Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hotel Colessio, Stirling

33 Spittal Street, Stirling, FK81DX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

Graeme Pollock said...

57%
70%
40%
60%

Stayed 23rd July 2021

A lovely venue, great decor and nice bedrooms. The rooms were a bit hot but that was due to the extremely hot weather. Food is nice but not the standard of a luxury hotel. Dinner selection was poor to be honest with the dessert options the worst. Breakfast was a shambles having to continually ask for missing items and we were also served stone cold coffee!! When the hot coffee was finally delivered we even had to ask for fresh mugs as the waiter just left it and walked off. Staff are in the main a bit like headless chickens but they we're all perfectly pleasant. A bit of training wouldn't go a miss. Probably won't be back as the amount paid does not equate to the standard received. A bit disappointed as it looked and sounded gorgeous when booking.

A guest said...

54%
100%
10%
50%

Stayed 20th July 2021

Hotel lovely , service a bit disappointing

A guest said...

54%
100%
10%
50%

Stayed 20th July 2021

Hotel lovely , service a bit disappointing

liz thomson said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th July 2021

Lovely hotel Brilliant location Staff helpful Would recommend

Alistair Armour said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2021

Fabulous hotel in a great location with really friendly staff

Janice Shanks said...

40%
90%
20%
10%

Stayed 5th July 2021

Disappointed with this hotel. Upgraded to a suite which was lovely although the shower went hot and cold. If you stay here eat out as the service in the dining room was very poor. We were offered other people’s food twice, waited 45 minutes for our starters, had to return cold food, the steak which had an extra cost was very poor quality and we were told on our last morning there was no bacon left! The chef was apologetic and the staff in the dining room also apologetic. I feel this is more about poor management rather than the staff themselves. We would not return to this hotel.

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 4th July 2021

Lovely big bathroom buer took ages to run away. Carpet was worn through in bedroom.

Nancy pitcairn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Hotel was very clean and comfortable Staff were friendly and service was great Could not fault it handy for shops

june hawthorne said...

74%
90%
100%
30%

Stayed 1st July 2021

Lovely hotel and staff are wonderful, great location but unfortunately the food was woeful …. Average at best , so disappointed. Stay at the hotel but eat elsewhere!

June Wilson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th June 2021

Hotel Colessio is a beautiful place to stay, our room was clean and spacious. The staff were all friendly and helpful throughout our time there. We had a delicious evening meal and breakfast. With the deal we had Stirling Gin Distillery experience which was excellent. Definitely recommend. Hotel is in a great location as near Old Town Jail, Stirling Castle and Shopping Centre. Fabulous deal

Ellen Mitchell said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd June 2021

Fabulous hotel with lovely pleasant staff. Food was really good. The room was just too warm, put fan on & it blew the electrics during the night which was all sorted first thing in the morning

Claire Houston said...

50%
10%
80%
60%

Stayed 3rd June 2021

Countless issues with the rooms. First room the bed sloped and was evidently damaged/broken and the toilet seat was damaged. The second room we ended up in had a broken section with the bath and the showerhead was dirty. The second room was stuffy, even with the fan from another room, as it had one tiny window and the bed wasn't comfortable either. The electrical socket in the room at the desk was loose as well which could be hazardous. The starter and dessert was amazing but the main meal was swimming in grease. What I will say is the staff on shift during our stay were lovely and the location is really good. We complained to the management and all they offered was a preferential rate if we return to the hotel : yeah like I'm gonna pay for that again.

martin coutts said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th May 2021

Excellent hotel Staff we all really friendly and we were actually thanked personally by a manager for choosing to stay there nice touch. Will defo be back location is perfect.

Sheila Blackhall said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st May 2021

Lovely hotel to stay in and convenient to all areas in Stirling. The staff were great and very helpful. The food was very good and the room was really nice and comfortable and quiet. Enjoyed our stay.

Mary Guthrie said...

64%
40%
70%
80%

Stayed 19th May 2021

Room was a bit disappointing for a King Deluxe Guest Room, it looked tired. Toilet seat falling off which we reported. The windows were sandblast etched which made it impossible to see out. Also too noisy to have the windows open caused by the sound of an extractor fan. No draft lager available. The positives, the public areas are impressive, the staff were pleasant and friendly and the food was lovely.

A guest said...

54%
50%
60%
50%

Stayed 15th May 2021

I booked this deal as a 65th birthday treat for my mother in law. I originally booked the DBB deal with gin tasting tour. This was changed as the gin distillery would not be opening until the 17th and we were offered a few options, of which we choose afternoon tea. The afternoon tea was lovely, and the staff on in the hotel when we arrived were great too, particularly the bar man, who hadn’t long started and the young lady working in the restaurant who was really polite and friendly. I had ordered flowers and chocolate strawberries in the room for my mother in laws birthday, the flowers were left lying on the desk , no vase or water for them , she asked for a vase , twice and we are still waiting! These flowers were at a cost of £35 and were NOT worth the money neither were the chocolate strawberries that were £10 for 4 strawberries on a slate, presented like a dessert?! By the time she got home those flowers were almost dead!! Rooms were fine, except we had a fixed shower head and a movable one , the movable one had no shower head and the hose was sat in the holder as if it was functioning, which is why we didn’t notice until we came to use it! Also there was poo on the toilet wall next to toilet roll holder! We didn’t manage dinner after having the afternoon tea as we were still full. We did go down to the bar area, they have some lovely outdoor areas for sitting out, but no patio heaters or background music, they could make that space really nice for customers but for now it’s not ideal!! When we came to breakfast next morning at the pre-arranged time of 9:15am , I was advised I hadn’t booked but it wasn’t an issue, staff member ( a young woman) who informed us of that wasn’t very happy , I advised I had booked at check in for 9:15, and was able to identify the staff member I had booked with, the woman didn’t even raise her head to look at us, just mumbled it wasn’t an issue, if it wasn’t why say it? And I had definitely booked us in. Breakfast was ok, one small pot of tea between two , one slice of toast each, had to ask for more, this was an expensive deal , and I wouldn’t be rushing back.

Isabel Clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th May 2021

Really enjoyed my stay here.The Hotel is beautiful and located perfectly to visit the surrounding historical sights .Stirling Castle, Holy Rude and the old town jail are within walking distance. Although the hill is steep. The bedroom was spacious and immaculate. The bed was super big and super comfy . All meals delicious and served quickly by friendly staff.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th May 2021

Very pleasant stay in a lovely room. Very clean and comfortable. Staf very pleasant and eager to please.

Andrea Sneddon said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 12th November 2020

Rooms were lovely nice big bathroom with an amazing bath and shower, were absolutely spotless. Staff were all lovely and following government guidelines, and the food was nice and reasonably priced.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th October 2020

Great night away, hotel lovely, Staff friendly & helpful. We stayed one night DBB. Food was amazing. Will definitely be back.

jacqueline potter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2020

We had a great day & night . Couldn’t fault anything. Was a fantastic deal. We had afternoon tea followed by dinner that evening then breakfast the next morning & everything was just lovely ?

Irene Kidd said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th October 2020

Great location near town pubs cafes 2 minutes walk . Hotel food was delicious I highly recommend the grill room

lesley Katz said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 9th October 2020

Staff were fantastic! A real credit to the hotel! Very helpful and friendly and chatty - brilliant! The room was fine, but was a bit lacking in the extras u wd expect from a 4 star hotel. We didn't even have any cups and saucers or glasses to use, but staff gladly supplied these when asked. The food in the restaurant was fine, but again not quite what I expected from a 4 star hotel. Overall we had a lovely time tho ??

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd October 2020

Great hotel. Lovely bedroom and lovely meal in the restaurant. Friendly staff and covid precautions taken at all times

Anne Aitchison said...

77%
70%
100%
60%

Stayed 1st October 2020

The hotel was lovely, spotless and followed all the Covid rules .The staff were very welcoming.