Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Old Swan Hotel, Harrogate

Swan Road, Harrogate, HG1 2SR, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

Janet Tansley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2019

Mix up with room, but offered Aretha Christie suite as an apology. Very nice.

Janet Tansley said...

90%
80%
N/A
100%

Stayed 30th March 2019

Very nice, easy access into town. Helpful staff, spotless, lovely breakfast, hot and good choice.

Jeanette Roberts said...

90%
90%
N/A
90%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

lovely hotel, close to harrogate

christine martin said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th February 2019

Hotel very nice, food was good, pleasant staff.

john waring said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th February 2019

Enjoyable stay. Very good Staff - helpful, friendly and polite.

Susan Crow said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th February 2019

Absloutly lovely hotel. We booked a suite for our silver wedding anniversary. First class service throughout the hotel. We will dately be returning.

Denise Hardy said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2018

Very good value dinner, bed and breakfast break. Room was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast and dinner were very well presented with good service.

Brian McLaren said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, accommodation, food, service, location.

lesley atkinson said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 10th November 2018

Lovely staff, good clean room, breakfast was delicious. Evening main meal slightly lacking in taste, but very good overall stay and would come again.

Viv Armstrong-MacDonnell said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2018

My husband, disabled daughter and I stayed at the Old Swan for a week. We had a double room and an executive room on the second floor, the latter to give my daughter safely and space in her wheelchair. We found the hotel extremely comfortable, the rooms were spacious and spotless, housekeeping excellent. We ate both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant daily, meals being well cooked, with an interesting and varied menu. The waiting staff were all both friendly and attentive. We also had lunch in the bar lounge once, again everything first class. The hotel is beautifully furnished in traditional style and in very good order. It is very well located, within easy walking distance o the main attractions of Harrogate. There is ample parking, though this costs £7 per day.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2018

The radiator in our executive room gave us an early morning 6 o'clock call both mornings. we were given a discount but we were not impressed

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th October 2018

Booked a Saturday night stay with DBB and wasn’t disappointed. Excellent value for money in the heart of the town. Room was spacious and well maintained as was the bathroom. Food was excellent and reception staff very helpful. Dining room staff were very polite and attentive. Would definitely return.

Paul Hewison said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2018

Great stay, great position within the town.

William Hill said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 18th September 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and it was very convenient for the centre of Harrogate and we would have been happy to return at a later date, but, I think the charge for the car park at such a prestigious hotel was an absolute disgrace, we will not be returning.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

14%
10%
10%
20%

Stayed 17th August 2018

Neither the window in the bedroom and the bathroom would fully close. The bathroom was invaded by wasps during the night because of this. I reported this to the reception when we went down to breakfast and asked them to to send someone to dispose of the dead wasps and to seal the window. When we returned from breakfast nothing had been done and when I mentioned it on checking out the receptionist said "I have mentioned it to house keeping!" The food was not good fish cake ice cold in the middle sent it back. In all the stay was a disappointing experience and not value for the amount we paid especially when a bottle of rosé Zinfandel knocks you back £23.

Hotel reply...

I have investigated the above comments and would like to first and foremost apologise for the shortcomings and obvious inconvenience that you experienced. Our Reception Manager, Maria is the person that asked to send someone to the room to remove the wasps and this was done however our housekeeping team clearly didn’t make it to the room between the guest having breakfast and returning to the room. I am very sorry that this was the case, I have spoken with the Head Housekeeper to ensure that the team are highlighted to the importance and priority of this request. Regarding the fish cake, I do believe that this was resolved on the evening however it is unacceptable that the dish was served cold and I have addressed this with our Head Chef. Our wine prices are comparable to other hotels in Harrogate however I am sorry that you felt that the Zinfandel was not value for money. I would like to apologise once again for the shortcomings, and I can assure you that this is not our normal standard of service at the Old Swan Hotel. Kind regards Revenue Manager

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th July 2018

Lovely Hotel within a few minutes walk into Harrogate and plenty of parking in which you get a permit from reception free.the rooms are off a high standard.good breakfast selection.staf friendly and polite would definitely stay again.

A guest said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 25th July 2018

Very pleasant, good value stay.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th July 2018

Ok hotel great location food fine service was good we would happily stay here again if you are expecting the Hilton or a modern hotel it's not for you loads of character which is what we like.

Karen Cooper said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 22nd July 2018

Very enjoyable stay, the staff were very courteous and friendly, the Hotel was lovely and we would be happy to recommend this Hotel to others. Harrogate is a really nice place :-) we had the evening meal at the Hotel but the beef on the Sunday roast was a little tough, a little disappointing. Overall really lovely

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th May 2018

The staff was extremely friendly. Very good dinner and excellent breakfast!

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st May 2018

Lovely hotel set in lovely grounds away from town centre but close enough to walk there. Very clean and staff very polite and friendly. Rooms comfortable and breakfast had a good variety. Pity about the noise at the Function.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd May 2018

Lovely stay would stay again

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th May 2018

For an overnight stay in Harrogate we chose the Old Swan for price and location and were intrigued by the Agatha Christie connection. It is in a quiet part of the town but within a five minute walk of the centre. Parking is free but you have to get a permit from reception to put in the car. Unless you’re lucky enough to get a slot in front of the entrance the main car park is a bit of a walk. Reception staff were friendly and efficient as were the waiters in the splendid bar area serving excellent afternoon teas. Lift is antiquated but fits with the ambience of faded grandeur and it is quite a walk to some rooms. Our room, a twin overlooking gardens and new apartments, was comfortable but gloomy and in need of decoration. Bathroom was small but adequate. Where the Old Swan really scored was at breakfast, served in a grand glass ceilinged room. Cooked breakfast was freshly prepared to order and was excellent. Staff were friendly and efficient in bringing drinks and clearing tables. All in all we enjoyed our stay which matched our expectations at the price level

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2018

This hotel will always have a special place, we were fortunate to be given the room that Agatha Christie stayed in, and the link and story were a fabulous bonus. For me, the place gave me solace, peace, and a lovely historically connected environment to unwind in. It had eccentricities, quirks and foibles, lovely food, pleasant staff and reminded me of the Velveteen Rabbit, it was very real. I loved it. We had a great package that included afternoon tea, and evening meal, the food was lovely. If I ever need to hide-away I will follow Agatha's lead.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st May 2018

I really liked this hotel. Yes, there are squeaky floorboards, but it is an old hotel. Room was great, food was good. Taxis to the town were a bit expensive, but very friendly driver. Probably no need for mobile folks to have a taxi, but my companion is disabled, so she couldn't manage the walk. We were there for a Murder Mystery dinner, which was excellently performed and very enjoyable.