Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa, Tarporley

Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley, CW60DJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

B Harvie said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2015

Enjoyed our stay good food and friendly staff

Claudine Pimbley said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th October 2017

Had a lovely weekend break. Hotel spa and rooms lovely .

Lynsey Canty said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th August 2017

Very friendly helpful staff except perhaps some restaurant staff. Thankyou for upgrade but room 210 has a bad damp smell which meant i needed to wash all my clothes even unworn ones Confy beds and nice food. Great value

Natalie Hendrie said...

67%
90%
40%
70%

Stayed 10th July 2017

Waited a long time after main course for a server to offer desert menu- after half an hour we decided not to get another drink each or a desert and it was only when we stood up to go we were asked if we needed anything else. No chip and pin in the restaurant was odd. Rooms and pool facil were excellent.

Jennifer Tasker said...

74%
90%
50%
80%

Stayed 26th October 2015

Stayed here for a relaxing break whilst taking an opportunity to explore Cheshire and the Welsh Borders. This is a lovely venue in a pleasant setting and the bedrooms are well appointed. On the whole staff were very nice and helpful. There was a 'spoiler' related to service but this was addressed directly with the hotel management who reacted positively and responded promptly to issues raised.

Edward Margison said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd October 2015

Excellent value for money.Would recommend to others.

Geoffrey Leatherland said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd October 2015

hotel spotless food very good as was service dissapointed with the price of wine very expensive which made a good deal not so good in the end

Colin Rutherford said...

44%
70%
40%
20%

Stayed 22nd October 2015

Beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings. Staff nice. Pity about the quality of food and service in the evenings"

Keith Butler said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2015

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the bedrooms spacious and well appointed. The pool in the spa was long and deep enough for a decent swim. All the food was of the highest quality and nicely presented

James Hartley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2015

Great hotel, fabulous staff everywhere, food excellent. Also great leisure facilities. Will definitely return.

Christine Carson said...

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2015

This is our 3rd stay at this lovely hotel in well kept surroundings. Staff were as always pleasant and helpful. Evening meal was excellent couldn't fault it at all. The only negative thing about this stay was the slow service at breakfast and the potato scones as they seemed to be heated rather than cooked, never had potato scones served this way before.It certainly won't stop us from returning.

B Harvie said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2015

Really friendly staff especially at the reception desk Bedrooms comfortable and clean Food good and again well served Didnt get a chance to play golf but spoke the the Pro in the shop shop who was very friendly

Vincent Raeburn said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 13th October 2015

A very pleasant and relaxing break in fabulous surroundings, enhanced by the wonderful weather. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only criticism would be the delays we encountered in the service at the evening meal . . . although the staff were very efficient in taking drinks orders, there was a wait for these to arrive.

Malcolm Noble said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2015

Staff very pleasant. Bar service a little slow and they did run out of a few things. Would have been nice to have been able to purchase a few nibbles to have with drinks but these were not available. Championship golf course very nice. Would certainly stay again. Thanks Classic Britain for an excellent deal.

V Jones said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th October 2015

Great hotel for the price. Will book with classic Britain again. Hotel in aquite location staff and food were excellent. The room we stayed in and the pool area could of been a bit clearer.

Bill Thomas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th October 2015

Wonderful stay,we stayed here just a short while ago and couldn't wit to return everything is great the staff the room the food we shall certainly be returning again.

Benjamin Walker said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 30th September 2015

Very good value for Money pleased with everything.

Alison Heilbron said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th September 2015

lovely hotel with new pool etc. quiet location. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would certainly return

Mrs Shaw said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd September 2015

Service and cleanliness excellent.

David Shaw said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2015

Everything was very good, except that they didn't have our booking when we arrived. Our booking was for Friday, 18 September, and we were booked in for Wednesday, 23 September. Fortunately, we had run off a copy of the confirmation. A couple of false fire alarms didn't give us a good night's sleep, but that was unlucky.

Ann Pagan said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th September 2015

Cracking hotel and an excellent hotel. FOOD AND ACCOMODATION WERE GREAT.

Bill Thomas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2015

Excellent stay, reception was welcoming, speedy and helpful the room was spotless and roomy and the food was delicious we will certainly stay there again.

Sue Lees said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st August 2015

Had a lovely stay with my 21 year old daughter, from first walking through the door to the time we left everyone and everything was lovely and all the staff were most helpful. Look forward to returning at some point in the future.

Susan Myatt said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 31st August 2015

I have just left this review on Trip Advisor. To understand some of my comments you need to look at the previous review (which wasn't good) Feel free to use any or all of it. We were very happy with our deal from you and will look at your site for future bookings. My husband and I have just returned from a very pleasant stay at the Macdonald Portal Hotel. The previous review had given me cause for concern but I should not have worried. We have travelled to many countries and stayed in many hotels. We can therefore draw on our experience to rate this hotel ... Our room was spacious and opening a window to let in fresh air worked fine. The bed was certainly a good size and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. We take a travel alarm clock with us everywhere we go, so that wasn't a problem either. The bathroom was amazingly spacious with good quality towels and toiletries. We used the sockets at the desk for charging our phones overnight. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. After our round of golf at Portal we enjoyed the hotel's leisure facilities, the pool was a good size and perfect temperature. Everywhere appeared to be kept very clean and hygienic. Our very attractive deal included dinner which was delicious. We both had the chargrilled pork and rated it very highly. Service was good and attentive. Our breakfast this morning was beautiful. Lovely fresh fruit (some yoghurt would have been good?) and then a perfectly cooked full English, using local produce and ingredients. Unlike the previous reviewer I found the black pudding to be absolutely tasty and perfectly cooked. I hope this review gives people a better impression of the hotel. It deserves one!

Bryan Clarke said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 30th August 2015

Easy to book. Excellent value. Would advise to book with hotel direct if evening meal required. Excellent evening meal.Restaurant Manager excellent customer service skills