Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

St Ives Hotel, Lytham St Annes

7 South Promenade, Lytham St Annes, FY81LS, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

andrew hill said...

67%
30%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th June 2019

Hi The hotel we found very good with the service, staff and found all to a good standard. It was great value for money. Our room let the whole experience down, (Room 38) It was dusty and very out dated with a tiny TV. We did ask to be moved on the Friday but this was not possible, The room was to the back of the hotel which we were glad of as it lost the Sun earlier and I know those with sea view rooms had issues with rooms being to warm. It looks like the hotel is going through a period of renovation and I am sure once the rooms have been renovated the whole hotel will be excellent. The interior of the hotel was excellent as was the bar and function room area, We found the restaurant a little dusty but the staff and food were to a good standard. I don't think the room would put us of staying again but it did leave a lot to be desired.

Philip Roylance said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th July 2016

We had a lovely stay in beautiful de luxe rooms , a warm welcome on arrival and throughout our visit. Definitely worth a return visit. The only downside was the shower in our room had to be adjusted by two separate taps and was not great, if this was changed then it would be 10/10.

Alistair Reid said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th July 2016

First visit, loved it. Notably very friendly staff - all of them. Liked that meals were serve yourself buffet with a good range of times open. Good rooms, had sea view. Was pleased to be able to eat dinner at 5.30, many hotels don't start till 7 which is too late when you have children. Swimming pool small and with lessons on half of it was closed off. Changing rooms need upgrading. There's only about a dozen lockers and half a dozen changing rooms. I managed to get the last available locker but some of the changing rooms were unusable as still had clothes in them presumably because not enough lockers. Confusing system for getting towels involving reception, bar, etc. Swimming pool just a detail though, this friendly hotel is well placed for trip into Blackpool Pleasure Beach and handy for St Annes shops etc. Worth a visit.

A guest said...

10%
30%
0%
0%

Stayed 3rd March 2012

Room very drab and dirty my wife would not stay the night at this hotel even after looking at other rooms.,we left and stayed elsewhere,

S Redmond said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2015

Lovely staff, lovely rooms and great food.

Valerie Oddie said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2015

Comfortable room,lovely helpful staff, convenient position, excellent food and efficient restaruant staff enjoyed a great short break.

Stewart Townsley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th August 2015

A very nice hotel to stay at and all the staff were very helpful.

Catherine Lister said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st July 2015

As always a really good , family hotel , plenty to do for the kids and always a warn reception from the staff.

S Jackson said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th July 2015

Love this hotel,superb for kids with entertainment on,bedrooms looking tired but you cant have everything,new decor in ballroom lovely.Food amazing as usual.

James Burns said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th July 2015

The stay was comfortable and pleasant, a lovely breakfast and the children's entertainment is a life saver.

Rosemary Willis said...

67%
60%
80%
60%

Stayed 2nd July 2015

Me and my Partner have just returned from three nights in three very different hotels, all booked through Classic Britain as Flash Deals or Late Picks. We stayed at St Ives on a DBB rate and this was the most expensive of the three (the other two were DBB & Wine, plus late check-out) and despite being only 2 stars compared to the 3 stars of the others! Yet curiously, despite the hotel being a little run down and need of decoration/refurbishment, the staff (with one exception) could not be faulted for their professionalism, helpfulness and friendliness and the other guests were far friendlier too! As mentioned previously, the hotel itself is a little tired, rundown and in need of a little cash injection to refurbish and redecorate, but nothing too drastic. Part of the deal offered by the hotel was

Mr Turner said...

47%
70%
20%
50%

Stayed 17th October 2014

Room allocated was in an annex, which meant going down a "fire escape" type external staircase to go for breakfast. This was not indicated at time of booking. It was October, but there was no heating in the room. Shower head did not stay up, so therefore it had to be used as a hand-held shower. TV not working and no instructions available. Security door in hallway wedged open with a fire extinguisher. No hot water at wash basin until after running shower. Room and security door key cards had to be re-activated three times in one day. This was particularly inconvenient, due to the location of the room/reception area. Bed not made up and room not cleaned after use. Still awaiting response, to these comments, from the hotel. A response was promised by the receptionist at check-out.

CHRIS DRINKLE said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th August 2014

GREAT STAY, WOULD BOOK AGAIN

darren balmforth said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 22nd July 2014

Laid-back, welcoming and child-friendly hotel in a perfect location. We had a great stay.

Diane Watkins said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 2nd July 2014

Staff in the restaurant were very helpful with good customer service - would rate them highly. Reception staff were courteous when I phoned prior to our arrival; children's entertainer/DJ was also good. Only complaint with our stay was with housekeeping - beds not made during our stay, bin not emptied - expected this to have been done.

Adam Macphail said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 3rd May 2014

Good for familys

CHRIS DRINKLE said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th April 2014

great all round

susan dingle said...

47%
60%
0%
80%

Stayed 12th October 2013

Had booked a table for a large number, when we turned up to take our table we were told by the Duty Manager there was no table available for us. Told us it wasn't his problem, it was the front desk who took the booking. He was rude to my friend when she suggested we put tables together, told her she was patronising to him! He really needs to work on some charm, not just customer service! Paid for deluxe room, it stunk of drains! Food is actually very good but ran out of stuff, things on menu were missing like naan bread for curry and cranberry for roast turkey dinner. Pool water is murky, needs cleaning, showers are moldy. Asked if there was entertainment on when I rang earlier in week, was assured there would be, there wasn't. Not even a DJ after the kids entertainer, just a CD playing!

Lorna Smith said...

17%
30%
20%
0%

Stayed 23rd August 2013

Terrible meal for our party on the DBB. Dried up carvery, steak knife couldn't cut through the roast potatoes and the peas were like bullets. My local Toby Carvery serves up fresh meals for a third of the price. Breakfast was ok. Wooden blinds in dining room were filthy, the atmosphere reminded me of a McDonalds rather that a proper restaurant. The cups and kettle in our room were dirty too. I told the duty manager.

Lorraine McGill said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th July 2013

lovely hotel and very friendly

R Paterson said...

64%
60%
70%
60%

Stayed 29th July 2013

This is my 4 th visit to the St Ives Hotel as usual the staff were friendly/helpful. I had called 1 week before our arrival to remind them that my husband was disabled and could not do too many stairs they told me the room had only 2 stairs. Unfortunately we when got there the room was not suitable however, they managed to accomodate us. They are very family friendly.

kenneth rayner said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 29th July 2013

Second visit to St.Ives and food and service to usual high standards though resteurant manager could leave menu on table longer. Rooms could do with upgrade as could beds which everyone seemed to complain about. Would return on standard of food and service.

James Burns said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2013

An excellent holiday at the St Ives Hotel. From the moment our party of ten arrived, staff were friendly and helpful. My two young grandchildren enjoyed the pool, craft classes and the entertainment making life easy for the adults. We all had a great holiday experience.

Mr Blackwood said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th July 2013

Very family friendly hotel in a good location with entertainment aimed primarily at children. Staff are very helpful and hotel has a good selection of well cooked food. For couples looking for a quiet holiday this may not be the hotel for you.

CRIAG STANSFIELD said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 21st June 2013

Rooms ok, bathrooms ok, swimming pool changing area - showers grubby, pool ok. Staff very helpful.