Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Aviemore Resort - Highlands Hotel, Aviemore

Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore, PH221PN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th March 2022

Room was comfortable and warm. Waiting staff were friendly and attentive, especially Holly. Food was enjoyable.

lesley pow said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th March 2022

First time staying at this hotel and also aviemore…really enjoyed the trip the hotel was lovley food was amazing and staff was so helpful and friendly when having my little puppy there….really felt relaxed and local to all shops and lovely pub at bottom of road all in all loved the break and will returning very soon

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th March 2022

All good but the food breakfast and dinner was always cold.

Nigel Rock said...

34%
50%
20%
30%

Stayed 6th March 2022

Very disappointed in our family stay, on check in which was not very pleasant, then I was told I would need to pay a extra £60 for the room they! had allocated me, even though I had put all the correct information on my booking. Then I was told my young family couldn't eat till 6pm, then the following day I found out we could eat in bar lounge next to reception from 4pm onwards, again bad information from check in staff. Bad layout of the Highland hotel, no lifts around restaurant area for pram, rooms separate from reception, a bit of a struggle with loads of suitcases and prams ect. Breakfast not hot just warm. Only one hotel open, areas dirty, restaurant food not great for the price

Michelle Doyle said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd March 2022

Very clean, great breakfast and great dinner options. Hotel could do with some upgrades

Martin McGarrity said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th February 2022

Lovely area, lovely hotel and lovely staff. Breakfast was excellent. Had a few minor issues at dinner that were quickly dealt with by the staff. Would definitely recommend a stay here and I will certainly be back. My only criticism is the excessive alcohol prices, if these were a bit more reasonable I would probably spend more time in the bar here instead of in town.

Mary Allison said...

64%
70%
40%
80%

Stayed 21st February 2022

Very nice room food very good.But hotel sitting areas were very cold to sit in. It is very expensive to have a coffee or drink in the hotel.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2022

Stayed two nights, room was very comfortable and clean, plenty top ups of tea/coffee and biscuits, dinner and breakfast was lovely, staff were very friendly and helpful, use of the leisure facilities was an extra bonus.

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th February 2022

Had a fantastic stay at the hotel, rooms very clean and service great, lots to keep you entertained. Would definately visit again

Sandra Mcguire said...

80%
80%
80%
N/A

Stayed 29th January 2022

A great deal at a really good hotel in a fabulous location!

Elizabeth Docherty said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th January 2022

Room was fantastic and staff very friendly no complaints would highly recommend ?

Mrs L Nicoll said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th January 2022

Had a lovely time, but bed was a little saggy in the middle so make bed very soft

Ann Donnelly said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th November 2020

We visited your Hotel to celebrate a member of our groups special Birthday, we had a wonderful stay over the weekend and enjoyed the ficilties offered. Food menu was very good as was breakfast and service from all staff was excellent will visit this resort as soon as posibl covid 19 regulations were imposed but this did not effect our stay that you would notice a big wl done to all staff and hotel manager.

W Brady said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd October 2020

Enjoyable stay, very helpful, attentive staff, tasty breakfast, good location

marion greig said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2020

We had a fantastic stay here the food was absolutely amazing spotless hotel warm friendly staff will definitely be back

STeven MCleod said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2020

Check in went well, went to room and was disappointed the room had obviously lay unused for a while, when you patted the chairs there was a cloud of dust & when you turned on the heaters you could smell the dust burning.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2020

We had an enjoyable safe stay at MacDonald Aviemore Resort . Hotel was very clean and staff very helpful . Thoroughly recommend . Mary

Amanda Polhill said...

90%
80%
N/A
100%

Stayed 2nd September 2020

Nice Hotel, Friendly staff, Location is great, Food is excellent!!! All covid restrictions in place

susan monaghan said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 1st September 2020

Overall great stay, have always enjoyed staying in this hotel. On leaving day we got locked out of our room because we hadn't checked out for 11am even though we had late checkout of 1pm included. Had to get housekeeping to let us in.

irene Peacock said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th August 2020

Only one person serving customers checking in which resulted in a queue for over 20 minutes. There were two staff on reception but they said they could only deal with one set of guests at a time due to COVID. I did feed this back on check out and the management said they are looking at this. The room was clean and good size but needs updating. The bed was so soft, sank right in, think the mattress or base needs replaced. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in Aspects which was good however our favourite meal was in Giovanni’s food and service were excellent. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th August 2020

The resort was lovely and the food was faultless. We dined in both the Italian restaurant and the fine dining restaurant and on both evenings the meals we received was beautiful. Hotel & rooms could do with a bit of updating. The room we stayed In had a really really strong damp smell, so much so we had to go and purchase air freshener to allow us to sleep but the room in terms of cleanliness was spotlessly clean. The staff who worked within the highland hotel were really nice and helpful, nothing was a bother to them and they always went out of there way to ensure your needs were being met.

J McDonald said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th August 2020

Had a great time at this hotel had an Exec room with robes and slippers lovely room.And the breakfast was very good.The Italian restaurant was brilliant and it was a very good price from MyHotelBreak 10 out of 10 ?

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

Had a great stay in Aviemore. Hotel was really nice and staff very friendly and helpful. Food was very tasty but bit fancy for us but meals we had were great and portions were good. Alcohol we found very expensive but expected in a large hotel chain. Arrived early but as room was ready we were allowed to check in early which was great.

Del Derek Trotter said...

77%
100%
60%
70%

Stayed 19th August 2020

Has a 2 night stay and offer advertised was including 2 course dinner each night. However this wasn't really the case as we were told by the hotel that it was a £25 a head allowance towards dinner. (Steak alone was £27) so the allowance never even covered 1 course never mind 2. If we had known we would have stayed elsewhere. Drink prices very expensive too (bottle of prosecco £35) Regular user of this site but disappointed this time around

ross williamson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th August 2020

Excellent 2 night stay will do it again ?