Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

North West Castle Hotel, Stranraer

Port Rodie, Stranraer, DG98EH, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

90%

David Brown said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th August 2019

Excellent hotel, great food and accommodation, just a cautionary complaint as I'm a coeliac, [we informed the hotel during the booking and also when we went for dinner] on both night during our stay I was served a cheese biscuits selection which was obviously not gluten free, so a bit extra care or more training on this important suect please. As the last sentence in the lovely book about the family history stated, reputation is everything and one careless mistake could destroy such a great reputation.

Anna Ellis said...

30%
20%
50%
20%

Stayed 20th August 2019

Hotel is showing the signs of its age. The bathroom was very dated, the toilet made a loud noise while refilling and the shower over the bath was grubby. The staff were good but it's a bit unsettling when they whip away unused cutlery and plates and reset tables while you are still eating. I don't think I'd go back.

F Pearson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th August 2019

Greeted at reception with a nice welcome and was offered help with luggage to our room.The room was large and clean the bed very comfortable. The food in restaurant was good and staff very efficient.

Shona Armstrong said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st August 2019

Lovely hotel, clean throughout, great facilities, food fabulous, staff friendly, would definitely recommend.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th June 2019

Great hotel great staff great food will definitely be back

Wilma Purdie said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th June 2019

Had a lovely break here. Large room with 4 poster bed! Room was spotless. Excellent staff who are so friendly and helpful. Dinner was lovely. Would like to have seen more fresh fruit for breakfast. Used pool facilities both days. This area does need to be modernised. Function room has been refurbished and it is lovely.

karen napier said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Great location, food and rooms were excellent and staff were so friendly and helpful. All added together made a great weekend for 1 guy and his 5 sisters. Thank you all.

Rose Sheridan said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd October 2018

Very enjoyable stay at the North West Castle Hotel. Spacious room, very clean. Lovely food and good variety for breakfast. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Would stay here again.

A McAndrew said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th August 2018

Very friendly staff who could not do enough for you. Room very good and food excellent.

Angela Maloney said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th June 2018

We had a very enjoyable stay here, hotel was spotlessly clean staff made us very welcome, we made use of the leisure facilities. food and service was spot on, we will definitely back and highly recommend this to others.

mary mclean said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th August 2017

Had a lovely overnight stay at the north west castle hotel only downside was balcony was shared

Margaret Houston said...

54%
10%
50%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2016

Disappointed with leisure facility, sauna not working and jacuzzi had cover over it. Was not aware of this until I came out of the pool. Bath hoer tap seized and therefore could not use the bath

Laura Browning said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 5th October 2016

Lovely stay,hotel staf very nice,good size room , good sized pool and breakfast and dinner in hotel is 1st class,will return again soon.

Jim Adair said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2016

We were greeted with a very warm welcome and this attitude continued during our stay, all staff were very helpful and were prepared to go out of their way to make sure that we were well catered for. The food was of excellent quality and the portions were just right. I would certainly recommend the hotel to my friends and family and I will make a point of visiting again if in the area.

john molloy said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2016

Great hotel staff very friendly and helpful rooms great

D Feeney said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st July 2016

We were there last weekend, on arrival we asked for a sea view and the staff were very accomodating and we got a room with a sea view plus a balcony facing the harbour.food and staff great and also had the pleasure of meeting the owner Mr McMillan, he very happily showed us round the curling rink and all the many trophies that had been won over the years all very interesting. We will certainly be back in the future,... The only down side our car was damaged while parked up in car park by a massive bus trying to manoeuvre.park well away from exit.

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th May 2016

once again a very nice 3 course evening meal and a lovely breakfast the following morning

Dorothy Coupar said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th April 2016

Stayed here with my husband and another couple The hotel is lovely rooms are spacious, comfy beds, courtesy tray and lovely bed linen and fluffy towels Staff very friendly The food was excellent plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner The pool and hot tub was a great asset after a busy day out Will definitely return

J Tansey said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff who were extremely helpful

Elizabeth Gray said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th November 2015

Nice room overlooking the sea. Great breakfast!

graham nisbet said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd September 2015

Arrived later than expected, the receptionist was very helpful. Nice big bedroom with lots of space

Robert Burns said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 12th September 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay, excellent food, service and all very reasonably priced. Staff were all fab,helpful and courteous. Would consider visiting the hotel again. Well done North West Castle..keep up the good work!

E Hunter said...

67%
0%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th September 2014

Rooms and hotel are dated. Spa area you would not use. Hotel staff and food excellent. I would not book again or recommend this hotel until it was upgrade.

Pauline Cross said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th August 2014

The hotel is a little old fashioned and a bit dated,but very clean and comfortable. We had a suite which was large and had all the amenities you'd expect, with amazing views over the ocean. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had dinner at the hotel, which was very good indeed, great selection and of a high standard. They offered a cheese board on the dessert menu, which is unusual these days! I was over the moon,delicious. Overall well worth a visit.thank you Classic Britain.

William Simmons said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th August 2014

Nice hotel but looking a bit tired