Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Airth Castle Hotel & Spa, Airth

, Airth, FK28JF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

75%

Steve Robinson said...

67%
30%
100%
70%

Stayed 5th November 2013

Very tired bedroom in 'the Castle'. Needs significant investment. Would not stay again if accommodated here. Main building OK what I saw of it. Wifi in public area slow and difficult to use.

Gilbert Milroy said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st November 2013

very enjoyable stay very good food and service will be back

Maureen Anderson said...

77%
70%
60%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2013

Fantastic value for money via your site. Lovely hotel. Very relaxing though the hotel was busy. Only downside was bar did not have enough staff in the evening

J Mackison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2013

Just arrived home from a relaxing weekend at Airth Castle. Accommodation (room 23 in Castle) very clean, comfortable and spacious! Food excellent and a varied menu choice. Great service from all staff - were very helpful, friendly and courteous. Made to feel welcome. Hotel located in beautiful surroundings. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly return.

Steven Cameron said...

47%
20%
30%
90%

Stayed 26th October 2013

I bought this as a gift for my dads 60th birthday. My mum and dad both stayed.Their review was that their booking in the restaurant was not there. They got it fixed and the food was excellent. The hotel itself was really poor and rundown and didn't look at all like the pictures. They said there were scared in the hallways leading to the room.The carpet had been replaced with patches and quite a few of the walls had the wallpaper was missing or hanging off. They think the star rating in the main part of the hotel is not the same as the new part. Please note that I had paid more for this room thinking it would be better than the newer part. All in all, they would go there for food only and never recommend the hotel for staying.

Thomas Gaughan said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful.

John Hagerty said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2013

Bedrooms clean but tired. All staff very friendly.Survey not very friendly for iPhone users.

Lorraine McLaren said...

90%
90%
80%
100%

Stayed 15th October 2013

Have just enjoyed an excellent stay, 3 nights. Great for young children and adults. Welcomed at reception and staff regularly asked if you were enjoying your stay. Food was excellent, also great kids menu but service very slow at dinner and lunch, Children were falling asleep at the dinner table it was so slow. I waited 75 minutes for my drink after asking 3 times for it. Will visit again though as it was a very pleasant stay, pool and spa were very enjoyable and relaxing, spa staff very welcoming. Scored service as 8 because it was only dinner & lunch service which was slow, all other service was very good.

Eric Wilson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2013

We have stayed in this hotel approx. 16 times over the last few years and have never been disappointed. The staff are friendly and polite the food is very good and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool and leisure facilities are also a great attraction especially when we have taken our grandchildren. My only other comment is that some of the rooms that we have been allocated are reaching the stage of requiring refurbishment but taking into account the deals that we have been given through Classic Britain they are very good value for money.

Derek Kennedy said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2013

really enjoyed our stay at airth castle,food was excellent and all staff we came into contact with were polite, helpful and friendly.would certainly book again

John Guthrie said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2013

Very happy with room and spa was excellent.

Helen Gordon said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th October 2013

All very grand on appearance but after that a bit of a let down. Bedroom furniture was a bit tired. Long black hairs in the bath and still there when we left 3 days later! Could have done with rails to help you getting in and out the bath nothing to hold on to nor was there no bath mat to stand on - what about the senior visitors. My Dad is 93 and found it very difficult to get in and out bath to shower, plus not ideal the door opening into the toilet pan. Bathroon quite small. Breakfast could have been a bit hotter and food being served on cold plates did not help. 4*?

Laura McIntyre said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th October 2013

Had a lovely stay.

Derek Lula said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2013

had a great wk end at Airth castle.Our room in the castle was brilliant.The meals were fantastic and all the staff went above and beyond there duties to ensure we had a relaxing stay. we will certainly be back.

Ronald Bennett said...

47%
30%
50%
60%

Stayed 5th October 2013

Our room was dingy and small. Was given second floor position without asking if it was suitable for us, given there was no lift. Restaurant was too noisy. We had no sense of exclusivity or specialness as guests. Very disappointed with our stay.

Mrs Elder said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 5th October 2013

Hotel was stretched to cope with the various events in the hotel. Dinner took 1 hour for first course to arrive at the table. Room was not serviced on Sunday until 4.30 The superior room had a view of a retaining wall 10ft. from the window and was below the ground level of the car park. Would not recommend this to friends.

J Rowan said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2013

Airth Castle is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing is a bother to them. The food is excellent, the restaurant was extremely busy but standards are kept very high. However it let itself down with the state of the beds, they were hard and lumpy and almost impossible to get a good sleep. This would not deter me from staying again but hope that they upgrade the beds in the near future.,

AUDREY FLEMING said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th September 2013

Lovely looking hotel. Room a wee bit shabbier than I would have expected. On checking out it became apparent that other guests had the same stay for less money. Food very good. Bar area and restaurant became uncomfortably cold after 10pm. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Diane McNeill said...

57%
20%
50%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2013

I read previous comments that the hotel was tired and dated but was keen to stay because of the lovely surroundings. However the comments were accurate. There appears to be little investment into the upkeep of the rooms and bathrooms. I found the reception staff unhelpful and inconvenienced by guests. On the flip side, the food was excellent, the restaurant pleasant and the restaurant staff all pleasant and attentive.

Pamela Balfour said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2013

We have a wonderful relaxed break at Airth Castle and would highly recommend it.

James Murphy said...

57%
30%
60%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2013

It was like having a weekend at faulty towers. Had to change rooms on srrival. Hotel very unkemp. Toilet in second room filthy. Headboard filthy. Waitedore than 15 minutes for order for dessert endef up leaving the table and not getting dessery. 2 weddings on hotel very busy plus coach tour. Went from a relaxing break to a night in a roudy pub.

N watson said...

20%
0%
20%
40%

Stayed 27th September 2013

This place is truly awful. The bedrooms are old and tired - holes in the curtains, stains on the chairs and the bed sheets smelled of cooking. It's basically a travel lodge with a pool. The food is a mix of quite nice and really bad pub food, depending on what you order. The staff don't seem to have a clue what's going on - on 2 occasions we gave our room number in the bar restaurant only to be told that there was a single man with a different name on a different rate staying in our room. The air in the bedrooms is stale and I was close to waking my husband at 2am and asking if we could get up and drive home. I'd give this hotel 2 stars.

Mrs Nicoll said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th September 2013

Had a lovely stay at Airth Castle, this was my second time and we will go back again.

Colin Shanks said...

90%
100%
70%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2013

Great Hotel, clean rooms highly recommended. Food was amazing! Only negatives were room door was a bit stiff and Reception staff were a bit dry with you. Ie: No how was your stay etc.

E Bell said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2013

Spent two relaxing nights at Airth Castle Hotel. Nice setting, comfortable bedroom, lovely meals and enjoyed the spa. A couple of small points: iron burn mark on the carpet and chip out of bath. Otherwise enjoyed our stay.