Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Perth Hotel, Perth

West Mill Street, Perth, PH1 5QP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

75%

Kathleen Radcliffe said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th July 2021

Had an enjoyable stay, staff were excellent, food was delicious,

Juliann MacKay said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2021

Location,location,location the hotel has a perfect location to walk around Perth great if you don’t have a car. The hotel was comfortable and clean. Staff were excellent very attentive and helpful. Rooms are fairly small but adequate and hotel would benefit from air conditioning. Really enjoyed our stay.

Juliann MacKay said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2021

Location,location,location the hotel has a perfect location to walk around Perth great if you don’t have a car. The hotel was comfortable and clean. Staff were excellent very attentive and helpful. Rooms are fairly small but adequate and hotel would benefit from air conditioning. Really enjoyed our stay.

A guest said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2021

This hotel has been great on previous visits but this one could be our last or until we see that refurbishment of the rooms are done, The staff are a credit to the place and food as good as anywhere.

john woods said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2021

This was our third time back to the Mercure and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay it was very hot so we asked if it was possible to get a fan for our room and it was provided instantly. Our meals were excellent as was the breakfasts each morning although the hotel was busy the service was outstanding I was impressed by the receptionist Steph always very friendly and helpful we will certainly be back

Juliann MacKay said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2021

Location,location,location the hotel has a perfect location to walk around Perth great if you don’t have a car. The hotel was comfortable and clean. Staff were excellent very attentive and helpful. Rooms are fairly small but adequate and hotel would benefit from air conditioning. Really enjoyed our stay.

YVONNE LINDSAY said...

54%
70%
20%
70%

Stayed 16th July 2021

Understaffed. The staff they did have were mostly unprofessional and inept. Lovely, helpful young lady at check in (wish I could remember her name) she advised us that the only dinner times available were 8.30/8.45. Took 8.30, no record of it in the restaurant when we arrived, table had to be laid for us, as we sat there, same with the couple who arrived after us. Available staff, rushing around looking extremely harassed, made us feel very uncomfortable. My husbands main course arrived and when asked ... do you need anything else, he had to say .. cutlery please, as the cutlery he initially received, he had used for his starter. Bottle of wine included with meal, had to ask 3 times before it was brought to the table. No draught lager. Dinner napkins were smaller and poorer quality than what I get when I take my 3 yr old grandson to McDonalds. 3 course set meal or £22 dinner allowance was included in our tariff, my husband had the set meal, I ordered, only a steak at £24.50, no starter or dessert and was charged an extra £12, waitress extremely rude about it, when we queried the charge, we expected an extra £2.50. She went to speak to someone in reception, we followed and heard her being rude about us, once agin. I informed her that we could hear her, at this point she looked very embarrassed. My first proper weekend away for over a year and I just burst into tears, very unprofessional being bad mouthed by a member of staff in a hotel restaurant. Especially when it turned out she was wrong and the error was down to Mercure staff. After check in we went to the hotel bar to have a drink, I chose two separate seats and both were stained and looked filthy, therefore we left the hotel and went into town for drinks. First visit to Perth and the overnight at Mercure has certainly put me off ever returning. Thankfully it was only an overnight and we were moving on to Pitlochry and the service and staff here have been fabulous.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th July 2021

This is a great little hotel good location for shops bars restaurants ? Get some great value deals i have read some negative comments i do agree it could do with a bit of refurbishment but i think for a 3 star rating and the price we paid you cant really fault it ..... The room was clean and staff are very pleasant we had a dinner deal on the first night which was nice and breakfast both mornings the staff are working very hard during these times the only thing i could really complain about was the shower it had no pressure but apart from that is a great value little break

Margo Smith said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2021

We had a fantastic stay, bedrooms and bathrooms could do with upgrading but very clean, hotel could not do enough to make our stay very pleasant. We would definitely go back.

Linda Stout said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 9th July 2021

Absolutely brilliant hotel from reception staff. To the running staff , food was amazing told so many people about this hotel and they have also went ahead and booked. Thankyou regards Linda stout .

Lindsay Kemp said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Very nice hotel and very friendly and helpful staff, a perfect location for a city break. Food was very good and very good service. I would probably upgrade to a bigger bed next time but for the price i got through Myhotelbreak.com it was excellent value and definitely recommend.

Caroline McBride said...

44%
30%
60%
40%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

The hotel building is very impressive from the outside. Slightly disappointed with the inside of the hotel. Bedrooms, or in particular room 24 is in need of a major refurbishment including the bathroom. A gesture of biscuits, to go with tea and coffee, would have been appreciated. We also had to ask for 2 hand towels for the room. The dining room is in need of some refurbishment. Myself and my partner had dinner on the first evening and the service was slow. Dinner was booked for 8pm however we didn’t receive our starters until approximately 40 minutes later then our main meal was not served until after 9pm. No issues with any staff, they were all pleasant and helpful. Hotel is ideally located within the city however I am unsure if I will return. I am aware that the Covid-19 pandemic hasn’t helped with the finishing touches within the room, ie cushions and throws as well as information about the area in general, however I would like all of these issues to be taken into consideration to again generate positive feedback for the hotel.

Francis James Flynn said...

64%
40%
80%
70%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Good afternoon, all staff very helpful and breakfast good start to the day. Parking for my blue ticket was difficult at the hotel entrance although management staff helped with moving parked car without a blue badge on the dashboard. Bath in the room seen better days and not handy for someone with a walking stick. Price at the bar of a pint of Guinness £5.50, one-pint facility on principle! Nother else bought at the bar! Heavily stained carpet at side of the bed, left side near the toilet. Kind regards to all staff for help on our visit. Francis

Eric Maitland said...

24%
10%
50%
10%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Poor hotel not a nice room. Wallpaper was coming of the wall Furniture in the room was sticky and marked,leather (?)chair in the room was all ripped. Food wasn't up to much but I suppose with the deal we got couldn't expect too much. One consolation the staff were very good. Hotel is absolutely in desperate need of a total refurbishment. Definitely wouldn't book this hotel again. Already completed a review form from the hotel and received a standard stock answer which didn't really tell us anything that we weren't expecting.

Scott Anderson said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 30th June 2021

Just back from the 2 night deal at the mercure in Perth. Rooms need a refurb but they are very clean and comfortable, it was just too hot. We requested a fan which was brought up to us promptly but was just a tiny heater, which on the first setting gave out a very slight cooling effect. It was 20 degrees which is warm for Scotland but this didn’t factor in how hot the room was, and window couldn’t open more than a couple of inches. If you are taking own transport it would be advisable to take a desk fan with you. Some minor issues which didn’t affect our stay. Dinner on first night was included, but unfortunately we had to send one meal back as couldn’t cut through the pork even after requesting a steak knife. The servers were fab and agreed that it wasn’t right and took it off the menu, and the meal was quickly replaced with another choice, tho it meant we were both eating at different times. Other than the meal that was sent back the rest of the food was lovely, served hot and well presented. We also had a bottle of wine included in the deal which on check in that afternoon, was offered to be served with our dinner. We asked for an iron on the Thursday morning about 8.30am as we were going to the races. By the time we were leaving a few hours later they still hadn’t tracked one down so we cancelled the request. Safe to say when we returned that night the iron and ironing board were in the room! It appears irons and boards are only in some rooms. Breakfast both mornings was fresh and plentiful. Cereals, fruit, yogurt, pastries, cooked items and fresh juice served with tea and coffee. The first morning was buffet style with a member of staff plating it and it was cooked to order on the second morning. Fresh, tasty and very enjoyable. At breakfast on the last day there was no fresh orange juice or croissants after being offered them which was a bit disappointing as the hotel or dining room didn’t seem overly busy. We were surprised to find a dirty butter knife at one place setting, but the server quickly sorted it. The hotel itself is on a quaint cobbled street and has a lovely feature with the water mill in the reception and bar area and the small stream running under the floor with glass panels to look down and see it. It’s very handy for the town centre, just a few minutes walk away, and there is plenty bus stops at the bottom of the street. It’s within a 8-10 minute walk to the bus and train station for transport links to other cities. We were only £11 return on the bus per person from Glasgow. All staff were welcoming, approachable and friendly. We would return and hopefully the few minor issues we encountered were just a blip.

Jeanette Roberts said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2021

Well located lovely hotel. Let down by no WiFi when we visited

george henshaw said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th June 2021

Twice had to get key programmed to open door room very warm with no fan

Thomas Hunter said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th June 2021

Excellent weekend break hotel very close to all shops bars restaurants etc . Food was excellent both for dinner and breakfast Staff were super friendly and very efficient would highly recommend

Muriel Boardley said...

60%
50%
N/A
70%

Stayed 25th June 2021

Every thing was ok got parked right at the door,staff very nice had no problems but some areas needing upgrade,but we would easily stay again.Bob.

Gerard Clark said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Excellent location and very friendly staff.

Julie Cassidy Julie Cassidy said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st May 2021

The hotel is well located and has been tastefully refurbished and decorated. The bed was comfy, the staff were lovely and the food was delicious. However the room we stayed in was a little on the small side and the TV needed to be situated higher also the floor above us squeaked relentlessly when the occupants moved about but it is an old building so there are bound to be a few little quirks like squeaky floors. We stayed at the end of May just as lockdown was starting to lift and all regulations and precautions were followed to the letter so we felt very safe.

Julie Galloway said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th June 2021

Our stay was very relaxing, room was a bit tired but clean we had a huge bed which was very comfortable. We had dinner on our first night which I can't fault it was delicious and so was breakfast.

Andrew Davidson said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Good welcome from reception,very helpful.Hotel in a good location for exploring the lovely city.Room was basic but clean and tidy.Dinner and breakfast were both good as well so will use this hotel again.

Mark Gavienas said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 17th June 2021

Excellent location excellent staff

Elizabeth Ann Aitken said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th June 2021

Had a lovely stay .Hotel very clean covid restrictions very good .Staff couldn't do enough for you Would stay again .