Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Aviemore Resort - Highlands Hotel, Aviemore

Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore, PH221PN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2022

Aviemore has it all and at the MacDonald Hotel it’s got even more! Love the leisure although closes rather early now, plenty for the kids to do too. Our deluxe room was clean & spacious,a little dark and no power points by the bed only at the other side of the room at the dressing table area. Food was very tasty and breakfast too altho hot selection limited choice. The wine prices are a little steep mind you! Staf very friendly and professional made us feel very welcome. I highly recommend the MacDonald Highland resort hotel and will return.

Anne Scott said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th November 2022

We had a very enjoyable stay, the room was spacious, clean and free from outside noise. The food was excellent and all the staff were very helpful.

Catherine Coventry said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2022

What a great time we had at this hotel/resort. Staff were very friendly and helpful . Rooms were spacious and spotless and good choice of food . We didn’t use pool but looked very family friendly with slides for kids . Will def book this hotel again

Roderick Muir said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th November 2022

Great room, good size. Comfortable bed. TV reception not great.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th November 2022

Very good hotel. Staff helpful and friendly

Martin Watson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd June 2022

Having stayed a couple of times previously and the rooms being lovely, we were slightly disappointed that this time the room was a bit tired and dreary and looking on to a wall, but that won't put us off coming back. Overall its a nice clean hotel with friendly staff.

Janine Hardie said...

44%
50%
30%
50%

Stayed 22nd June 2022

This is not a 4 star hotel. Staff not friendly and food ok. No fried eggs ready in the morning for breakfast. No decaf tea available. Loose slabs on outside steps. Big crack in bathroom sink which had been repaired. Lounge was nice and receptionist pleasant.

Sandra Hamilton said...

80%
90%
100%
50%

Stayed 13th June 2022

Nice hotel staff were friendly comfortable beds wasn’t impressed with the food it was ok but not what I expected from a Macdonald hotel.

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th June 2022

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing break. Room lovely will definitely tell our friends.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th June 2022

Had a fantastic stay,staff were so friendly especially Brandon in Aspects Restaurant he couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome

Claire Rennie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2022

Excellent - big complex, swimming pool with wave machine, steam room, sauna room. I dont have children but seems plenty for children to do too. Also has a one screen cinema onsight. Friendly helpful staff. A few minutes walk from train station and main street. Handy if you want to make it your base to travel around that part of Scotland. We hopped on a bus to Inverness for the day, only took around 50mins. Buffet breakfast with big selection. Evening meal fab.Overall excellent hotel

Alison Twaddle said...

70%
70%
60%
80%

Stayed 31st May 2022

Stayed here before. Room was an upgrade, clean and good size just dated. Given QR code a check in with menu and drinks list only to find out all drinks had gone up in price that day, some by 30%! Breakfast brilliant but book in advance for dinner as No availability at the Aspects restaurant when we arrived. Another excellent deal from myhotelbreak, but not worth prices otherwise.

winifred jamieson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th May 2022

We have just had a lovely 2 night stay at the macdonalds highland resort in Aviemore. It was very nice and relaxing. The package deal was very good. Hotel was fine and the staff were lovely although bar prices were a bit on the steep side. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant which was from a nice menu and the service was excellant. We would certainly go back again and maybe take the grandchildren as there was a lot to do for them at the resort.

Evelyn Bathgate said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd May 2022

Comfortable room. Great locatio .

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th May 2022

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rooms are extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Food in Aspect restaurant was exceptionally good, however we were a little disappointed with the food in Giovanni's

Lindsey Raeburn said...

74%
90%
50%
80%

Stayed 7th May 2022

Mixed bag of comments. Some members of staff were OUTSTANDING whilst the rest were the most miserable bunch of customer service employees I’ve ever encountered. Some food was fabulous but the breakfast was a bit rubbish. Rooms were lovely but needed a bit of TLC. Need a second mortgage to have a drink. Very expensive prices. Possibly overrated for the time of year. Not enough car parking for the number of hotel rooms. Amazing facilities available, but not all open for use.

Samuel sy said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 5th May 2022

Food in the Italian restaurant Giovanni’s was really poor, we told the manager but he only said he was sorry to hear that, and took no further action I was sick afterwards Second night we went to the other restaurant , Aspects, which was excellent

John Lax said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 29th April 2022

We were charged twice for our hotel stay. But on showing the receipt for payment, the hotel refunded the second charge. We had a lovely stay and the food both breakfast and evening meals was excellent. We did not have our rooms serviced for any of the nights stay. The hotel seemed to be short staffed. We managed ourselves by making our own beds .

William Howie said...

70%
80%
90%
40%

Stayed 21st April 2022

Overall good break. Main negative was raw in the middle burger served in Aspects restaurant that although brought to their attention was still charged for.

gavin browne said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2022

Lovely relaxing stay in beautiful Aviemore. Amenities and services were very good

Carole-Anne Lanny said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th April 2022

What a great stay we had here. The resort has much to explore - swimming with a flume and wave pool every 30 minutes, cinema, ice rink, shopping and a playground. There are 3 hotels within the resort, we stayed in the Highlands Hotel - this hotel was amongst all the activities and has the Aspects Restaurant which serves Scottish cuisine. Our rooms were connecting rooms which was a fab surprise. The rooms are clean with nice bedding a comfortable bed. The only criticism is that the walls were a bit grubby and needed cleaned or painted. We ate our evening meals at the hotel (Aspects Restaurant) and the food was delicious with good service. Breakfast was fantastic - cereals, pastries, and a hot buffet. We will definitely return in the near future.

Lynn Speirs said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 17th April 2022

Lovely stay. Bigger room this time, facing back of hotel. Aspects restaurant better than option of eating across the road in the Italian

Sarah Moore said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th March 2022

Great 2 days , hotel,staff,food& location made for a very relaxing great value break.

Darell Berthon said...

70%
80%
40%
90%

Stayed 23rd March 2022

We had problems getting our room cleaned. We didn’t know a sign outside the door was required. On the second day we did this, but still the room wasn’t cleaned. The person at reception wasn’t very helpful. The room was eventually cleaned on the third day. The food was very good but having the same menu every night was a bit disappointing. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would book again in the future. I give this hotel 8/10

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th March 2022

Room was comfortable and warm. Waiting staff were friendly and attentive, especially Holly. Food was enjoyable.