Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Aberdeen Altens Hotel, Aberdeen

Souterhead Road,, Aberdeen, AB123LF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Sheila Barton said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 1st December 2021

Had a lovely time at the hotel, swimming pool and spa was excellent, good choices for dinner and breakfast. Rooms very clean and lovely comfortable beds. Staff were friendly and professional.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th November 2021

Really nice hotel foods great pool ect nice n clean no bar area to sit in tho f its busy in the restaurant seen a few couples being told to sit in reception r room service want sure about the buffet service either no sanatizer to use after person in front had used tongs lifted hot plates ect and no social distance in there either and servers stand at end ...also found no stations at the lifts had sanatizer in them .rooms r spotlessly clean as is the hotel

Mrs Hanlon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2021

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Nice hotel. Meal was lovely. Staff were nice and friendly. Pool was a nice temperature and jacuzzi was lovely and warm.

A guest said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2021

Nice stay, would stay again. Bar shut at 11am, disappointing on a Saturday night, we were not the only party who would have stayed longer. No option to order drinks to room.

Leah Mcwilliam said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd October 2021

We had a great one night stay here: lovely room, food was really good and service at reception was fab. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others

A guest said...

37%
30%
30%
50%

Stayed 25th September 2021

Hotel rooms in need of refurbishment. Food okay but not enough staff to cope with number of guests.

Patrick McMenemy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st September 2021

Hotel and staff first class, food and service excellent

Lynn Hutchison said...

60%
80%
20%
80%

Stayed 27th August 2021

Hotel was lovely room clean but was very disappointed at breakfast and dinner waiting times waited 40 min in a queue at reception for breakfast then another 15 min to have someone take order no milk or fruit at buffet had to ask each morning as needed to be refilled. Dinner was the same waiting a long time to have order taken .Food was lovely but definitely need to get more staff as waiting time let the hotel down .

Scott mawhinney said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th August 2021

Brillant hotel facilities excellent only drawback waited 45nins for breakfast as hotel full to capacity

Sharlee Muir said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st August 2021

Great stay but pillows were quite hard

Sharlee Muir said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st August 2021

Great stay but pillows were quite hard

justine bremner said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th August 2021

Rooms clean and well equipped. Dinner on both nights which was fairly priced. Only gripe I have is at breakfast. I think it would make more sense for 1 waiting staff member to be in charge of a certain amount of tables so they know who has been served and who has not but thats just a small issue. The staff are all a very friendly team

lori craig said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th August 2021

We had the most amazing 3 nights at the hotel! Food was amazing nice big room and staff very helpful

Christine Hutchison said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th August 2021

The lady on reception when we arrived to check in was extremely nice and welcoming and allowed us to check in early. Whilst the hotel is beautiful in the main reception area and bar/restaurant, the bedrooms are basic but very comfortable. If you have mobility issues be aware that the walk to the rooms can be quite lengthy. The breakfast was a bit chaotic but the staff were trying their best and smiling despite being run off their feet. The food was nice and whilst we didn't eat in the restaurant the menu was good. All in all for the price we paid this was great and the pool was of a reasonable size albeit is used for kids swimming lessons at times so was very noisy.

A guest said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 12th August 2021

Room comfortable and staff welcoming. Unfortunately the cooked breakfast was mostly cold and unappetising.

Alison Lockie said...

40%
50%
30%
40%

Stayed 5th August 2021

Arrived a little early on the Thursday but the room was ready so we checked in early. Room was ok, King sized bed, lots of wardrobe storage, table and chairs, big TV, Nespresso coffee machine (no tea bags or milk/sugar though so espresso only) and a decent sized bath/shower with the usual supplies. We went to the restaurant for a late lunch, service was fine, food was ok but expensive for what it is. We booked in for dinner and when we got there things started going downhill. Placed an order for drinks while we looked at the menu, took at least half an hour to get them. Placed our food order, I just took a hot sandwich, my partner took their ters chicken; we waited about an hour for our food and when we received it asked for another round of drinks. Another waitress asked if we wanted more drinks about 10 mins later but we said we had already ordered them but were still waiting, again it took probably about half an hour. There were other couples next to us who were also complaining. Service was ridiculously bad. Went out the next day and when we came back the bathroom hadn't been restocked and hadn't been given a quick clean. There were no fresh towels but we hadn't been given anything to say if we wanted them we should leave them in a particular place or there was a sign to leave on the door. I don't mind using the same towels but there was no heated towel rail so they weren't drying in time for us to use again. Ordered room service at 8pm as a treat. Same abysmal service - had to call reception just after 9pm to ask what happened to our food; receptionist called back to say there was a problem with the order and that the chef would make it now and we could have a free drink. Finally got our food at 9:40pm (we ordered the same as the night before), had to wait on cutlery though as she had forgotten it. I ordered a hot sandwich again which should come with fries and coleslaw but it came with salad and crisps. Went to breakfast the next morning after getting a call to demand our payment for the room service the night before which I felt was uncalled for given the shoddy service and we would settle on check-out anyway. Breakfast was a bit of a strange set up but you could get a standard cooked breakfast i.e. you could pick from the usual sausage, bacon, eggs etc which I was a little disappointed with as given the hotel rating I would have thought you could get something a little different like eggs benedict, however, it was a nice enough breakfast. On checking out I said to the receptionist about the room service and overall bad service at the restaurant, I was waivered the tray charge but really, the whole experience was not worth how much we paid. Will be avoiding this hotel going forward as it was extremely disappointing.

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st August 2021

Ignore the outside of this hotel as the inside more than makes up for it. Was upgraded on arrival room was clean, lovely and spacious. Staff were very friendly and chatty. Food was amazing, especially the breakfast. I'd definitely will be back well worth the money.

Jennifer Murray said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th June 2021

This is an honest review! Good Hotel with excellent staff and good food. Service was very slow at times. Particularly at Breakfast and on a Saturday evening Allowed some grace for covid restrictions. Disappointed that when we arrived on Friday and tried to book leisure facilities, it was fully booked all weekend. Definitely not a 4 star Hotel. At best a 3 star. Rooms although very comfortable, were very tired and need modernising. Also very hot in the room and had to ask for a fan. Staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to help, especially Victoria, Liam and Russell. All in all a decent, good value hotel!

Susan Donald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th June 2021

Went here to my fave hotel after I got out of hospital getting my back done got an upgraded room have lovely meal and breakkie room service staff lovely

Francis watson said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 22nd May 2021

We had a lovely,comfortable stay at the Altern Hotel.The hotel was spotlessly clean.The staff couldn’t be more helpful and friendly.The room was one of the largest rooms we have stayed in.Definitely be back.

Elaine Salt said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th May 2021

Visiting nieces in Aberdeen and Stonehaven so this hotel ideally situated. Lovely little pool but pre-booking essential - would welcome some privacy in the changing area. Pleasant first night dinner in re-furbished Coast & Keg, included in price. Lovely staff, especially Victoria and Carly in restaurant and reception. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds - expected two separate beds but they were linked together, not ideal for two restless sleepers. Good breakfast choices though some items a little overcooked. Nevertheless, would happily stay here again.

Donna Sinclair said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th May 2021

Aberdeen Altens is a lovely hotel, it's a few miles out of town so there is nothing to do close by. Staff are very friendly and helpful 10/10. Swimming pool and jacuzzi were an added bonus with a limited amount in at a time also needs to be pre-booked personally I think this needs to be stated when booking to save disapointment. Our evening meal was delicious ? but breakfast was abit of a disapointment for me as food wasn't served hot and husbands had a few items missing also sausage had a weird taste like it was off I didn't complain as the little staff that was on were very busy with too many duties to carry out. I will not allow this to put me off returning to this hotel as I believe the positives are far greater than the negatives and I have been a few times before with no issues.

Isak Cornelius said...

54%
80%
50%
30%

Stayed 5th May 2021

VERY NICE HOTEL BUT THE FOOD IS SUB-STANDARD.

Susan Donald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th November 2020

Loved everything so easy to book I love altens stayed so many times staff are amazing food is good felt so relaxed after receptions gave us another room without asking because so we were ground floor

Nicola Robertson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2020

Brilliant stay, staf excellent, room was magnificent for the price, would highly recommend and be back to stay again