Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Golf & Spa, Peebles

Cardrona, Peebles, EH458NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Debra Potts said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th November 2018

We had a couple of issues with our room, which were quickly sorted out. I would like to thank Adam on reception for his help, and Duncan in the restaurant for ensuring our evening was excellent.

Kris Cairns said...

40%
50%
0%
70%

Stayed 2nd November 2018

This is the email I’ve already sent the hotel and left on trip advisor. Good morning, I’d like to bring to your attention the poor experience I encountered at you Cardrona Hotel in Peebles. First o we were prompted to book dinner by Myhotelbreak so we did so shortly after receiving the email to speak a rather rude gentleman on the phone, despite having 2 kids with us under the age of 10 years old we were told there was no alternative to the 21:15 dinner reservation that available, no movement on this whatsoever. So we went with it as it was part of our stay. This bothered me for a few hours and I decided to call back to challenge this, I got a lovely lady who explained it was really busy this weekend however, the 21:15 slot for dinner was not suitable and she would call me back to which she did offering us 19:15 and that was great! We then came to check in and we got Bob on reception. We arrived at 15:15 and were told the room wasn’t ready yet. I asked when it would be ready and he looked at me is if I had no right to ask this question and was told with shrugging shoulders “quarter of an hour”. Having no other choice we sat by reception and waited on the room. Got to the room the room was fine, I’ve got no complaints there. So the dinner service on night one, we were sat down whilst explaining we were on a deal from myhotelbreak and were given menus. We sat down and had a look at the food on the menu looked a bit pricey to be amongst a deal. So we brought this to the waiting staffs attention, we were then provided with another menu. We got our drinks, we were never asked us if we wanted another drink and took 40 mins between clearing our main course plates and offering the desert menu.we actually got fed up waiting and went to the bar area where Edouard I think his name was met us with the bill for the 1 round of drinks we received 2 hours previous. The following afternoon we sat in the bar area and decided to use our cream tea vouchers. We waited 2 hours for cream tea and afternoon tea. We were given our tea and it was literally frozen by time the sandwiches and scones arrived 2 hours later. This is no exaggeration we watched the St Mirren v Rangers match the whole time we waited then it was 15:15 by time we received our sandwiches (Only 1 lot of the 2 afternoon teas ordered.) At some point during all of this Duncan decided to stop waltzing past the struggling bar staff and help. He brought afternoon tea to the table next to us in which they mentioned “no that table (pointing to us) ordered a long time before us!”. Duncan said “no there’s another afternoon tea sitting ready to be brought out.” The table of ladies also said the service was slow and Duncan’s reply was “I’m only a man.” Duncan never reappeared with the afternoon tea which was allegedly ready to be brought out to us. We were eventually brought 1 afternoon tea and the tall bar supervisor with the goatee I think his name was Graham said he wasn’t aware it was 2 lots we ordered and he’d have it sorted as quick as humanly possible (these were his words) and offered us a round of drinks to compensate we then waited around 30 mins for these drinks. The girl who brought them seemed quite happy to tell us the drinks did have ice in them but they’ve been sitting and it’s now melted. It was more disbelief then anything at this stage. The table next to us by this point had made friends with another table due to going to the bar so many times to ask where their food and drinks were. So we continued to wait on the 2nd afternoon tea to come to the table and we are offered more tea to which we accept. The teapots are brought to the table, we begin to pour and there’s no teabags in our teapots. Cups of we have to wash down our cold scones. During all of this some of our party decided to go in to Peebles for a wander, they returned and we still didn’t have a second lot of afternoon tea. The bar supervisor had also disappeared after promising to have it sorted as quick as humanly possible. When he did come back he came over and blamed everything that went wrong with every table on the kitchen losing receipts. Regardless is this is wrong or right we don’t care, there’s no point blaming other people, we only wanted what we asked an paid for! He just kept telling us “he knows, he knows!”. So if he knew then why was he doing very little about it? The table of ladies next to us we actually more hospitable than the staff. They gave us cakes and plates and knifes due to us getting no cutlery or crockery for our sandwiches and scones. Night 2 one of the kids ordered a mini sirloin off the kids menu and we asked for it well done. This thing came anywhere between bleu and rare with a puddle of blood on the plate of a 10 year olds food. It’s a shame, the disappointing thing is that the hotel is beautiful, the food was great when it came it was anywhere between bleu and rare and a puddle of blood on the plate. What I will say is that the f

Derek Brown said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th October 2018

Had lovely time at the Cardrona. Food and service very good.

Elizabeth Ainsbury said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Lovely hotel with fantastic friendly staff and amazing food! A little tired in places but it’s setting in the beautiful scenery of the Scottish Borders makes up for that! Would definitely recommend.

Yvonne Guzik said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Excellent stay, upgraded to executive room, room lovely everything you needed plus more, very clean, comfortable and excellent views Excellent evening meal and excellent breakfast very attentive staff in all departments of the hotel friendly and cheery

Rose Sheridan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2018

We were booked in for an overnight stay at the Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Golf & Spa and were extremely happy with our stay. We had a lovely cream tea on arrival. Our room was very nice and spacious. The staff were very courteous and attentive. We were able to have a swim. The food was delicious. The bed was very comfy. Breakfast was great with a whole variety of different things to suit everyone's taste. I would highly recommend it.

Norman Kerr said...

57%
70%
30%
70%

Stayed 19th October 2018

Sorry but a very dissapointing stay. A group of four couples stayed over two nights and while the rooms were comfortable and the staff very friendly and pleasant the weekend just had a number of small and not so small faults that made it very disappointing. We had used the online booking for our dinner on the Friday evening and booked for 7.45 (wanted 7.30 but that slot was not available) on arrival the dining room did not have any record of our booking and could only offer us 9.00 pm. After a great deal of discussion with the staff team they agreed to take the booking for 7.45 for which we could show the email confirmation and blamed a fault between the online booking and the Hotel. Anyway shown through at 7.45 and quickly given menus and afraid all down hill from then on in. It was 1040 before we finished our meal service was dire no real direction to the staff and we sat for over 45 mins with dirty plates in front of us, until we started to clear the table and then the staff arrived. One table of a family with a young dinner eventually called for a manager, did not seem to be any on duty that evening but eventually one arrived and seemed to sort things out. Then one of our group received some green mould in her drink at the bar which might have been in the ice, or the bottom of the glass. Changed immediately but to be honest it just seemed to add to the poor evening. We did speak with the dinning room staff and we fully expected that a manager would at some point speak with us or even the following day. Not so. Saturday was fine but again we could not get the slot and were kindly offer an early slot which we greatly appreciated and took. Seemed to be more managerial support that evening and things went very well. Food both night was good and well presented no fault. Breakfast on Sunday, shown to tables very smartly as we had all arrived at separate times and not an issue. However as we were seated an order for tea/coffee and toast was taken. Two groups despite asking three times for their toast never ever received any while tables who arrived a good 20 mins after got theirs. In all, not a great weekend. I did speak with the checkout team on departure and the receptionist was extremely apologetic and asked if I wanted the contact details of the duty manager to complain. I refused but probably should have so when this request for a review arrived I felt I had to say to future guests please don’t just ignore things as we did complain of poor service there and then.

Francis James Flynn said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2018

Good morning to all your staff! My wife and enjoyed our two day break with you, we have visited you relaxing hotel about six times. All the staff from front desk, bar and waiting service are most helful although sometimes very busy. The rooms and surrounds are kept to a very high standard, they are a credit to each other. The breakfast is wonderful and plenty choice for all tastes and diets. The dinner in evening is very slow and if any fault this would be it! Portions at evening meal are very small although presented with taste, more vegetables and potatoes please! I think that self service for starter and sweet would assist greatly the two hours duration that it takes. Kind regards to all the staff Francis and Ann Flynn

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2018

Had a great time. Only down side was there did not seem to be rough staff on during the day.

Caroline Neil said...

67%
50%
50%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2018

We were disappointed with the cardrona hotel. Our hotel room was very dusty and the bathroom was covered in hair. The shower was mouldy and suious looking marks on the loo. The staff were lovely and we think they were stretched however the bar and breakfast we had to queue. Breakfast we had booked in for but still a queue.

K Blake said...

77%
100%
50%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2018

Due to my wife taking ill we only were able to stay for one night The breakfast was good and there was plenty to eat but the dinner was disappointing The staff brought the wrong drinks and the main meal while it was good was cold and the portions were small and we had to wait a long time to be served or I would have sent the main meal back but we did not want to wait any longer for the meal The staff needed a lot more supervision as they did not seem to know what to do at times We had been at this hotel on a previous occasion and were extremely satisfied on that occasion but I am sure that with better supervision the hotel reports would be much better The morning staff were excellent as were the reception staff and they were very helpful

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2018

Very enjoyable stay at the Cardrona. Lovely breakfast. Polite, friendly staff. Bedroom a bit warm even though heating wasn't on and we had the windows open overnight.

Mrs Kerr said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th October 2018

Staff very welcoming at Reception. All dining room staff extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Really enjoyed staying at this Hotel.

A guest said...

64%
70%
40%
80%

Stayed 6th October 2018

Sofa bed was small and uncomfortable, service overall poor especially at the bar, portions small for dinner but excellent food!

Elizabeth Davie said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2018

Had a wonderful 3 day stay. Will return soon.

Elizabeth Graham said...

60%
90%
10%
80%

Stayed 23rd September 2018

The accommodation and food were very good but the organisation and service were terrible. There seemed to be a severe staff shortage and some of the staff did not appear to be well trained in the jobs they were doing. My wife queued for 10 minutes to collect a key while the only receptionist dealt with a complaint on the phone. Queues for the reception and dining room were normal. The golfers bar was not opened and looked abandoned. I was aware of at least three other people complaining about similar issues. Although the food was generally good some of the items in the breakfast buffet were not topped up well and some were cold.

Lynn Speirs said...

47%
70%
10%
60%

Stayed 23rd September 2018

Service in the restaurants was very poor. The hotel was understaffed.We were in a queue for breakfast and waited 30 mins as the server forgot about us. For dinner, I had to ask about our starters 40 mins after we ordered, There were several people complaining in the restaurant.It was not a pleasant experience.

A guest said...

64%
10%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th September 2018

Despite poor weather enjoyed a great stay here. Staff. facilities, room. views and food great. hope to return in the near future.

CATHERINE SNEDDON said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th September 2018

Facilities were very good. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd September 2018

instead of being offered dinner at 9 30 pm they should start earlier say 5 30 dinner at 9 30 is to late youare not finnished until 11 00pm

william Murray said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd September 2018

First class hotel,friendly and courteous staff. Food was first class( the best hotel food ever tasted). All together the best hotel we have visited. Would highly recommend.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th August 2018

Night away with In-Laws for chill and golf. Staff excellent from reception to restaurant to housekeeping. Rooms lovrly but very tired carpets. Leisure facilities very good. Will be back as enjoyed our break. Food excellent but as stated feel the staff make the difference.

A guest said...

67%
60%
50%
90%

Stayed 12th August 2018

This hotel was not what I expected from a four star hotel. It is very tired. We booked an executive room - looked like bleach had been spilled on carpet. Room not serviced for us until after 7.00pm and that only after we complained. Trollies that cleaning staff used were left on the corridor until after this time. Because carpet was being fitted off reception staff were harassed especially at breakfast time. On first day tea and coffee at breakfast was being served out of flasks. We arrived earlier than check in. Asked where we could buy a coffee and were directed to Strikes bar but coffee machine wasn’t working and no alternative was suggested. It is all down to standards and we expected more!

thomas breen said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd July 2018

we were disappointed that we had 2 camp beds for the children, my older grandchild couldn't sleep in the bed so he came into mine during the night and I went into his I couldn't get to sleep either and I fell out of it there were loads of flies in the dining room, after I complained staff said they would have the area sprayed and it was slightly better the next day

Alison Nicholson said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2018

A lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. On arriving I was given an upgrade to a double room rather than a twin. The room was big and had a lovely view, however, it needed some tlc.