Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Aviemore Resort - Highlands Hotel, Aviemore

Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore, PH221PN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Margaret Key said...

97 %
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2024

Excellent hotel. Plenty of facilities. Staff very helpful and welcoming. We would definitely recommend a stay here. We had dinner on the 1st night and the food was wonderful although we did wait quite some time between main and dessert which was the only downside.

john higgins said...

90 %
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 25th February 2024

Lifts not working in hotel

Martin Watson said...

90 %
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th January 2024

We had a issue with our room but it was rectified immediately.

A guest said...

94 %
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th January 2024

Had a fantastic weekend, pool was great, food and all staff were lovely. Will definitely return!

Margaret Clark said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2023

The dinner was superb. The buffet breakfast had a great choice of both hot and cold food. At all times the staff were polite and attentive. We had a great time again.

Lorrsine Marandola said...

84 %
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th December 2023

Nice hotel with very friendly staff . Breakfast had a great choice & dinner was nice maybe a bit pricey. The set menu was a bit strange . Lovely pool area.

james mcintosh said...

37 %
20%
40%
50%

Stayed 7th December 2023

The menu that was available for dinner on the first night was very limited and had little to nothing we could have that would cost the permitted amount for the package. The menu at the restaurant is also completely different than that available on their website. We ordered room service for breakfast after the first night the food arrived cold and then house keeping never removed the trays during the day. When we discovered this and phoned reception we were met with a giggle from the receptionist and told to bring them down ourselves. Not the best service when we paid extra for it. The room it’s self had issues where the seal had been removed from the shower screen so when in the shower the bathroom floor got soaked and we found ourselves having to jam a towel in it to slow the water. The room had no drawers for storing clothes the kettle in the room still had water in it which we did not know how long it had been lying.

A guest said...

70 %
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 12th November 2023

Overall a lovely couple of nights stay, some negative points and some positive. Xmas trees were looking very festive, hotel very clean and had a cosy feel. Some minor maintenance issues in our room which staff were told about at the end. One big issue being - having returned to our room from being out all day we found it open and unlocked. Did not need our key card to get in - just pushed the door open. Housekeeping had obviously left it insecure with our belongings inside. This was after our room had already been double booked and another couple entered our room with their key card as we were settling in. Felt rather insecure. Food lovely, breakfast great and kept well stocked. However most importantly did find that the price of a meal had increased quite a lot in a year since last visit. Main restaurant was £90 for a meal for 2 and we only had burgers for our main course. We felt they were trying too hard to go too up market and possibly pricing a lot of people out in the process. Giovannis much better value for money, and a nicer meal

Ronald Clark said...

77 %
40%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th November 2023

Hotel was looking lovely, decorated very well for the Christmas season. Dinner and breakfast was very good. Considering we were meant to have a deluxe room, I wouldn’t agree on that. Very basic, bathroom needing updated, as for the bed, mattress sagged in the middle big time which made it a very uncomfortable sleep. Perhaps time to update your rooms! If this is your deluxe rooms it would be interesting to see your standard rooms.

A guest said...

70 %
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 7th November 2023

On booking told 2 course dinner,on arrival dinner was up to £25.At restaurant was told hotelbreaks were allowed £20 to spend very disappointing when cheapest item on menu was£20

A guest said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd November 2023

Good offer with my hotel break. Just an issue with the breakfasts and extremely stingy butter “ ration” to the extent I didn’t finish my one slice of toast due to lack of butter! Toast comprised of one slice each also! Unbelievable considering the cost of break! As the breakfasts were so busy I did ask for more as the wait would have been considerable. Staff and hotel very nice though.

T Ross said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2023

hotel good value receptionist great food very nice

A guest said...

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2023

After reading some reviews I was slightly apprehensive about this trip but couldn’t have been more wrong. Lovely trip, helpful staff, good facilities. Definitely good value for money.

John Jackson said...

97 %
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th April 2023

Lovely hotel staff were very pleasant & helpful. Hotel is situated in a great area with plenty to do.

Martin Watson said...

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th January 2023

My 4th stay at this hotel as you know what you're getting 9/10.

A guest said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2022

Aviemore has it all and at the MacDonald Hotel it’s got even more! Love the leisure although closes rather early now, plenty for the kids to do too. Our deluxe room was clean & spacious,a little dark and no power points by the bed only at the other side of the room at the dressing table area. Food was very tasty and breakfast too altho hot selection limited choice. The wine prices are a little steep mind you! Staf very friendly and professional made us feel very welcome. I highly recommend the MacDonald Highland resort hotel and will return.

Anne Scott said...

84 %
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th November 2022

We had a very enjoyable stay, the room was spacious, clean and free from outside noise. The food was excellent and all the staff were very helpful.

Catherine Coventry said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2022

What a great time we had at this hotel/resort. Staff were very friendly and helpful . Rooms were spacious and spotless and good choice of food . We didn’t use pool but looked very family friendly with slides for kids . Will def book this hotel again

Roderick Muir said...

87 %
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th November 2022

Great room, good size. Comfortable bed. TV reception not great.

A guest said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th November 2022

Very good hotel. Staff helpful and friendly

Martin Watson said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd June 2022

Having stayed a couple of times previously and the rooms being lovely, we were slightly disappointed that this time the room was a bit tired and dreary and looking on to a wall, but that won't put us off coming back. Overall its a nice clean hotel with friendly staff.

Sandra Hamilton said...

80 %
90%
100%
50%

Stayed 13th June 2022

Nice hotel staff were friendly comfortable beds wasn’t impressed with the food it was ok but not what I expected from a Macdonald hotel.

A guest said...

90 %
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th June 2022

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing break. Room lovely will definitely tell our friends.

A guest said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th June 2022

Had a fantastic stay,staff were so friendly especially Brandon in Aspects Restaurant he couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome

Claire Rennie said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2022

Excellent - big complex, swimming pool with wave machine, steam room, sauna room. I dont have children but seems plenty for children to do too. Also has a one screen cinema onsight. Friendly helpful staff. A few minutes walk from train station and main street. Handy if you want to make it your base to travel around that part of Scotland. We hopped on a bus to Inverness for the day, only took around 50mins. Buffet breakfast with big selection. Evening meal fab.Overall excellent hotel