Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hotel Colessio, Stirling

33 Spittal Street, Stirling, FK81DX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

73%

Emma Rattray said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Our room was a bit small however was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was really spacious. Food was lovely and bar and restaurant area was decorated to a high standard. Staff very attentive and friendly. Only complaint was checking out the following morning, only one woman checking out which resulted in us waiting in quite a long queue. Manager said she was the only one trained on the computer so would suggest other individuals are also trained to ensure this process is smooth and less time consuming.

isabella darge said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st December 2019

Lovely clean hotel room was nice and clean also although our room was rather small and as it was on the ground floor and looked onto the function room garden and we had to keep curtains closed which was not so good as the lighting in the room was very poor as only one little spot light on ceiling

A Quinn said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Very central hotel, Reception staff were friendly and very helpful and the room was spacious and very comfortable. Food was very good and the £25 allowance gave us a 3 course meal from the table d'hote menu. There was a slight problem with kitchen staffing and our meal was delayed but the waiter was most apologetic.

A guest said...

34%
40%
40%
20%

Stayed 29th November 2019

I’m afraid this hotel did not live up to expectations. I’m not sure what room we had but it was definitely not spacious. The large (and very uncomfortable) bed took up most of room and I was glad I only had an overnight bag. The bathroom was a bit better and more spacious! Although a lot of cracked tiles and a sink plug that didn’t work. The restaurant really let the place down however. Almost 1/2 hr wait for cold starters, my steak wasn’t great and when I mentioned to the manager she didn’t even apologise or attempt to recompense. Several tables around us were complaining too. At breakfast we had to ask for toast and it was a few minutes before waitress told us where to find breakfast items. Plates were cold and range not fab. This was the third hotel we stayed at and in comparison the worst. We wouldn’t return.

Linda Jackson said...

54%
80%
0%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

This was a lovely hotel and rooms were nice. Unfortunately we were on dinner bed and breakfast and although meal was lovely service was awful. It took over 2 hours to get dinner and it was not overly busy. We’re told they were short staffed but still not acceptable. Breakfast was pretty poor with no one informing us that there was an option of fried or poached eggs so therefor the only choice was runny scrambled eggs. Asked 3 times for toast and was told each time it would be 2 or 3 minutes after 20 minutes wait at 3rd time of asking decided not to bother. This was a shame really and spoilt our stay.

Linda Jackson said...

54%
80%
0%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

This was a lovely hotel and rooms were nice. Unfortunately we were on dinner bed and breakfast and although meal was lovely service was awful. It took over 2 hours to get dinner and it was not overly busy. We’re told they were short staffed but still not acceptable. Breakfast was pretty poor with no one informing us that there was an option of fried or poached eggs so therefor the only choice was runny scrambled eggs. Asked 3 times for toast and was told each time it would be 2 or 3 minutes after 20 minutes wait at 3rd time of asking decided not to bother. This was a shame really and spoilt our stay.

A guest said...

40%
50%
N/A
30%

Stayed 23rd November 2019

hotel decor was lovely and staff helpful. Bedroom was very small with no space to put clothes or suitcases. Restaurant food was poor.

CAROLINE MCMAHON said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th November 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was my 60th and we had 5 rooms on a DBB deal . The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was just great the breakfast was cooked there and then not buffet which we all liked. We will definitely be back.

David Milton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2019

Stylish hotel, lovely big room, excellent food and a very friendly, attentive waiter. Will visit again.

David Milton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2019

Stylish hotel, lovely big room, excellent food and a very friendly, attentive waiter. Will visit again.

Robert Forrest said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2019

A fabulous stay at Colessio. Check in was smooth and our room was large and well appointed. The bar area was comfortable and prices not bad. The grill was a lovely setting ad the food excellent though I would have liked a greater choice of main meals. Breakfast was cooked to order and excellent ( we had the full breakfast). The staff were helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th November 2019

The hotel staff were very friendly and food was delicious

A guest said...

44%
70%
20%
40%

Stayed 2nd November 2019

Hotel room facilities, bar and restaurant areas were all lovely, however bar prices were a bit expensive. Our problems started when we arrived for dinner booked for 7. 30pm and the staff asked us if we could wait till 8.15pm for dinner as they were extremely busy serving a 21st birthday party in the function hall. This was fine by us but it would have been good to have been offered bread to keep us going. At 8.20 we asked for menus and food was eventually served at 9.35pm. Unfortunately 2 of 4 dinners were cold and had to be returned. The waiting staff were lovely and apologetic, however it was clear that the kitchen could not cope with servicing both the function and restaurant. I was also very disappointed in my steak, it was tough and dried out, despite having meant to be cooked in a state off the art Josper grill. I had read on trip advisor that other customers had experienced very slow service, therefore it is clear that this happened before and management have not invested in the correct staffing levels. It is apparent that most if not all off the above problems could have been solved by having more staff on duty. Other diners were experiencing the same slow service and were complaining to waiting staff, however we felt the waiting staff were doing the best under a difficult situation and that senior management should have been present to sort this out.

Sharon Mchardy said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2019

The hotel was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff, from reception, bar and in restaurant were superb, very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The meal was fantastic and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Margaret Roberts said...

74%
90%
50%
80%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, but very slow service

Gerard Campbell said...

34%
80%
10%
10%

Stayed 17th October 2019

O my where do I start we have stayed at this hotel three times the first time it ha just open and it was faultless sandy we returned last year for my wife’s birthday and it was hell in a hotel no problem with our accommodation but nightmare restaurant one year on we gave it another try thinking it has to be better but another restaurant nightmare one hour between starters and mains the starter was good the main not so good only a choice of four mains how can a chef get this so bad next morning people were levying the dining room after a hour’s wait for breakfast is it not time for big changes at this hotel sadly we won’t be back to see them

A guest said...

67%
70%
50%
80%

Stayed 17th October 2019

Hotel’s very impressive from the outside and reception area very welcoming. Room was large but could have done with a fresh coat of paint as it was pretty tired but the view was lovely. Really big bathroom and good shower. Dinner was included and although the service was good it took ages to arrive and starters were staggered. I had finished mine before the final one appeared. I believe that only two chefs in the kitchen was the issue. When we went for breakfast the next morning were told to expect a twenty minute delay in it arriving as chef was new. Breakfast itself was tasty. When paying the bill I mentioned the few issues I’d had and whilst I appreciate the gesture of taking money off, I would suggest that you get them to check what’s been charged to your room as there were drinks and a meal on my bill that were not mine. Just as a side not, I would suggest that when taking a child with you the local hotel charge is made clearer when booking. I had a £25 charge to pay which I wasn’t expecting although it was lower down in the email confirmation I received. I would recommend that this would be clearer when booking if it was next to the total charged I.e. £99 & child price. Overall, I had a nice night and would probably go back just seemed a bit faulty tower.

Kathryn McCron said...

50%
70%
40%
40%

Stayed 12th October 2019

Our stay at the Colessio started off well, check in was quick we booked dinner for 7.30pm and headed to our room, the room was fine no outlook but clean, dinner was lovely and the waiters were excellent always asking if everything was ok. That was the good now for the bad. When we went down for breakfast at 9.30am we stood and waited 10 minutes on the waitress even acknowledging we were there before telling us to take a seat in the bar until she got a table ready, another 5 minute wait before we were seated!! We were asked if we wanted tea or coffee which never arrived (had to ask twice before we got it!!) no glasses for the orange juice no milk for the cereal not sure what else would have been on the table as the plates were empty and never replenished!! Tea eventually came had to ask for teaspoons!, had to ask for toast as noticed other people had some but we never got offered, then had to ask fo side plates and butter because you guessed it none!!! Come on Hotel Colessio get your act together!!

louise gray said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

Hotel was lovely and in a great central location. Food was great and the tails were delicious.

michael Gilmartin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

staff 100 per cent couldn't have done enough for us great hotel

Danny Divers said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 2nd October 2019

1st day of my stay could not have been better, everything from reception to finding our room was perfect. we came down for evening meal and the service was exemplary. the meal was one of the best that I have ever eaten. the beds, bedding bath and shower were all faultless, when we asked for another towel they were there within minutes delivering it to our door. the only small fault that I could pick out was the service in the restaurant for breakfast in the morning. you are told that service can be slow toward the end of the serving time, so we went for an early breakfast to avoid this. we had to find a table for ourselves as there was no one about, when we were seated we waited for a good ten minutes to be asked for our order, (no recommendations, just what would you like) we had to ask for bowls for cereal, we had to find where the juices were for ourselves. we waited half an hour after ordering for our food to arrive. when it came it was faultless. for the forty five to fifty minutes we were in the room no table was cleared our own cereal bowls had to be put onto the window sill to make room for our breakfast plates. the breakfast staff badly need training and guidance from their managers

Margaret Graham said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th June 2019

My friend and I were looking to chill for the weekend and this hotel allows you to do just that. Just a little comment that perhaps a small coffee table so you don't have to use window sills for cups. Staff were very hard working and professional and although there were two weddings on we were served efficiently. Dinner was very tasty and well presented. ?

Carol Ann Latham said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2019

The hotel is lovely looking inside and out, and the staff couldn’t be more welcoming and attentive. We stayed on a DBB basis and had dinner from the steak menu which was lovely. Service in the restaurant was quick and the staff were very helpful, the menu is a little expensive but in line with the prices of other hotels we’ve stayed in. Breakfast was enjoyable and there was plenty of choice with hot and cold buffet style. Our room was small but well equipped and the bathroom with walk in shower was spotless. Our only complaint was that the bed wasn’t very comfortable but that could be up to personal choice as we found the mattress too firm. Overall it was an enjoyable stay in a brilliant location

John Keenan said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th April 2019

Staff were very nice and helpful.

A guest said...

64%
60%
90%
40%

Stayed 17th March 2019

Hotel was being renovated, however claiming this is 5 star is an exaggeration. Restaurant is overpriced with poor food quality - fillet steak was as tough as a rump! Rooms in poor condition with out of date TVs and no fridges. General atmosphere in bar area can only be described as a funeral. Parking is challenging but we did find a space on arrival, difficult getting out as a hotel staff member parked their car in an undesignated space. Poor beer choices given the craft beer boom of late. Positives - great location, very helpful and friendly staff, good tail selection at good prices, and made professionally.