Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, Aberfoyle

Kinlochard, Aberfoyle, FK83TL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

karen wood said...

60%
60%
50%
70%

Stayed 15th March 2019

We had a lovely stay, unfortunately their was a problem when checking out regarding an overcharge. Having contacted the hotel by telephone they advised I email the general manager regarding the problem. I did this but had no reply which is very disappointing.

Christine Mitchell said...

54%
60%
40%
60%

Stayed 11th February 2019

Had an overnight stay for my daughter DBB with afternoon tea. Although room was nice it was not what I expected and not as shown on web page. Lots of waiting around for check in ,drinks at the bar and in the restaurant. Few people did complain when I was there .Not a great selection on menu which was poor and some things over priced.But I did enjoy my stay.

A Wilson said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th January 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a very comfortable room overlooking the loch. Staff were extremely welcoming and we enjoyed a delicious dinner. We used facilities within the spa. The pool is superb. My husband enjoyed a massage which he was made to feel at ease with the the.

Mr Patrick O'Connor said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2018

Really comfortable stay. Good food, staff work hard and nice leisure facilities. Would recommend this hotel. G?

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2018

Great overnight break will definitely return

Lynn Speirs said...

60%
70%
50%
60%

Stayed 21st October 2018

Pool not operational so very disappointing. Cream tea was included but was charged for this despite telling them when ordered. Starter of haggis, neeps and tatties off A La Carte menu unacceptably , small portion. Double the size would still have been small.

Catherine Rounagh said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st October 2018

If your looking for a relaxing break this hotel is less than an hour from Glasgow with stunning views. Had a really nice time and the staff were very friendly. Had a very spacious room with a balcony, well worth the small extra charge for an executive room. Booking included cream tea, dinner and breakfast all of which were more than satisfactory for the price I paid. Would I return? Yes most definitely. Thanks to all the hard working staff.

Maureen Brady said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 12th February 2018

Loved our stay in this hotel. Upgraded the room and so had fabulous view and very comfortable room. Leisure facil were also good and in glorious surroundings. Only problem was we were there for dinner bed and breakfast. Dinner was a wee bit dissapointing as there was a very small choice on the menu and I did not think you could go wrong with fish and chips but it was tasteless unfortunately. Breakfast was lovely and the dining room is gorgeous.

Rachel McWattie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd February 2018

The hotel and Staff were very helpful and friendly, we went with our one year old daughter and had a great time. The room was beautifully decorated and very well equipped and spacious. The food was excellent and served promptly. All the staff were very kind to our little girl and made time to speak to her. The hotel even had a little play park which was well maintained and enclosed for safety. We absolutely loved our stay and will definitely return. The spa facil were impressive and the family changing made the experience enjoyable and relaxing. The location was beautiful with impressive views.

J Ferguson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2014

Eautirul part of the world rooms beautiful views in conservatory sedond to none

A guest said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 1st July 2017

The mattress was much smaller than the base of the bed causing both of us to hit our legs off the base each time we climbed in and out of bed. Rooms where otherwise nice although our room was at the top of the building so the window we had was tiny making the room itself very dark. Bathrooms have been finished to a really high standard with big walk-in showers. The drink is expensive, £8 for a small glass of prosecco is excessive even for the most exclusive of venues (which this is not). If the prices where lower maybe both bar areas would have more than 2 people in them at any given time. The fire alarm went off at 5.30am. Whist this in itself I don't have an issue with as these things happen, the fact that all residents were stood outside for more than 15 minutes in the rain, and some guests were aimlessly wandering in and out of the building whilst the alarm was still ringing without a single member of staff making an appearance the whole time is pretty poor fire safety management in my book. The setting of the hotel and the views are simply breathtaking but this shouldn't mean that bar prices should be inflated for guests due to lack of other options.

ronald clark said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th February 2017

The hotel is in a lovely location and the grounds are beautiful ,The staff were friendly and food nice. The only thing were disappointed and surprised to see was the amount of cigarette butts at the entrance to the hotel and also lying around the grounds. its a disgusting habit and those who find it acceptable to dispose of their litter in this way should be reminded that most of us don't share their views. February 2017

Amanda Jane Chapman said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th February 2017

Friendly staff and food was good

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2017

Enjoyable stay, staff couldn't have been more helpful. The ambience in the hotel was very pleasant. Only downside was the room allocated to us was on the top floor, no lift, lots of twisting stairs and heavy fire doors.....but a STUNNING VIEW when we got there. Did ask about a change, but unfortunately this wasn't possible.....I am sure they would have moved us if possible. It didn't spoil our stay.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th January 2017

Nights stay was great. Food amazing. Drink prices was a rip off.

Margaret Ramsay said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th December 2016

The hotel is located in a very peaceful, picturesque location. The room was a good size and clean though a bit dusty on some surfaces. Restaurant very good. Staff very good, friendly and helpful. Two log burning open fires were very welcoming in December.

William Matthews said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th May 2016

This is actually a review of two parts and the below ratings are based on the good - the Bistro and staff there. The bistro suisor, chef and staff generally were excellent; very pleasant and chatty and keen to ensure good food and service. I really could not fault them. Unfortunately, the hotel side of things was the opposite, excluding reception staff. The waiters could hardly crack a smile and did not interact at all. This was compounded by a sewerage leak or similar that took over two days to resolve and was so bad that we chose not eat there. That did mean we found the bistro on the first night and they did accommodate the quick swap without a problem, so it worked out well for us in the end. For a resort of this quality the staff in the hotel really need to improve or they will damage their image.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th May 2016

Lovely hotel and food was excellent. Would visit this hotel again in the future. Very good value as well. We used the swimming pool and sauna each day and enjoyed this as well. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends. Staff were very friendly and approachable as well.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th May 2016

Lovely hotel and food was excellent. Would visit this hotel again in the future. Very good value as well. We used the swimming pool and sauna each day and enjoyed this as well. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends. Staff were very friendly and approachable as well.

David Booth said...

47%
70%
50%
20%

Stayed 1st May 2016

Well we got off to a bad start the receptionist sent us off to our room but never gave us a key, enjoyed the pool, sauna and steam room. the evening meal, maybe we weren't posh enough but the main meal was almost the same size as the starter then came the sweet course I didn't know you could get so little on such a big plate, and no were not big people. then back to the room and no heating man came and no the heating doesn't work. then the fire alarm goes off at about 11pm due to someone showering with the door open no sign saying not too! . well at least we got a good breakfast (buffet) but they ran out of some food according to some of the guests we spoke to later poor show for such a fancy place.one of the dining staff who was working very hard in my view was getting harassed by other staff right in front of us one of who was a manager I think, not nice.

A guest said...

57%
80%
10%
80%

Stayed 30th April 2016

We enjoyed the stay however when we checked in they had only one room for us when we had booked two with myhotelbreak. . Luckily they found a room for us. Similarly we had booked in advance by telephone for dinner on Saay and Sunday, but they had no reservation for us on the Sunday evening. This meant a wait until resolved. Monday breakfast was extremely poor - an hours wait for cooked breakfast and practically nothing laid out in the buffet area after 9.15. Seemed grossly understaffed for a Monday bank holiday. Breakfast, when it came was actually very good. Please pass on commends to Macdonald hotels.

Patricia Cameron said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th April 2016

From the moment we checked in we were given a warm welcome. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with a wonderful outlook of the gardens towards the loch and was lovely and clean. Our booking included dinner and although the menu was not extensive, gave enough choice throughout our stay. The food was well presented and delicious. We found the staff to be friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble, which added to our experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely make a point of returning again.

Jean Bladen said...

100%
100%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 18th April 2016

Superb location with fantastic views all around. The room was large and very comfortable. Facil excellent. Staff pleasant and accommodating.

Donald Park said...

50%
80%
60%
10%

Stayed 14th April 2016

It was a lovely hotel but I would have preferred a bath in the bedroom We ate in the Rafters bar on the first night and after being shown the wine list we picked a bottle only to be told there was only a choice of 2 My wife had the smoked haddock croquettes which did not have any fish in them but the waiter was excellent and said we would not be charged for them The breakfast next morning was poor and the portions were tiny and we did not get what was asked for It also looks as if the bread used for toast is the cheapest bread you can get from any saver range in a supermarket We did not eat in the hotel on the second night and the breakfast the next day was better in that we got what was requested but it was cold It is a shame as the staff were decent especially the young man on reception who booked us in and was very helpful in every way The hotel and bedroom was lovely but it is severely lacking in the things that makes it 4 stars

Johan Sampson said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2016

Hotel in lovely setting. Leisure pool sauna steam room and jacuzzi good. Breakfast evening meal good. Thought the price for a dash of lemonade that was added to 1/2 lager for a shandy a bit steep at 80pence which made the price £3.30 for the half pint .