Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington

Grange Road, Darlington, DL3 8QH, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Sandra Proud said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 6th November 2021

Lovely food and nice rooms would def recommend ?

Sandra Proud said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 6th November 2021

Lovely food and nice rooms would def recommend ?

A guest said...

67%
80%
50%
70%

Stayed 28th October 2021

A nice hotel with a comfortable double room. Service was patchy. Disappointing during evening meal where we were kept waiting too long and had to ask for the dessert menu despite being there for an inclusive three course dinner. Need to have more senior staff oveing service.

A guest said...

67%
80%
50%
70%

Stayed 28th October 2021

A nice hotel with a comfortable double room. Service was patchy. Disappointing during evening meal where we were kept waiting too long and had to ask for the dessert menu despite being there for an inclusive three course dinner. Need to have more senior staff oveing service.

Liz Beeley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2021

This is our 2nd visit to Blackwell Grange and once again we had a fabulous time. We upgraded our room and stayed in room 243 which was just off the main staircase. Large room with double aspect windows with fantastic views of the long sweeping driveway and views beyond. The four poster bed was a lovely surprise! We stayed on a Sunday Saver offer.... a fantastic deal. The restaurant has a lovely ambience and the menu choice was more than sufficient. All the food is well presented and the staff are attentive and knowledgeable on menu choices. Breakfast is buffet service but again there is plenty of choice and food is replenished quickly when dishes are running low. We felt very relaxed throughout our stay as the staff were following covid rules and everything was set up well .... can't wait to visit again

David Ediss said...

100%
100%
100%
N/A

Stayed 22nd October 2021

My husband booked an executive room for our Wedding Anniversary. It was absolutely stunning!(room 234) Beautifully presented and spotless! We have booked again for my Birthday in March and we can't wait to return. Wonderful, pleasant and attentive staff. Thank you for making our stay such a special one.

Dawn Rodgers said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd October 2021

Beautiful hotel, amazing food and staff very welcoming. Would definitely recommend a visit and we can’t wait to go back.

Stephen Tweddle said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 1st October 2021

The hotel is a little dated and the first night it was extremely cold in the room. Asked about putting radiators on and this was actioned but only for a short period (1-2 hours) which didn’t really achieve anything and given 2 electric heaters to help. The food in the restaurant was excellent, very good quality and plentiful. The staff needed to be more aware of everyone’s needs as we sat for 40 minutes after finishing our main course without plates being taken away and not offered the dessert menu albeit a member of staff was serving a table opposite us. We tried to catch their attention but their focus was never in our direction. We used the pool facilities which we found pleasant just be aware that only small, we were lucky as very few people were using when we attended this facility. Overall we had a lovely stay.

A guest said...

50%
50%
20%
80%

Stayed 26th September 2021

It’s a shame most of the staff are not bothered. Nice building tasty food. Left without deserts as never came back with desert menu. Had to listen to cleaners bitch and moan about their manager for half an hour swearing f this f that, couldn’t give a s**t, etc. (Didn’t even have the courtesy to say it in their own language) and also toilet visibly unclean. Shower head and hose not been cleaned ever. Gross, less bitching more cleaning would be good idea ladies. Breakfast, everything wiped out and had to wait for plates and cutlery and food to be replenished for 20 minutes. Told front desk about our ‘lovely’ stay. Said would arrange call from manager, never did. Management not bothered, so staff are not bothered… only positive food we did manage to eat was tasty. won’t be back.

Phillip Kemp said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st August 2021

Cheap night away for the 2 of us. We were made very welcome and found our room to be clean and tidy. The man in the leisure centre was most helpful and we enjoyed the spa, pool and sauna although the saunas were in the respective changing rooms so not mixed. Meals provided were nice and service excellent

LYNDA TURTILL said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th August 2021

My friends and I had a wonderful break at the Blackwell Grange, which is a beautiful hotel with a great deal of history. Without exception the staff were extremely engaging, helpful and attentive to our requests/requirements. Dinner was included for one evening of our stay and it was very good indeed, as was the house wine which came as part of our deal. We made use of the sauna, swimming pool and jaccuzzi too, whilst quite small it suited our needs. We certainly enjoyed ourselves and would visit again.

A guest said...

80%
50%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th August 2021

We have stayed at Blackwell Grange a number of times. The food is good and the staff are very helpful. However, on this occasion we were allocated a courtyard room. Though the room had been refurbished, the bathroom hadn't and was VERY shabby.

Vincent Storey said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th August 2021

Great night away ,staff were friendly,food excellent .Could not fault anything.

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th July 2021

Splendid stay and location. Staff friendly & accommodating , great facilities.Breakfast could be improved upon.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th July 2021

Beautiful venue - tastefully decorated inside with loads of character. Good place to stay with access to lots of places to visit within easy reach. Staff very friendly and helpful - we will be back

Amanda Hunt said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th July 2021

This was a long awaited post lockdown Birthday getaway for my husband. We booked the Spring Break deal of bed, breakfast, evening meal and pre-dinner tails with an upgrade to an Executive Room as it was a special occasion. We chose well - Blackwell Grange is beautiful. We stayed in Room 247 which had recently been refurbished and was perfect - fresh, clean and modern whilst at the same time retaining traditional charm. We were early so we left the car and took a lovely walk through the park to Darlington for some retail therapy. On return we checked in and had a drink on the terrace before freshening up for our evening meal which was superb, the mint chocolate cheesecake deserving a special mention....it was delicious!! Throughout our stay we noted all covid safety precautions were adhered to by super friendly staff who worked tirelessly to ensure we were well looked after - thank you Blackwell Grange. We had a great stay and will be recommending you to friends :-)

john gordon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd July 2021

Once more on our 4th visit we had a fabulous break

Jason Trainer said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 20th July 2021

Fabulous grounds, hotel was spot on, staff very attentive, definitely recommend to anyone, reasonable prices & food was great. Glad we picked this Hotel.

A guest said...

47%
80%
60%
0%

Stayed 18th July 2021

The hotel interiors are absolutely stunning if only the service and Food we're as good. Food was dreadful everything was full of grease and had 0 flavour. Also what was advertised on the menu is definitely not what you got. Beef brisket was sliced meat in a poorly flavoured gravy and one of the dishes I had a poured out half a bowl of grease which was lurking under the top layer. Seabass had 0 flavour and was not at all what was on the menu. There is also a light out in the hall way where our room was located which made the hall very dark. Staff were not trained in the basics when asked what lager do they have, the reply was is lager the same as beer. Credit where it is due though the blonde lady on reception and the young man supervising the restaurante on Sunday night have fanatic customer service skills and are a credit to the company.

Geoff Barker said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th July 2021

A very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff our room was clean and comfortable, although the furniture was a little dated, it looks like they are in the process of updating some parts of the building. The food was very good and the portions were good especially as this was part of the deal we had. It is not far to the town centre if you want to eat out.

Raymond Wootten said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 8th July 2021

The hotel looked good in the photographs but in reality the accommodation was not worth the money paid. The bedrooms were in a 2nd class wing which looked like a Travelodge. The duvet was not wide enough for the bed and stained inside. Passing staff could see into the rooms and although the room may have been upgrade it was chipped o the units and not up to the standard of a 4 star hotel. On the positive side the staff were friendly and helpful.

David Rylance said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2021

Lovely hotel,nice facilities

Jan Foster Taylor said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Fantastic hotel and staff the food is amazing.

Susan Hodgson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2021

Took our two older grandsons with us on a spring special break here. Rooms were lovely staff very friendly and helpful. Two course dinner was absolutely gorgeous. We thoughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Thank you Blackwell Grange hotel and my hotel break

Isobel Frieda Flintham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2021

We stayed here for one night and we had a great time! The weather was kind and we were able to enjoy early evening drinks outside! The staff were so friendly and the food was delicious! An incredible bargain! We’ve stayed here several times before and have never been disappointed!