Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Aviemore Resort - Highlands Hotel, Aviemore

Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore, PH221PN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2020

We had an enjoyable safe stay at MacDonald Aviemore Resort . Hotel was very clean and staff very helpful . Thoroughly recommend . Mary

Stuart Rutherford said...

64%
10%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th September 2020

Just back from 2 night stay , fantastic staff friendly and approachable . Food very very good relaxed and not rushed in restaurant . Breakfast was fresh and filling . No issues with Covid changes Will return soon

Amanda Polhill said...

90%
80%
N/A
100%

Stayed 2nd September 2020

Nice Hotel, Friendly staff, Location is great, Food is excellent!!! All covid restrictions in place

susan monaghan said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 1st September 2020

Overall great stay, have always enjoyed staying in this hotel. On leaving day we got locked out of our room because we hadn't checked out for 11am even though we had late checkout of 1pm included. Had to get housekeeping to let us in.

irene Peacock said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th August 2020

Only one person serving customers checking in which resulted in a queue for over 20 minutes. There were two staff on reception but they said they could only deal with one set of guests at a time due to COVID. I did feed this back on check out and the management said they are looking at this. The room was clean and good size but needs updating. The bed was so soft, sank right in, think the mattress or base needs replaced. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in Aspects which was good however our favourite meal was in Giovanni’s food and service were excellent. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

irene Peacock said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th August 2020

Only one person serving customers checking in which resulted in a queue for over 20 minutes. There were two staff on reception but they said they could only deal with one set of guests at a time due to COVID. I did feed this back on check out and the management said they are looking at this. The room was clean and good size but needs updating. The bed was so soft, sank right in, think the mattress or base needs replaced. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in Aspects which was good however our favourite meal was in Giovanni’s food and service were excellent. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th August 2020

The resort was lovely and the food was faultless. We dined in both the Italian restaurant and the fine dining restaurant and on both evenings the meals we received was beautiful. Hotel & rooms could do with a bit of updating. The room we stayed In had a really really strong damp smell, so much so we had to go and purchase air freshener to allow us to sleep but the room in terms of cleanliness was spotlessly clean. The staff who worked within the highland hotel were really nice and helpful, nothing was a bother to them and they always went out of there way to ensure your needs were being met.

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th August 2020

The resort was lovely and the food was faultless. We dined in both the Italian restaurant and the fine dining restaurant and on both evenings the meals we received was beautiful. Hotel & rooms could do with a bit of updating. The room we stayed In had a really really strong damp smell, so much so we had to go and purchase air freshener to allow us to sleep but the room in terms of cleanliness was spotlessly clean. The staff who worked within the highland hotel were really nice and helpful, nothing was a bother to them and they always went out of there way to ensure your needs were being met.

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th August 2020

The resort was lovely and the food was faultless. We dined in both the Italian restaurant and the fine dining restaurant and on both evenings the meals we received was beautiful. Hotel & rooms could do with a bit of updating. The room we stayed In had a really really strong damp smell, so much so we had to go and purchase air freshener to allow us to sleep but the room in terms of cleanliness was spotlessly clean. The staff who worked within the highland hotel were really nice and helpful, nothing was a bother to them and they always went out of there way to ensure your needs were being met.

J McDonald said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th August 2020

Had a great time at this hotel had an Exec room with robes and slippers lovely room.And the breakfast was very good.The Italian restaurant was brilliant and it was a very good price from MyHotelBreak 10 out of 10 ?

J McDonald said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th August 2020

Had a great time at this hotel had an Exec room with robes and slippers lovely room.And the breakfast was very good.The Italian restaurant was brilliant and it was a very good price from MyHotelBreak 10 out of 10 ?

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

Had a great stay in Aviemore. Hotel was really nice and staff very friendly and helpful. Food was very tasty but bit fancy for us but meals we had were great and portions were good. Alcohol we found very expensive but expected in a large hotel chain. Arrived early but as room was ready we were allowed to check in early which was great.

Del Derek Trotter said...

77%
100%
60%
70%

Stayed 19th August 2020

Has a 2 night stay and offer advertised was including 2 course dinner each night. However this wasn't really the case as we were told by the hotel that it was a £25 a head allowance towards dinner. (Steak alone was £27) so the allowance never even covered 1 course never mind 2. If we had known we would have stayed elsewhere. Drink prices very expensive too (bottle of prosecco £35) Regular user of this site but disappointed this time around

ross williamson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th August 2020

Excellent 2 night stay will do it again ?

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2020

Birthday break for my daughter. They had a fantastic stay, staff amazing and helpful. DBB both nights the food was first class and once again staff were so helpful and friendly nothing was a problem. Had a wonderful break away. Thank you

Allan Hume said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2020

Very pleased with all aspects of this hotel and will use again especially liked the choice of restaurants

Jim Darcy said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 9th August 2020

We stayed here for 2 nights DB&B. If going back would definitely consider B&B only as there are plenty of restuarants and bars in the village which would be nice to try. There are obviously some covid restrictions in place but it doesn't really deter from anything. The pool and kids indoor leisure centre are currently closed so that may be a consideration for some. The restaurant was a little old fashioned for us with lots of dark wood and had a bit of a 1970s/80s feel about it. Would probably benefit from being brought a little bit up to date but you can also use the restuarant at their sister hotel which is just across the road. It definitely has a more modern feel to it. To be honest the food served in both the hotels for evening meals was just ok which is why I would go B&B next time, however DB&B is a competative package. They are unable to offer a help yourself buffet style breakfast just now but all the items you would expect are available they just serve it to you rather than helping yourself. I think there is enough breakfast choice to satisfy most tastes and appetites. My wife is vegetarian and there was a decent non meat choice at breakfast. The staff in the restaurants and Bars are all very friendly and efficient. Aviemore itself is a great place to visit for a 2 or 3 night break with lots to do in the area. Overall, it was a very pleasant break and I don't have any regrets. Would definitely return, just mabe not a DB&B basis next time..

A Gemmell said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 9th August 2020

A very nice hotel with just a few concerns. Our room was lovely but the Venetian blind had great difficulty in levelling. Despite mentioning and someone coming, it was never really fixed. We just put up with it! Reception was often understaffed and waiting often long. We had a problem on 3 occasions with our door fob non entry; this was really annoying! Restaurant staff excellent but overworked. Breakfast hot food cold but good quality.

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 30th July 2020

Stayed here July 2020 felt very safe staf wore masks, screens in situ Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel position super, walking distance from train station and centre of Aviemore Food delicious and very good value. Would defiantly stay again

A guest said...

67%
80%
70%
50%

Stayed 30th July 2020

Our first time away this year the hotel was very different no room cleaning as just two day stay (understandable) Room was nice large and tidy nice bathroom the hotel is not 4 star probably a 3 star a bit tired the food menu was limited not very good. Meal on first night was ok meal on second night was very poor we had steak not a good cut of meat full of fat and gristle. The breakfast was a bit of a nightmare first day at 9am not to bad but still had to queue to get hot food second day at 9:30am was terrible ordered drinks and toast at table then a 20min queue for hot food so cold drinks and toast all orders should be table service

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th February 2020

We seen David Attenborough.

Yvonne Boyle said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 17th February 2020

We stayed for 2 nights at the Highlands Hotel, Aviemore, having booked a deluxe room for dinner, bed and breakfast. Our first night went without a hitch but unfortunately on our second day there was a leak of water from the floor above that caused water to cascade through our bathroom ceiling through the extractor fan and lights. We called reception straight away as we were extremely concerned about the water coming into contact with the electricity. We were told that the overflow pipe on the bath in the room above ours had become detached from the bath itself, causing the water to flood down into our room. After around an hour and a half we were found an alternative room and had to pack up and move. The room we were moved to was a standard room (rather than deluxe) which was a real shame as we had booked the upgraded room specially as we were taking this break to celebrate my husband's birthday.

A guest said...

20%
40%
20%
0%

Stayed 7th February 2020

Arrived late Friday night ,room ok supposed to exective room so needed an upgrade no tea or coffee facilities old style over shower unit ,clean and tidy though . Given wrong instructions of were room was located ,told it was in first floor to right not the case after truddging n our cases room was actualy on bottom floor to left . Now the worst part the Food we were dbb both nights first night burger cold ,soggy chips meal was served to us within 5.minutes complained they reheated the burger assuming in microwave as came back now with hot lettuce along with the now hot burger and a hot plate which I didn't get first time round 2nd night dinner at italian ordered the pizza with chicken peppers and onion came with 2 tiny pieces of chicken and 2 tiny pieces of peppers again i cimplained aling with the people at a table either side of me waitress apologised that was it .on leaving restraunt I again complaint to another staff member who asked how meal was again only sorry no follow up .. Breakfast first day fine ,second morning felt like I was queuing at a school.canteen and not a 4 star hotel 15 minute wait for a seat standing in a queue that snaked all the way down stairs dreadful To top everything off bar area seating area frozen cold alcohol the most expensive I have paid for other than at a really fancy wedding £8 for a small glass of rose wine. Management need to take note of this and look at why customers are not utilising the bar areas no ambience

K Fairweather said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - Highland Hotel. Friendly welcome, helpful staff and excellent hospitality. Had dinner in the dining room on both nights and food was excellent....as was breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

catriona Carruthers said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th June 2015

Lovely short stay. Our room and the parts of the hotel we saw were of a really high standard of cleanliness and no detail was left out. Lots of thoughtful extras in our room made our stay enjoyable.