Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Merewood Country House Hotel, Windermere

Ambleside Road, Windermere, LA23 1LH, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

93%

Andrew Dyson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th December 2018

What a beautiful place to stay. The hotel itself is a wonderful old building reflecting the quality of Victorian times. It was lovely and warm and very clean. The staff were attentive, knowledgeable about the menu and very friendly and helpful. We had the taster menu and it was just brilliant, really well explained and presented. The whole experience was excellent and the staff are to be commended for their level of service. Well done all it is rare to come across such a little gem as this.

Rebecca Price said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th August 2018

Beautiful hotel. Excellent staff. Superb food

Alan Britton said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 25th June 2018

Nice comfortable, friendly hotel set in beautiful grounds. Ideal for those who like isolation and love long walks.

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th September 2017

Perfect location for both Ambleside and Windermere! Staff were extremely attentive and informative, and made us feel very welcome upon checking in. We had 2 suitcases and our room was situated on the top floor, and despite me being young and fit the kind man on reception even offered to carry our bags! This wasn't necessary but it was nice to be welcomed by staff with good intentions. The room was perfect. Large, clean and with a spacious bathroom, couldn't fault it one bit! I also have to mention the lounge area. Warm, stunning views and extremely peaceful music in the background, our experience in this hotel was amazing, and helped towards a brilliant birthday for my partner, so I must thank the staff and I hope to book another stay as soon as possible!

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd September 2017

Shower wasn't very powerful but acceptable. Bed was extremely spacious and comfortable. Staf fantastic and nothing is too much trouble

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th September 2017

The very high standard of accommodation. Large comfortable room (7) very well furnished with fabulous view over Windermere.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st October 2017

Stayed here last Sunday for one night only. The room was huge and very nice, the view across to the lake was stunning. Couldn't fault the room or views at all. The bathroom probably needed a refresh to be in keeping with room standard but was ok. The breakfast menu was excellent and plenty of choice, and we had a window table so great views whilst we had breakfast. Great location to explore the lakes as just over 2 miles to Windermere which is within walking distance, and we got a taxi back after our evening meal and had a drink in the 'quiet' bar. The staff were very polite and friendly and cheers to the guy on reception in the evening. Very nice, will definitely return and I would recommend it.

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th October 2017

This hotel is BEAUTIFUL. We stayed in room 11 which had the most spectacular views, huge windows, a gorgeous four poster bed and loads of space! It was really romantic. The other areas in the hotel are just as beautiful especially the conservatory bar. We didn't stay for drinks because it was a little too expensive for us (not unreasonably expensive so don't let me put you off! We just preferred to drink elsewhere) but it was a very nice looking bar for sure. The grounds are also beautiful but it was raining during our stay so we didn't really get the chance to explore. We ate in the Grill restaurant the first night and were impressed by the efficiency of the service and were happy with our meals. Breakfast was good too - my only minor complaint is that the continental buffet was very small (presumably to reduce waste) and also the vegetarian cooked breakfast didn't have vegetarian sausages (or an equivalent) so it was really just a cooked breakfast minus the bacon, sausages and black pudding which was a bit boring for me! If you have a car the hotel is in a great location between Ambleside and Windermere, about 10 mins drive in either direction. If you don't have a car, the walk into either town is a bit long (I'd say 40-60mins depending on your walking speed). The hotel is directly opposite brockhole visitor centre which is very useful for getting ferries across the lake. We had bad weather during our stay and even that couldn't spoil our holiday! My boyfriend had a wonderful birthday and I've won major girlfriend points for taking him somewhere so lovely. Thank you to the staff at the Merewood for such a great stay, we would love to come back again!

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2017

We decided that we would revisit Merewood after a few years gap and found that although it has been refurbished the hotel is still run at a very high standard. The staff are all friendly and the rooms are comfortable and ours had a wonderful view of Lake Windermere. The food is excellent both in morning and evening. It is dog friendly but the dog owners have their own dining room so they are not intrusive . Ideally positioned for visits to Kendal at one end of Lake Windermere or Keswick at other this hotel is ideal for car users or people who like to walk . The only downside to its location is that it is not disabled friendly.