Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Highlander Hotel, Newtonmore

Kingussie Road, Newtonmore, PH201AY, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th April 2022

Excellent service from friendly staff. Hope to return again soon.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2022

Stay here a couple of times a year when we visit the Highland Wildlife Park. The staff are always lovely and it is perfect for our needs.

Carol Ross said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 25th March 2022

Room with beautiful view over the hills . Basic but clean and fresh. Shower cubicle very small. No space to move about. Staff helpful & friendly. Food typical, basic pub food, 3-4 choices for each course. But nice enough. Good value for money.

karen napier said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th February 2022

We are a group of 6 [nearly] elderly siblings who get together twice a year. The visit to the Highlander Hotel was first class. Every member of staff was helpful and attentive, the food was delicious and very plentiful. The rooms were clean and all you would hope for. We have no hesitation in giving this hotel top marks and believe me we do not always give good feedback. Thank you.

Jane Hastie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th December 2021

Had a lovely time at the highlands hotel, rooms very clean , and food was excellent,would definitely recommend.jane

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th October 2021

The hotel represents pretty good value for money....We were on a £109 2 nights B&B and a £30 meal allowance:- So "come on! £40 B&B p/n. It is basically "no frills" but essentially it's all there. Reception staff were lovely and chatty. Restaurant staff pleasant, attentive. Breakfast is fine enough:-both cereals/porridge and also additional cooked option. Dinner menu is good and our choices all tasty and well presented. The bedroom walls however are not the most soundproofed. A bargain stay in the midst of the great Highland outdoors. Ideal for southwards to Laggan or nortwards for Aviemore/Cairgorms. We would happily return.

Jacqueline Rosser said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th October 2021

This was a last minute break and we were not disappointed. We had a lovely big room which was spotlessly clean with plenty of clean fresh towels. The staff were so nice and made you feel very welcome,nothing was a bother for them. The meals were excellent and the serving staff were so professional and polite it was a pleasure to eat in the restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Patience Donald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th October 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Staff, food etc all 1st class. Staff very helpful indeed

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th October 2021

Clean & comfortable, bathroom was lovely and looked recently refurbished. Would have preferred 'proper' cups for the tea / coffee rather than the paper versions in the room. Lots of cleaning stations. As others have noted some noise depending on if the bedroom is next to the adjoining bathroom, but this will only affect some rooms. Food was good and given the rate paid, couldn't really complain. Staff polite and helpful.

Sheena Mulligan said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th August 2021

Great hotel. Food very good with a good choice and service excellent. Would definitely go back, great value for money.

Heather Doig said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th August 2021

Although the rooms had everything that was needed they could do with a refurb, and proper cups instead of paper ones. Everything else was excellent!!

A guest said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 19th July 2021

O

Thomas Gilmour said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th July 2021

Nice hotel and very friendly staff and food was great. Special mention to head barman (apologies as I've forgotten your name) He was great chatting and welcomed our dog with fun and attention.

Jim Stevenson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th June 2021

Enjoyable couple of days here. Staff were friendly and attentive. Rooms were larger than expected and comfortable. No complaints and will consider returning another time.

David Kitcher said...

57%
60%
30%
80%

Stayed 7th June 2021

Very friendly staff and a clean hotel. Only downside is the dinning experience. The food is good quality but is far to quick. 3 courses in 35 minutes. The second night we kept out cutlery in our hand longer to try and extend the time between courses. The bottle of wine we had had a couple of sips out of it at the end of our meal. Please leave a space between courses, the food is good but we ate so quickly, we couldn't eat the desert.

T Mcgregor said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 16th May 2021

This is a basic hotel with modest charges. It is situated in a the scenic Cairngorm area and is a good centre from which to visit the many attractive locations nearby. Our room was comfortable but soundproofing is poor and we were wakened by noise from above which sometimes sounded as though in our room. The staff were exceptionally kind and attentive.With one exception the food was plain, wholesome and well prepared.

june riddoch said...

74%
70%
100%
50%

Stayed 12th May 2021

Nice stay at this hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Covid arrangements work very well, plenty sanitiser and wipes available in various locations.

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 1st May 2021

Great stay, staff friendly band went out their way. It was my daughters birthday and lovely gesture of a ballon and card on the room and happy birthday banners at meal time. I would definitely come back again thank you to all the staff

Johann McIntosh said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd May 2021

Lovely wee break here , room was clean , new bathroom . Nice bright airy room . Food was good and great breakfast . Reduced menu but something for everyone

Barry Jones said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th October 2020

7 or 8 times we have stayed here now and cant fault it. Not once in all the times we have stayed. Have we had any reason to complain. Family rooms are big clean and comfortable and spotless. Yeh some bits of the hotel are tired looking but who cares. We go away to make memories as a family. Stayed two nights this time and great as usual only complaint. They weren't serving alcohol but a can live with that. We should have stayed a 3rd night but I wanted to try anther hotel in Aviemore and that was a big mistake. Should have just stayed at the highlander that 3rd night

N Hicks said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2020

Charming hotel, well located close by a stand of trees. Room was basically furnished but the bathroom was excellent with plenty of room, a powerful fully functioning shower and plenty warm as appropriate. Evening meal was nutritious and plentiful, Breakfast similarly was excellent, especially the porridge Covid restrictions were proper and integral to the whole package

margaret stewart said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st October 2020

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Good room with good heater. Bathroom shower was quite tight so would be difficult access for any larger people but lovely . Food and service was very good and generous helpings. Plenty of good walks in and around Newtonmore. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Patrick O'Malley said...

34%
0%
60%
40%

Stayed 24th September 2020

This hotel is no more than a stop off for coach trips around Scotland and should not be on the myhotel break web site.I have never stayed in a more uninviting hotel in my life from entering the hotel to going to the rooms ,the bar and restaurant.They should be ashamed to even call it a hotel room which was cold and dark.It is called the highlander hotel and all I can say it had nothing to say you are in Scotland so it could have been called anything you wanted.I could go on but I think on reading this you will understand what I am saying.

Mrs Shelbourn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

Another excellent stay at the Highlander Hotel. Very clean rooms, friendly service, excellent food and their way of coping with Covid was non fussy but felt safe.

Margaret Hamilton said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 20th August 2020

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. There were hand sanitising stations throughout the building and in line with current policies staff only entered your room to clean if requested to do so. Clean towels etc were supplied on request with no problem. The staff were friendly and helpful particularly the lady who checked us in. Our room was clean and comfortable. The only downside being the poor soundproofing between the rooms. I'm not sure if this applies throughout the hotel, we were in room 110. The staff in the dining room constantly sanitised the furniture etc after use. Our package was breakfast and an allowance for dinner on the first night. The food, we both had fish and chips, was okay. We were gry from walking and ate it all. The bar area was fairly quiet, particularly the first evening and closed around 10pm. We walked the Wild Cat trail on one of the days and visited both The Ruthven Barracks and The Highland Folk Museum, enjoying all the experiences. Forgot to mention Buddy the beautiful collie who patrols the corridor!