Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Highlander Hotel, Newtonmore

Kingussie Road, Newtonmore, PH201AY, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th September 2019

third time in hotel.Very good value.Rooms good size.Food lovely with reasonable range of choices.Would definitely go back again or recommend to friends.

Hugh McMillan said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 30th July 2019

A functional hotel that satisfied the needs of a group of golfers for an overnight stay. The rooms were clean and tidy with a, shall we say, rather compact shower. The food was plain and wholesome with a selection that would satisfy everyone but the most fussy of eaters....however the hotel's greatest asset was their staff who were polite, professional and friendly. We stayed on a DB&B basis and it was excellent value for money!

ian simpson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th July 2019

Lovely peaceful break. Friendly staff, good food, very comfy bed and large room.

Angie Davidson said...

67%
60%
90%
50%

Stayed 18th July 2019

Hotel is ‘ of its era’ Our room was clean & comfortable : but the hotel itself is very dated . The bulk of visitors to it seemed to be bus tour clientele . The food was warm and satisfying , but again : its bulk catering geared towards the bus tours . The staff were extremely welcoming & friendly & all very hardworking . An asset to this business . Unlikely we will return .

neil rodgers said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th July 2019

staff great service great drinks to expensive

Graham Anderson said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th April 2019

Yet again lovely stay. Room spotless and a good size. Staff First Class so obliging

Elizabeth Snell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th March 2019

Stayed for 2 nights room was very comfortable. Food was really good and staff very helpful and efficient.

Karen Murdoch said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th February 2019

Another super stay at the Highlander Hotel. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Room and en suite were clean and fresh. This was a nice wee bargain break. Will be back.

Karen Murdoch said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th January 2019

Very nice 2 night break at the Highlander. Staff were extremely welcoming. Room was pleasant, clean and away from main road traffic. Bargain break - will return.

Morag Scott said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2018

Hotel rooms good size, very modern bathrooms. Staff very helpful. Breakfast and dinner excellent. Only downside was that we had a disabled room, which had everything we needed, but as the rooms were outside of the hotel they could do with letting disabled people use the side entrance as the front entrance had steps. However everything else was very good so we will be returning.

Karen Gammie said...

70%
90%
60%
60%

Stayed 19th October 2018

Had a nice stay staff were good at reception. I reckon some of the staff in the restaurant could have been better with the service.

alan macfarlane said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th June 2018

Excellent attentive staff. Enjoyable stay

Richard Houston said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 27th February 2018

Very friendly and helpful staff in reception and dining room. Room was clean , warm (-5C outside) and bathroom looked as though it had been recently refurbished. Breakfasts were good and evening meals were substantial if not very imaginative. The hotel was quiet and sometimes there were more staff than diners in the evening so the service was almost too speedy! An enjoyable winter break when other parts of the UK were paralysed by heavy snow and would use this hotel again.

L Scott said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th February 2018

Room looked like it had been recently refurbished, very fresh, clean and comfortable. Excellent food. Well staffed. Friendly and helpful staff. Free Wifi. Congested car parking (Funeral, Celidh ?). Would happily stay again.

MARILYN HAY said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st October 2015

hotel was clean food good staff polite

A guest said...

37%
30%
20%
60%

Stayed 7th May 2017

Hotel was fine, but mealtimes were too restricted. 0730-0900 is fine for business but too early for tourist. Also 1930- 2100 is a bit late should be 1800-2100 for evening meals. Everyone was queing to get in at 1930.,whereas a more fluent time would avoid such a rush.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th May 2017

Been before as its dog friendly. Food excellent. Staff very pleasant. I would anticipate another visit.

chris naismith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th May 2017

Very enjoyable weekend. Really friendly staff and food was delicious

Alan Austin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th April 2017

Great 2 night stay at Highlander hotel. Top location in sleepy village of Newtonmore for exploring wider area of Cairngorm national park and beyond. Room perfect for needs food excellent and staff extremely helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to book again as this ireally s a great value for money offer.

george irving said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th April 2017

The hotel although dated had a large room and my wife thought the shower was the best she has experienced away from home. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and efficient. We will be more than happy to return.

A guest said...

67%
80%
70%
50%

Stayed 11th April 2017

Lovely hotel as was dog friendly but unfortunately the rooms have no sound proofing what so ever. The dogs found it very hard to settle the first night as there was a lot of doors banging and the creaking of the floor above. Food and service was fantastic on the first day but not so great the second day,not sure what was going on.

A guest said...

67%
80%
70%
50%

Stayed 11th April 2017

Lovely hotel as was dog friendly but unfortunately the rooms have no sound proofing what so ever. The dogs found it very hard to settle the first night as there was a lot of doors banging and the creaking of the floor above. Food and service was fantastic on the first day but not so great the second day,not sure what was going on.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th October 2016

Stayed here many times before, rooms have had a makeover, new modern bathroom, shower excellent, Wi-Fi in rooms now, excellent staff, polite nothing to much bother for them, very busy hotel when we were there, Newtonmore away from the hussle/bussle of Aviemore, yet only 20/25 mins to there, also Wildlife Park. Very large lounge area. Heating in rooms excellent. Excellent special deals on throughout Autumn/Winter to suit anything fromB/B to DB/B. Found great 2 nights deal, B/B Dinner on first night, bottle of wine in room for £109 total, for 2 guests, will we going back, yes, we do twice a year.

Alexander Reid said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 28th October 2016

Stayed here 2 nights on our arrival were given a upstairs room. The first thing you notice is the Hotel could do with some upgrades however our bathroom and shower were excellent and looked recently fitted. Dinner on the Saay night was basic with my wife having the Beef Stroganoff and I had the Fish (Coley) Both the mains were served with cabbage as veg and all food tasted bland. Cant fault the staff as the were all friendly and attentive. Breakfast on the first morning was good with tasty porridge and full breakfast dish. On our morning of departure the breakfast was so different with the Porridge looking like wallpaper paste and the main being not as good as morning before. Yes and the room walls must be made of paper as you could hear everything from the room next door !!!! Don't know if I would return.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2016

Fine budget hotel. Room had new bathroom fittings and recently refurbished. Main hotel getting a little 'tired'. Plenty of food on 'special deal' but only served at specific time with no real choice of time. Everybody served food at same time so felt a bit less personal, but staff very friendly.