Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, Falkirk

Grange Road, Falkirk, FK20YB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

barry lee said...

60%
100%
20%
60%

Stayed 28th February 2016

Absolute shambles I was charged for a room I didn't book! I stayed 1 night and was charged for the same stay a week later. Billed twice for 1 stay that quite frankly was ridden with problems, terrible table service for drinks and food at dinner 9pm sitting and had to wait 40 mins on a drink almost an hr for meals to be served. Breakfast service again poor having to remind staff I was waiting on coffee several time before it being served to me and as for a fried egg I asked for I'd have been quicker laying and egg and frying it myself! Lovely hotel let down by a below average service within the restaurant and bar area with members of staff who clearly have no interest in being there. All other areas of the hotels staff were very pleasant and helpful in reception and spa.

Atholl Stewart said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 15th February 2016

Excellent Service in all departments, bar a bit pricey, Steak House had good well presented food although the lamb was overcooked and the accompanying vegetables were very severely rationed. The Spa was lovely in most areas but the corridor where the loungers were located had a chilly draught and there was no jacuzzi. The room was of a high standard but the fire dector was so sensitive it set of an alarm while the hair-dryer was being used. All in all a very good hotel which could become excellent very easily with a few tweaks. Well worth a visit when there is an offer on but I doubt if I would accept that the full rate justified the level that the hotel is at presently.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th February 2016

No robes or slippers in room.Booked treatments not offered robes or slippers. Spa was like a fayre.Not a seat anywhere and we were left wandering around in damp towels. Water fountain broken also. Room no robes slippers milk or liner in bin. Hot tap running all night. No signage for toilets disabled toilet locked. Food excellent nice lounge area to sit for drinks. Good cleanliness. I had mistakenly booked twin instead of double. Staff tried best to accommodate but we're fully booked.

Moira Duncan said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 20th February 2016

Very enjoyable stay and excellent value, restaurants were very busy so we had to wait quite a lot of time but were enjoying company so didnt really matter

Heather Runciman said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2016

Had a one night spa stay with some friends to celebrate my 50th Birthday recently. Found the staff to be very friendly, accommodating and welcoming which was lovely! Our rooms were lovely, clean and very comfortable with feather pillows a plus for me!!! We found the food to be very good although my cream tea in the afternoon most certainly didn't come with a newly baked scone as promised!! Drinks I would say we're expensive £2.20 for a tonic is too expensive to me!!! The only thing that disappointed us was the duration of the spa treatments. My friends booked 30 minute back massages that only lasted 20 minutes ? I didn't book at treatment as I had heard from others that might happen. On the up side my teenage daughter was having her first ever massage which the assistant realised and actually gave her hot stones at no extra charge. A very kind gesture and much appreciated!! All in all a lovely but all to brief stay, would most definitely return for a repeat stay!!!!!

K McDade said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th February 2016

Great hotel staff friendly food lovely . Weekend was great value for money

barry lee said...

80%
100%
60%
80%

Stayed 20th February 2016

Hotel is absolutely beautiful no problems in the hotel at all staf very pleasant and helpful. However when going for dinner we were asked for drinks and had to wait 40 minutes to be served our drinks service in the restaurant was very slow. And to be wakened by the fire alarm going off at 8 am on a Sunday also not very good when trying to relax and enjoy a Sunday lie in.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th November 2015

As this was booked as a present, my sister and her husband throughly enjoyed the relaxing break.they said that they would go back again. I

Diane Muir said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th November 2015

Hotel & staff were great was very pleased with room it was lovely & spacious only negative bar expensive

E Black said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th November 2015

Had a lovely night here The receptionist was very nice & helpful The room was clean on ground floor Dinner was good only the soup could have Been hotter Breakfast good & served very quickly

J Johnston said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th November 2015

excellent value for money.

Mrs McNab said...

84%
100%
50%
100%

Stayed 14th November 2015

Hotel was lovely the food and staff was very nice the only thing that spoiled our stay was the service for breakfast was very slow the coffee was cold and we waited nearly twenty minutes for the cooked breakfast .

Lorraine Haldane said...

44%
60%
0%
70%

Stayed 7th November 2015

Service was horrendous waited 55mins for plate of chips and bowl of soup my husband was served a flat pint of Amstel lager then waited 25mins for them to change a barrel foned for room service only ice waited for over an hour still no ice had to go to reception and tell them that I would go to the bar and collet the ice myself don't think I will be returning to the Inchyra anytime soon sorry

tracy boa said...

7%
0%
20%
0%

Stayed 7th November 2015

Arrived at hotel only to be told no booking for us. Luckily I had printed off booking confirmation and had it with me to show. They found us a room that looked like it was a staff room, out some fire exit, it was stinking of cigarette smoke and was not clean, disgusting. Did not stay there, receptionist just let us walk out when I said that the room was not suitable. I went back in and asked to see a manager they came and said that there was a room in their sister hotel 5 minutes away. We stayed there for the evening, missed out on the leisure and spa facilities we thought we were going to enjoy. The hotel is nearer to Grangemouth than it is to Falkirk also.

paul richards said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th November 2015

We did not use the spa facilities. Overall the hotel was perfect in every way from the staff to the food. Highly recommended.

Alastair Hessett said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th November 2015

Wonderful hotel stay

W Gilmour said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 31st October 2015

Most enjoyable overnight stay

John Forsyth said...

70%
90%
30%
90%

Stayed 31st October 2015

The DB&B deal was very good, and I found this good value, along with the room upgrade. The SPA/Pool was also very nice and clearly money has been spent in this are. The major let down as per reviews on Trip Advisor is the customer service throughout the hotel. Check in - I was asked to email the booking confirmation when checking in, not sure why when I had phoned the day before and also showed the confirmation during check in. Bar - Ordered light snack. Was then over charged and queried bill, barman had thrown recipt in bin and took and age to sort out, had only ordered 2 coffee's and a sandwich. Evening meal - Slow service between courses. I undertand a Saturday will always be busy but service was slow. Breakfast - A repeat of the evening meal, service very slow. Tea and coffee arrived 30 mins before cooked meal. Other guests seen complaining about length of time waiting to be served. The staff looked to be stretched with the amount of guests, and head of staff (male) during breakfast service was very demanding and could be seen arguing with staff in front of guest, not professional in the slightest and made me and other guests feel uneasy. The food was very good and for this reason I would look to return, but the management need to address their customer service and staffing levels, as clearly the staff levels can't cope with the amount of guests in place.

Alison Blackadder said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st October 2015

Very polite and helpful staff, even when we had an issue to be dealt with. Couldn't fault their attention and consideration.

John FYFE said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th October 2015

Had a lovely night away with my daughter.We enjoyed a spa treatment .Staff were all most helpful and friendly .Found room very clean and the bed so comfy.Thank you once again Classic Britain and The Inchyra Hotel

Mr Coulter said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2015

A fabulous hotel first time stay and will sure to return

C Cowe said...

77%
70%
60%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2015

Not a patch on the marine in north Berwick really hard to believe they are the same star rating but it does explain the price difference! Reception staff lovely!!!Surprised when we tried to book for dinner there was only 6pm or 9:45pm available yet when we left the restaurant after our 6pm booking at 8pm the restaurant wasn't even half full... Doesn't add up, waiting staff were all lovely although my well done steak came out medium with some blood I had explained I am pregnant so needed it to be well done , bit annoying as my husband was half way through his by time I started mines...likewise he had no beer with his meal as the barrel was getting changed for about 15 mins .... Bit too long in my opinion . The spa....waw it is absolutely Baltic!!! It had dirty towels lying all over the place and the pool was absolutely freezing , looked nice apart from that but I think the choppy cold temperature explained the fact it was totally dead! Breakfast was delicious and couldn't fault it! Room was dated but lovely and very clean , wifi didn't work at all in our room called reception twice then gave up, bed very comfy and reception staff really friendly , not sure it compares to our usual spa breaks but for

marion carty said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th October 2015

A fantastic stay at the Inchyra Hotel great food and lovely staff the spa was amazing

Alison Brindle said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 16th October 2015

A very disappointing stay due to miserable view and a restrictive and inflexible menu that mean my wife was unable to eat in the restaurant the second night. We highlighted our concerns to the duty manager when we checked out and were promised a response via e-mail, this we are still waiting for.

rachel barr said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2015

Staff were great. Room was a large size and nice decor, bit tlc needed in the bathroom. Food was good, more pub grub than hotel but adequate. Would stay again.