Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington

Grange Road, Darlington, DL3 8QH, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

Lyndsey Harrison said...

60 %
80%
30%
70%

Stayed 10th February 2024

Although the hotel is set in lovely grounds and is really well kept the service was dreadful we stood on 3 occasions for over 30min to order a drink and staff were passing the bar and could see the queue forming and the girl behind was trying her best and no one helped her. The food we ordered during the day was a pizza £13 and it was a frozen Chicago town pizza when served, the couple with us ordered steak and cheese sandwiches and it was complete mush and inedible. All very disappointing for a 4 start hotel when you are spending a lot of money The evening meal was beautiful until we came to desert, then menu wasn’t particularly busy but we were given the desert menu and were left to decide and after 35 mins no one came to take our order so we left Such a shame as we were booked for our 20th Wedding anniversary and there were a few disappointments when we were there

Jessica Pepper said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th October 2023

Wow! Can't wait to book up again. Staff were lovely. The room was gorgeous and clean. We had a wonderful time. Delicious breakfast.

A guest said...

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd August 2023

Lovely hotel, plenty of staff (both front of house and cleaning) to ensure pleasurable stay. Food, Mains are on the plus side.

Victoria Oliver said...

94 %
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th August 2023

We love coming here the staff are friendly and helpful ,rooms are a good size and clean .grandson loves the pool it's small so perfect for a 5 year old and my hubby who is celiac gets a fantastic tasting and looking breakfast which is specially prepared for him we also had a meal here on one of the nights grandson had very crispy fish goujons and chips I had a wonderful teesside's chicken parmo very tasty and filling hubby was catered for and had the lamb which he said was nice but I think he had food envy and really wanted what I was having but obviously couldn't due to the gluten. Lovely kept grounds so no wonder people like to book weddings and other functions here. Would have left a photo of breakfast but can't on this site check out trip advisor

Kevin Newbury said...

80 %
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd August 2023

Hotel is lovely and staff are great however the leisure changing facilities are very much needing improvement they are not hygienic and full of rust especially the lockers , the shower floors where grimey also Under the beds in room 332 was food that was mouldy and biscuits etc didn't complain as only their 1 night

MARLENE JOHNSTON said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st June 2023

Beautiful hotel, lovely room, fabulous food & friendly & helpful staff, would definitely stay again.

Graham Hawkins said...

97 %
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd June 2023

Nice driveway up to grand looking hotel frontage and plenty of free parking- all communal areas are very well presented and keep the traditional feel - room was a good size and very well appointed with walk in shower - fan was provided - iron and ironing board - only issue, it was hard to fill kettle under tap, need smaller kettle - leisure facilities were ok but the changing facilities need upgrading and the pool is on the small side - food and service was very good from evening meal to the breakfast which had hot and cold buffet. All staff were friendly and attentive in all areas from reception / bar / restaurant / leisure -- £135 dinner bed and breakfast on a Friday night was very good value

Daniel Nova said...

74 %
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 9th June 2023

I was very dissapointed by the condition of the male changing rooms... It really needs upgrading; the lockers are very old and we struggled to open one of them. Additionally, one key open multiples lockers, so not very safe. Benches also look run down. Sauna and steam room were not working.

Lyndsey Rowley said...

80 %
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd June 2023

We love coming here, we've been a few times. This time I booked the premium standard and we were quite disappointed. It was small, wasn't in the main part of the building we were right round the back so no view, didn't have a bath so we were a bit miffed as to how it was any better than a standard room, which is about £30 cheaper. When we queried it they said it because it was one of the newly refurbished rooms(that's not stated when booking) we have had much nicer rooms than this one. Other than that the stay was relaxing which was what we wanted and the food beautiful.

Anne lunn said...

80 %
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 1st June 2023

The hotel is lovely and we enjoyed the break. However, we didn’t realise we should have been offered a glass of Prosecco on arrival until we paid the bill, but we weren’t. Also, my brother (now deceased) made the grandfather clock which is stood in the lounge but, apart from the fact that it hadn’t been wound up, one of the hands has fallen off and is laying on the base of the case. Please take care of it.

Graeme Kelsey said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th May 2023

Beautiful Hotel, lovely rooms, nice food breakfast, sunday carvery and evening meals, along with great service. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, will definitely be returning.

David Steed said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th May 2023

Fabulous experience from checking in to departing! Staf very friendly and professional. Our room was a very good size with modern bathroom and lots of complimentary toiletries. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean. Fantastic choices for breakfast. Can’t wait to make a return visit

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st May 2023

We stayed in a family room with our granddaughter and enjoyed our stay. The hotel, staff and food were fabulous and we will definitely go back.

A guest said...

94 %
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th April 2023

Overall, our stay was very good, as we had a refurbished room. However the crab in the seafood platter did not come up to standard - very disappointing.

graham turnill said...

87 %
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th April 2023

We had a great time. The hotel was excellent although the swimming pool was a bit basic

Rebecca Sharp said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2023

Buffet breakfast items were cold, the drinks out of the machine were like warm and the coffee in the pot was cold. The bedroom (until the evening) and changing rooms in the spa were a bit too chilly. The swimming pool was too cold to swim in. The bar areas were very dimly lit, if at all which meant guests returned to their rooms straight after evening meal on the Saturday evening meal which was disappointing as we would have liked an after dinner drink. The bedroom, staff, afternoon tea, decor and staff were lovely but the restaurant was once again cold for the afternoon tea and I had to sit with a shawl on. I can understand the need to budget energy at the moment but we have a holiday accommodation and the fire is lit and radiators on for our guests arrival. A lovely place but we would not return.

Brenda Walsh said...

94 %
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st March 2023

Enjoyed afternoon tea ,evening meal excellent Stayed in 1 of the carriage rooms ,which had bath and walk in shower (ideal for my husband who has mobility issues) staff vey helpful and friendly would recommend to friends and family

Victoria Oliver said...

84 %
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2023

Booked here as we had been before and I know there swimming pool is on the small size but perfect for us to bring the 5 year old grandson who can just about swim.i had emailed previously to ask if we could get in to the pool abit earlier as children have to be out of the pool at 4pm. Not a problem they replied so we got there for about 2pm grandson loved the pool and we left at 3.30pm so he had a fantastic time the changing rooms could do with an update there was a pungent smell in parts of it .room was ready lovely just a bit short on space what with us all showering and getting ready to go out, it looks like the cleaners were cleaning all day and all night as I kept passing them on route. Lovely breakfast and hubby had a perfectly presented gluten free full English we enjoyed our stay we forgot there was to be a glass of fizz on arrival and so did they but didn't spoil a break away

Claire Dowson said...

90 %
90%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th February 2023

Overall a lovely stay. Check in was straight forward with no problems. Staff were lovely. The hotel itself was stunning, a credit to their recent renovation. There were no sauna facilities open as they were in the middle of renovating these. The pool and jacuzzi were quite small, not a problem for us but other guests may find this off putting. The food was absolutely the best part of our stay, it was delicious and tasty. Freshly cooked to order. We would certainly return, maybe not for the leisure facilities but definitely for the overnight stay, the bar/drinks and the gorgeous food.

SUSAN GIBSON said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st January 2023

We had a lovely break,the evening meal was lovely and a good selection for breakfast.we have stayed here before and find all the staff very friendly and the rooms are very comfortable.

Michael Graham said...

97 %
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2022

Lovely night with great food and excellent service, the room was large with everything we needed.

Leslie Mitchell said...

97 %
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2022

Very enjoyable stay. Room comfortable and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Food was excellent and tasty. Are there each night if our stay. One of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in. Would recommend.

Fiona Steer said...

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd September 2022

What a stunning hotel. We had a lovely stay and the food was very nice. I’m sure we will return

Elizabeth Hannah said...

100 %
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 2nd September 2022

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel - we really enjoy it. The food is superb. All the staff are so friendly.

kristie price said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th August 2022

Excellent as always