Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Aviemore Resort - Highlands Hotel, Aviemore

Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore, PH221PN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th May 2022

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rooms are extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Food in Aspect restaurant was exceptionally good, however we were a little disappointed with the food in Giovanni's

Lindsey Raeburn said...

74%
90%
50%
80%

Stayed 7th May 2022

Mixed bag of comments. Some members of staff were OUTSTANDING whilst the rest were the most miserable bunch of customer service employees I’ve ever encountered. Some food was fabulous but the breakfast was a bit rubbish. Rooms were lovely but needed a bit of TLC. Need a second mortgage to have a drink. Very expensive prices. Possibly overrated for the time of year. Not enough car parking for the number of hotel rooms. Amazing facilities available, but not all open for use.

Samuel sy said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 5th May 2022

Food in the Italian restaurant Giovanni’s was really poor, we told the manager but he only said he was sorry to hear that, and took no further action I was sick afterwards Second night we went to the other restaurant , Aspects, which was excellent

John Lax said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 29th April 2022

We were charged twice for our hotel stay. But on showing the receipt for payment, the hotel refunded the second charge. We had a lovely stay and the food both breakfast and evening meals was excellent. We did not have our rooms serviced for any of the nights stay. The hotel seemed to be short staffed. We managed ourselves by making our own beds .

William Howie said...

70%
80%
90%
40%

Stayed 21st April 2022

Overall good break. Main negative was raw in the middle burger served in Aspects restaurant that although brought to their attention was still charged for.

gavin browne said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2022

Lovely relaxing stay in beautiful Aviemore. Amenities and services were very good

Carole-Anne Lanny said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th April 2022

What a great stay we had here. The resort has much to explore - swimming with a flume and wave pool every 30 minutes, cinema, ice rink, shopping and a playground. There are 3 hotels within the resort, we stayed in the Highlands Hotel - this hotel was amongst all the activities and has the Aspects Restaurant which serves Scottish cuisine. Our rooms were connecting rooms which was a fab surprise. The rooms are clean with nice bedding a comfortable bed. The only criticism is that the walls were a bit grubby and needed cleaned or painted. We ate our evening meals at the hotel (Aspects Restaurant) and the food was delicious with good service. Breakfast was fantastic - cereals, pastries, and a hot buffet. We will definitely return in the near future.

Lynn Speirs said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 17th April 2022

Lovely stay. Bigger room this time, facing back of hotel. Aspects restaurant better than option of eating across the road in the Italian

Sarah Moore said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th March 2022

Great 2 days , hotel,staff,food& location made for a very relaxing great value break.

Darell Berthon said...

70%
80%
40%
90%

Stayed 23rd March 2022

We had problems getting our room cleaned. We didn’t know a sign outside the door was required. On the second day we did this, but still the room wasn’t cleaned. The person at reception wasn’t very helpful. The room was eventually cleaned on the third day. The food was very good but having the same menu every night was a bit disappointing. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would book again in the future. I give this hotel 8/10

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th March 2022

Room was comfortable and warm. Waiting staff were friendly and attentive, especially Holly. Food was enjoyable.

lesley pow said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th March 2022

First time staying at this hotel and also aviemore…really enjoyed the trip the hotel was lovley food was amazing and staff was so helpful and friendly when having my little puppy there….really felt relaxed and local to all shops and lovely pub at bottom of road all in all loved the break and will returning very soon

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th March 2022

All good but the food breakfast and dinner was always cold.

Nigel Rock said...

34%
50%
20%
30%

Stayed 6th March 2022

Very disappointed in our family stay, on check in which was not very pleasant, then I was told I would need to pay a extra £60 for the room they! had allocated me, even though I had put all the correct information on my booking. Then I was told my young family couldn't eat till 6pm, then the following day I found out we could eat in bar lounge next to reception from 4pm onwards, again bad information from check in staff. Bad layout of the Highland hotel, no lifts around restaurant area for pram, rooms separate from reception, a bit of a struggle with loads of suitcases and prams ect. Breakfast not hot just warm. Only one hotel open, areas dirty, restaurant food not great for the price

Michelle Doyle said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd March 2022

Very clean, great breakfast and great dinner options. Hotel could do with some upgrades

Martin McGarrity said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th February 2022

Lovely area, lovely hotel and lovely staff. Breakfast was excellent. Had a few minor issues at dinner that were quickly dealt with by the staff. Would definitely recommend a stay here and I will certainly be back. My only criticism is the excessive alcohol prices, if these were a bit more reasonable I would probably spend more time in the bar here instead of in town.

Mary Allison said...

64%
70%
40%
80%

Stayed 21st February 2022

Very nice room food very good.But hotel sitting areas were very cold to sit in. It is very expensive to have a coffee or drink in the hotel.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2022

Stayed two nights, room was very comfortable and clean, plenty top ups of tea/coffee and biscuits, dinner and breakfast was lovely, staff were very friendly and helpful, use of the leisure facilities was an extra bonus.

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th February 2022

Had a fantastic stay at the hotel, rooms very clean and service great, lots to keep you entertained. Would definately visit again

Sandra Mcguire said...

80%
80%
80%
N/A

Stayed 29th January 2022

A great deal at a really good hotel in a fabulous location!

Elizabeth Docherty said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th January 2022

Room was fantastic and staff very friendly no complaints would highly recommend ?

Mrs L Nicoll said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th January 2022

Had a lovely time, but bed was a little saggy in the middle so make bed very soft

Ann Donnelly said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th November 2020

We visited your Hotel to celebrate a member of our groups special Birthday, we had a wonderful stay over the weekend and enjoyed the ficilties offered. Food menu was very good as was breakfast and service from all staff was excellent will visit this resort as soon as posibl covid 19 regulations were imposed but this did not effect our stay that you would notice a big wl done to all staff and hotel manager.

W Brady said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd October 2020

Enjoyable stay, very helpful, attentive staff, tasty breakfast, good location

marion greig said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2020

We had a fantastic stay here the food was absolutely amazing spotless hotel warm friendly staff will definitely be back