Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, Aberdeen

10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen, AB10 1WE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Dorothy Paxton said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th June 2019

Another enjoyable stay but hotel could do with a "facelift"

Brian Reid said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2019

The hotel is sited in the heart of Aberdeen and is positioned well for all amenities. The bedrooms are spacious & fitted with a large well-known shower. An excellent breakfast was served by a friendly, helpful & curtious staff.

GLENN FINNIE said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th April 2019

Recently stayed over for a Saturday night. Arrived slightly before 2pm check-in time but no issue getting to our room early. Very comfortable stay and buffet breakfast was excellent.

Graeme Nicholson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2019

Excellent location, lovely and friendly staff. The room was modern and clean, we would highly recommend this hotel.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th January 2019

We had a enjoyable stay, staff were very polite and accommodating, food was good. The room was clean, the only problems was there was only one bath towel in the toilet, and no bin in the room which I thought was a bit strange! That is why I only scored the room a eight.

FIONA STURROCK said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th December 2018

The Twin room was spacious, tidy and clean. Bathroom was also spotless, there was only 1 set of towels in the bathroom, but we did find the 2nd set in the wardrobe. We had dinner at the bistro just before we headed to the theatre , and the meal was very nice ., the young waiter seemed a little flustered but the place was busy, he was still polite and helpful Breakfast the following day was buffet style service, but there was plenty to choose from. When we were checking out reception took the time to ask us if we had enjoyed our stay and if everything was ok . If we were visiting the theatre again , i would defiantly book this hotel again as it was a very enjoyable stay

Margaret Graham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2018

Had a very relaxing weekend break.Thank you

Shona McLaren said...

34%
40%
30%
30%

Stayed 8th September 2018

Disappointed with hotel. I asked for a quiet room and was given a room just above main entrance and close to a noisy club. When I mentioned this at reception I was advised to let staff know if it didnt improve on second night and they would provide earplugs! Later I was offered a change of room but only on the floor above in the same side of hotel.

A guest said...

47%
70%
0%
70%

Stayed 9th September 2018

I am extremely disappointed with my experience at this hotel. I was given a voucher for Xmas from my Mother and it was for dinner bed and breakfast with bottle of wine on arrival. We checked in and asked if there was a specific time for dinner she had on our booking that we were through my hotel break and dinner was included. She said we could come anytime from 6-9pm and that we would receive our bottle of wine with dinner. We went down to the bistro at about 6.50. There is no one to greet you or ask room numbers etc so we took a seat. My partner went to the bar for drinks because again no one comes and asks if you would like a drink. We asked for menus and I said to the waiter do we order our dinner from the normal menu as it’s included with our room. He said that we should have been down for the pre theatre menu that is from 5-6.30. There was no mention of this at check in. My partner went to reception to sort it out. While he was doing that the waiter came ba ck and said to me in full ear shot of everyone we will do it for you which was very embarrassing like we were trying to get something we weren’t entitled to. We then asked about our wine and he said there is no wine included which we knew there was so more embarrassment. Can I also add that waiter had a very unkempt appearance his clothes were badly needing ironed. Another waiter I noticed was wearing trainers. We asked the waiter what the soup was and didn;t know and had to go and ask. He stated this was mushroom so we ordered 2 mushroom soups and the soup ended up being Butternut Squash. There was no soup spoons on table or brought to us also no dessert cutlery on table another couple had to go and ask for cutlery as well. There appears to be no basic training at all and customer service skills are lacking. We went up to our room after dinner to then be phoned to ask to go and pre authorise a card for payment as the room still had to be paid for. The receptionist on arrival had all the details of our booking and knew it was a my hotel break. I was extremely embarrassed and angry at this point and what was meant to be a relaxing night away ended up being a nightmare the hotel is run like Fawlty Towers no communication between anyone. Breakfast was just as bad. Lady behind us asked for tea and the waitress gave it to us instead. I will be emailing the hotel and expect I hear back from them about my comments

Christopher Boseley said...

50%
10%
70%
70%

Stayed 21st July 2018

Room was more like a single, very small and could hardly swing a cat. Thought this because we only had one set of towels and one cup for coffee. Needed to have a fan on all night as it was so hot in the room, no air at all. Awful night sleep as the bed was tiny and the pillows were more like pieces of paper. I thought we were given that specific room because we had purchased the stay at a discounted rate. At the end of the day we are still customers no matter how much we pay. Definitely won’t be going back. Sorry for the negative review but I thought it would help out for future bookings.

John Millie said...

95%
90%
N/A
100%

Stayed 15th June 2018

Easy to review,room ,food , and every member of staff first class will definitely be back ,this was our first time at this hotel as we go to Aberdeen quite a lot for the weekend we have stayed in a few so will recommend the Caledonian to anyone. Thank you for a lovely stay.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th May 2018

Good Hotel in great location in the heart of city.

Marie McCulloch said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th March 2018

We had a lovely break at this Hotel. it was our first trip to Aberdeen and we will be back.

Mrs Bulloch said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th March 2018

Nice hotel, recently modernised. Staff very friendly

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th July 2017

Older elegant hotel in city centre. Rooms nicely decorated, although getting a bit old in decor. Breakfast immaculate, with a large selection of hot and cold dishes and beverages. Location right in middle of city centre with walking distance to everything. Even so, the hotel was still nice and quiet.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th August 2017

Great location, and excellent value for a city centre hotel.

A guest said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 19th August 2017

Access up front steps were difficult for us older generation but nothing can be done about that so this is no complaint for an otherwise very nice hotel Pluses were The room, The view from the room and the location, The restaurant was good but not exceptional.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th August 2017

This hotel is in a good location and has a name you can trust. I have stayed in Mercure hotels before and not been disappointed. This was no exception with a nice size room and view of the park opposite. Breakfast was buffet style and of good quality, staff friendly. Car park was charged at £10 per day so a little steep but no complaints.

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 19th July 2017

Just back from a wonderful trip to Aberdeen for my son's graduation and wanted to share my really positive experience at the Mercury made very special thanks to the tireless hard work and attention to detail of Chris Oliva the assistant manager. Nothing was too ouch trouble for him - from sorting out an early check in for one of the 3 rooms booked so we could change for the ceremony, to working behind the bar, to sorting out the small heating issue on what was a very hot day to remaining cheerful at all times he was always on top of things. The rooms were perfect with comfortable beds. It was a centrally located hotel with attentive staff - well worth a visit

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 30th August 2017

If you want to visit Aberdeen, this is an excellent choice! A classical building facing beautiful gardens. You are not far from the bus/railway station and you have the main street (Union Street) literally just around the corner. Breakfast and other meals are taken at the bar/restaurant and they are tasty and fully satisfying. Have a drink and relax before diner or after! The staff is very attentive and competent.