Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Golf & Spa, Peebles

Cardrona, Peebles, EH458NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

Bruce Benjamin Carr said...

47%
40%
50%
50%

Stayed 12th April 2022

I am surprised that this hotel has been given a 4 star rating. When entering for the first time, it was clear that the hotel was in dire need of a freshen up. There were many signs of outdated and dirty fixtures and fittings. On arrival, we were greeted by a friendly member of the reception staff and allocated our room. On entering the room, we were met with dirty towels on the floor and an uncleaned bathroom. We informed reception and were told that this would be sorted right away. After waiting for two hours, the room had still not been sorted and when we asked about what was happening we were told the message hadn't been passed on. Thankfully, we were allocated a new room immediately. Again, we were served by a friendly member of staff. Once again, many of the pieces of furniture in the rooms were outdated and needed replaced. We dined in the hotel restaurant for dinner and breakfast (which was included in our booking). We were amazed by the lack of serving staff and the huge wait we had for each of our meals (even when the restaurant was at less than half capacity). The prices in the hotel were extortionate and sadly the food was not worth the money. I can't praise the friendly staff enough, however. Its a shame they seem undervalued by management and are run off their feet. We also used the leisure facilities, which were good. Unfortunately, the pool seemed to be overrun with young teenage boys who were intent on throwing all of the pool toys across the pool. The leisure staff seemed not to notice through the glass doors. This somewhat diminished our enjoyment of the experience. We were also very disappointed with the "free WiFi" that was advertised. In this day and age, we were shocked how poor this provision was throughout the hotel. This really needs updated! Overall, this was a pleasant enough stay but I wouldn't say it was worth the extremely high prices.

A guest said...

70%
80%
60%
70%

Stayed 18th March 2022

Food

R Kirton-vaughan said...

67%
90%
60%
50%

Stayed 7th March 2022

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff. The food on the first night was lovely but there was obviously a staff change in the kitchen on the second night as the food was well below par. Fish and chips was more batter than fish, chips were advertised as hand cut and they arrived as skinny fries with cold mushy peas! Breakfast on the second morning was overtaken by a convention in the hotel and the service was very slow. Obviously could have done with more staff. Staff are very young and eager to please but may need more training. Cameron M was particularly helpful with our medical equipment. Had to ask several times for more milk and sugar in the room for tea.

Karen Coombe said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th February 2022

Fabulous as always. Upgraded room made it even more special. Never fails to disappoint.

A guest said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 3rd February 2022

Good comfortable hotel although a little quiet.

Carol Taylor said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th January 2022

Had an overnight stay with my friend on Saturday 29/1. Reception staff were friendly and the check in process was well managed and all done within 5 minutes. We stayed in a standard room beside the Spa which was spacious and had tea coffee and biscuits and Iron and iron board. This was part of a deal at £59.50 and included a bottle of Prosecco. Would definitely go back again as staff and service was excellent from start to finish and great value for money. I can also recommend Francos Italian restaurant at the end of the high street.

T Will said...

60%
60%
70%
50%

Stayed 16th January 2022

Hi there, Yes we had a few issues with our 3rd stay at the Cardrona Hotel. Firstly when we arrived at the hotel the Duty Receptionist informed us that she had no record of our booking. Secondly the window ledge in the room was dusty. Thirdly the inside of the wardrobe was very dusty. Lastly we had dinner on the first night, but unfortunately the kitchen had run out of quite a few items on the menu, but what topped it off for me was the dessert, It stated Rum Baba with Caramelised Pineapple, but when my dessert came it was only a bit of sweet sponge with tinned pineapples. Very disappointing as having been in Hotel/catering for 51 years thats a first for me to see. Tom Will.

Hugh Gibson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th January 2022

Very pleasant stay and friendly staff. Room clean and tidy Reported smell of dampness from bathroom which they were going to attend to but had not before we left.

Jen Clarke said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 2nd January 2022

Lovely hotel, great facilities and good-sized rooms. We got room service one evening and they were super small portions so wasn't great. The food otherwise was good. The best thing about this hotel though is the the staff. So incredibly helpful, friendly and they couldn't do enough for you. We would definitely return.

john wilson said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th December 2021

Staff helpful. Dinner good. Breakfast 10/10.

Graemw Alison said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st November 2020

Great break and well looked after.

Peter McTavish said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th October 2020

We were very pleased with our stay the room was fantastic and would stay again. I know this is a very difficult time with Covid but they handled everything to the rules. Would like to go back in the summer time as the country side looked lovely.

thomas breen said...

64%
70%
50%
70%

Stayed 13th October 2020

My husband is disabled, we were on the first floor and the lift wasn't working We were booked in for 2 nights and there was only one wee bottle of shampoo no other toiletries Batteries were not working in remote control for TV, hours later had to request again for the above Had to request extra milk for the room for tea tray On last day breakfast service was very slow , Porridge was cool as well as pot of tea Although these comments may seem trivial they do not add up to a good hotel break that we have experienced at the Cardrona in the past.

A guest said...

67%
70%
50%
80%

Stayed 8th October 2020

The room we had is a bit tired looking and although it was "comfy" enough that was our first impression. The "no housekeeping" meant that fresh towels etc. could be a problem especially if you were on an extended stay, You had to call reception for everything and since the staff were obviously limited it meant several attempts or having to go to the desk in person. The staff were all helpful but the breakfast set up is in need of review. Waiting for ten minutes to be shown to a table was made all the more irritating when the staff seemed to take an acknowledge and ignore approach. Then waiting a further ten minutes before being asked what you would like and being served your hot breakfast prior to your fruit juice and cereal was a bit frustrating. All in all it was very poor service the young girl serving and clearing up being the exception.

Richard Alexander said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 4th October 2020

Lovely setting with good views over the golf course and hills.

David Percy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2020

Big thank you to all the staff at Cardrona Hotel for all the work put into making our stay enjoyable and safe.

Gerard Doherty said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th October 2020

Entrance to hotel not very welcoming with weeds growing through the paving. Rooms tired. Covid provention was good. Room stuffy, couldn't get windows open. Food good. Unfortunately lounge right next to lounge and lots of noise and swearing from group of golfers easily heard in dining room. I know they were only enjoying themselves but does put a damper on a having a nice meal. Drinks pricey.

james tait said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th October 2020

Another great stay at the Cardrona. Nice room, friendly staff, lovely food

Cathy Dover said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 1st October 2020

We had a lovely overnight stay at Macdonald, Cardrona Hotel, Peebles. The room was very comfortable and all COVID precautions were in place and being adhered to. The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Janet Scott said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2020

My husband and I recently stayed here for a couple of nights, the hotel was lovely and comfortable; with a spacious room and bathroom. The dinner was delicious and the menu was plentiful and varied. Due to current situation there wasn’t much choice for breakfast however we were still offered a freshly cooked breakfast which was very nice and filled us up for the day ahead.

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 25th September 2020

Fantastic staff. Very well organised although long wait for dinner and very small portions.

A guest said...

70%
80%
40%
90%

Stayed 21st September 2020

Hotel is in need of a deep clean and paint job, it is looking tired. The sills in the Lounge are were dirty. COVID guidelines are a bit relaxed as you queue outside the restaurant next to tables people are eating at. The golf course is not being fully maintained as the bunkers have weeds growing in them and the black membrane showing through the sand.

Michael Lynch said...

77%
100%
50%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2020

Restaurant was too busy to book, so a bit disappointing. I know the staff were busy, but they should have cleared dinner tables. The bar was far too expensive, so disappointing too .

A guest said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2020

Lovely hotel. Rooms a little tired but clean and good size. Food was amazing.service I think was maybe a little slower than it would normally be if times were different,but nothing was of any hassle to the staff working and they were all very helpful sticking to social distance rules. Would go again.

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 16th September 2020

Breakfast on our last day was disappointing as the selection was non existing on the cold buffet, if you didn't like bran flakes you were gubbed. Bit of a mix up on a room we had booked prior to arriving, saying that the room wasn't available. It was resolved after a short period of time when the room suddenly became available. Not very professional.