Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hotel Colessio, Stirling

33 Spittal Street, Stirling, FK81DX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

76%

Lynda Burton said...

64%
40%
90%
60%

Stayed 26th November 2021

King room plus… extremely small. Bar and restaurant cold as in same floor as front door and it was all open plan. Staff were extremely helpful and nothing too much.

A guest said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 25th November 2021

Check in was very professional and courteous Room was spacious and clean Evening meal was great and the service was excellent Breakfast was poor, tea was tepid and full Scottish was overcooked???? Sausage and black pudding could have broken a tooth

Isabel Nicol said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st November 2021

Great hotel with lovely staff, from check in to check out everything was fab.

gillian bathgate said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 19th November 2021

My husband and I spent one night which was Fri 19th Nov. Been here a few times but not for a couple of years, and we weren't disappointed in the hotel. Everything was immaculate and the staff as always were so friendly. The only disappointment was that there were no steaks available on the evening menu. We have the most amazing steaks from the Colessio before as they cook them on a Josper grill which make them nice and crispy on the outside but still medium rare in the middle. The hotel is ideal for the city centre which is only 5 minutes walk. Although the hotel is on a bit of a hill we found that if you go into Weatherspoon's from the shopping centre side and get the lift up and out the back door, you are almost half way up the hill. No doubt we shall return sometime

William Richardson said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th October 2021

We arrived about 2.45pm, and we were told our room was not ready. By 3.45pm we were told our room was still not ready but a similar room was, so my wife said that was ok and we took it. We were escorted up by a manager shown the room, it was great, clean, warm, plenty of room and very quiet. We had dinner later and well cooked and presented and one last thing the staff were great,

mel Taylor said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th August 2021

The room was better than last time we visited, however the toilet seat as broken and despite the maintenance team saying that the fixed this, within seconds it came of again, this is a safety issue for the user as the the floor is tiled and someone could have a nasty fall, the hotel was not overlay concerned about this.

Sharon Murray said...

60%
60%
50%
70%

Stayed 24th October 2021

It was a bit disappointing as despite arriving just after12 noon (arrived early to make the most of the day and ensure a parking space), and being told to come back at 3pm to check in, we didn’t get checked in until 3:40pm. We were not alone as there were around 5 others waiting on their rooms also. What was worse is that no one offered any apology or explanation until we went to query the delay. Even then they didn’t seem that apologetic, although were happy to keep asking us if we wanted more drinks from the bar whilst waiting. I’ve stayed in lots of hotels during the pandemic but never ever had to wait more than 5 minutes (and that was a travelodge), to check in.

Annmarie Burgess said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd October 2021

Nice room & excellent service & lovely food

Garry Blyth said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2021

Excellent time at Hotel Colessio. From checking in to checking out the team couldn’t do enough for you. Only grumble is that unfortunately there was a wedding being held on our 2nd day. I was only informed of this 2 days before arrival and so didn't really have time to look elsewhere. The wedding party did somewhat take over the bar area and their reception could be heard very clearly during our evening dinner. Next time I’d check there wasn’t another function being held during our stay but other than that I’d certainly recommend this hotel.

A guest said...

37%
30%
50%
30%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Disappointing stay. Issues from start to finish. Rooms very small and poorly equipped in terms of seating areas etc. No where to store luggage so spent 2 days trying not to trip over the bags. Poorly organised and staff not trained. The staff were all trying so hard but spent the whole time apologising to everyone. Dinner service and quality so bad the first night, we went elsewhere the second night. Wouldn't recommend.

A guest said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Beautiful hotel, well situated. Bar food menu disappointing only wanted a snack and the only option was BLT @£10 steep. We upgraded the room to a king room, and was disappointed in that also, the only difference between a classic room and a king.room is the bed, a king size instead if a double. The bed was very comfy and couldn't.i complain about my night sleep. The restaurant.is beautiful but (here I go again) the meal was terrible tasted good, but ordered the chicken, got a chicken breast 4 cubes of carrot and a sprig of broccoli, no potato if needed to be.ordered as a side.order then should of been told, left the restaurant gry which is what you dont want. The bath is wonderful big and deep, you can have a soak no problem . Breakfast is table service and was great tasty and plenty. Would I go back? Probably , but wont have dinner as plenty of lovely restaurants nearby, but yet again it.was my first.time in stirling so maybe not, will have to look around. Dont.get me wrong I dont complain all the time, but do expect what I pay for to be there.

Abigail Macdonald-Clark said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Stayed 1night as a girls (4) trip on DBB with gin tasting experience. We had a great night but the review is our honest reflection. Firstly love the idea of bidding on room upgrade, we got a family suite and double room. Really clean and spacious. Sadly double room only had mirror in bathroom which made it difficult get ready when bathroom in use. Mood lighting in rooms is lovely but again not the best for getting ready. Dinner options were good, but service was slow. We booked dinner for 7.45pm and starter arrived at 8.30pm, no-one communicated a delay, which would have been nice. Food was tasty. Service slow for breakfast the following morning also but good selection of cooked or continental breakfasts. Gin tasting experience was brilliant and worth a visit. However asked hotel staff where the distillery was and was advised 'down to right about 5mins'...nope it was left and about 15mins walk (in the rain). Again communication could have been better! On the whole, we had a great night away!

Aileen Yule said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Had a lovely stay and would go back.

nicola mills said...

77%
70%
100%
60%

Stayed 17th September 2021

Room the heated towel rail didn’t work, went to phone reception but phone in room didn’t work either, asked for an iron and never received one. The dinner was amazing but breakfast was a disappointment, first day no beans tomatoes or mushrooms, second day no coffee, no white bread for toast, and nearly no breakfast as they told us they don’t serve after 10am but too our booking for 10.15, got our breakfast in the end with no potato scone this time or beans and had to have brown bread. The staff done an amazing job to accommodate us especially the girl with the red hair, I didn’t get her name, it was not their fault there wasn’t enough food to feed people booked in

Rosemary Thomas said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th September 2021

Had a lovely time celebrating our anniversary with overnight stay our meal was lovely and great breakfast also staff were very accomodating. Thank you.

A guest said...

80%
100%
100%
40%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Hotel was lovely very clean and staff were nice rooms were nice also and tour of distillery was fantastic food at night wasn’t that great but breakfast was really nice

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd August 2021

All in all the stay was excellent The only down side was a one and a half hour wait from ordering our meal to it arriving As there was only four or five other couples in the dining room I thought it was a bit excessive 9 out of 10

Sandra Brown said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 17th August 2021

Breakfast was ok except from I burnt scrambled egg and I got it changed my husband nearly burnt his mouth with the which was to be cold water

Michelle Auld said...

84%
90%
100%
60%

Stayed 12th August 2021

Lovely stay (highly recommend the trip to the Gin Distillery!). Room spotless, staff excellent , evening meal great but unfortunately breakfast was a big let down.

Adrian Ross said...

47%
10%
80%
50%

Stayed 5th August 2021

Room not UpTo 4 Star, more like 2 Star, on darker carpet a major rip about 10 inch's and a lot of frays, on lighter carper had lot of stains, hole on ceiling covered with black and yellow tape, and furniture very chipped

liz thomson said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th July 2021

Lovely hotel Brilliant location Staff helpful Would recommend

Alistair Armour said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2021

Fabulous hotel in a great location with really friendly staff

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 4th July 2021

Lovely big bathroom buer took ages to run away. Carpet was worn through in bedroom.

Nancy pitcairn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Hotel was very clean and comfortable Staff were friendly and service was great Could not fault it handy for shops

june hawthorne said...

74%
90%
100%
30%

Stayed 1st July 2021

Lovely hotel and staff are wonderful, great location but unfortunately the food was woeful …. Average at best , so disappointed. Stay at the hotel but eat elsewhere!