Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Braid Hills Hotel, Edinburgh

134 Braid Road, Edinburgh, EH106JD, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

78%

Patrick McMenemy said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 11th May 2022

Stairways are a bit tired, carpet worn. Breakfast had good selection but dinner choice limited.

Louise Robertson said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 6th May 2022

Had an amazing time with my husband and my friend which was also her 40th .My room was amazing bed was so comfy and food both tea and breakfast was great also had a really good stay .

Kenny Brown said...

34%
50%
10%
40%

Stayed 26th March 2022

The place looks fine, room spacious and clean enough except carpet could do with a clean. Staff were extremely poor, first girl had a real pissy attitude, second was just gormless, third girl at bar clearly hadn’t had any training, couldn’t understand English and had been left totally out of her depth, felt sorry for her as it’s not really her fault, management clearly not maintaining any kind of customer service standard. Other staff were pleasant enough but the bad outweighs any good sadly. Food was bland.

J Webster said...

34%
20%
40%
40%

Stayed 25th March 2022

We had a lovely relaxing weekend at the hotel,the staff great I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Frank Simpson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2022

Another excellent 3 day break, Dinner B&B. Stayed from 8th March leaving on the 11th, hotel was very welcoming, clean with an abundance of character, good food, fantastic staff and superb location. Parking is free with 1st class bus service right outside the hotel .Never touched my car in 3 days . Excellent service from "myhotelbreak", Clare Mckenzie and Stacy clarified certain technicalities prior to and after booking. !st class service, thanks to both, a credit to Myhotelbreak"

ALAN HOOD said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2022

Although the room was small it was comfy and clean. The radiator wasn’t working but that was quickly remedied by portable heater after a discussion with reception. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay. This was our 4th stay at this hotel

ALAN HOOD said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2022

Although the room was small it was comfy and clean. The radiator wasn’t working but that was quickly remedied by portable heater after a discussion with reception. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay. This was our 4th stay at this hotel

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th February 2022

Second visit and another enjoyable stay

A guest said...

50%
50%
60%
40%

Stayed 4th February 2022

The Hotel is really quite dated, carpets very worn on stairs and in bar. Bar and restaurant were really cold, I had to sit with my husband's jacket on during dinner as it was so cold - staff even said that they felt it cold too. Dinner was ok, but steak was not worth paying the extra for. Bacon and beans at breakfast were cold and other items were at best luke warm. No draught lager in bar. Spoke to a gentleman that stayed there regularly and he said that they hadn't had draught lager for over a year. Room was quite small but adequate. Staff were friendly but seemed a bit inexperienced. Not really a hotel we would rush back to.

Samuel MCGHEE said...

64%
30%
90%
70%

Stayed 2nd January 2022

Came here for a two day break. The Hotel was half empty gave me one of the worst rooms possible. If you don't book direct with them they don't give you best rooms possible. They keep them for there own website. I won't be back. Pity I liked coming to this Hotel.

Frank Simpson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2021

Fantastic 3 day break . Just off the A720 Edinburgh by pass, hotel has an excellent position, free parking, no need to drive through the city, 1st class bus service right outside hotel. Stayed from 9th - 12th Nov for wedding anniversary, Great room, Excellent food, dated in some areas but did not detract from quality or service. Hotel is friendly, welcoming and has character, will definitely stay here again and book through Myhotelbreak

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th November 2021

First visit to this hotel. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Staf very nice especially the girl on reception desk.

Karen Rodgerson said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 13th November 2021

Lovely stay in a very traditional hotel, only a bus ride into town. The breakfast was lovely. Free parking was an added bonus.

Paul Titman said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 7th November 2021

A nice hotel in a convenient location, just the bar prices are too pricey

Norman Birrell said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 21st October 2021

No complaints, friendly staff and good price.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2020

Great relaxing stay at this very comfortable hotel.

A guest said...

50%
20%
90%
40%

Stayed 19th February 2020

A lovely old house,but food lets it down! I had two very poor dinners,although my husband was happy with his choice! Our room104 should not be used in winter! The room is so enormous that the radiator although very hot,was inadequate for the size of the room! A second heater is required at the window end! Dining room & bar rather cool near Windows.

Karen L Macleod said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Lovely hotel, very friendly helpful staff, room upgraded prior to arrival, given a lovely suite with an upstairs bedroom away from the corridor, quiet, warm and clean. Large bathroom, well equipped. Delicious breakfast included. Great choice of food and lovely coffee, would definitely choose to stay again. Thankyou.

Hotel reply...

Dear Karen, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your 10/10 review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Best Western Braid hills Hotel Team

Alan Russell said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th January 2020

We spent a most enjoyable long weekend here, with dinner included on the first two nights. The food was excellent, and the chef even made us haggis needs and tattoos for Burns Night though it was not on the menu. All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant. The reams were clean and came with a fridge and fresh bottles od water each day. The only minor drawback is the lack of a lift to the upper floors.

Stuart Ellis said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th January 2020

We stayed on a B&B basis didn’t have a meal in the hotel itself. The rooms are as you would expect for a 3 star, although if you have limited mobility I wouldn’t recommend as the hotel doesn’t have a lift as far as we could tell ( our room was on the third floor up the main stairs) breakfast was nice plenty of choice for cooked and continental. Staff are professional and courteous, handy for going out in Edinburgh as the hotel is on the bus route to Princes Street and there’s a night bus if you’re out late. Room itself is nice, hot shower, comfortable bed, bottled water replaced foc, spacious room was upgraded to a room with a view and could just see the Firth of Forth (at a push)

James Kennedy said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th January 2020

Great overnight break cannot fault staff lovely old building

Allan Burnett said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th January 2020

I booked it for my daughter and her friend for my daughters 21st birthday she loved the hotel was beautiful staff were great and she said breakfast was class

Hotel reply...

Dear Allan, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave 10/10 us your review We are delighted that your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you all back in the future. Kind Regards Best Western Braid Hills Hotel Team

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th January 2020

Another excellent stay at one of our favourite hotels. Lovely building and location, friendly professional staff. Great evening meal and breakfast.

Helen Porte said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2020

Lovely hotel. Great staff and fantastic room. The food at the restaurant was varied and breakfast was plentiful. There's a bus from just outside the hotel which goes right into the city centre. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.

James Craig said... Hotel has replied

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th December 2019

We had a very enjoyable stay. No complaints on any issue. We will definitely be back.

Hotel reply...

Dear Mr Craig, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Best Western Braid Hills Hotel Team