Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, Aberdeen

10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen, AB10 1WE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th July 2021

Very nice hotel with lovely room.

A guest said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2021

Hotel is lovely but a bit soulless due to covid. My biggest problem was we upgraded as we could have robes slippers snd more amenities. When we arrived at checking they didn’t know what to do with our voucher so nothing was marked to our room. Dinner was charged to us. This.was sorted out but not great The fridge in the room was grubby. The fan had the back missing and was dangerous. The plug in the sink was broken and difficult to use. There were no robes nor slippers due to infection control and covid… this was only noted when we used the QR code to see hotel details. Overall we paid £40 for 2 bottles of water and a bigger room….

A guest said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2021

Hotel is lovely but a bit soulless due to covid. My biggest problem was we upgraded as we could have robes slippers snd more amenities. When we arrived at checking they didn’t know what to do with our voucher so nothing was marked to our room. Dinner was charged to us. This.was sorted out but not great The fridge in the room was grubby. The fan had the back missing and was dangerous. The plug in the sink was broken and difficult to use. There were no robes nor slippers due to infection control and covid… this was only noted when we used the QR code to see hotel details. Overall we paid £40 for 2 bottles of water and a bigger room….

A guest said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 3rd July 2021

Just opened after lock down, the hotel was lacking staff to offer a reasonable service. Food was very ordinary but again, it may be fairer to have been in the hotel prior to covid to judge properly.The staff that were on duty were pleasant enough. but just not enough of them. No draught beers etc but bottles were available. Pricier than the establishment facilities offered. I would not class this hotel as 4 star, but with the deal through My Hotel Break it was good enough value for money.

Avril Cromarty said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 2nd March 2020

Our welcome to the hotel was excellent and the fact that we were upgraded to a lovely suite was a bonus. The room was lovely and the only complaint would be that it was cold. Having single glazed windows is probably the reason for that. Once we got the radiator turned on and the curtains closed the temperature rose. We ate in the bar as part of our excellent break deal and the food was fine and portions huge! Breakfast was good. The waiting staff were kind and gave us a table in the buffet room which saved my husband having to use the stairs. Check out was efficient and the receptionist was very friendly. The building is absolutely beautiful inside and there has been great attention to keeping it in it's original state.

Luke Embleton said...

80%
80%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 14th February 2020

When we first entered our room our first impressions were "wow" this is lovely. But on going into the bathroom we noticed it wasn't quite the same standard as the rest of the room. Parts of it were a bit grubby and the shower wasn't very good.

Brian Reid said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2019

The hotel is sited in the heart of Aberdeen and is positioned well for all amenities. The bedrooms are spacious & fitted with a large well-known shower. An excellent breakfast was served by a friendly, helpful & curtious staff.

GLENN FINNIE said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th April 2019

Recently stayed over for a Saturday night. Arrived slightly before 2pm check-in time but no issue getting to our room early. Very comfortable stay and buffet breakfast was excellent.

Graeme Nicholson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2019

Excellent location, lovely and friendly staff. The room was modern and clean, we would highly recommend this hotel.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th January 2019

We had a enjoyable stay, staff were very polite and accommodating, food was good. The room was clean, the only problems was there was only one bath towel in the toilet, and no bin in the room which I thought was a bit strange! That is why I only scored the room a eight.

FIONA STURROCK said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th December 2018

The Twin room was spacious, tidy and clean. Bathroom was also spotless, there was only 1 set of towels in the bathroom, but we did find the 2nd set in the wardrobe. We had dinner at the bistro just before we headed to the theatre , and the meal was very nice ., the young waiter seemed a little flustered but the place was busy, he was still polite and helpful Breakfast the following day was buffet style service, but there was plenty to choose from. When we were checking out reception took the time to ask us if we had enjoyed our stay and if everything was ok . If we were visiting the theatre again , i would defiantly book this hotel again as it was a very enjoyable stay

Margaret Graham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2018

Had a very relaxing weekend break.Thank you

John Millie said...

95%
90%
N/A
100%

Stayed 15th June 2018

Easy to review,room ,food , and every member of staff first class will definitely be back ,this was our first time at this hotel as we go to Aberdeen quite a lot for the weekend we have stayed in a few so will recommend the Caledonian to anyone. Thank you for a lovely stay.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th May 2018

Good Hotel in great location in the heart of city.

Marie McCulloch said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th March 2018

We had a lovely break at this Hotel. it was our first trip to Aberdeen and we will be back.

Mrs Bulloch said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th March 2018

Nice hotel, recently modernised. Staff very friendly

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th July 2017

Older elegant hotel in city centre. Rooms nicely decorated, although getting a bit old in decor. Breakfast immaculate, with a large selection of hot and cold dishes and beverages. Location right in middle of city centre with walking distance to everything. Even so, the hotel was still nice and quiet.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th August 2017

Great location, and excellent value for a city centre hotel.

A guest said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 19th August 2017

Access up front steps were difficult for us older generation but nothing can be done about that so this is no complaint for an otherwise very nice hotel Pluses were The room, The view from the room and the location, The restaurant was good but not exceptional.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th August 2017

This hotel is in a good location and has a name you can trust. I have stayed in Mercure hotels before and not been disappointed. This was no exception with a nice size room and view of the park opposite. Breakfast was buffet style and of good quality, staff friendly. Car park was charged at £10 per day so a little steep but no complaints.

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 19th July 2017

Just back from a wonderful trip to Aberdeen for my son's graduation and wanted to share my really positive experience at the Mercury made very special thanks to the tireless hard work and attention to detail of Chris Oliva the assistant manager. Nothing was too ouch trouble for him - from sorting out an early check in for one of the 3 rooms booked so we could change for the ceremony, to working behind the bar, to sorting out the small heating issue on what was a very hot day to remaining cheerful at all times he was always on top of things. The rooms were perfect with comfortable beds. It was a centrally located hotel with attentive staff - well worth a visit

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 30th August 2017

If you want to visit Aberdeen, this is an excellent choice! A classical building facing beautiful gardens. You are not far from the bus/railway station and you have the main street (Union Street) literally just around the corner. Breakfast and other meals are taken at the bar/restaurant and they are tasty and fully satisfying. Have a drink and relax before diner or after! The staff is very attentive and competent.