Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hotel Colessio, Stirling

33 Spittal Street, Stirling, FK81DX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

Wilson McQuade said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2020

Just had a one night break and everything was perfect.The staff were exceptional from the front desk to the breakfast service.Room was spotless and the bed was perfect

Wilson McQuade said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2020

Just had a one night break and everything was perfect.The staff were exceptional from the front desk to the breakfast service.Room was spotless and the bed was perfect

A guest said...

34%
30%
40%
30%

Stayed 16th February 2020

Hotel was not 4 star in my opinion. Had a distinct average feel. Staff shortages didn’t help and restaurant experience disappointing. Won’t return.

Patrick Doolan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th January 2020

Our 3rd visit to this hotel, great location, friendly & helpful staff & lovely food, definitely be returning.

Roger Dart said...

67%
70%
50%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2019

Great location at good price. Hotel well appointed but breakfast service slow and disappointing! Room comfortable but very warm.

Mary Hendry said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st December 2019

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here on Saturday and were so glad we did. The hotel staff were so friendly and welcoming and the food was delicious. Due to this we will definitely be staying again.

Hazel Culbert said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2019

The hotel was very beautiful with a contemporary and well finishef room. Staff were warm and friendly at both reception and in the hotel restaurant .. they couldn't do enough for you. The food was also excellent; I expected it to be much more expensive than it wad due to the star rating and calibre of the hotel so wad pleasantly surprised. Even discovered they have a menu offering 2 courses for £16 and 3 courses for £20 .. will definitely be back for a meal and for another night away. Highly recommend this hotel.

Emma Rattray said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Our room was a bit small however was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was really spacious. Food was lovely and bar and restaurant area was decorated to a high standard. Staff very attentive and friendly. Only complaint was checking out the following morning, only one woman checking out which resulted in us waiting in quite a long queue. Manager said she was the only one trained on the computer so would suggest other individuals are also trained to ensure this process is smooth and less time consuming.

isabella darge said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st December 2019

Lovely clean hotel room was nice and clean also although our room was rather small and as it was on the ground floor and looked onto the function room garden and we had to keep curtains closed which was not so good as the lighting in the room was very poor as only one little spot light on ceiling

A Quinn said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Very central hotel, Reception staff were friendly and very helpful and the room was spacious and very comfortable. Food was very good and the £25 allowance gave us a 3 course meal from the table d'hote menu. There was a slight problem with kitchen staffing and our meal was delayed but the waiter was most apologetic.

A guest said...

34%
40%
40%
20%

Stayed 29th November 2019

I’m afraid this hotel did not live up to expectations. I’m not sure what room we had but it was definitely not spacious. The large (and very uncomfortable) bed took up most of room and I was glad I only had an overnight bag. The bathroom was a bit better and more spacious! Although a lot of cracked tiles and a sink plug that didn’t work. The restaurant really let the place down however. Almost 1/2 hr wait for cold starters, my steak wasn’t great and when I mentioned to the manager she didn’t even apologise or attempt to recompense. Several tables around us were complaining too. At breakfast we had to ask for toast and it was a few minutes before waitress told us where to find breakfast items. Plates were cold and range not fab. This was the third hotel we stayed at and in comparison the worst. We wouldn’t return.

Linda Jackson said...

54%
80%
0%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

This was a lovely hotel and rooms were nice. Unfortunately we were on dinner bed and breakfast and although meal was lovely service was awful. It took over 2 hours to get dinner and it was not overly busy. We’re told they were short staffed but still not acceptable. Breakfast was pretty poor with no one informing us that there was an option of fried or poached eggs so therefor the only choice was runny scrambled eggs. Asked 3 times for toast and was told each time it would be 2 or 3 minutes after 20 minutes wait at 3rd time of asking decided not to bother. This was a shame really and spoilt our stay.

Linda Jackson said...

54%
80%
0%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

This was a lovely hotel and rooms were nice. Unfortunately we were on dinner bed and breakfast and although meal was lovely service was awful. It took over 2 hours to get dinner and it was not overly busy. We’re told they were short staffed but still not acceptable. Breakfast was pretty poor with no one informing us that there was an option of fried or poached eggs so therefor the only choice was runny scrambled eggs. Asked 3 times for toast and was told each time it would be 2 or 3 minutes after 20 minutes wait at 3rd time of asking decided not to bother. This was a shame really and spoilt our stay.

A guest said...

40%
50%
N/A
30%

Stayed 23rd November 2019

hotel decor was lovely and staff helpful. Bedroom was very small with no space to put clothes or suitcases. Restaurant food was poor.

CAROLINE MCMAHON said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th November 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was my 60th and we had 5 rooms on a DBB deal . The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was just great the breakfast was cooked there and then not buffet which we all liked. We will definitely be back.

David Milton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2019

Stylish hotel, lovely big room, excellent food and a very friendly, attentive waiter. Will visit again.

David Milton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2019

Stylish hotel, lovely big room, excellent food and a very friendly, attentive waiter. Will visit again.

Robert Forrest said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2019

A fabulous stay at Colessio. Check in was smooth and our room was large and well appointed. The bar area was comfortable and prices not bad. The grill was a lovely setting ad the food excellent though I would have liked a greater choice of main meals. Breakfast was cooked to order and excellent ( we had the full breakfast). The staff were helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th November 2019

The hotel staff were very friendly and food was delicious

A guest said...

44%
70%
20%
40%

Stayed 2nd November 2019

Hotel room facilities, bar and restaurant areas were all lovely, however bar prices were a bit expensive. Our problems started when we arrived for dinner booked for 7. 30pm and the staff asked us if we could wait till 8.15pm for dinner as they were extremely busy serving a 21st birthday party in the function hall. This was fine by us but it would have been good to have been offered bread to keep us going. At 8.20 we asked for menus and food was eventually served at 9.35pm. Unfortunately 2 of 4 dinners were cold and had to be returned. The waiting staff were lovely and apologetic, however it was clear that the kitchen could not cope with servicing both the function and restaurant. I was also very disappointed in my steak, it was tough and dried out, despite having meant to be cooked in a state off the art Josper grill. I had read on trip advisor that other customers had experienced very slow service, therefore it is clear that this happened before and management have not invested in the correct staffing levels. It is apparent that most if not all off the above problems could have been solved by having more staff on duty. Other diners were experiencing the same slow service and were complaining to waiting staff, however we felt the waiting staff were doing the best under a difficult situation and that senior management should have been present to sort this out.

Sharon Mchardy said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2019

The hotel was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff, from reception, bar and in restaurant were superb, very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The meal was fantastic and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Margaret Roberts said...

74%
90%
50%
80%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, but very slow service

Gerard Campbell said...

34%
80%
10%
10%

Stayed 17th October 2019

O my where do I start we have stayed at this hotel three times the first time it ha just open and it was faultless sandy we returned last year for my wife’s birthday and it was hell in a hotel no problem with our accommodation but nightmare restaurant one year on we gave it another try thinking it has to be better but another restaurant nightmare one hour between starters and mains the starter was good the main not so good only a choice of four mains how can a chef get this so bad next morning people were levying the dining room after a hour’s wait for breakfast is it not time for big changes at this hotel sadly we won’t be back to see them

A guest said...

67%
70%
50%
80%

Stayed 17th October 2019

Hotel’s very impressive from the outside and reception area very welcoming. Room was large but could have done with a fresh coat of paint as it was pretty tired but the view was lovely. Really big bathroom and good shower. Dinner was included and although the service was good it took ages to arrive and starters were staggered. I had finished mine before the final one appeared. I believe that only two chefs in the kitchen was the issue. When we went for breakfast the next morning were told to expect a twenty minute delay in it arriving as chef was new. Breakfast itself was tasty. When paying the bill I mentioned the few issues I’d had and whilst I appreciate the gesture of taking money off, I would suggest that you get them to check what’s been charged to your room as there were drinks and a meal on my bill that were not mine. Just as a side not, I would suggest that when taking a child with you the local hotel charge is made clearer when booking. I had a £25 charge to pay which I wasn’t expecting although it was lower down in the email confirmation I received. I would recommend that this would be clearer when booking if it was next to the total charged I.e. £99 & child price. Overall, I had a nice night and would probably go back just seemed a bit faulty tower.

Kathryn McCron said...

50%
70%
40%
40%

Stayed 12th October 2019

Our stay at the Colessio started off well, check in was quick we booked dinner for 7.30pm and headed to our room, the room was fine no outlook but clean, dinner was lovely and the waiters were excellent always asking if everything was ok. That was the good now for the bad. When we went down for breakfast at 9.30am we stood and waited 10 minutes on the waitress even acknowledging we were there before telling us to take a seat in the bar until she got a table ready, another 5 minute wait before we were seated!! We were asked if we wanted tea or coffee which never arrived (had to ask twice before we got it!!) no glasses for the orange juice no milk for the cereal not sure what else would have been on the table as the plates were empty and never replenished!! Tea eventually came had to ask for teaspoons!, had to ask for toast as noticed other people had some but we never got offered, then had to ask fo side plates and butter because you guessed it none!!! Come on Hotel Colessio get your act together!!