Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Golf & Spa, Peebles

Cardrona, Peebles, EH458NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

keith fairnington said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2019

A very pleasant stay. Staff friendly and welcoming,food very good.

carole cardwell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th February 2019

Lovely hotel in a great setting. Room spacious and well decorated. Food and service very good.

Chris McCormack said... Hotel has replied

47%
50%
30%
60%

Stayed 17th February 2019

For a hotel that claims to be a 4 star it is anything but. The only thing 4 star about it is the prices. Arrived a little early so we were told the room wasn't ready and to sit in the lounge. The lounge was mobbed with one person serving at the bar. I can't fault the guy, he looked as if he was run ragged. 20 minutes later we got our coffees. Got to the room which was very clean but in major need of redecoration. There was paint falling off the ceiling and the bathroom tiles were a mess. Went for dinner on the first night and if my duck had not been plucked, it would have flown off my plate it was so raw. Asked for water 3 times before anyone decided to bring it over, no one was clearing the tables and waited over 40 minutes for my desert. The food was much better the second night but the service was no better and had exactly the same problem when asking for water. Again at no point do I blame the staff as they were great, however the level of staffing for the demand is ridiculous and the poor people are run off their feet. Going for breakfast was no different and had to wait as no tables had been cleared. In summary the Hotel chain need to reevaluate their staffing levels and the hotel including pool area is in major need of decorating.

Hotel reply...

Good Evening Guests review was very on track as we experienced a huge surge in bookings and the team were very much under pressure with many of the team on holidays this further impacted service. Since taking over the hotel I have been changing systems and it is taking a little longer for these positive changes to bed in. Our rooms do vary in standard and furnishings and our rooms on the top floor are the most tired rooms and these are scheduled for makeover this year with new carpets curtains and soft furnishings. Thank you for your candid comments and I do hope my apologies can be accepted as this is certainly not how service should be and following on from the feedback service will be being changed to ensure a positive guest experience. Regards Marc Adams General Manager

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 4th February 2019

Very pleasant 2ngts stay, room was lovely, comfy bed, only comment is few lose tiles in bathroom floor nearly cut my foot, overall very good

Debra Potts said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th November 2018

We had a couple of issues with our room, which were quickly sorted out. I would like to thank Adam on reception for his help, and Duncan in the restaurant for ensuring our evening was excellent.

Derek Brown said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th October 2018

Had lovely time at the Cardrona. Food and service very good.

Elizabeth Ainsbury said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Lovely hotel with fantastic friendly staff and amazing food! A little tired in places but it’s setting in the beautiful scenery of the Scottish Borders makes up for that! Would definitely recommend.

Yvonne Guzik said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Excellent stay, upgraded to executive room, room lovely everything you needed plus more, very clean, comfortable and excellent views Excellent evening meal and excellent breakfast very attentive staff in all departments of the hotel friendly and cheery

Rose Sheridan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2018

We were booked in for an overnight stay at the Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Golf & Spa and were extremely happy with our stay. We had a lovely cream tea on arrival. Our room was very nice and spacious. The staff were very courteous and attentive. We were able to have a swim. The food was delicious. The bed was very comfy. Breakfast was great with a whole variety of different things to suit everyone's taste. I would highly recommend it.

Francis James Flynn said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2018

Good morning to all your staff! My wife and enjoyed our two day break with you, we have visited you relaxing hotel about six times. All the staff from front desk, bar and waiting service are most helful although sometimes very busy. The rooms and surrounds are kept to a very high standard, they are a credit to each other. The breakfast is wonderful and plenty choice for all tastes and diets. The dinner in evening is very slow and if any fault this would be it! Portions at evening meal are very small although presented with taste, more vegetables and potatoes please! I think that self service for starter and sweet would assist greatly the two hours duration that it takes. Kind regards to all the staff Francis and Ann Flynn

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2018

Had a great time. Only down side was there did not seem to be rough staff on during the day.

Caroline Neil said...

67%
50%
50%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2018

We were disappointed with the cardrona hotel. Our hotel room was very dusty and the bathroom was covered in hair. The shower was mouldy and suious looking marks on the loo. The staff were lovely and we think they were stretched however the bar and breakfast we had to queue. Breakfast we had booked in for but still a queue.

K Blake said...

77%
100%
50%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2018

Due to my wife taking ill we only were able to stay for one night The breakfast was good and there was plenty to eat but the dinner was disappointing The staff brought the wrong drinks and the main meal while it was good was cold and the portions were small and we had to wait a long time to be served or I would have sent the main meal back but we did not want to wait any longer for the meal The staff needed a lot more supervision as they did not seem to know what to do at times We had been at this hotel on a previous occasion and were extremely satisfied on that occasion but I am sure that with better supervision the hotel reports would be much better The morning staff were excellent as were the reception staff and they were very helpful

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2018

Very enjoyable stay at the Cardrona. Lovely breakfast. Polite, friendly staff. Bedroom a bit warm even though heating wasn't on and we had the windows open overnight.

Mrs Kerr said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th October 2018

Staff very welcoming at Reception. All dining room staff extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Really enjoyed staying at this Hotel.

A guest said...

64%
70%
40%
80%

Stayed 6th October 2018

Sofa bed was small and uncomfortable, service overall poor especially at the bar, portions small for dinner but excellent food!

Elizabeth Davie said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2018

Had a wonderful 3 day stay. Will return soon.

Elizabeth Graham said...

60%
90%
10%
80%

Stayed 23rd September 2018

The accommodation and food were very good but the organisation and service were terrible. There seemed to be a severe staff shortage and some of the staff did not appear to be well trained in the jobs they were doing. My wife queued for 10 minutes to collect a key while the only receptionist dealt with a complaint on the phone. Queues for the reception and dining room were normal. The golfers bar was not opened and looked abandoned. I was aware of at least three other people complaining about similar issues. Although the food was generally good some of the items in the breakfast buffet were not topped up well and some were cold.

A guest said...

64%
10%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th September 2018

Despite poor weather enjoyed a great stay here. Staff. facilities, room. views and food great. hope to return in the near future.

CATHERINE SNEDDON said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th September 2018

Facilities were very good. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd September 2018

instead of being offered dinner at 9 30 pm they should start earlier say 5 30 dinner at 9 30 is to late youare not finnished until 11 00pm

william Murray said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd September 2018

First class hotel,friendly and courteous staff. Food was first class( the best hotel food ever tasted). All together the best hotel we have visited. Would highly recommend.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th August 2018

Night away with In-Laws for chill and golf. Staff excellent from reception to restaurant to housekeeping. Rooms lovrly but very tired carpets. Leisure facilities very good. Will be back as enjoyed our break. Food excellent but as stated feel the staff make the difference.

A guest said...

67%
60%
50%
90%

Stayed 12th August 2018

This hotel was not what I expected from a four star hotel. It is very tired. We booked an executive room - looked like bleach had been spilled on carpet. Room not serviced for us until after 7.00pm and that only after we complained. Trollies that cleaning staff used were left on the corridor until after this time. Because carpet was being fitted off reception staff were harassed especially at breakfast time. On first day tea and coffee at breakfast was being served out of flasks. We arrived earlier than check in. Asked where we could buy a coffee and were directed to Strikes bar but coffee machine wasn’t working and no alternative was suggested. It is all down to standards and we expected more!

thomas breen said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd July 2018

we were disappointed that we had 2 camp beds for the children, my older grandchild couldn't sleep in the bed so he came into mine during the night and I went into his I couldn't get to sleep either and I fell out of it there were loads of flies in the dining room, after I complained staff said they would have the area sprayed and it was slightly better the next day