Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Highlander Hotel, Newtonmore

Kingussie Road, Newtonmore, PH201AY, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

A guest said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 19th July 2021

O

Thomas Gilmour said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th July 2021

Nice hotel and very friendly staff and food was great. Special mention to head barman (apologies as I've forgotten your name) He was great chatting and welcomed our dog with fun and attention.

Jim Stevenson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th June 2021

Enjoyable couple of days here. Staff were friendly and attentive. Rooms were larger than expected and comfortable. No complaints and will consider returning another time.

David Kitcher said...

57%
60%
30%
80%

Stayed 7th June 2021

Very friendly staff and a clean hotel. Only downside is the dinning experience. The food is good quality but is far to quick. 3 courses in 35 minutes. The second night we kept out cutlery in our hand longer to try and extend the time between courses. The bottle of wine we had had a couple of sips out of it at the end of our meal. Please leave a space between courses, the food is good but we ate so quickly, we couldn't eat the desert.

T Mcgregor said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 16th May 2021

This is a basic hotel with modest charges. It is situated in a the scenic Cairngorm area and is a good centre from which to visit the many attractive locations nearby. Our room was comfortable but soundproofing is poor and we were wakened by noise from above which sometimes sounded as though in our room. The staff were exceptionally kind and attentive.With one exception the food was plain, wholesome and well prepared.

june riddoch said...

74%
70%
100%
50%

Stayed 12th May 2021

Nice stay at this hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Covid arrangements work very well, plenty sanitiser and wipes available in various locations.

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 1st May 2021

Great stay, staff friendly band went out their way. It was my daughters birthday and lovely gesture of a ballon and card on the room and happy birthday banners at meal time. I would definitely come back again thank you to all the staff

Johann McIntosh said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd May 2021

Lovely wee break here , room was clean , new bathroom . Nice bright airy room . Food was good and great breakfast . Reduced menu but something for everyone

Barry Jones said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th October 2020

7 or 8 times we have stayed here now and cant fault it. Not once in all the times we have stayed. Have we had any reason to complain. Family rooms are big clean and comfortable and spotless. Yeh some bits of the hotel are tired looking but who cares. We go away to make memories as a family. Stayed two nights this time and great as usual only complaint. They weren't serving alcohol but a can live with that. We should have stayed a 3rd night but I wanted to try anther hotel in Aviemore and that was a big mistake. Should have just stayed at the highlander that 3rd night

N Hicks said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2020

Charming hotel, well located close by a stand of trees. Room was basically furnished but the bathroom was excellent with plenty of room, a powerful fully functioning shower and plenty warm as appropriate. Evening meal was nutritious and plentiful, Breakfast similarly was excellent, especially the porridge Covid restrictions were proper and integral to the whole package

margaret stewart said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st October 2020

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Good room with good heater. Bathroom shower was quite tight so would be difficult access for any larger people but lovely . Food and service was very good and generous helpings. Plenty of good walks in and around Newtonmore. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Patrick O'Malley said...

34%
0%
60%
40%

Stayed 24th September 2020

This hotel is no more than a stop off for coach trips around Scotland and should not be on the myhotel break web site.I have never stayed in a more uninviting hotel in my life from entering the hotel to going to the rooms ,the bar and restaurant.They should be ashamed to even call it a hotel room which was cold and dark.It is called the highlander hotel and all I can say it had nothing to say you are in Scotland so it could have been called anything you wanted.I could go on but I think on reading this you will understand what I am saying.

Mrs Shelbourn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

Another excellent stay at the Highlander Hotel. Very clean rooms, friendly service, excellent food and their way of coping with Covid was non fussy but felt safe.

Margaret Hamilton said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 20th August 2020

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. There were hand sanitising stations throughout the building and in line with current policies staff only entered your room to clean if requested to do so. Clean towels etc were supplied on request with no problem. The staff were friendly and helpful particularly the lady who checked us in. Our room was clean and comfortable. The only downside being the poor soundproofing between the rooms. I'm not sure if this applies throughout the hotel, we were in room 110. The staff in the dining room constantly sanitised the furniture etc after use. Our package was breakfast and an allowance for dinner on the first night. The food, we both had fish and chips, was okay. We were gry from walking and ate it all. The bar area was fairly quiet, particularly the first evening and closed around 10pm. We walked the Wild Cat trail on one of the days and visited both The Ruthven Barracks and The Highland Folk Museum, enjoying all the experiences. Forgot to mention Buddy the beautiful collie who patrols the corridor!

karen gonzalez said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2020

Staff here were fantastic and went the extra mile. This was from receptionist to dining room staff. Rooms quite basic but hospitality more than made up for it.

karen gonzalez said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2020

Staff here were fantastic and went the extra mile. This was from receptionist to dining room staff. Rooms quite basic but hospitality more than made up for it.

karen gonzalez said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2020

Staff here were fantastic and went the extra mile. This was from receptionist to dining room staff. Rooms quite basic but hospitality more than made up for it.

Mrs Shelbourn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2020

I have stayed at the Highlander many times over the years and have always enjoyed it. This time was just great. There have been some improvements to the bathrooms. The food and service was first class. I like the non-fussy way they run the place.

debra morrison said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2020

Have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed . Excellent service provided by friendly attentive staff. Good food. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with plenty of storage space and also very cosy, with heating easily regulated.

Anne Bunn said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th January 2020

Very comfortable stay and friendly staff. Homely atmosphere and will definitely stay again.

Hotel reply...

Many thanks for your kind words, hope to welcome you back soon.

David McQuillan said... Hotel has replied

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th December 2019

Our stay at the Highlander Hotel was delightful.We got a warm welcome from all the staff, including the maintenance man. the hotel was spotlessly clean and was beautifully decorated for Christmas with several magical displays. We had a cozy, spacious room for our two night stay,even the dog was made welcome by everyone.We ate in the hotel bar both nights and couldn’t fault the food, good quality and generous portions. Breakfast in the restaurant was good with plenty hot tea or freshly brewed coffee.

Hotel reply...

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and such positive comments. Hope to welcome you and your dog back soon.

debra morrison said... Hotel has replied

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Have stayed at this hotel many times and it never disappoints. Service is second to none from friendly, well trained staff. This visit was also memorable because of the fabulous Christmas decorations.

Hotel reply...

Many thanks for your comments and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

A guest said...

60%
70%
100%
10%

Stayed 16th November 2019

The hotel staff were amazing and it's great that the hotel is dog friendly. Our four legged friend had a ball and the staff were great with her. The one thing that was not good was the food unfortunately. On both nights we left nearly full plates. The salmon was brick hard and the steak pie appeared to have been either left sitting or reheated, chewy and pastry hard. We were never asked why the food was left. This wouldn't put me off staying again as the staff and service was very good, but if we were to return it's likely we wouldn't eat in the bar or restaurant.

Myra Mack said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th November 2019

Had a lovely 2 night stay in the Highlander Hotel in Newtonmore. Great value for money deal. Meals were great and huge portions in bar meals would even satisfy Desperate Dan. Room was large and clean with lovely shower room. Only fault is no card machine in bar as no-one really carries a lot of cash these days. Would recommend and will return. Staff were terrific as was breakfast.

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th September 2019

third time in hotel.Very good value.Rooms good size.Food lovely with reasonable range of choices.Would definitely go back again or recommend to friends.