Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Golf & Spa, Peebles

Cardrona, Peebles, EH458NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

73%

A guest said...

54%
50%
50%
60%

Stayed 12th August 2019

Bedroom not up to standard, frayed curtains and threadbare carpet, both easy chairs worn, and one had cigarette burns on it’s arm, very surprised by all this. Bathroom lovely and bed very clean and comfy. Service in dining room very poor, had a long wait for food both nights, roughly two hours for two courses, and we were’nt the only ones, the man at the next table got up to walk out, his dinner was a shambles. Breakfast was just okay, we had continental both mornings, lacking choice, no fresh fruit, bananas or oranges for example, only a bowl of chopped fruit which did not look very good, Lack of fresh morning rolls. Staff seemed to be not very well trained. Pool area very nice.

Margaret Farrell said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2019

Great 2 night break Dinner on first night was exceptional Staff although young in most cases were very efficient bedroom clean if not a tad tired leisure pool was also very good and the staff very helpful In comparison to Macdonald Loch Rannoch which was a disaster ! This was wonderful !

A guest said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st August 2019

Pleasant surroundings and friendly staff. However, insufficient crockery at breakfast resulted in delay whilst tea and toast became cold- I can think of nothing worse than cold toast!

alan deans said...

47%
80%
20%
40%

Stayed 28th July 2019

Dear Sir or Madam, I have been going to this hotel since 2015 and i will not return and i look forward to your comments. This was a birthday break for my partner, we are bikers and have a lot of motorcycle luggage so we asked for a low floor. When we arrived at 3pm we were told our room was not ready, we waited 50mins along with a lot of other people, tried to speak to a duty manager but he did not start shift till 5pm. We were on the first floor, but were told the lift was not working, we have been told by friends that the lift had not been working three weeks ago. I feel the service at breakfast has went downhill since we started coming, on our table on both days there was no salt/pepper no sugar the size of the napkin is a joke. The hygiene at the bread area should be looked at and at the hot buffet, there was no tops on the hot trays. On both days people were waiting for cooked food for the trays. We were not offered more tea or coffee. I feel all these problems are management issues, i dont believe this is a 4 star hotel. We would not return to this hotel unless we were told there were big changes. We travelled for two months over Europe on our bike going to many hotels at the beginning of the year and never had to wait for a room or encountered the problems we did at this hotel. We also had to leave the hotel after 1am in the morning due to the fire alarm, but were not told what had happened. Best regards A dissapointed customer Alan Deans

Joanna Murray said...

50%
70%
40%
40%

Stayed 26th July 2019

Poor service, no ingredients for any of the tails from the 2 pages on the menu, bar closed downstairs, lift broken and food had been sat under hot plate too long it dried it out. Overall disappointed in our stay. Not asked on check out how our Stay was. Authorise card on arrival with £150 and on top of that you pay your balance. Still not refunded 4 days later,

Mrs Marie Jane Banerjee said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th July 2019

We had a fabulous time and would stay again. It was our wedding anniversary and the hotel had left us a card and some chocolates which was a lovely touch. Service was slow at dinner but the food waa delicious.

Paul ODonnell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th July 2019

Wonderful hotel with fantastic staff, really enjoyed our stay.

Isabella Steedman said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd July 2019

This was the second time within two months that I enjoyed a two night break at The Cardrona both times being very pleasant the staff could not do enough to ensure my friend's and I enjoyed our stay, excellent service albeit I fear they were a bit short staffed in the restaurant at dinner they did exceptionally well and all staff went the extra mile to ensure good service, and I look forward to future visits to The Cardrona and hopefully when it changes owners the quality will continue.

Karen Rhoden said...

47%
100%
20%
20%

Stayed 19th July 2019

We stayed her 2 night ...What a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Rooms where clean and tidy, but the chambermaids need to replenish the toiletries and condiments before guest arrive. I had to take things from their trolley so that i had missing items in my room. We done the motown tribute night on the friday, the food was great and so was the singers, would highly recommend this. Just a pity it was quite but then again if you don't advertise it or have it on your website then what do you expect. The bar ran out of Gin glasses ... really surely these could have been hand washed by the staff On the Saturday we ate in the restaurant. This was rather disappointing. Service was slow, staff where standing about chatting and not serving. Food wasn't great, i had the braised beef which was burnt and fatty, you could even taste the burnt. Your staff need trained more, or your restaurant manager need to know how to motivate his staff.. Normally in restaurants the staff have allocated tables - not here. The young girls need to be told to have their hair tied back when seeing food. Breakfast was buffet style as expected and food was lovely with great choice, buy again service was slow.... taff have to be more organised. I stayed here years ago and i feel the standards have slipped I won't be in a rush back

Gordon Moffat said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th July 2019

Overall the hotel was very good. Staff vey pleasant and the food was excellent. Pity the lift was broken for well over a week before we arrived and we were on the top floor. Great views over the golf course but the threadbare carpet let the room down slightly.

A guest said...

60%
70%
60%
50%

Stayed 1st July 2019

On arrival at the hotel at 3.25pm there was no running water and the lift was out of order. The receptionist assured us that the water would be on soon so we checked to our first floor room. Later on we were told that the gas was off so the dinner menu was somewhat restricted but as we had dinner booked we did dine in. The meal was passable just and as compensation we were offered a free drink. Unfortunately as the water was still off we were unable to get showered before eating and could not even flush the toilet. We had indicated that if the water had not come on by the time we had finished our meal we would be checking out. At 8pm the water eventually came back on and we decided to stay. The room was quite hot but unfortunately the windows would not open. The story we were given for the loss of water and gas was that there had been a fire practice and it shut down the supplies ??? This was definitely not the start we could ever imagined for a relaxing break plus the whole situation was definitely a Health Hazzard. On visiting a coffee shop the next day at local gardens we were speaking to a member of staff about the Cardona Hotel - Faulty Towers and discovered that two chefs had left the hotel and the Head Chef was actually working in the restaurant at the Gardens - small world and hence the lack of choice for our meal the previous evening. When we checked out on the Wednesday the lift engineer had eventually arrived. Needless to say we will never return to this hotel which is a pity because it could be ver nice with some money spent on it.

Tammy Clancy said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th June 2019

We've been here loads of times now and its never disappointed. First time we ate in the restaurant as we normally have a lazy night and order room service lol but the food was lovely! The breakfast wasnt the same as it was the last time we went...it was self service this time and wasnt as good as I was looking forward to it as it was so nice last time (my personal opinion even tho hubby liked his) but they did have a selection for everyones taste tho.

A guest said...

67%
80%
70%
50%

Stayed 30th June 2019

Return visit to this hotel was disappointing mainly with regard to very limited choice on dinner menu added to very slow service in restaurant. Appeared that staff were under pressure. Will continue to use my hotel web site regrettably not this hotel though.

Natalie Gray said...

50%
50%
40%
60%

Stayed 29th June 2019

It was ok but much room for improvement. Check in no info was given just hot handed welcome letter and key and told lift out of order. Room a bit dated carpet thread bear and stained General decor could do with being updated Facilities ok, waited a while for someone to come and tell us re facilities and give us towels, no water dispenser in pool area. Service was a bit slow. starters when they eventually came, looked like they had been reheated or refried. Main was ok. Menu a bit limited. We asked for water which we got but it was not left on the table. Prosecco was part of the deal and we had asked for it to be on our table for dinner, but we had to ask for it again and when we signed for the bill after our meal it had been charged for, so again had to remind staff that it was part of the deal. Breakfast was lukewarm and plates were cold, we had to ask for butter and teaspoons. Tables in the bar area had not been wiped down from the night before. Nice location and a lot of potential but definitely needs updated. At checking out we were not asked if everything had been ok or if we had a good stay. We tend to go away at least once a month and have stayed in many hotels through my hotel break but the Cadrona is not one I would rush back to. Sorry

Brian logan said...

34%
0%
30%
70%

Stayed 16th June 2019

I have already been in touch with MyHotelBreak about the difficulties encountered on this short break arising out of an error made with our booking which meant that the wet room booked for my wife and myself was not available on our arrival.

Angela Maloney said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th June 2019

Great stay, room was nice, food was good, great buffet at breakfast. Staff very friendly used the pool no complaints, slippers, robes and towels available. There was a golf tournament on and we could not use the lower level or bar to access patio this, was exclusively for the competitors we had to purchase a drink on first floor then walk outside round the hotel to patio other than that lovely stay would go again

Stuart Arnott said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th June 2019

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. We have been there 3 time now and we always find it gives excellent service. The food is good the rooms are large and very clean and the staff are very helpful. I personally liked the room we had as it looked over the 18th hole of the golf course.

A guest said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th June 2019

On arrival we were allocated a room on the 4th floor but as the lift was out of order we requested another room. Our request was granted and our room on the lower level overlooking the golf course was superb and we thanked the Receptionist for her assistance. Dinner was very good but Breakfast although being of a buffet nature was good but no menu available. Our request for Eggs Benedict (which was shown in the Bedroom Menu) was turned down with the excuse that it would take too long to prepare. However my wife and myself had an enjoyable time and would stay again. One other point the Wine List sat dinner was rather expensive.

Colin Powell said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd April 2019

Very pleased with the patio room overlooking the practice/golf course, great king size bed. Stayed two nights, evening meal, was excellent as was the service. Played golf on second day with my wife, and really enjoyed the layout, even if the greens were slow after hollow tinning. Had wonderful entertainment the first evening whilst dining, watched a " boot camp" session, outside the restaurant. Only disappointment was the hot/cold buffet breakfast, the first morning their was no baked beans or black pudding, which accompanied by haggis is normally the standard breakfast in Scottish hotels and particularly Cardrona, as I have stayed many times and am still a member of macdonalds hotels.

jennifer mitchell said...

80%
70%
N/A
90%

Stayed 18th April 2019

Lovely hotel with fantastic views. the room we were in was slightly dated (frayed curtain and arms on armchairs faded) however perfectly adequate for the price we paid. Hubby enjoyed the golf course whilst I made use of the gym and leisure facilities, pool was very busy but to be expected as half term. We had the d,b&b deal with bottle of Prosecco which we felt was excellent value for money. Food: evening meal was fantastic, compliments to the chef, and there was a good selection at the breakfast buffet, both hot and cold. Only niggles were no coffee sachets on the complimentary tray in the room which I mentioned to reception as we left and Prosecco wasn't in the room at 3pm (when check in time was) which meant staff were accessing the room when I was using the facilities. However saying that I was allowed an early check in at 2pm so can't really grumble. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others

Teresa McQuillen said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th April 2019

Booked a 2 night break in this lovely hotel with excellent facilities. Room was very comfortable with lovely white soft towels! Didn’t get to eat in the main restaurant as we were on B&B basis so ate in the lounge. Menu was limited but the food was lovely and well presented. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and would definitely visit again. Excellent value for money.

alex mclean said...

84%
80%
70%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2019

Excellent stay few issues with service /wait time!!! Think they were short staffed . Simple communication would have sufficed. Apart from that enjoyed our stay .

A guest said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 9th April 2019

We stayed at the Cardrona with relatives visiting from London. As we had stayed previously and really enjoyed it, we knew it would be ideal. It was very busy when we arrived - and continued to be throughout our stay. It appeared the hotel were under-staffed, not ideal given it was end of term holiday. (We overheard one employee had worked 17 hours that day). This had an impact on our whole break. At breakfast on the first morning it was like a cattle market - they had obviously realised it was busier than usual and decided to put flasks of tea, coffee and out. This was awful as all flasks were empty and on refilling, the coffee was abysmal. Eventually the (rushed off her feet) waitress got us a pot of coffee at our table - which we would usually expect in a 4* hotel. They had run out of many items eg plates, bowls, yoghurt, pastries. The staff were struggling to keep up with everything (not their fault). There was no option to toast bread and we weren’t offered any. The hot options were better replenished. A TOTALLY different experience on the 2nd morning - we were offered tea, coffee and a selection of toast as soon as we sat down! All items were refilled as soon as they were needed. A much better breakfast experience. Understaffed bar - took a while to get served. Rooms clean but bathroom floor tiles need fixed before people get injured. My scores should have been lower for service but we love this hotel and it’s tranquility. Under-staffing has let them down.

john crossan said...

37%
10%
30%
70%

Stayed 10th April 2019

Bad enough losing most of your day not booking in till 3pm even worse rooms still not ready

E Orr said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2019

Beautiful hotel if you are looking for a quiet break with lovely walk. The staff were very professional and service was excellent. The rooms were a little cool on arrival however soon warmed up and the food was excellent. Our 2nd stay at this hotel in a matter of months - would definitely recommend.