Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Old Swan Hotel, Harrogate

Swan Road, Harrogate, HG1 2SR, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Anne Stevenson said...

84 %
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th November 2023

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Old Swan, room was spacius and clean, food was very good with plenty of choice, the hotel could do with a bit of a face lift as it is shabby in places. The staff are very good with the exception of the rude young man who was on duty when we arrived on Friday, a very special mention to Anita in the restaurant and the lovely blonde lady on duty in the lounge bar on Saturday, they are a credit to the hotel.

Linda Moore said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2023

Had a lovely stay at the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

Deborah Moran said...

64 %
30%
100%
60%

Stayed 13th October 2023

Hotel had lovely staff but rooms were very dated and could do with a revamp, overall the price of the rooms are to over priced for what you receive. For the price I paid for what I received I would not book this hotel again.

Robert McCracken said...

77 %
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 1st September 2023

Overall, a very pleasant experience. We were joined, unexpectedly, (for the day) by our son, wife and 2 children. We asked to have them with, for dinner. However, the hotel staff said that they were fully booked and could not accommodate us. No reason was given and as the dining room was only half full I can only assume it was due to staff numbers. We ended up having pub-grub in the bar. We were very disappointed at what we saw as rigid, inflexibility by The Old Swan management team. Otherwise, enjoyable and pleasant but we will look elsewhere on our next visit. Thank you. Dr Robert M McCracken, CBE

Sharon Weavill said...

60 %
20%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th August 2023

Beautiful old building. Downstairs has some magnificent architecture. Unfortunately the rooms do not match. Small, smelly and slanted. Also very noisy, could hear next door snoring!

Brian Smail said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th August 2023

Arrival/departure: grand old building in centre of Harrogate - everything a short walk away. Nice welcome from reception staff - checked details then took cost of stay up front. Car parking charged at £10 per day also taken up front. Departure day - out by 11am but reception will give you an on street parking voucher valid for 3 hours if you wanted to stay in town a bit longer. Room: nice big room with a large double bed. Decent amount of storage. Iron, ironing board, hairdryer and trouser press. Large bathroom with a shower and a bath. The shower was the best I have had in a hotel in a very long time! Unfortunately we had a view onto a roof. Bar area: a good sized area with comfortable seating although some seats were a bit strange - with sides/backs about 2M high. Good selection of beers and spirits. It is a “cashless” bar so either pay with card or put it on your room. Very disappointed to see a sign on the bar that said (roughly) “to save our guests from looking for change to leave a tip we will automatically add a gratuity to your bill” - what - at a bar. So get a pint at (approximately) £4.85 and the bill is over £5. You can eat in the bar (menu very similar to the dining room) but there are only about 4 tables meant for eating the others have couches or low chairs with “coffee” type tables. If you prefer sitting upright make sure you book a table in advance. The hotel is dog friendly but as they are not allowed in the restaurant “eating” tables get booked early by guests with dogs. A selection of newspapers available in the bar area. Restaurant: a very large restaurant serving breakfast and dinner. Breakfast selection was good with usual buffet selection (hot and cold) and additionally a “cook to order” selection. Dinner menu included a decent choice of food. All the food was very well cooked and nicely presented. Service was very good on 2 out of our 3 day stay. Staff: every member of staff we had contact with was great - friendly and helpful. Other: there is a snooker room available for guests to use but it’s £10/hr. Car park is large with room for about 100 cars. If you get decent weather the front lawn has a number of tables and chairs to use. There are also a few deck chairs on the lawn. Just outside the hotel reception there are a number of tables and chairs with umbrellas. The hotel has a lift. If you are unhappy with the “service charges” that have been added to your bill reception staff will remove these. Been to Harrogate a couple of times now so probably not going back - but would I go back to this hotel if I did - definitely!

Shirley Gibbons said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th July 2023

We had a wonderful stay at the Old Swan. Very nice hotel Excellent food. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Fred Short said...

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th July 2023

Great stay and value, but not happy with two service charges on the bill. One was removed but the other remained. Poor.

Tracey Sayles said...

80 %
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd June 2023

The hotel and grounds are beautiful,the food was really nice the room was a little bit dated but comfortable and spacious which is to be expected for the age of the hotel the windows didn’t open much but a fan was provided thankfully.The cream tea on arrival was lovely and welcoming,nothing was too much trouble for the staff, really enjoyed our short stay and will definitely return

A guest said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd June 2023

We loved this hotel. I had read many reviews stating the hotel is in need of updating, I don’t think the people writing those reviews realise the history of the place and ‘updating’ it would spoil it. The architecture of the building is amazing and I would have loved to have spent hours wandering around the different areas, and the connection to Agatha Christie, adds even more history to the hotel! Staff were fabulous, very polite, friendly and professional, nothing was too much bother for them. Food in the restaurant was amazing, breakfast however wasn’t the best and does let the hotel down I feel. Our room was clean with a huge bathroom, the bed however was fairly uncomfortable and in need of a new mattress. The hotel is close enough wander into the centre of Harrogate and the near by park which is lovely and well worth a visit. We are hoping to return for a longer stay in the future.

sandra smith said...

74 %
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 28th April 2023

Dinner in Wedgewood was good - tasty curry and steak cooked to order. Omelette in lounge was poor- barely warm and the “chips” very strange and too cold. We had a problem with our bill - asked to pay for dinner that was included in our package. Service and gratuity charges very odd - no charge on drinks or food in lounge but £20 on £39 spend on wine and steak which we didn’t pay. There seemed to be an issue between the restaurant and reception and it took more than an hour to sort it out. Room nice and clean and well serviced. All staff very pleasant but those who are less experienced would benefit from better support.

Carole Jackson said...

94 %
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th April 2023

Beautiful hotel with loads of original features. Room was large, spacious and SPOTLESS. Bathroom immaculate and bright, with lovely white fluffy towels. Cream tea with fizz, evening meal and breakfast were delicious. Service great nothing was to much trouble. Would definitely recommend this beautiful hotel.

Jacqueline Hutchinson said...

80 %
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2023

Excellent service and staff. Really good offer for this hotel.

A guest said...

97 %
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2023

Stayed for one night on the DBB,glass of presseco and cream tea deal for 2 it was lovely.The staff are so polite and friendly.Think the rooms have been refurbed since the last time we stayed. Had a very pleasant stay and will be returning to lovely Harrogate.

A guest said...

97 %
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2023

Stayed for one night on the DBB,glass of presseco and cream tea deal for 2 it was lovely.The staff are so polite and friendly.Think the rooms have been refurbed since the last time we stayed. Had a very pleasant stay and will be returning to lovely Harrogate.

Graeme Curry said...

94 %
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2023

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Old Swan. Our room was clean, tidy, comfortable and spacious. However it was very hot and we had difficulty sleeping. We heard a number of other guests saying the same when at breakfast. The food portions at dinner were ample in size and quality produce used. At breakfast there was a good choice of food and again, it was of good quality. There seemed to be a little confusion when we checked in as to what was included in our package but this was sorted out quickly. Generally, all members of staff that we came in contact with were pleasant and courteous.

Wynn Walton said...

97 %
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th March 2023

Very enjoyable visit. Staff were very friendly and attended to all our needs. Jean Baptiste in the restaurant was particularly attentive and efficient especially when dealing with my allergies. The room was spotless. Did have a problem with TV remote but this was a minor issue.Booked to stay again for New Year.

Denise Bain said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th December 2022

The room we had was lovely and clean with a really nice bathroom. The gentleman on reception, sorry cant remember your name, was really pleasant and very helpful. All staff were excellent. Food was really nice. Loved the dining room had a fabulous ceiling and decor. Will definitely visit again. Car park was £10 for 24 hours but we knew beforehand so no surprise.

ERIC ROWLAND said...

80 %
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd November 2022

Very clean comfortable room. Adequate size for classic room. Well equipped. Good hospitality tray, replenished everyday. Lovely dining room. Food, excellent cold table at breakfast. Good choice of hot items but could be warmer. Good choice at dinner. Food well presented. Friendly staff.

Ian Paterson said...

77 %
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th May 2022

The staff at the hotel went out of their way to be helpful, I cannot fault the service we received from the staff.

ANTHONY CARR said...

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th April 2022

Pleasant 2 night break in a well situated hotel to visit Harrogate

Norman Matthews said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2021

Lovely hotel pleasant staff Lovely food

A guest said...

67 %
80%
50%
70%

Stayed 16th September 2021

No fizz on arrival as stated in booking I was informed no evening meal or brvice after 5pm due to staff shortages ( which was ok) however we arrived to find out there was a team away day on with all the staff attending, so that would be why there was no evening meal! Wasn’t aware there was a £10 parking charge when booked Breakfast was lovely Room clean and Tidy

Keith Brocklesby said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Really nice periodic Hotel, breakfast was lovely. Unfortunately evening meals and brvice was cancelled due to Covid. Room was lovely, but bathroom was very dated and could do with a refurb. Staff were lovely and helpful.

susan kilpatrick said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th August 2021

Great location, Lovely decorated, comfortable hotel. Lovely rooms, great night's sleep. Had evening meal in restaurant, great food & service. Stayed here several times before, happy to book again.