Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

North West Castle Hotel, Stranraer

Port Rodie, Stranraer, DG98EH, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

A guest said...

10%
10%
10%
10%

Stayed 26th September 2021

Hi we have just came home from a two day birthday treat for my husband to this hotel and are very disappointed. The smell from the carpets in corridors was appalling also the showers in the changing rooms in the leisure facilities were out of order also both ladies and gents saunas were out of order. I my we had known this we would never have booked that said hotel . It was way too over priced

Dorothy Coupar said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th September 2021

Once again you have not disappointed My Husband and I had a lovely time here Staff were very attentive especially in the Dining Room Food was excellent and well presented Room was clean and Covid secure Usual Complimentery Tea and Coffee and toiletries Very satisfied and look forward to our next trip with yourselves

George HoodCessnock1948 said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Arrived at the Hotel to be allocated an annex room in an adjacent alow. Perfectly clean, comfortable and adequate for a three night stay. With all Covid protocols in place the staff throughout the hotel were pleasant and helpful. Meals were a bit chaotic due to distancing and the hotel being busy but ample and tasty. It was a pleasant break and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Teresa Goodwin said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2021

Very pleasant overnighted, good delicious, staff very pleasant and helpful. Very traditional hotel, room was huge .

Lawrie England said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 26th July 2021

Rooms could do with being upgrade shower very poor in bathroom Had dinner both nights no complaints breakfast sausages were not the best not sure if they wer off or was the type of sausage didn’t have them on the second morning had poached eggs and bacon on second morning eggs were hard

Claire Paterson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Lovely hotel in a charming little place. Hotel is dated but food & service fab

James Hamilton said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st October 2020

Rooms well stocked and cleaned but decor and fittings extremely dated. Food excellent apart from lack of vegetables with main course and no option for vegetable side order.

David Phillips said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th August 2020

Very nice hotel in a good location, although furniture and decor a bit old fashioned. Food and service very good.

elaine Mason said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th April 2019

Top class everything was perfect.Have already returned to this hotel twice since this booking and have another 2 holidays booked.Fresh flower displays beautiful decorated dining room coffee and tea with tablet served in the lounge after dinner food wonderful. Staff excellent.

Alexander Ingram said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th March 2020

Excellent hotel everything was very good

Jane Shearer said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2019

We had a fantastic stay at the hotel, staff are friendly and service is second to none. Food was excellent would definitely recommend. Rooms are very clean and are equipped well although a little old fashioned but very comfortable. Would definitely recommend a visit. Surrounding countryside is beautiful

William Kerr said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2019

Hotel is old fashioned and grand in some areas but dated in others the pool was too cold for our 6yr old son and the pool area is dated,good food ,service and friendly helpful staff ,overall we all enjoyed the hotel and would go back again

David Brown said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th August 2019

Excellent hotel, great food and accommodation, just a cautionary complaint as I'm a coeliac, [we informed the hotel during the booking and also when we went for dinner] on both night during our stay I was served a cheese biscuits selection which was obviously not gluten free, so a bit extra care or more training on this important suect please. As the last sentence in the lovely book about the family history stated, reputation is everything and one careless mistake could destroy such a great reputation.

Anna Ellis said...

30%
20%
50%
20%

Stayed 20th August 2019

Hotel is showing the signs of its age. The bathroom was very dated, the toilet made a loud noise while refilling and the shower over the bath was grubby. The staff were good but it's a bit unsettling when they whip away unused cutlery and plates and reset tables while you are still eating. I don't think I'd go back.

F Pearson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th August 2019

Greeted at reception with a nice welcome and was offered help with luggage to our room.The room was large and clean the bed very comfortable. The food in restaurant was good and staff very efficient.

Shona Armstrong said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st August 2019

Lovely hotel, clean throughout, great facilities, food fabulous, staff friendly, would definitely recommend.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th June 2019

Great hotel great staff great food will definitely be back

Wilma Purdie said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th June 2019

Had a lovely break here. Large room with 4 poster bed! Room was spotless. Excellent staff who are so friendly and helpful. Dinner was lovely. Would like to have seen more fresh fruit for breakfast. Used pool facilities both days. This area does need to be modernised. Function room has been refurbished and it is lovely.

karen napier said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Great location, food and rooms were excellent and staff were so friendly and helpful. All added together made a great weekend for 1 guy and his 5 sisters. Thank you all.

Rose Sheridan said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd October 2018

Very enjoyable stay at the North West Castle Hotel. Spacious room, very clean. Lovely food and good variety for breakfast. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Would stay here again.

A McAndrew said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th August 2018

Very friendly staff who could not do enough for you. Room very good and food excellent.

Angela Maloney said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th June 2018

We had a very enjoyable stay here, hotel was spotlessly clean staff made us very welcome, we made use of the leisure facilities. food and service was spot on, we will definitely back and highly recommend this to others.

mary mclean said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th August 2017

Had a lovely overnight stay at the north west castle hotel only downside was balcony was shared

Margaret Houston said...

54%
10%
50%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2016

Disappointed with leisure facility, sauna not working and jacuzzi had cover over it. Was not aware of this until I came out of the pool. Bath hoer tap seized and therefore could not use the bath

Laura Browning said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 5th October 2016

Lovely stay,hotel staf very nice,good size room , good sized pool and breakfast and dinner in hotel is 1st class,will return again soon.