Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, Aberdeen

10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen, AB10 1WE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

78%

ian moir said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2021

Great stay good size twin room

Christine Kilkenny said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2021

The hotel is in a good location staff very nice hotel clean and the food good will come back again the only thing was we were at the back of the hotel with no view but as it was only a couple of nights it didn't matter.

Yvonne Stuart said...

84%
100%
70%
80%

Stayed 10th September 2021

Loved my 2 night stay at the Mercure. A bit short staffed on Friday night but the young girl on reception worked her little socks off. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others as its so central

Yvonne McNulty said...

50%
60%
70%
20%

Stayed 9th September 2021

Unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay, firstly the hotel is opposite heavy building works, also opposite the night club finished at 2am. So we were looking forward to oursleep second night. Breakfast on the first morning was lovely, dinner was average. Then 4. 30 am we were woken up by the rain poring in the bed room, had to be moved, so they down graded us, said they did not have another room similar to the one we were in, I went to reception at breakfast, to complain, eventually we got a room same standard as we paid for, breakfast was below standard at the weekend didn't enjoy it at all so over all we didn't enjoy our break.

Margaret Graham said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Reception staff were a credit to the hotel. Excellent warm welcome. Room was cleaned to a high standard. Breakfast food quality was very good. Dinner chicken supreme was tasty but not a supreme Spaghetti was dry and lacking in taste

gary miller said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mercury Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. Arrived at lunchtime and managed, luckily, to get into the hotel car park which has very limited space. If unsuccessful parking there, the alternative is a public 24 hour multi storey quite a distance away and very expensive. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly. The dining facilities are basic but adequate and I could not fault the quality of the food. I would like to have seen more information in the room about the hotel facilities available and it is impossible to work out how to access the free WiFi without finding a staff member to assist. However, I would certainly go back.

Isabella Neil said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th August 2021

We were treated very well by staff at the Mercury Caledonian hotel and special mention goes to Enge ( hope name spelt correctly) she gave us first class service in both the restaurant and bar area and went out of her way to ensure we were served quickly and efficiently. We enjoyed our 3 days in Aberdeen and certainly will not hesitate to come back to this central hotel. Mrs Isabella Neil

Jacqueline Rosser said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2021

Lovely hotel with lovely staff and lovely food. Would definitely go back and would recommend this hotel for the service and location.

Rosemary Arthur said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2021

Bit disappointed that breakfast tea and coffee served in paper cups. Not what was expected. Also evening meal served in bar area. However cannot fault the food . Service for evening meal was great but breakfast staff almost non existent.

A guest said...

57%
50%
40%
80%

Stayed 19th August 2021

Awaiting check in woman in front of me complaining of given a key and walking in on someone, as it was their room, then after complaining given key to a dirty unserviced room....not what you want to hear when checking in.. However my room was ok, tired but comfortable, but noise from fans outside was awful as windows didn't shut properly.... Cleanliness was not great... There was some straw from someone's shoe on the floor in stairwell when we arrived and was still there 4 days later, no evidence of vacuuming.. The food was good, however the bar and dining area was a soulless place, no atmosphere and slow service. Breakfast was plentiful, self service affair. Staff seemed under pressure but tried their best. Was pleased to leave.

Anne Pike said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2021

Satisfactory

Kayleigh Connolly said...

60%
50%
50%
80%

Stayed 31st July 2021

Room was quite basic no TV remote, bed not attached to headboard on wall so moved when sat on it. About an hour wait for food and long time to wait at reception on staff (I know there is covid so it is understandable) wouldn't stay again but all staff were lovely

stephen mcguire said...

60%
70%
60%
50%

Stayed 23rd July 2021

Nice room, window frames could do with a lick of paint, iffy service in the restaurant on Friday, starters wrong twice, steaks overdone, no desserts as the chef had left early, over 2 hours for two courses. Would stay again, despite minor hiccups

stephen mcguire said...

60%
70%
60%
50%

Stayed 23rd July 2021

Nice room, window frames could do with a lick of paint, iffy service in the restaurant on Friday, starters wrong twice, steaks overdone, no desserts as the chef had left early, over 2 hours for two courses. Would stay again, despite minor hiccups

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th July 2021

Very nice hotel with lovely room.

A guest said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2021

Hotel is lovely but a bit soulless due to covid. My biggest problem was we upgraded as we could have robes slippers snd more amenities. When we arrived at checking they didn’t know what to do with our voucher so nothing was marked to our room. Dinner was charged to us. This.was sorted out but not great The fridge in the room was grubby. The fan had the back missing and was dangerous. The plug in the sink was broken and difficult to use. There were no robes nor slippers due to infection control and covid… this was only noted when we used the QR code to see hotel details. Overall we paid £40 for 2 bottles of water and a bigger room….

A guest said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2021

Hotel is lovely but a bit soulless due to covid. My biggest problem was we upgraded as we could have robes slippers snd more amenities. When we arrived at checking they didn’t know what to do with our voucher so nothing was marked to our room. Dinner was charged to us. This.was sorted out but not great The fridge in the room was grubby. The fan had the back missing and was dangerous. The plug in the sink was broken and difficult to use. There were no robes nor slippers due to infection control and covid… this was only noted when we used the QR code to see hotel details. Overall we paid £40 for 2 bottles of water and a bigger room….

A guest said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 3rd July 2021

Just opened after lock down, the hotel was lacking staff to offer a reasonable service. Food was very ordinary but again, it may be fairer to have been in the hotel prior to covid to judge properly.The staff that were on duty were pleasant enough. but just not enough of them. No draught beers etc but bottles were available. Pricier than the establishment facilities offered. I would not class this hotel as 4 star, but with the deal through My Hotel Break it was good enough value for money.

Avril Cromarty said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 2nd March 2020

Our welcome to the hotel was excellent and the fact that we were upgraded to a lovely suite was a bonus. The room was lovely and the only complaint would be that it was cold. Having single glazed windows is probably the reason for that. Once we got the radiator turned on and the curtains closed the temperature rose. We ate in the bar as part of our excellent break deal and the food was fine and portions huge! Breakfast was good. The waiting staff were kind and gave us a table in the buffet room which saved my husband having to use the stairs. Check out was efficient and the receptionist was very friendly. The building is absolutely beautiful inside and there has been great attention to keeping it in it's original state.

Luke Embleton said...

80%
80%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 14th February 2020

When we first entered our room our first impressions were "wow" this is lovely. But on going into the bathroom we noticed it wasn't quite the same standard as the rest of the room. Parts of it were a bit grubby and the shower wasn't very good.

Brian Reid said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2019

The hotel is sited in the heart of Aberdeen and is positioned well for all amenities. The bedrooms are spacious & fitted with a large well-known shower. An excellent breakfast was served by a friendly, helpful & curtious staff.

GLENN FINNIE said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th April 2019

Recently stayed over for a Saturday night. Arrived slightly before 2pm check-in time but no issue getting to our room early. Very comfortable stay and buffet breakfast was excellent.

Graeme Nicholson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2019

Excellent location, lovely and friendly staff. The room was modern and clean, we would highly recommend this hotel.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th January 2019

We had a enjoyable stay, staff were very polite and accommodating, food was good. The room was clean, the only problems was there was only one bath towel in the toilet, and no bin in the room which I thought was a bit strange! That is why I only scored the room a eight.

FIONA STURROCK said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th December 2018

The Twin room was spacious, tidy and clean. Bathroom was also spotless, there was only 1 set of towels in the bathroom, but we did find the 2nd set in the wardrobe. We had dinner at the bistro just before we headed to the theatre , and the meal was very nice ., the young waiter seemed a little flustered but the place was busy, he was still polite and helpful Breakfast the following day was buffet style service, but there was plenty to choose from. When we were checking out reception took the time to ask us if we had enjoyed our stay and if everything was ok . If we were visiting the theatre again , i would defiantly book this hotel again as it was a very enjoyable stay