Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Rosslea Hall Hotel, Helensburgh

Ferry Road, Rhu, Helensburgh, G848NF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st August 2020

.

Carolyn Reilly said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th June 2021

Spent 2 very relaxing nights in Rosslea Hall hotel which is in a peaceful location overlooking the Clyde. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Our room overlooked the garden with the Clyde in the background. There are hand sanitisers throughout the hotel. All staff members were friendly and attentive. Special mention to the chef who prepared a delicious meal for me when nothing suited from the menu. Definitely return. Highly recommend.

Janette Glancy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th December 2020

Lovely room and food was excellent.

Lorraine Wilkie said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2020

Had a lovely stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was fabulous. Definitely recommend this Hotel

Lorraine Wilkie said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2020

Had a lovely stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was fabulous. Definitely recommend this Hotel

Lorraine Wilkie said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2020

Had a lovely stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was fabulous. Definitely recommend this Hotel

Lorraine Wilkie said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2020

Had a lovely stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was fabulous. Definitely recommend this Hotel

Elizabeth Matthews said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th September 2020

We had a great time here. The staff were very helpful; the room was clean and had a fantastic view over the Loch. The food, whilst basic (probably a reduced menu due to Covid) was excellent quality and very reasonably priced. Overall, a lovely short break.

A guest said...

60%
70%
60%
50%

Stayed 16th September 2020

Nice hotel. Room needs an update and a good deep clean eg curtains were stained. Food was a huge disappointment and definitely not worth paying full price for an extremely limited menu. Location is stunning and the staff are lovely.

KENNETH WALLACE said...

70%
60%
60%
90%

Stayed 4th September 2020

In our opinion this hotel does not merit 4 stars. We stayed for two nights - we appreciate we are in a "new norm" but when myself and my wife arrived at the hotel it was like a ghost town with not many guests about. We like to go to the bar for an hour of an afternoon - we would found the bar not manned and you had to wait until staff came off the reception. The bar prices were outrageous (£6 pint of lager + £8.75 lrg glass of wine). Meals were excellent and we could not fault the food. Room was a bit dated and need of TLC but clean ( we were advised it would not be serviced during our stay but we could ask for replenishments if required) We had to book for dinner / tables were social distanced / menu ok (same menu each night due to situation we are in / staff kind of attentive. There was no atmosphere in the dining room or bar (we were told not allowed to play music) (too quiet to the point we just went back to our room). When it came to breakfast we felt it was very busy at 9.30 a.m. Staff couldn''t cope and no room between tables to social distance. We felt breakfast was so disorganised, we appreciate the hotel cannot guess when guests are going to arrive but if we booked for dinner - why not breakfast. Guests were touching too many things at breakfast time and in our opinion this could increase the spread of the virus. (Butter was on table uncovered / salt cannisters empty (people lifting ones from other tables / milk jug not full ). We had to ask for coffee refills / menus / in fact we had to ask for most things (staff not very attentive). Think this hotel could do with some refurbrishment and we feel it only merits a 3 stars

T Lannigan said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 4th September 2020

Very nice hotel. Menu restricted possibly due to space issues in kitchen possibly due to covid

Anne McWilliam said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 30th August 2020

Very pleasant stay, staff were very friendly, efficient and eager to please, limited menu for dinner and the same both nights , hotel in a good location although not well signposted.

Nichola Reid said...

70%
70%
60%
80%

Stayed 30th August 2020

All in all it was OK. The rooms are a bit tired and could do with a bit of updating. At least this was the case for our room. The thing that really annoyed me and may have little effect on others was the bar. They were not adding fruit to drink apparently because of covid. The fruit and tongs were there as there was a member of staff standing drinking a drink with a slice of lemon. I really couldn't enjoy a drink because of this. I can't really understand why my husband could have a slice of lemon with his dinner but I couldn't have 1 with my gin and tonic. I know a lot of people wouldn't care about this but for me it made a difference. We were sat right next to a very annoying man at dinner (obviously outwith hotel control). He sat all through dinner talking and laughing to himself whilsching videos loudly on his phone. As we are currently not allowed background music there was nothing to tune him out and feel the staff should of stepped in and asked him to turn his phone down or wear earphones as we were all in one of the smaller rooms. Breakfast was lovely. There were 2 members of staff on, the female was sitting people down and explaining what was on offer. Unfortunately we were met by the male who just pointed us in the direction of the tables and seemed very disinterested. We then had to order what we wanted when we hadn't been told what was on offer as there were no menus handed out. I have never left a bad review and don't really feel this is completely bad I just think there are a lot of inconsistencies in the hotel. Some staff were so friendly and paid attention and others just didn't.

A guest said...

57%
40%
50%
80%

Stayed 18th August 2020

Booked through my hotel breaks , first room we got there was a very musty smell in the room , we are a couple and had one seat in the room , we refused the the room and asked to be moved, we were told no other room was available other than the suite, which was a lot mor e per night, we came to a deal and stayed in the suite, very spacious, the bed mattress should have been replaced five year ago , disgrace you could feel every spring worst night sleep ever .wont go back ,sorry

gillian blyde said...

74%
40%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2020

Very helpful staff but very young. Room was a disappointment not the same standard that was on the web site, tiles in bathroom cracked and coming up, damp round the window's, the room looked unloved, only one gin glass in the hotel, the back gardens are very over grown, the outside could do with a little TLC, The staff made our stay thank you guys.

James Craig said...

60%
60%
80%
40%

Stayed 6th August 2020

At £109 for DBB, the most we have ever paid with myhotelbreak, we thought this deal may be a wee bit special. It was not. No room upgrade as we were told the hotel was full and had been for the past two weeks. Ok. Went to the lounge bar for a pre dinner drink. Not a drop of draught beer from the array of pumps! Went to the restaurant for dinner. Menu was very limited. No Gluten Free options, so my wife had a problem. She is very resilient and managed to order something with the help of the waitress and chef. No sweet on offer. We were told that throughout the COVID-19 pandemic the hotel had been open for key workers but some staff were still on furlough. Some probably should have been back, as the receptionist was also our waitress and she was also in the bar in her spare time preparing drinks. No issues with any of the personnel, especially the multi skilled receptionist. She was very cheery and helpful. All in all, not a great experience and not to be repeated.

Karen forsyth said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 2nd August 2020

First time at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised! Lovely hotel with lovely views. Would return again

A guest said...

60%
40%
60%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2020

Need to update COVID response on their website re cleaning of rooms and leaving 72hrs between customers! Just out of shielding and very anxious about things, felt reassured by their website. However we checked in on time at their timed check in, paid on arrival and allocated our room. Unfortunately we walked into a room which had not been made up, bed unmade and bucket full of empty beer bottles . When we returned to reception told that housekeeping hadn’t got there yet and if we gave them 30-40 minutes room would be ready!!!!!!. To say this heightened our anxiety is an understatement After we asked is that enough time and referred to their website we were told we could wait out the room as long as we wanted!?!!?They gave us a one complimentary drink and we sat in their outdoor area for the next 45 mins until they told us the room was ready. Beautiful outdoor area needing a bit of tidy up and tlc for paying customers. Manager Lynn did make our evening meal secluded and sat and spoke with us at the evening meal and ensured the rest of our stay was safe for us. Food was excellent and beautiful setting steps away from the Firth of Clyde.

Edward Devine said...

7%
10%
10%
0%

Stayed 1st August 2020

Absolutely terrible from start to finish cracked and broken tiles in the bathroom food tasteless and little of it ......breakfast awful.

susanna mcginlay said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th July 2020

Had a lovely time staff couldn't have been any more helpful

John McLardy said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th March 2020

Excellent hotel great staff great food great location. Would konot hesitate to stay here again

mary johnston said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

Stayed at this hotel a few times now staff very friendly and helpful. Food in restaurant very good. We were given an upgraded room that looked onto the water , lovely views, large room, bed very comfy. Great choice at breakfast. Only negative thing to say is, when restaurant is quiet and few diners in,some background music would be nice.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th November 2019

Lovely hotel with lots of character,we were lucky to have a room with amazing views,staff were so nice and helpful nothing was too much trouble,Food was delicious and well presented.Rooms were clean and bed were comfy,well worth a visit

A guest said...

40%
70%
10%
N/A

Stayed 30th October 2019

Hotel did NOT match 4 strvice . Lacking in staff levels at reception and bar area . Enjoyed stay nice comfortable room. They also lack bar experience. All drinks poured when staff had back to customer. Also Didn’t know difference between red and white wine glasses . Also no brandy glasses . So falls short of what is expected ted from a 4 Star rating .

A guest said...

47%
10%
50%
80%

Stayed 14th September 2019

Firstly not very well signposted almost missed it. Nice hotel but are needing more staff. The bar wasn’t manned and if you wanted a drink had to t for member of staff. Like time in between courses but here was extreme. A couple joked with us as we left dining room think we will still be here when you come down for breakfast. The staff were overworked in my opinion. Reception staff could be more friendly. Didn’t find gentleman at reception not overly receptive. Nice hotel food was nice would we go back no.