50%
60%
90%

Stayed 4th October 2019

The food at Dinners and Breakfasts was a very good standard, but the service needs to be addressed. Although there were a few good, very experienced staff in the different areas of the hotel, many of the staff require more training. Too many guests for the number of tables in the dining room so be prepared to queue at breakfast! Rooms basic but comfortable. Leisure facilities very good and the kids loved the new Magic House.

Sam Colley said...

34%
50%
0%
50%

Stayed 25th September 2019

Cardrona in Peebles. This was booked as a birthday treat. Had we read the reviews in advance, we would never gave gone ahead with the booking. Here is a list of some of our experiences. 1 On our arrival at 3 30pm, check in was efficient but when we arrived at our allocated room, it had not been cleaned. 2 After a short wait at reception, we were allocated another Room 106, on the ground floor, although we had requested a high floor when we booked. 3 There was no soap or handwash in the bathroom and no milk or biscuits on the hospitality tray. The staff told us that they had "run out" of toiletries and couldn't supply soap or hand wash but we were given milk and biscuits. In addition, the carpet hadn't been hoovered properly nor had the bathroom floor been properly swept or washed. 4 On arriving at the restaurant for our meal, we were shown to our seat by Rory, who said he'd be "looking after us". He took our drinks order and half an hour later we were still waiting for it to arrive. We managed to attract the attention of the person who appeared to be in charge in the restaurant. He brought us our drinks. 5 Someone else took our meal order, not Rory. We had a lengthy wait for our starter, approximately 45 minutes. We both ordered soup. Both were lukewarm and had to be sent back. I ordered Cullen Skink. It was inedible. It was simply a bowl of cream with a few bits of leek floating in it. I had to ask for a different soup. The soup we were finally given was good. Our main courses and dessert were good and served on time. 6. Rory eventually paid attention to us and asked us if we'd like to order dessert. We said yes and he left to collect the menus but then must have forgotten or been distracted because it took another ten minutes for the menus to arrive. 7. Breakfast. The signs suggest that guests should avoid the period 9 -10 30 as there can be a delay in getting a table. The whole point of having a break is that you can have breakfast when you choose. However, we only had a short wait before being allocated a table. The waiter took our order for tea coffee and toast but it didn't arrive and we had to intercept a waitress who was carrying a tray of coffee but didn't appear to know where she was taking it. We asked her to bring tea and toast. 8 Although breakfast was buffet service, items were regularly running out, inexperienced staff were wandering about with no apparent purpose and it was quite frankly chaotic. 9 Just to add to our stressful experience, the fire alarm went off at 12 20 am on Friday 27th September. Worryingly, there were no instructions displayed in the room as to where to assemble in the event of a fire. We phoned reception but no one answered, It's difficult to believe that this was our experience in a 4 star hotel which is part of a well known group of hotels. We would never return to this hotel again. I think that you should consider the damage to your reputation as an advertiser for this hotel. I use myhotelbreak.com quite a lot and have been happy with the hotels I have stayed in. I am seriously thinking of not using your offers again.

ROBERT PINKERTON said...

54%
50%
80%
30%

Stayed 17th September 2019

We have stayed at this hotel many times this time we were most disappointed with the breakfast not the standard of past visits very poor indeed

A guest said...

50%
70%
30%
50%

Stayed 15th September 2019

Check in was frosty, asked if booked dinner and when indicated had noted on form at time of booking the response was we don’t see that form. Guess that is why we also got two double rather than two twin rooms - not the best of starts. Headed to pool after confirming at desk that facilities open until 8 on a Sunday to be turned away as lady entry is actually 7pm Dinner was very good if later than originally planned. Breakfast was challenging. Headed for breakfast at 9.15 - hot food served at 10.30. Frosty checkout - no request for feedback or even a hope you enjoyed your stay. Shame really, lovely rooms, good food and leisure facilities not bad although limited opportunity to use.

Valerie Davidson said...

37%
50%
20%
40%

Stayed 15th September 2019

Lovely surroundings but service at dinner and breakfast was very slow and we had to go and ask a waiter when we would be served and once we had ordered our food took ages to arrive ! The wrong bottle of wine was brought to our table and although we were told our bill would be amended straight away it was not The bedroom was clean and tidy on our arrival but in need of a refurbishment . Staff not very client orientated however this may have been due to not enough staff on duty ! I tried to book dinner on arrival but was told j would have to wait until restaurant manager came in . When I booked dinner later on I could not get time I wanted! very expensive for a glass of wine £9 for 175ml glass cost did not reflect the standard of the hotel

Mr Sowden said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th August 2019

Excellent 2 night stay asked for ground floor room as I have difficulty walking got a refurbished room close to reception with golf views great room with large walk in shower and bottle of prosecco on ice waiting for us food was top class both at dinner and breakfast staff excellent all round would recommend

Janice Waugh said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 20th August 2019

Room was not ready at 3.00 but we were given an alternate room which was lovely and very clean although this was up two flights of stairs and lift was broken,At dinner we were kept waiting for a menu we were told there weren’t enough to go around even although guests who came in after us were given a menu. Buffet breakfast in the morning every thing was look warm. We have been coming to Cardrona for a number of years but it’s not up to its usual standard.

A guest said...

54%
50%
50%
60%

Stayed 12th August 2019

Bedroom not up to standard, frayed curtains and threadbare carpet, both easy chairs worn, and one had cigarette burns on it’s arm, very surprised by all this. Bathroom lovely and bed very clean and comfy. Service in dining room very poor, had a long wait for food both nights, roughly two hours for two courses, and we were’nt the only ones, the man at the next table got up to walk out, his dinner was a shambles. Breakfast was just okay, we had continental both mornings, lacking choice, no fresh fruit, bananas or oranges for example, only a bowl of chopped fruit which did not look very good, Lack of fresh morning rolls. Staff seemed to be not very well trained. Pool area very nice.

Margaret Farrell said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2019

Great 2 night break Dinner on first night was exceptional Staff although young in most cases were very efficient bedroom clean if not a tad tired leisure pool was also very good and the staff very helpful In comparison to Macdonald Loch Rannoch which was a disaster ! This was wonderful !

A guest said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st August 2019

Pleasant surroundings and friendly staff. However, insufficient crockery at breakfast resulted in delay whilst tea and toast became cold- I can think of nothing worse than cold toast!

Mrs Marie Jane Banerjee said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th July 2019

We had a fabulous time and would stay again. It was our wedding anniversary and the hotel had left us a card and some chocolates which was a lovely touch. Service was slow at dinner but the food waa delicious.

Paul ODonnell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th July 2019

Wonderful hotel with fantastic staff, really enjoyed our stay.