Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Airth Castle Hotel & Spa, Airth

, Airth, FK28JF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

jacqueline carroll said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th November 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Airth Castle, castle rooms could do with a bit of updating, but spotlessly clean with a really comfy bed and lovely pillows. Food was exceptional, spa was lovely. Staff all lovely too, especially Gary, our server in the Grill Room, lovely to have a laugh and a joke with. He also gave a lovely birthday suprise dessert for my friend and this was very much appreciated, it made her night. A lovely gesture!!! We did have a problem with our shower in the room but we reported it and staff couldnt apologise enough, i appreciated their speedy attention and we will definitely be back. Have already recommended to many. An absolutely cracking hotel, amazing food and amazing staff. SUPERB!!!

Sandra Busby said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 11th November 2012

Delighted with the amount of space and comfortable beds in our triple room. Friendly helpful staff throughout hotel. Excellent dinner both nights and good selection on offer at breakfast

Donny Chisholm said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2012

Our family of four have just enjoyed a three night stay. Plus points are the friendly staff, good food, modern grounds and refurbished public areas. Down side: our room was very dated and quite shabby. Absolutely not what is shown in the website pictures!

carolyn mccammon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th October 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. The food was delicious and nice sized portions. The staff were outstanding, they could not have been more helpful. The pool and gym was also very good, nice relaxing stay.

Nigel Brook said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th October 2012

An excellent venue, with all staff very helpful & polite. Room well equiped and food top quality.

Mrs L Menzies said...

67%
0%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2012

did not like my bedroom as it was next to outside of reception so lots of noise. I could not reach the tray in the cupboard as it was on top shelf,had to stand on a chair.the lights outside the reception are extremely bright so the room was never dark at night. The floor of the room above was very squeaky. It is the fist time I have been dissappointed. The hotel is lovely, the food is lovely and the staff are brilliant so I feel bad about complaining about the room.

Janice Strachan said...

70%
40%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th September 2012

Bedrooms extremely disappointing - very tired looking - old, chipped, tired looking furniture,grubby sofa and carpet, paint flaking off ceiling in bathroom and a shower screen that would not stay in place. Service at reception extremely efficient. Food at the event we attended was lovely although breakfast could have been better and one toaster for a full dining room is definitely not sufficient - especially when everyone had to put the bread through twice in order to get some colour on it. Also fried eggs should be an automatice choice - not only if you can find a waitress to put an order in for you and then by the time they arrive the rest of your cooked breakfast is cold. Will not use this hotel again.

Katrina Mcmanus said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st September 2012

The staff are very helpful and mannerly will definately be back and will recommed this hotel to friends

Gillian Galloway said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. Meals were fantastic. Facilities ie pool etc not the best I've seen but ok. Staff friendly and room a good size although bath bit grubby looking and bed sheets too. Room for improvement but would recommend hotel especially if you get a good deal like we did through classic Britain.

James Fish said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd September 2012

Could have done with more milk in the bedroom tea & coffee making tray. Also a sachet of drinking chocolate would not have gone amiss. These are minor points but the benefit would be considerable in my opinion.

robert nimmo said...

50%
20%
60%
70%

Stayed 1st September 2012

On arriving at the hotel we were given room 234. On entering the room I was shocked at the state of the furniture first of all. This was definitely not a 4 star room never mind 1 star! On further inspection, there was suspicious looking stains on the valance round the bed. I was definitely not going to be spending the night in that room.the carpet was also covered in various stains. On advising the receptionist we were unhappy , she immediately let us stay in room 7 of the castle which was a lot superior. However, the spa bath didn't work, the main light was also broken, and there were no hangers for clothes. I did not want to raise this at the time as we had already wasted time moving to a new room, and wanted to enjoy our night. I found that the hotel seems to favour wedding guests, and felt that we were given a substandard room in the hope we would accept less! The foodin the restaurant however was excellent, although the service was slightly slow! I would certainly not recommend this hotel for a spa break.

Margaret Campbell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th August 2012

Had a fabulas time food was excellent rooms comfy and large tho could do with a little upgrade but not off putting. Staff where very helpfull would certinally go back spa was very relaxing.

Eric Wilson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd August 2012

We had an excellent three night stay at the Airth Castle Hotel. The Bedroom and en suite facilities were very good and very cleen. The bedroom was large and the en suite had a bath with a shower over it and there was plenty of hot water. The Service from all staff that we were in contact was excellent and the breakfast and dinner were both excellent. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Neil Rutland said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 18th August 2012

Food ok, room ok, good facilities and good weekend , no real issues

Andrew McLean said...

64%
30%
90%
70%

Stayed 17th August 2012

3 night stay on the first night got no sleep as the bed was so uncomfortable as the matress had no support left in it. We asked for the matress to be changed but instead we were moved rooms - this bed was a bit better as it was new but the matresses are way too hard. The rooms are in need of a lick of paint and are a bit dated. The shower head was situated in the ceiling in the centre of the bath, but it had a shower screen that only came half way down the bath so the floor and door got a wash as well!! Don't think I would return as I need a good nights sleep and with your beds this is not possible. Staff are very helpful and polite which was great so can't fault the service at all.

H Carnwath said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th August 2012

We had a fantastic break at the hotel which was enhanced by the staff who we found to be extremely friendly, courteous, helpfull and always had a smile on their faces. The menu had plenty of choices and the food excellent, we were able to get a three course meal within the allowance with the deal. The hotel and it's facilities where excellent with one small exception and that was the jacuzzi in the spa which was not working with a sign stating been cleaned when if fact we saw from a trip advisor entry that it was not working previously, naughty, naughty. However it did not take away from the rest of the facilities provided.The only recommendation that I would make is for a few benches to be placed amongst the grounds so that guests can enjoy the fantastic hotel grounds when out for a walk. We will be back again in the future.

carol humphreys said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2012

our stay at airth castle were do i begin from the minuite we went in hotel to the time we left the staff were so helpfull, our room was fantastic, and so clean the food was out of this world at night time and breakfast was a buffet but it was lovely as well so much to choose from and all hot, swimming pool really nice and so clean as well, we will go back again to this hotel

William Duncan said...

80%
90%
70%
80%

Stayed 6th August 2012

Very good room in the castle, excellent first night dinner and we made use of the pool during our stay.

Kirsty Rosie said...

50%
30%
70%
50%

Stayed 31st July 2012

Lovely hotel. 4 poster room in castle not worth extra

Anthony Anderson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th July 2012

Room was fantastic, best available. Spa facilities great, very modern. Fantastic service from all staff.

Colin Smith said...

47%
0%
50%
90%

Stayed 27th July 2012

Not what we were expecting,we booked this hotel for a number of reasons 1 being the most important the spa and pool working for ourselves 7 days a week we were looking forward to chilling out for the weekend in the pool,not to be!! It was disgusting dirty water, very cloudy the bedroom very dated springs up through the bed very uncomfortable so much so we left a day early.so sorry to say we would not recommend airth castle to any of our friends.

Mrs Ebbern said...

37%
10%
10%
90%

Stayed 27th July 2012

When we arrived we discovered that we had a twin room with disabled bathroom. We checked with reception and found that you had correctly booked a double room for us. The room had mould in the bathroom and the bottom sheet on one of the beds had not been put on correctly. We also stood on a hairgrip on the floor so obviously the room had not been vacuumed very well. There was also some kind of generator outside the bedroom window so sleeping was difficult. On the positive side the food was good. This hotel is certainly not up to your usual high standard.

Joan Campbell said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th July 2012

Food and service were first class. We had to wait until nearly 4.00pm to gain access to our room. This seemed to be a pattern throughout our stay. Our room was in the Castle and whilst it was acceptable - we have stayed in better 4 star accommodation. The room could have been cleaner, there was no fridge or mini bar, there was no safe and the bathroom sink was cracked.

M Jackson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2012

very satisfactory dinner very good breakfast slightly dissapointing everything lukewarm but they were very busy overall a plesant stay

peter forbes said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2012

Excellent booking. They upgraded us to the castle rooms. Although there was a wedding party in full flow when we arrived, this did not interfere with the overall enjoyment of the stay.