Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hotel Colessio, Stirling

33 Spittal Street, Stirling, FK81DX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Kathryn McCron said...

50%
70%
40%
40%

Stayed 12th October 2019

Our stay at the Colessio started off well, check in was quick we booked dinner for 7.30pm and headed to our room, the room was fine no outlook but clean, dinner was lovely and the waiters were excellent always asking if everything was ok. That was the good now for the bad. When we went down for breakfast at 9.30am we stood and waited 10 minutes on the waitress even acknowledging we were there before telling us to take a seat in the bar until she got a table ready, another 5 minute wait before we were seated!! We were asked if we wanted tea or coffee which never arrived (had to ask twice before we got it!!) no glasses for the orange juice no milk for the cereal not sure what else would have been on the table as the plates were empty and never replenished!! Tea eventually came had to ask for teaspoons!, had to ask for toast as noticed other people had some but we never got offered, then had to ask fo side plates and butter because you guessed it none!!! Come on Hotel Colessio get your act together!!

louise gray said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

Hotel was lovely and in a great central location. Food was great and the tails were delicious.

michael Gilmartin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

staff 100 per cent couldn't have done enough for us great hotel

Danny Divers said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 2nd October 2019

1st day of my stay could not have been better, everything from reception to finding our room was perfect. we came down for evening meal and the service was exemplary. the meal was one of the best that I have ever eaten. the beds, bedding bath and shower were all faultless, when we asked for another towel they were there within minutes delivering it to our door. the only small fault that I could pick out was the service in the restaurant for breakfast in the morning. you are told that service can be slow toward the end of the serving time, so we went for an early breakfast to avoid this. we had to find a table for ourselves as there was no one about, when we were seated we waited for a good ten minutes to be asked for our order, (no recommendations, just what would you like) we had to ask for bowls for cereal, we had to find where the juices were for ourselves. we waited half an hour after ordering for our food to arrive. when it came it was faultless. for the forty five to fifty minutes we were in the room no table was cleared our own cereal bowls had to be put onto the window sill to make room for our breakfast plates. the breakfast staff badly need training and guidance from their managers

Margaret Graham said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th June 2019

My friend and I were looking to chill for the weekend and this hotel allows you to do just that. Just a little comment that perhaps a small coffee table so you don't have to use window sills for cups. Staff were very hard working and professional and although there were two weddings on we were served efficiently. Dinner was very tasty and well presented. ?

Carol Ann Latham said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2019

The hotel is lovely looking inside and out, and the staff couldn’t be more welcoming and attentive. We stayed on a DBB basis and had dinner from the steak menu which was lovely. Service in the restaurant was quick and the staff were very helpful, the menu is a little expensive but in line with the prices of other hotels we’ve stayed in. Breakfast was enjoyable and there was plenty of choice with hot and cold buffet style. Our room was small but well equipped and the bathroom with walk in shower was spotless. Our only complaint was that the bed wasn’t very comfortable but that could be up to personal choice as we found the mattress too firm. Overall it was an enjoyable stay in a brilliant location

John Keenan said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th April 2019

Staff were very nice and helpful.

chloe bell said...

47%
80%
30%
30%

Stayed 29th March 2019

Hotel room was lovely, however the service for dinner was very slow! The next morning the service for breakfast was awful, there was next to no juices etc at the table and no staff to serve, this definitely did put a downer on the weekend waiting about so long for food/drinks. I know there was tables around us complaining to each other at the time also.

chloe bell said...

47%
80%
30%
30%

Stayed 29th March 2019

Hotel room was lovely, however the service for dinner was very slow! The next morning the service for breakfast was awful, there was next to no juices etc at the table and no staff to serve, this definitely did put a downer on the weekend waiting about so long for food/drinks. I know there was tables around us complaining to each other at the time also.

A guest said...

64%
60%
90%
40%

Stayed 17th March 2019

Hotel was being renovated, however claiming this is 5 star is an exaggeration. Restaurant is overpriced with poor food quality - fillet steak was as tough as a rump! Rooms in poor condition with out of date TVs and no fridges. General atmosphere in bar area can only be described as a funeral. Parking is challenging but we did find a space on arrival, difficult getting out as a hotel staff member parked their car in an undesignated space. Poor beer choices given the craft beer boom of late. Positives - great location, very helpful and friendly staff, good tail selection at good prices, and made professionally.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th February 2019

Fabulous hotel, really modern and modern rooms. We booked normal club room but I think we were upgraded to a suite as the room was huge. We were on dbb. I don’t think I’d pay the restaurant prices otherwise. Wasn’t too keen on steak I had. Breakfast was lovely and lots of smiley/friendly staff. Will deffo be back. Also very close to places, Wetherspoons about 150yrds away

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2019

Very nice hotel. A wee bit tlc needed in some areas. Seats within restaurant a bit tired looking and dirty walls withing public toilet near the bar (A good lick of paint would sort it out) We stayed in room 109... Compact room but very well kitted out including nice thick bathrobes. Only negative was 1 window has no curtains but had a wooden blind up which let In a lot of light (looked out onto a well light area) Staff throughout the hotel all very friendly and polite. Steak dinner was very nice. Breakfast was good.

Alison Lithgow said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2019

The hotel was lovely and very central, we really enjoyed our stay. Only negative was the time to be served for dinner, it took a long time however it was extremely good once it came.

Colin Dickson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st December 2018

Excellent accommodation, staff well presented and trained in customer service. Meal was of high standard. The only downside was parking, though eventually resolved with assistance of the Front Desk Staff.

A guest said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 16th December 2018

Enjoyed our stay, food was amazing and the hotel has a lovely relaxed feel. Felt it could be doing with being done up though.

Alfred Rhead said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 3rd December 2018

Good hotel with friendly staff but cleaner moved many of our possessions without good reason. Dinner not very good, small portions, not very warm, tasted rather bland. Room small but we realise that we cannot expect best room when on deal

Brenda Donnelly said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th December 2018

Hotel was lovely and dinner very good. We also had an excellent breakfast in the morning. All staff were very nice especially the girl who served us dinner and Scott who was on checkout. Would definitely come back and would recommend.

Scot Hudson said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2018

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring all attractions in Stirling. Staff and service were above average but the room we were allocated (Room 101) was dark with virtually no natural light. We also felt the room was more appropriate for customers with a disabiity, we just hope that we did not occupy a room at the expense of a customer who would have made more use of the facilities included in the room.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2018

Fantastic overnight in this hotel, had a lovely meal service from all staff was 1st class which makes you stay enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious with a width choice of food.Rooms are beautiful.

Diane Mcgregor said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd November 2018

Hotel was beautiful, very friendly & helpful staff. Room was lovely only gave a 9 as it was a little on the small side. Bathroom amazing & fantastic shower.

carole cardwell said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2018

Beautiful hotel and first class service. Dinner was delicious. The only negative was the breakfast. I’m not a fan of buffet style for the full breakfast and this was no different. Although I must point out that if you requested anything that was not there they would make it for you. That aside it was one of my favourite hotels that I’ve stayed in and look forward to returning in the near future. ??????????

A guest said...

75%
80%
N/A
70%

Stayed 11th November 2018

Staff very pleasant and helpful. Room small but clean. Dinner and breakfast were good. Overall I would return to hotel in the future.

Kenny Duff said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd November 2018

Great location, restaurant was nice relaxed, good service and lovely food and wine. Romm was nice modern, great big bath.

Jean Hughes said...

67%
70%
60%
70%

Stayed 4th November 2018

Great location but definitely not 5 * interior very bling but not especially tasteful. Long wait for main course one of which was cold on arrival and had to returned which spoiled things a bit although quality of food good. Disappointed we had to pay £10 extra per person for a twin room. Also checkout was difficult - had booked 2 rooms (4 people)- due to illness one had to call off. Obviously we realised we would pay as booked - be warned they do not allow the £20 per head dinner allowance to be set against number dining I e we had £60 towards dinner. On check out they had set all extras against one room only amounting to £40 food allowance everything over being charged. Rooms had coffee machine but no pods only instant. SeeReception was helpful in amending this giving the £60 allowance. Seemed odd so check your bill!! All in all had much better value breaks with Myhotel break.

ALISON Summers said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 4th November 2018

Room was smaller than expected but Adequate. Food portions at evening meal were very small. One chef walked out during service so meals were delayed in being served and we were served wrong main courses. We were given free coffee for this. Breakfast was good. Don’t think we will return.