Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Banchory Lodge Hotel, Banchory

Dee Street, Banchory, AB315HS, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Angus Gray said...

77%
90%
50%
90%

Stayed 25th October 2019

Room 1st class, food 1st class, decor 1st class, plenty of staff. Disappointed though that on Sat evening went for a drink in lounge bar and only seats available were car chairs and a small table for two pushed up against a pillar, all other table were set and reserved for diners. Not what I would have expected in an establishment of this category. Additionally when entering the bar we were asked if we were dining, said no just wanted a drink and told rather abruptly that they were fully booked but you can have a drink IF you can find a seat. This rathe put a damper on an otherwisw excellent stay.

Elspeth Goar said...

60%
10%
80%
90%

Stayed 19th October 2019

beautiful setting.very welcoming staff. we had a problem with heating in room,this was fixed quickly with little fuss was a little disappointed that bar area seemed to be mostly for eating and only place really to just have a drink was sitting at the bar.This will be different in summer when you can sit on patio area.Food was lovely and restaurant service was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. We would stay again.

Neil Scally said...

30%
30%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 23rd May 2019

This is not a complaint it’s a summary of our visit. We chose this hotel on the recommendation of our son as he and his colleagues stay here when on business in Aberdeen. When you arrive at any hotel first impressions have a massive impact along with welcoming attitudes.(I have traveled worldwide for 35years so not short of experience) Your receptionist promptly told us it was 3pm check in, I showed her an email from Hotel Breaks showing a 2pm check in, she dismissed that email saying it was hotel policy for a 3pm check in l told her I have no correspondence from the hotel as we only have Hotel Breaks email therefore that’s all we had to work with, however we are willing to leave the and return in an hour. Not a good start! At this time I still had not seen our room which was No.17 my wife had seen it and had said it didn’t have a nice outlook, I asked the receptionist if there was another room available she said no other standard rooms were available I then asked if I could upgrade to the next level she said no rooms were available but she could give us a room at an extra £200.00. I asked if this cost was negotiable a quick no was her answer. It was then our turn to say no. The room was nicely decorated and clean a little on the small side it was also very dark even in daylight one of the two chairs damaged and had a poor repair using duck tape. The view from the window is horrendous looking on to a slate roof and down into what I can only explain as a working courtyard for the kitchen etc. The first night wasn’t too bad just some kitchen noises and the odd loud voice. However the second night was very loud, there was a wedding or some type of reception in full swing up until midnight, the square courtyard seemed to funnel the noise straight up between the buildings which was very annoying. What a pity we had a disappointing visit as the hotel is situated in a lovely setting. We will certainly not be back

Roslyn Hopton said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th May 2019

Very nice hotel to stay in. Great attentive staff. Good location right by the river.

Peter Graham said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th May 2019

Had a lovely 2 night stay celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary. Lovely room, (no 9) spotless and spacious. Staff are a credit to the hotel - smiling, knowledgable and really looked after us. Food, both breakfast and dinner was lovely. Of course the hotel setting is fantastic. We both thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break.

Ashley Anderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2019

Location and river views are spectacular. Lovely hotel with fantastic river view drinks patio a great place to relax and unwind. Would definitely stay there again.

A guest said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th May 2019

Lovely location. Pretty good food. (Just a hint of uncertainty about service, but all staff very pleasant). First class rooom.

A guest said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th April 2019

We stayed in a 'comfy' room - this is one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in in 40 years of travel. Very compact and absolutely no room to move around. No where to sit except one very uncomfortable dining style chair stuck in a tight corner which could not be moved anywhere as there was no space. Not an enjoyable room to be in and noisy from the bottle bank area. Bed was fine. Carpet past is sell by date. Very small dressing table and messy wiring on the wall to the television. Not what we would class as a four star room. We could only boil the kettle on the window ledge which it could just fit on (very dangerous) as it could not fit on the dressing table as the wire would not reach to the wall to plug in. Our wardrobe was a small under combe cupboard and totally impracticable. The bathroom have poorly laid floor tiles with grout missing from a number of the tiles. The hotel is in a beautiful spot and most of the staff were attentive and engaging. The food was super. We would go back for this reason but would never stay in a 'comfy' room.

may Alexander said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th April 2019

Lovely hotel, fabulous location. Room, food, service and atmosphere all first class.

J Harper said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd November 2017

Fabulous weekend. Great room - particularly the bathroom, great staff. Fabulous breakfast! Will return.

Mr Wood said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th October 2017

Third time here speaks for itself can't wait to go back lovely refurbished room fantastic food and brilliant staff Morag the Manageress certainly knows what she is doing all in all I would have to say out o the hotels we regularly stay in this one is a big contender for being our favourite can't finish this review without complimenting the amazing chef

Mr Wood said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th July 2017

Second visit here at Banchory Lodge first class food service and accommodation Where else could you have the best breakfast ever served to you while watching local fishermen playing and landing Salmon absolutely fabulous . evening meals are lovely with a wide range to choose from including fresh Lobster special thanks to Morag the Manageress and all her staff for a great stay you won't find a better break than this can't wait for the next time

William Craig said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th June 2017

Lovely hotel in beautiful setting. Food excellent we enjoyed our dinner on the first night and both our breakfasts.

A guest said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 23rd April 2017

Nice location, friendly staff, good food with excellent selection for breakfast. Superior room in main hotel spacious and clean but looking a bit tired.

karen cluness said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th April 2017

Superb staff who couldn't do enough to help & look after you. Fabulous dinner. Rooms are needing refurbished but very clean ! They are starting the next stage of refurb as bar / restaurant etc.. are lovely

William McMillan said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Banchory Lodge. The staff were very friendly and keen to make sure that we had an enjoyable time.The location is just perfect. Our room was in the older part of the house and could have done with a little bit of improvement by removing some of the creaks in the floorboards Also the water flow to the shower could have been stronger although we managed OK. We had both our meals there and the food and service were really good.

John Berry said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st April 2017

The setting on the River Dee was absolutely beautiful. Our room had a wonderful view of the river. The staff were so friendly and the food was delicious. We were lucky to have gorgeous weather so sat out on the terrace. A wonderful experience.

Graeme Walker said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th April 2017

Lovely Hotel with a beautiful location. Staff friendly and helpful Food excellent. Minor niggles were lack of tourist information available in room or at reception. Wi Fi and mobile signal poor away from bar area. Tea and coffee in room but strangely no biscuits

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 4th April 2017

An excellent hotel , wonderful location & staff very helpful . Food was delicious.

Karen Gammie said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th March 2017

Great hotel staf very helpful room nice and food was marvelous. Will be back.

susan graham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th March 2017

Had the best afternoon tea ever. The staff were amazing, lovely accommodation and scenery. Will definitely be back in the future.

Miller Sinclair said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th March 2017

Gorgeous hotel and stunning location. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Can't fault it

Linda Morrice said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2017

Our voucher stated a double room but when we checked into hotel we had been allocated the last available room which was a twin. However, the room was lovely. Food was excellent and the staff most attentive. A beautiful setting.

mari murdoch said...

30%
30%
30%
30%

Stayed 1st March 2017

Lovely hotel Staff excellent Could do with some tender loving care in the older rooms Fabulous setting

mari murdoch said...

30%
30%
30%
30%

Stayed 1st March 2017

Lovely hotel Staff excellent Could do with some tender loving care in the older rooms Fabulous setting