Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Northern Hotel, Brechin

2 Clerk Street, Brechin, DD9 6AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

Sandra Healy said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th June 2018

Had a lovely stay here even though the Angus Show was on and it was very busy We had booked a King room but ended up in a mini suite as it was over the bar and might have been a bit noisy but no problem with the noise at all Meal at night was very tasty and breakfast was all that you could ask for Would definitely recommend this hotel

James Thomson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th May 2018

Had a lovely break here.Staff were very helpful and efficient and food first class.Definitely on the agenda for a future visit.

Garry Taylor said...

50%
60%
70%
20%

Stayed 27th April 2018

As already reported seperately to Mark on website was made to feel 2nd class handed paper menu for grupon guests with 3 choices.Food was of the frozen variety nothing like the menus on their website.alsi no phone in room and tv didnt work

William Bennoch said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd April 2018

We Had a lovely overnight break.Staff were very friendly.Room was more than adequate and the food was delicious.I must say that young Chris was exceptional,made our stay most enjoyable.

I Munro said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 31st March 2018

Nice clean hotel staff were very helpful and cheerful . Very cold over the weekend and public areas of hotel could have been warmer particularly restaurant and lounge area. Being a Saturday night there was a disco and 18th birthday party on so a little noisy into the early hours. Good breakfast

A guest said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 28th February 2018

I have stayed at the Northern Hotel several times when in the area on business and I have never been disappointed. I have had several rooms, large and small, and they are all comfortable, clean and well appointed. But the best thing o about the rooms are the showers - they are the most powerful I have ever experienced. The bar area is cosy and welcoming and the food is fine also.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st December 2017

We came to stay with our toddler for a wedding - it was a busy time with an even busier wee person in tow. We stayed in one of the apartments - and we couldn't have been happier! The staff were incredible! NOTHING was too much to ask of them - toys appeared for our wee dude, there were no complaints when he was busy running around and "helping".... And sourcing pedicures and giving advice on where to visit in a scant free time was fabulous! Our stay was not long enough, and was way too busy, but we will be back!

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th January 2018

Stayed here 25th and 26th January with our 4 year old son. What a lovely discovery, the kind of place that is so welcoming, you almost want to keep it secret! We have stayed in many places but this place ranks highly on our radar for service, cleanliness, quality and child friendliness. Also, good quality Scottish styling in a very pretty historical listed building right in the centre of Brechin. We stayed on a B&B basis and had our evening meals here. The food is good Scottish/British fayre with large portions and a good choice between meats, fish and vegetarian. Prices are very good for the quality, as the sources of the ingredients are mentioned in the menus. We had lovely steak pie, risotto, cajun chicken and mixed grill. Also chicken goujon starter which was delicious, huge cks of chicken. None of your minced rubbish. You might find slightly cheaper food elsewhere but here it is freshly home-made, served in a nice environment with a smile and you know it is not cheap rubbish by how nice it is and pride the chef takes in his menu. Don't say I didn't warn you about the calories in the home-made apple crumble or sticky toffee pudding! The staff here really want to know that you enjoyed your meal! Even our son, who can be a bit fussy like all kids, managed to clear his plate every time! Breakfast was very good with a choice of anything from cereal right up to full Scottish. Coffee is good and fresh. Sets you up for the day. As we were visiting to take our son to his first football match in Aberdeen, the staff were very interested, asking how excited he was and then how much he enjoyed it, and made sure they had a table set for our return so that we could have dinner. Our room was large and spotlessly clean with adequate shower gel, shampoos, etc. Comfy beds, plenty of clean towels, nice and warm and cosy. Our son had a sofa bed and he was comfortable with plenty of bedding. What a great sleep we all had! One thing that we did notice, that you don't often see elsewhere is how nice the management are towards the staff and I think that shows in the service you get. Managers always saying "thank you" and "how are you", to their staff that we noticed. It just adds in to give you an impression of the high standards that the owners want to achieve. These are the small details that make it special. Brechin is a lovely town and it was great to see locals using the hotel for their afternoon teas, Sunday carvery, the attached bar and other facilities. We will definitely stay at The Northern on our next trip! Thanks so much!

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 5th January 2018

A very enjoyable stay

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th March 2018

Comfy bed and spacious lounge. Equipped kitchen and good bathroom. All very clean.