Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

North West Castle Hotel, Stranraer

Port Rodie, Stranraer, DG98EH, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

90%

Claire Paterson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Lovely hotel in a charming little place. Hotel is dated but food & service fab

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th October 2020

No ventilation in bathroom

James Hamilton said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st October 2020

Rooms well stocked and cleaned but decor and fittings extremely dated. Food excellent apart from lack of vegetables with main course and no option for vegetable side order.

James Hamilton said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st October 2020

Rooms well stocked and cleaned but decor and fittings extremely dated. Food excellent apart from lack of vegetables with main course and no option for vegetable side order.

David Phillips said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th August 2020

Very nice hotel in a good location, although furniture and decor a bit old fashioned. Food and service very good.

elaine Mason said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th April 2019

Top class everything was perfect.Have already returned to this hotel twice since this booking and have another 2 holidays booked.Fresh flower displays beautiful decorated dining room coffee and tea with tablet served in the lounge after dinner food wonderful. Staff excellent.

Alexander Ingram said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th March 2020

Excellent hotel everything was very good

Jane Shearer said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2019

We had a fantastic stay at the hotel, staff are friendly and service is second to none. Food was excellent would definitely recommend. Rooms are very clean and are equipped well although a little old fashioned but very comfortable. Would definitely recommend a visit. Surrounding countryside is beautiful

William Kerr said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2019

Hotel is old fashioned and grand in some areas but dated in others the pool was too cold for our 6yr old son and the pool area is dated,good food ,service and friendly helpful staff ,overall we all enjoyed the hotel and would go back again

David Brown said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th August 2019

Excellent hotel, great food and accommodation, just a cautionary complaint as I'm a coeliac, [we informed the hotel during the booking and also when we went for dinner] on both night during our stay I was served a cheese biscuits selection which was obviously not gluten free, so a bit extra care or more training on this important suect please. As the last sentence in the lovely book about the family history stated, reputation is everything and one careless mistake could destroy such a great reputation.

Anna Ellis said...

30%
20%
50%
20%

Stayed 20th August 2019

Hotel is showing the signs of its age. The bathroom was very dated, the toilet made a loud noise while refilling and the shower over the bath was grubby. The staff were good but it's a bit unsettling when they whip away unused cutlery and plates and reset tables while you are still eating. I don't think I'd go back.

F Pearson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th August 2019

Greeted at reception with a nice welcome and was offered help with luggage to our room.The room was large and clean the bed very comfortable. The food in restaurant was good and staff very efficient.

Shona Armstrong said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st August 2019

Lovely hotel, clean throughout, great facilities, food fabulous, staff friendly, would definitely recommend.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th June 2019

Great hotel great staff great food will definitely be back

Wilma Purdie said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th June 2019

Had a lovely break here. Large room with 4 poster bed! Room was spotless. Excellent staff who are so friendly and helpful. Dinner was lovely. Would like to have seen more fresh fruit for breakfast. Used pool facilities both days. This area does need to be modernised. Function room has been refurbished and it is lovely.

karen napier said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Great location, food and rooms were excellent and staff were so friendly and helpful. All added together made a great weekend for 1 guy and his 5 sisters. Thank you all.

Rose Sheridan said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd October 2018

Very enjoyable stay at the North West Castle Hotel. Spacious room, very clean. Lovely food and good variety for breakfast. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Would stay here again.

A McAndrew said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th August 2018

Very friendly staff who could not do enough for you. Room very good and food excellent.

Angela Maloney said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th June 2018

We had a very enjoyable stay here, hotel was spotlessly clean staff made us very welcome, we made use of the leisure facilities. food and service was spot on, we will definitely back and highly recommend this to others.

mary mclean said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th August 2017

Had a lovely overnight stay at the north west castle hotel only downside was balcony was shared

Margaret Houston said...

54%
10%
50%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2016

Disappointed with leisure facility, sauna not working and jacuzzi had cover over it. Was not aware of this until I came out of the pool. Bath hoer tap seized and therefore could not use the bath

Laura Browning said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 5th October 2016

Lovely stay,hotel staf very nice,good size room , good sized pool and breakfast and dinner in hotel is 1st class,will return again soon.

Jim Adair said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2016

We were greeted with a very warm welcome and this attitude continued during our stay, all staff were very helpful and were prepared to go out of their way to make sure that we were well catered for. The food was of excellent quality and the portions were just right. I would certainly recommend the hotel to my friends and family and I will make a point of visiting again if in the area.

john molloy said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2016

Great hotel staff very friendly and helpful rooms great

D Feeney said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st July 2016

We were there last weekend, on arrival we asked for a sea view and the staff were very accomodating and we got a room with a sea view plus a balcony facing the harbour.food and staff great and also had the pleasure of meeting the owner Mr McMillan, he very happily showed us round the curling rink and all the many trophies that had been won over the years all very interesting. We will certainly be back in the future,... The only down side our car was damaged while parked up in car park by a massive bus trying to manoeuvre.park well away from exit.