Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, Aberfoyle

Kinlochard, Aberfoyle, FK83TL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Paul Larkins said...

84%
80%
70%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2022

I stayed at the hotel in March 2022. The food was excellent. I have never been so disappointed with the quality of food. I would love to have a conversation with the general manager. He was no were to be seen.

daniel callaghan said...

64%
90%
50%
50%

Stayed 27th May 2022

Great location and beautiful hotel but the service let it down

Susan Thom said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th May 2022

A very pleasant two night stay. Menu a bit limited in restaurant but food was very well presented and most enjoyable. Would consider further visits.

James McFadden said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 13th May 2022

Love the hotel, stunning views, lovely room and friendly staff

James Dunne said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th March 2022

Fantastic Break at the Hotel. We were there celebrating our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. The Hotel is set in Beautiful Grounds overlooking Loch Ard. TheStaff from Reception, Restaurant, Bar and Leisure Facilities were excellent. The room we were in had fantastic views. The Food was beautiful. The only downside was the prices of the Alcohol

Julie Denholm said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2022

Fantastic stay. Room was lovely and the food 1st class.

A guest said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 24th February 2020

Just back from a night at the above hotel, service was great can’t fault it but the facilities were poor. Went over to use leisure facilities pool was freezing, jacuzzi wasn’t working so basically we could only use sauna and steam room. Also bed was a nightmare two beds joined together and every time you moved the bed split in middle. Informed reception but didn’t seem bothered I have booked numerous times with my hotel break and never had an experience like this really disappointing. Also for McDonald franchise as we were thinking about booking Aviemore for Christmas but that’s definitely not happening now. Would appreciate you view on this as we were away for my partners birthday and both really disappointed

geraldine hilling said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th October 2019

Great location beautiful walks around the Loch. We ate in the restaurant on first night as we had £25 each towards meal it was expensive but excellent food and wine room modern clean facing car park but quiet slept well had a few minor issues with housekeeping no bottled water in room not enough towels left after cleaning but reception sorted this quickly. Hotel situated 4 miles from aberfoyle this is were the closest shop pubs and restaurants are

karen wood said...

60%
60%
50%
70%

Stayed 15th March 2019

We had a lovely stay, unfortunately their was a problem when checking out regarding an overcharge. Having contacted the hotel by telephone they advised I email the general manager regarding the problem. I did this but had no reply which is very disappointing.

Christine Mitchell said...

54%
60%
40%
60%

Stayed 11th February 2019

Had an overnight stay for my daughter DBB with afternoon tea. Although room was nice it was not what I expected and not as shown on web page. Lots of waiting around for check in ,drinks at the bar and in the restaurant. Few people did complain when I was there .Not a great selection on menu which was poor and some things over priced.But I did enjoy my stay.

A Wilson said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th January 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a very comfortable room overlooking the loch. Staff were extremely welcoming and we enjoyed a delicious dinner. We used facilities within the spa. The pool is superb. My husband enjoyed a massage which he was made to feel at ease with the the.

Mr Patrick O'Connor said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2018

Really comfortable stay. Good food, staff work hard and nice leisure facilities. Would recommend this hotel. G?

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2018

Great overnight break will definitely return

Lynn Speirs said...

60%
70%
50%
60%

Stayed 21st October 2018

Pool not operational so very disappointing. Cream tea was included but was charged for this despite telling them when ordered. Starter of haggis, neeps and tatties off A La Carte menu unacceptably , small portion. Double the size would still have been small.

Catherine Rounagh said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st October 2018

If your looking for a relaxing break this hotel is less than an hour from Glasgow with stunning views. Had a really nice time and the staff were very friendly. Had a very spacious room with a balcony, well worth the small extra charge for an executive room. Booking included cream tea, dinner and breakfast all of which were more than satisfactory for the price I paid. Would I return? Yes most definitely. Thanks to all the hard working staff.

Maureen Brady said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 12th February 2018

Loved our stay in this hotel. Upgraded the room and so had fabulous view and very comfortable room. Leisure facil were also good and in glorious surroundings. Only problem was we were there for dinner bed and breakfast. Dinner was a wee bit dissapointing as there was a very small choice on the menu and I did not think you could go wrong with fish and chips but it was tasteless unfortunately. Breakfast was lovely and the dining room is gorgeous.

Rachel McWattie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd February 2018

The hotel and Staff were very helpful and friendly, we went with our one year old daughter and had a great time. The room was beautifully decorated and very well equipped and spacious. The food was excellent and served promptly. All the staff were very kind to our little girl and made time to speak to her. The hotel even had a little play park which was well maintained and enclosed for safety. We absolutely loved our stay and will definitely return. The spa facil were impressive and the family changing made the experience enjoyable and relaxing. The location was beautiful with impressive views.

J Ferguson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2014

Eautirul part of the world rooms beautiful views in conservatory sedond to none

A guest said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 1st July 2017

The mattress was much smaller than the base of the bed causing both of us to hit our legs off the base each time we climbed in and out of bed. Rooms where otherwise nice although our room was at the top of the building so the window we had was tiny making the room itself very dark. Bathrooms have been finished to a really high standard with big walk-in showers. The drink is expensive, £8 for a small glass of prosecco is excessive even for the most exclusive of venues (which this is not). If the prices where lower maybe both bar areas would have more than 2 people in them at any given time. The fire alarm went off at 5.30am. Whist this in itself I don't have an issue with as these things happen, the fact that all residents were stood outside for more than 15 minutes in the rain, and some guests were aimlessly wandering in and out of the building whilst the alarm was still ringing without a single member of staff making an appearance the whole time is pretty poor fire safety management in my book. The setting of the hotel and the views are simply breathtaking but this shouldn't mean that bar prices should be inflated for guests due to lack of other options.

ronald clark said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th February 2017

The hotel is in a lovely location and the grounds are beautiful ,The staff were friendly and food nice. The only thing were disappointed and surprised to see was the amount of cigarette butts at the entrance to the hotel and also lying around the grounds. its a disgusting habit and those who find it acceptable to dispose of their litter in this way should be reminded that most of us don't share their views. February 2017

Amanda Jane Chapman said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th February 2017

Friendly staff and food was good

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2017

Enjoyable stay, staff couldn't have been more helpful. The ambience in the hotel was very pleasant. Only downside was the room allocated to us was on the top floor, no lift, lots of twisting stairs and heavy fire doors.....but a STUNNING VIEW when we got there. Did ask about a change, but unfortunately this wasn't possible.....I am sure they would have moved us if possible. It didn't spoil our stay.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th January 2017

Nights stay was great. Food amazing. Drink prices was a rip off.

Margaret Ramsay said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th December 2016

The hotel is located in a very peaceful, picturesque location. The room was a good size and clean though a bit dusty on some surfaces. Restaurant very good. Staff very good, friendly and helpful. Two log burning open fires were very welcoming in December.

William Matthews said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th May 2016

This is actually a review of two parts and the below ratings are based on the good - the Bistro and staff there. The bistro suisor, chef and staff generally were excellent; very pleasant and chatty and keen to ensure good food and service. I really could not fault them. Unfortunately, the hotel side of things was the opposite, excluding reception staff. The waiters could hardly crack a smile and did not interact at all. This was compounded by a sewerage leak or similar that took over two days to resolve and was so bad that we chose not eat there. That did mean we found the bistro on the first night and they did accommodate the quick swap without a problem, so it worked out well for us in the end. For a resort of this quality the staff in the hotel really need to improve or they will damage their image.