Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Rosslea Hall Hotel, Helensburgh

Ferry Road, Rhu, Helensburgh, G848NF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Laura Roma Caldwell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th September 2022

We really enjoyed our stay at the Rosslea. Our room overlooked the Firth of Clyde and the weather was kind so the view was amazing. Staf very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and nicely served and everything was available that you could want for breakfast. The room had all the facilities and tea & £coffee too. TV had Netflix and internet was fast and effective. The only complaint was the sign pointing to where the sign was could have been more prominent as it is only a small board and is easily missed. We did get lost.

gerry mccanny said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 3rd September 2022

nice hotel great location, its friendly staff its best asset. We have been here some time ago however this time our mobility is very poor and we booked a disabled room ,slightly tired decor and the room had a slight slope to the floor ,a bit disconcerting underfoot. room is big and given its for 2 people there is only one chair . The menu in resturaunt is a bit restricted and never changed over the 4 night we were there. We were there on dinner bed and breakfast terms with an allowance of £20,00 per person per night the pricing structure is such that it does not readily cover a 2 course meal and the beef dish alone exceeds it. If we return it would only be 1 --2 nights at most as the menu does not vary.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st August 2022

A comfortable and enjoyable stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. A few minor maintenance issues but nothing to spoil the visit.

Pat McBain said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th August 2022

When we arrived the guy on reception was really good and informative the hotel in need of a bit of updating but was clean. The room was fine although had to ask for soap for washing hands which felt strange after the last couple of years. The food was excellent. Only complaint in the dining room was at breakfast had to ask 3 different people for milk and another customer gave us theirs in the end. Overall enjoyed the experience and would go back

Bernadette Marr said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 10th August 2022

Hotel was comfortable, only issue was no lift which I expected n 4 star hotel but accept I should have checked. Rooms well furnished and beds comfy. Outside garden was excellent in very hot weather and staff service very good in restaurant, bars and reception. Minimal choice at dinner, one evening just ok but second evening same menu but much improved, however fairly basic breakfast meant did not leave gry but kitchen dealing with lots of guests and waiting staff did provide good service. To be fair for deal received break was adequate.

elaine white said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 28th July 2022

Very nice hotel, rooms nice enough but could do with sprucing up. Lots of dust at top of curtains, paintwork a bit tired. Restaurant was lovely, food really good, service couldn’t be faulted. Would return, hotel is in a lovely spot and gardens looked beautiful, too wet when we were there to explore properly

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 25th July 2022

Well situated hotel with excellent views. The only disadvantages were the lack of staff both at breakfast and dinner which caused long delays and also, the choice of main courses at dinner were restrictive - I saw another review regarding this and a response from the hotel that, over their three menus they had thirty choices - this may well be the case but only one menu was offered in the Garden Restaurant. A lesser problem was the fact that there was no lift and this could cause us problems at a later date. We would certainly hope to visit the hotel again but probably only on a bed and breakfast basis.

Sybil Jones said...

57%
80%
90%
0%

Stayed 4th July 2022

The staff were very pleasant. Our room was up on the 3rd floor and (as far as I am aware) there is no lift so we had to carry our bags up. We managed, (we are in our 70's and fairly fit) but as the hotel was not full, I don't understand why we were up there. The beds were comfortable and the room was a good size with a lovely view of the water. The flush on the toilet was extremely stiff, and we found it difficult. My husband ordered the burger for dinner and he enjoyed it. I ordered the chicken curry and was bitterly disappointed. It looked lovely but the chicken was tasteless and the "curry" sauce was tasteless. The worst "curry" I have ever encountered. We both ordered the apple pastry for dessert and neither of us enjoyed it. It was presented beautifully but the pastry was unbelievably tough and the apples sliced so thinly we could not taste them. All in all my husband's dinner was 50/50 and mine was terrible. Breakfast was quite good except for the scrambled eggs which (again) were tasteless. I shall not return nor shall I recommend the Rosslea. Very disappointing.

A guest said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th May 2022

Hotel guest room very outdated. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Expensive. Dinner menu expensive and not much choice. Breakfast shambolic - juice jugs would not open, no cereal/fruit plates and when asked for took ages to come. They serve you your cooked breakfast but you wouldn’t need to be in a hurry out, as they took ages to take our order. Food was good though

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st August 2020

.

Carolyn Reilly said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th June 2021

Spent 2 very relaxing nights in Rosslea Hall hotel which is in a peaceful location overlooking the Clyde. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Our room overlooked the garden with the Clyde in the background. There are hand sanitisers throughout the hotel. All staff members were friendly and attentive. Special mention to the chef who prepared a delicious meal for me when nothing suited from the menu. Definitely return. Highly recommend.

Janette Glancy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th December 2020

Lovely room and food was excellent.

Lorraine Wilkie said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2020

Had a lovely stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was fabulous. Definitely recommend this Hotel

Elizabeth Matthews said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th September 2020

We had a great time here. The staff were very helpful; the room was clean and had a fantastic view over the Loch. The food, whilst basic (probably a reduced menu due to Covid) was excellent quality and very reasonably priced. Overall, a lovely short break.

KENNETH WALLACE said...

70%
60%
60%
90%

Stayed 4th September 2020

In our opinion this hotel does not merit 4 stars. We stayed for two nights - we appreciate we are in a "new norm" but when myself and my wife arrived at the hotel it was like a ghost town with not many guests about. We like to go to the bar for an hour of an afternoon - we would found the bar not manned and you had to wait until staff came off the reception. The bar prices were outrageous (£6 pint of lager + £8.75 lrg glass of wine). Meals were excellent and we could not fault the food. Room was a bit dated and need of TLC but clean ( we were advised it would not be serviced during our stay but we could ask for replenishments if required) We had to book for dinner / tables were social distanced / menu ok (same menu each night due to situation we are in / staff kind of attentive. There was no atmosphere in the dining room or bar (we were told not allowed to play music) (too quiet to the point we just went back to our room). When it came to breakfast we felt it was very busy at 9.30 a.m. Staff couldn''t cope and no room between tables to social distance. We felt breakfast was so disorganised, we appreciate the hotel cannot guess when guests are going to arrive but if we booked for dinner - why not breakfast. Guests were touching too many things at breakfast time and in our opinion this could increase the spread of the virus. (Butter was on table uncovered / salt cannisters empty (people lifting ones from other tables / milk jug not full ). We had to ask for coffee refills / menus / in fact we had to ask for most things (staff not very attentive). Think this hotel could do with some refurbrishment and we feel it only merits a 3 stars

T Lannigan said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 4th September 2020

Very nice hotel. Menu restricted possibly due to space issues in kitchen possibly due to covid

Anne McWilliam said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 30th August 2020

Very pleasant stay, staff were very friendly, efficient and eager to please, limited menu for dinner and the same both nights , hotel in a good location although not well signposted.

Nichola Reid said...

70%
70%
60%
80%

Stayed 30th August 2020

All in all it was OK. The rooms are a bit tired and could do with a bit of updating. At least this was the case for our room. The thing that really annoyed me and may have little effect on others was the bar. They were not adding fruit to drink apparently because of covid. The fruit and tongs were there as there was a member of staff standing drinking a drink with a slice of lemon. I really couldn't enjoy a drink because of this. I can't really understand why my husband could have a slice of lemon with his dinner but I couldn't have 1 with my gin and tonic. I know a lot of people wouldn't care about this but for me it made a difference. We were sat right next to a very annoying man at dinner (obviously outwith hotel control). He sat all through dinner talking and laughing to himself whilsching videos loudly on his phone. As we are currently not allowed background music there was nothing to tune him out and feel the staff should of stepped in and asked him to turn his phone down or wear earphones as we were all in one of the smaller rooms. Breakfast was lovely. There were 2 members of staff on, the female was sitting people down and explaining what was on offer. Unfortunately we were met by the male who just pointed us in the direction of the tables and seemed very disinterested. We then had to order what we wanted when we hadn't been told what was on offer as there were no menus handed out. I have never left a bad review and don't really feel this is completely bad I just think there are a lot of inconsistencies in the hotel. Some staff were so friendly and paid attention and others just didn't.

gillian blyde said...

74%
40%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2020

Very helpful staff but very young. Room was a disappointment not the same standard that was on the web site, tiles in bathroom cracked and coming up, damp round the window's, the room looked unloved, only one gin glass in the hotel, the back gardens are very over grown, the outside could do with a little TLC, The staff made our stay thank you guys.

Karen forsyth said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 2nd August 2020

First time at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised! Lovely hotel with lovely views. Would return again

susanna mcginlay said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th July 2020

Had a lovely time staff couldn't have been any more helpful

John McLardy said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th March 2020

Excellent hotel great staff great food great location. Would konot hesitate to stay here again

mary johnston said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

Stayed at this hotel a few times now staff very friendly and helpful. Food in restaurant very good. We were given an upgraded room that looked onto the water , lovely views, large room, bed very comfy. Great choice at breakfast. Only negative thing to say is, when restaurant is quiet and few diners in,some background music would be nice.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th November 2019

Lovely hotel with lots of character,we were lucky to have a room with amazing views,staff were so nice and helpful nothing was too much trouble,Food was delicious and well presented.Rooms were clean and bed were comfy,well worth a visit

A guest said...

47%
10%
50%
80%

Stayed 14th September 2019

Firstly not very well signposted almost missed it. Nice hotel but are needing more staff. The bar wasn’t manned and if you wanted a drink had to t for member of staff. Like time in between courses but here was extreme. A couple joked with us as we left dining room think we will still be here when you come down for breakfast. The staff were overworked in my opinion. Reception staff could be more friendly. Didn’t find gentleman at reception not overly receptive. Nice hotel food was nice would we go back no.