Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, Edinburgh

Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2DG, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

A guest said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd October 2021

It is clear that you are put into the worst rooms when using a voucher at this hotel. The view from the window in room 275 was the air conditioning units which were noisy the whole night. The bathroom facilities were absolutely disgusting. I would not return to this property. You think Mercure are a big reputable company but in actual fact, they are needing to invest in their properties and take less bookings until such times as all of their rooms are fit for the 21st century.

Carolyn Tonnar said...

70%
30%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2021

Hotel reception & restaurant were lovely, well decorated, lovely art work etc. The rest of the hotel, especially the rooms need some serious updating. Rooms are very tired, furniture, carpets etc very worn, scratched etc. Shower was powerful enough but lukewarm. Staff were an absolute 10/10, especially the gentleman that dealt with us in the restaurant. We had dinner & breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed both meals - food was delicious. Could be an exceptional hotel with the staff they have if the rooms were just brought up to the same standard as the public areas.

carol perkins said...

100%
N/A
100%
100%

Stayed 10th October 2021

Would stay here again, great location, room was spotless, food was great

A guest said...

70%
40%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th October 2021

Room was alright. Not the greatest, it appeared we were given a disabled access room. Room was clean but needed updating. We were at back of hotel and heard the fans all night. Room was roasting hot even with the windows open. Fire alarm went off at 1130 and resulted in 45 minutes on Princes street. No fire a faulty sensor. Breakfast was good and really quick. Couldn’t fault the service of the staff in relation to breakfast or check in/out.

Elizabeth Rutherford said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2021

Staff was nice and friendly, food was good ,room was basic but clean,disappointed in the room view which we asked for front view did not get x

Anne Carruthers said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th September 2021

Stayed here with friends using DBB / wine vouchers.Rooms were ready at 11am.Had a lovely accessible room overlooking Princes Street gardens / Castle and one at the back which was in good order.Felt very safe and comfortable with appropriate Covid measures in place.Was given a £22 allowance for dinner.Food was delicious and very good service.Breakfast had to be booked which worked well.Great choice on cold buffet.Hot food cooked to order. Great location in city centre and close to station.Was able to store luggage after checkout in luggage room.Super value - would recommend.

Archibald Martin said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th September 2021

Perfect location in the heart of the city, however the rooms are dated and in need of refurbishment. Service and food are good

C Rogan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st September 2021

Hotel was lovely and location was great. Staff were really helpful.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th June 2021

Great location. Loved having a front room with views of the castle and princes street. Few trivial issues were not enough tea and milk supplied in the room, (but was resolved quickly after a telephone call), and although the order was taken for breakfast, we didn’t get what we requested. On saying that food was piping hot and delicious. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

john wallace said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2021

everything you could wish for from a hotel stay from excellent staff, food and emaculate room with breath taking views

dawn henderson said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd May 2021

Hotel was in a great location, beautiful reception, bar and restaurant area but on entering our room we found this to be very tired and dated. The view was horrendous, boilers and pipes etc. Was not worth £138.00, we were dissapointed as used a voucher we received at chritmas.

Billy Hare said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 10th October 2020

Very good service and staff room OK but fantastic right in the centre of town

Robert Harkness said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th September 2020

Excellent location in the middle of Princes Street and 2 minutes walk from Waverley station. The standard rooms could benefit from a bit of a refurb but they were spotlessly clean. We had a great view of the castle from our room which had a very comfortable double bed. The full Scottish breakfast was fantastic and we treated ourselves to a cream tea in the beautiful restaurant. The staff were very friendly and polite while following all of the COVID procedures which were in place

Paula Knoyle said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2020

Had a fabulous stay at the Mercure Edinburgh, check-in was easy & was given a lovely room facing the castle. Breakfasts were very tasty! Meal in Scott's restaurant was really nice. This deal was brilliant value & would love to come back!

A guest said...

40%
20%
30%
70%

Stayed 12th September 2020

On arrival the twin room we had booked was not available. We were offered two single rooms which wasn’t ideal. No apology for the problem. Rude staff on reception especially as I had to go to the reception 3 times to change the room key.

Carole Kay said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th September 2020

Great hotel close to train station

Dorothy Crichton said...

74%
80%
90%
50%

Stayed 5th September 2020

Had a lovely time staying at the Mercure in Edinburgh. Lovely room & very clean. Staff very friendly.

John Mann said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th August 2020

Great location overlooking Princes Street and the gardens and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room size was decent and the breakfast was tasty so we also had lunch in the hotel. Our only gripe would be the lack of parking at the hotel which meant we had to pay for an overnight stay at a nearby car park.

David Blevins said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th August 2020

Enjoyable stay with a View over Princes Street of Edinburgh and the Castle. Breakfast was a bit Limited due to covid-19 restrictions, Friends at another Hotel had a Better Choice with cereal, fruit, croissants, scrambled egg, etc. - ours was Toast and a Fry Up! Staff in Restaurant/Breakfast Room were very friendly along with Reception. We would stay again, once they Up their Game regarding Breakfast.

jackie hughes said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2020

We had a lovely stay, friendly staff, fab view from room & a really comfy bed! The rooms could be doing with a wee upgrade but it was nice & clean.

john reid said...

60%
40%
100%
40%

Stayed 27th February 2020

Breakfast very good evening mealnot enough choice and over priced and bar prices very expensive

Marion O'Hara said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd February 2020

We were given a lovely big bedroom looking onto Princes St and the Scott Monument. Delighted with it ! The bottle of wine included could be taken in the bar or brought by room service to your room . Breakfast was very good and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

Lovely hotel, lovely staff. Very helpful and kind. Rooms are a bit out dated but they do the job.

Cheryl Drennan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

Lovely hotel ,brilliant location and very clean rooms. Staf lovely and very helpful too

Georgina Ramage said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st February 2020

Brilliant overnight stay could have stayed longer well worth the money staff very friendly room at front of hotel would have been lovely but room facing the back not a bad size and spotless