Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Braid Hills Hotel, Edinburgh

134 Braid Road, Edinburgh, EH106JD, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

69%

Diana Davidson said...

4%
10%
0%
0%

Stayed 29th January 2023

I arrived with my 89 year old mother at 2.58pm to be told our room wasnt ready then we had to climb up loads of stairs. Our £20 allowance would only have covered one course of a meal so we opted for a starter and a pudding I was shocked that the small starter was £9 as was the even smaller pudding. I wont be back I found the receptionist very rude saying check in is at 3pm 2 minutes early What A Crime my poor mother felt very upset as we were not accommodated at that time. Get someone on the front desk who is compassionate

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th January 2023

Visited this hotel several times and always first class service and excellent food

Carol-Anne Langford said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th January 2023

Beautiful hotel, staff were really nice and friendly. My husband and I had a lovely meal, was really nice. Would highly recommend this hotel. Lovely scenery and great if you want some time away from the hustle and bustle

Duncan Mccallum said...

24%
30%
20%
20%

Stayed 17th December 2022

Hotel was like faulty towers leaking ceilings flat lager coffee machine broken breakfast back heat all on one night

james M griffiths said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th November 2022

Apart from waiting 25/30mins for ordered scrambled egg and the tv in our room almost on the ceiling

Donald Peterkin said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 26th November 2022

Hotel was nice enough but lacked a bit of finesse. Rooms were clean but lacked attention to detail, such as mirror not being clean and carpet needing shampooed. On entering bar for a drink bar was very quiet. Had to go looking for a member of staff and bar was untidy with empties on it. Bar needed a good wipe down as did tables. This is what I’d expect from a busy bar not a very quiet one. Staff were pleasant enough but did not go above a beyond with exception for one housekeeper who was really friendly and helpful. We would stay at this hotel again but would not be our first choice in Edinburgh where you can find a much better standard for a similar price.

A guest said...

57%
20%
80%
70%

Stayed 1st November 2022

Our room and bathroom where tiny and very dated. Asked to change room but was told the hotel was full. Bed was very comfy.

A guest said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th November 2022

Have stayed here a few times but this was the first visit for three years. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. Dinner was good but remember if dinner, b&b there is only an allowance which is easily exceeded. Breakfast was ok. Room was clean and warm but shabby. The promised bottle of wine never appeared but I forgot to mention it at departure. Not sure we will return.

Norman Law said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th November 2022

We have had better food, a better room and a better outlook but at a cost. We had a great time at the Braid Hills Hotel due to the staff who were really helpful and pleasant. It is ideally situated for leaving the car in the car park and bussing it into town. No complaints - would certainly go back. Really good value for money. Thank you!

Patrick McMenemy said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 11th May 2022

Stairways are a bit tired, carpet worn. Breakfast had good selection but dinner choice limited.

Louise Robertson said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 6th May 2022

Had an amazing time with my husband and my friend which was also her 40th .My room was amazing bed was so comfy and food both tea and breakfast was great also had a really good stay .

Kenny Brown said...

34%
50%
10%
40%

Stayed 26th March 2022

The place looks fine, room spacious and clean enough except carpet could do with a clean. Staff were extremely poor, first girl had a real pissy attitude, second was just gormless, third girl at bar clearly hadn’t had any training, couldn’t understand English and had been left totally out of her depth, felt sorry for her as it’s not really her fault, management clearly not maintaining any kind of customer service standard. Other staff were pleasant enough but the bad outweighs any good sadly. Food was bland.

J Webster said...

34%
20%
40%
40%

Stayed 25th March 2022

We had a lovely relaxing weekend at the hotel,the staff great I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Frank Simpson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2022

Another excellent 3 day break, Dinner B&B. Stayed from 8th March leaving on the 11th, hotel was very welcoming, clean with an abundance of character, good food, fantastic staff and superb location. Parking is free with 1st class bus service right outside the hotel .Never touched my car in 3 days . Excellent service from "myhotelbreak", Clare Mckenzie and Stacy clarified certain technicalities prior to and after booking. !st class service, thanks to both, a credit to Myhotelbreak"

ALAN HOOD said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2022

Although the room was small it was comfy and clean. The radiator wasn’t working but that was quickly remedied by portable heater after a discussion with reception. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay. This was our 4th stay at this hotel

ALAN HOOD said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2022

Although the room was small it was comfy and clean. The radiator wasn’t working but that was quickly remedied by portable heater after a discussion with reception. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay. This was our 4th stay at this hotel

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th February 2022

Second visit and another enjoyable stay

A guest said...

50%
50%
60%
40%

Stayed 4th February 2022

The Hotel is really quite dated, carpets very worn on stairs and in bar. Bar and restaurant were really cold, I had to sit with my husband's jacket on during dinner as it was so cold - staff even said that they felt it cold too. Dinner was ok, but steak was not worth paying the extra for. Bacon and beans at breakfast were cold and other items were at best luke warm. No draught lager in bar. Spoke to a gentleman that stayed there regularly and he said that they hadn't had draught lager for over a year. Room was quite small but adequate. Staff were friendly but seemed a bit inexperienced. Not really a hotel we would rush back to.

Samuel MCGHEE said...

64%
30%
90%
70%

Stayed 2nd January 2022

Came here for a two day break. The Hotel was half empty gave me one of the worst rooms possible. If you don't book direct with them they don't give you best rooms possible. They keep them for there own website. I won't be back. Pity I liked coming to this Hotel.

Frank Simpson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2021

Fantastic 3 day break . Just off the A720 Edinburgh by pass, hotel has an excellent position, free parking, no need to drive through the city, 1st class bus service right outside hotel. Stayed from 9th - 12th Nov for wedding anniversary, Great room, Excellent food, dated in some areas but did not detract from quality or service. Hotel is friendly, welcoming and has character, will definitely stay here again and book through Myhotelbreak

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th November 2021

First visit to this hotel. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Staf very nice especially the girl on reception desk.

Karen Rodgerson said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 13th November 2021

Lovely stay in a very traditional hotel, only a bus ride into town. The breakfast was lovely. Free parking was an added bonus.

Paul Titman said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 7th November 2021

A nice hotel in a convenient location, just the bar prices are too pricey

Norman Birrell said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 21st October 2021

No complaints, friendly staff and good price.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2020

Great relaxing stay at this very comfortable hotel.