Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Rosslea Hall Hotel, Helensburgh

Ferry Road, Rhu, Helensburgh, G848NF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

David Gilchrist said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 29th November 2018

Very good hotel, great outlook, dinner was excellent, chef is a great asset to the hotel, room 8 very good n spacious with a great view over the sea, will definitely be returning in the future

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2018

We had a very comfortable stay Staff very attentive and food was very good both the Garden room and the Fruin Lounge

Mr Palmer said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th October 2018

Only critisism is that sign postage leading up to hotel approaching from east is negligible if any and the actual signage to the entrance is not large or lit up enough to announce your arrival especially when approaching. Entrance is on a bend therefore plenty notice required. Drove past it and also missed it on return . It was dark which didn't help. Excellent Hotel lovely room though to warm but after altering heater thermostat much better. Bathroom Towel rail too hot and cant be turned down. Staff were extremely friendly, efficient and nothing too much effort. especially David the Events manager. Food was excellent and though only pre paid 1st Night evening meal eating from the alcarte menu decided to stay for second evening using the main menu rather than the alcart to give variance to previous nights choice. Overall very enjoyable stay

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th September 2018

Booked a stay at rosslea hall hotel for2 days expecting to have a quiet and relaxing time. Unfortunately when we arrived we were met with a wedding party which we had no knowledge of. We gave it the benefit of perhaps we would be segregated from it alas no had to endure the reception which was directly below us till 1 in the morning. Although the wedding was over there was noise for another hour or so. On checking out today we were told at reception that another couple had booked through your company and had been told of the wedding booking only on arriving at the hotel I could not fault the food or staff or the initial booking just the fact to know you had a choice of knowing this wedding was on and you could make a choice from there whether you go ahead or not

James Mckellar said...

50%
20%
50%
80%

Stayed 7th September 2018

The first night was fine, it was piece full and quite the bar Bar man's service was excellent. However the second day was a nightmare. There was a wedding on and our room was directly above the area were the guest would smoke. The noise was normal for a wedding but terrible for a guest, The music from the party went on until 1pm and was far too loud for the type of Hotel. I could tell you every song the dj played it was that loud. The guests were still making too much noise at 2.30 am. The bed was the worst bed I have ever tried to sleep in. I wanted to go home by 6pm. We went there for no other reason than to get a bit of piece and quite. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were ok.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th June 2018

Excellent hotel, staff professional and very helpful.Food exceptional.

Raymond Palmer said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th April 2018

Been many times to this hotel and the standard of and friendliness of staff keeps us going back.

margaret mcalley said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 5th April 2018

Enjoyed our recent stay here hotel in lovely setting overlooking the Firth of Clyde, staff very helpful and accomodating ,evening meal first class breakfast had everything on offer you could wish for all in all excellent, unfortunately our room was overlooking the back of the building but that was the only drawback.

Morag Mackay said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 1st April 2018

Overall a good stay but hotel in need of some attention (think it has just been bought over this year). Pillows too small and saggy, floorboards need to be sorted as very creaky in places. Food mixed - my choices were excellent but partner' "steak pie" was mainly stewed sausage and some steak with a bit of puff pastry on the side. Service pleasant but slow. Gravel car park shared with houses a bit noisy at 6 am and (one they can do nothing about) the bells of the church sound every quarter of an hour all night long. Is double glaze but so warm we had to leave windows open.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th December 2017

Very good hotel, with excellent staff.

Douglas Ross said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st December 2017

Great deal great hotel hidden gem food fantastic great area staff fantastic will be back.

Julie Munro said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st December 2017

Friendly staff clean rooms good food

Margaret Dick said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2017

Lovely hotel fantastic food and great service

Garfield Prentice said...

57%
10%
70%
90%

Stayed 1st October 2017

On arrival the room I had reserved had been set up as a double room rather than as a twin room as requested. The receptionist indicated that there was only member of staff at work who change how the room was arranged, so that didn't happen. We were offered an alternative room (best described as a family room with a double bed and two single beds).Accepting this room seemed to be the option, so we agreed. However, during the nigher started dripping from the ceiling on to one of the single beds (thankfully not the one occupied). Clearly there is a problem with maintenance at this hotel. This explains the very low score attributed to the room. Other than that, the room was only of average quality. On a positive note the evening dinner was excellent. Breakfast was average. The receptionist was very engaging and did try to resolve the initial issue with the bedroom.

gerry mccanny said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd September 2017

A wee break here , lovely setting , nice size of hotel ,staff were attentive and friendly, a lift would be an asset but not easy to install I suppose. there was a wedding on the saay , we were on our own in the dining room but service was quick and the food was well prepared and presented. Brilliant powerful shower in bathroom. views over the Clyde and Gareloch were restful.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th July 2017

Our break was spoiled as a wedding was on and we were not allowed access to the garden area. our room was above garden so could not sleep for noise from wedding guests. feel we should have been informed of this before booking

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th June 2017

Would definitely recommend this hotel. The room was good and the food first class.

Robert Brown said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 16th April 2017

Lovely hotel in fantastic setting. Would willingly pay another visit.

Ronald Hempseed said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th April 2017

had a lovely overnight stay. Food was excellent as was the service and the view from our superior room over the Clyde and the hotel gardens made it extra special. We will be visiting the Rosslea again.

Mrs Catriona said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th April 2017

Only minor comment regarding food was a bit of a lack of veggie options on the menu. I'm mostly veggie but do eat fish. The veggie options included mushrooms which I'm allergic to so opted for fish dishes instead which were lovely. Sure I'd have been able to arrange something suitable if I'd asked though. Room was clean but a little basic feeling. No artwork or photos on walls and just lacked a cosy welcoming feel to it. No real complaints just no wow factor. Staff were all friendly and helpful without exception

andrew craig said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2017

Stayed here for a weekend with my hubby. Booked very last minute so wasn't expecting anything too fancy to be honest. But, wow!! Stunning hotel, fab views and location. Food and service were amazing! Can't wait to visit again .

Andrew Lambie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st March 2017

Had an excellent couple of nights at the Rosslea Hotel. I have food intolerances and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate me. We were blown away with how kind and thoughtful the staff were. Lovely hotel and an equally lovely location. Can't wait to come and visit again sometime soon!

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2017

Beautiful spot, worth paying extra for a sea view room. Lovely food. Pleasant, helpful staff.

Carol Barnett said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th February 2017

A very enjoyable break. Staff were lovely and the food was excellent. We did feel the drinks were on the expensive side. We would return

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th February 2017

An enjoyable break with friendly staff and lovely food......excellent value for money!