Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Whispering Pine Lodge, Spean Bridge

Loch Lochy, Spean Bridge, PH344DZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Mhairi taggart said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2020

Fantastic stay at this very well equipped and comfortable hotel. Room was large and we had a stunning view of the loch. We really enjoyed the fusion aspect of the cuisine which offered both traditional Scottish alongside some really good curries- I feel this adds a really unique twist to a traditional Scottish break. Staff were friendly and couldn’t be more helpful. Would definitely recommend.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th October 2020

Great stay, lovely staff and food!

Linda Hope said...

80%
100%
60%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2020

Lovely position beside the Loch, beautiful views from room and glass fronted restaurant. Decor is to replicate a country house well done. Large airy room and bathroom. Food excellent, cosy bar however due to covid restrictions could only drink on the outside decking or in your room.

Grant Makin said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th October 2020

Beautiful hotel and location. Excellent food and service. Bedroom a little small but there was other bigger ones so will keep in mind for next time.

A guest said...

84%
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 7th October 2020

Great staff and lodge .portion sizes on main meals a bit small

averil williams said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2020

Had a great stay at this hotel. Could not fault it. Excellent staff, immaculately clean, first class food and great value for money. Have no hesitation in recommending Whispering Pine Lodge and will definitely stay there again.

John Mann said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th October 2020

My wife and I had a lovely time at the Whispering Pine Lodge. We had a spacious, clean room with lovely views of Loch Lochy from our window and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was yummy too. I would strongly recommend this hotel as a place to stay for trips to Loch Ness etc.

Thomas Wilson said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd October 2020

Excellent hotel with great staff. Meals were very good. Pity about the weather as the location of the hotel at the edge of Loch Lochy was fantastic.

elaine docherty said...

77%
90%
80%
60%

Stayed 1st October 2020

The hotel is beautiful and spotlessly clean and in a beautiful setting. The food was ok but quite overpriced for the quality. The staff are lovely and friendly.

Margaret Fallon said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st October 2020

Great stay in beautiful hotel. Refurb is superb.

Caroline Kent said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th September 2020

We had a fantastic 2 night break at Whispering pines Lodge hotel. On arrival checking in at reception felt organised & safe, and the lovely friendly receptionist took our tempertures and explained their procedures re Covid 19. Our room was super clean and comfortable. The outdoor decking area located the restaurant was fantastic. You can settle in relax in the comfy rattan patio seats with a drink or a cuppa from the reasonably priced bar whilst taking in the fabulous view of the Loch . We ate our evening meals both nights in the light spacious hotel restaurant, the menu had a nice mix of Both Scottish & Indian dishes . During our stay we tried the Teriyaki Salmoln, Butter Chicken, fish Curry & Lamb Biryani, & freshly baked nan bread all of which were delicious. The starters & desserts we tried were also fantastic And the reasonably priced bottle of red wine complimented our delicious food. The Breakfasts both days offered a good choice of both cereals porridge and freshly cooked full English followed by ins or and danish pastry's :) The service in the restaurant was very good from the friendly, attentive staff. This hotels location is perfect and it is a perfect base to explore the local area and we found there was lots to see and do. To be honest we ran out of time so we plan to return to this lovely hotel and area to continue exploring .

Karen Crawford said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th September 2020

We had a lovely stay with amazing views, we will definitely go back. Very friendly staff. Room was very quirky and beautiful. Breakfast was amazing and looking out at view was lovely ? Dinner was lovely but you do have to like Indian food, could do with some traditional food on the menu.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th September 2020

Great location right beside loch with outside decking. Rooms recently upgraded. Asian meals as well as European dishes on offer but all good quality food.

Ian Baird said...

80%
100%
60%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2020

The new owners have clearly invested monetarily in the revamp but perhaps less investment in the organisation of the breakfast procedure under COVID. The staff are very nice and friendly, but our observations during our first breakfast were that all seems to be a little chaotic. By that I mean that we got served by four different members of staff which meant that no-one was actually aware of where we were in the scheme of things. Served by four people - managed by none. We had to ask for cutlery - later arrivals got served before us and by the looks of things, some guests had to wait so long that they went and served themselves - forbidden. You could see that other guests were unhappy with the breakfast service. The hotel is beautiful and all the staff were lovely and trying their best - but a lack of unit management during breakfast left a slight shortfall to our experience. However, we would go back and we would recommend it - hopefully ownership of the guest will have been squared away by then.

Jill Fergusson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th August 2020

We had an amazing 5 days at this beautiful Inn. The location is absolutely stunning and the Inn itself was so quaint and finished to a very high standard. Our room had a view over the loch and it was all finished in dark wood and tartan. The room was spotless and although no cleaning was done during our stay due to the pandemic we were advised that if we needed anything at all or anything changed just to let the staff know. The staff were so warm and friendly as well as very helpful. Nothing was a problem to any of them. Rick, Sol and Evelinitsa (sorry might not be saying it properly) were so attentive and accommodating. Honestly the hospitality is second to none. The restaurant has amazing views over the loch also, so wherever you are seated you have the perfect view. The food was just outstanding. I could have stayed there for 2 weeks to sample all the lovely cuisine! Breakfast also was very tasty. I will certainly be back and if anyone is going to Whispering Pines please also try their other hotel Rokeby Manor which has an equally beautiful restaurant without the views of the loch but situated in the countryside which is just as nice. The restaurant is called Emily's Byre and the food there was out of this world. We did benefit from the 50% eat out to help out which made it even better!

Heather Daniel said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 20th August 2020

Enjoyed our stay at the Whispering Pine Lodge, despite the weather. Staff were very efficient, competent and friendly. When I asked for a non feather pillow it was delivered very quickly. The standard of decor and fixtures and fittings is high my only comment would be about the amount of Burns tat that was liberally spread about, too much making it all look a bit down market which it wasn't. We enjoyed the cooked breakfast but expected a full Scottish version, where was the potato scones and black pudding? Ate dinner on both nights, good enough, my husband particularly enjoyed the curries on offer but as I am not a fan plumped for the stovies (a Scottish favourite) it was not stovies but a beef stew, though tasty. I would recommend this hotel to friends despite my comments as the staff certainly went out of their way to ensure the guests are looked after.

R Leslie said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th August 2020

My sister and I enjoyed a 2 night break at the Whispering Pines. We were a bit confused as we thought the hotel was actually in Spean Bridge when it is in fact a few miles away in a beautiful location right next to Loch Lochy. We were in a twin room at the back of the hotels but spent much of our time on the beautiful terrace area taking in the fantastic view of the loch. Our room was fairly small but comfortable. We had dinner on both nights and food was very good with a large selection of Indian cuisine. Breakfast was also great and service was friendly if a little chaotic at times. Would definitely recommend this as a relaxing place to visit with high standards of hygiene during these strange times.

Monica Hamilton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th August 2020

We loved our stay at Whispering Pines Lodge. We upgraded our room to a luxury spa room and were definitely not disappointed. The room and views from the porch were spectacular. The food at dinner and breakfast was faultless. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. A great base to visit Ben Nevis, Fort William, St Augustus and Loch Ness. We will definitely come back ?????

barrie stewart said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 28th July 2020

Lovely place to stay. He place is fresh after refurb and clean and the terrace overlooking the loch is fab if it’s sunny. Food was tasty if limited with quite an Indian influence and a lot of it quite y. Drinks were limited at time our stay due to delivery issues and quite pricey at. £4.50 for 25 mls. There are nice rooms overlooking the loch with a small balcony but these are expensive. We stayed in room 24 which was nice enough and a decent size.on the road side but no noise. Pillows on beds were very soft and not very supportive that’s was the only negative thing we could say. Would visit again.

barrie stewart said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 28th July 2020

Lovely place to stay. He place is fresh after refurb and clean and the terrace overlooking the loch is fab if it’s sunny. Food was tasty if limited with quite an Indian influence and a lot of it quite y. Drinks were limited at time our stay due to delivery issues and quite pricey at. £4.50 for 25 mls. There are nice rooms overlooking the loch with a small balcony but these are expensive. We stayed in room 24 which was nice enough and a decent size.on the road side but no noise. Pillows on beds were very soft and not very supportive that’s was the only negative thing we could say. Would visit again.

Julie Richmond said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th July 2020

Lovely hotel and staff. Nicely refurbished in a stunning location

MR JAMES GIBB said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2020

Great place for a break so relaxing.

Irene Mackay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2020

The Whispering Pines has been refurbished to a very high standard. The view from the dining room and decking is amazing looking across Loch Lochy to the mountains beyond. We loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom. Comfortable bed. Interesting menu. Highly recommended.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd February 2020

Had a great 2 night stay in this lovely hotel. Very well maintained and great make over. The staff were fabulous - all of them helpful and friendly, nothing to much trouble. Views were stunning. Well recommended and reasonably priced!

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th February 2020

Location is excellent with breathtaking view of the lake and the mountains from the restaurant. Menu is compact but all the dishes are freshly made and really tasty. The service is great too, friendly and professional. Rooms, clean and tidy all newly refurbished.