Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hotel Colessio, Stirling

33 Spittal Street, Stirling, FK81DX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

76%

Thomas Martin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th May 2022

we had a lovely stay food was brilliant as was breakfast staff were excellent only thing is the bar prices were a bit dear

Julie THOMSON said...

30%
40%
10%
40%

Stayed 10th April 2022

Still waiting well after 5pm to get in to a room. Sent out a walk. Come back, still no ready. Offered to sit in bar area, no mention of complimentary drink while we wait. Receptionist was very rude and unprofessional, especially to the people in front of us. What do you want me to do about it was a common phrase. Dinner...all but 3 options are not supplemented and not cheaply either. With no real vegetarian option my friend ended up in a situation and really went without her paid dinner. Bedroom the bed has no head board but the bed does not fully go against the wall because of the room shape. Think the pillows are that hard to deliberately stop them going down the back but it doesn't fully help. It was uncomfortable and didn't suit a person like me who was waiting on an urgent head and neck scan anyway. Breakfast had hardly any selection or anything left. Our cooked order was taken and we waited a while. Finally came and my friend had asked for toast and beans but with 2 potato scones on the side if they didn't mind. Even on reminding...she never got the toast. Or the brown sauce she had to stop someone and ask for. We didn't even take advantage of the late check out. We had had enough. On leaving we were not asked if everything was ok with the stay at all so never got to say. Corridors upstairs had chairs in hallway and alsorts from rooms all over hallways. My friend planned on finishing off getting ready properly after breakfast but she was so annoyed she said just lets go. By doing this she accidentally left her straighteners behind. This time our fault granted. Called in and on agreement paid 5pounds to get them sent to her. Have never arrived. Also charged for her dinner chips when there was nothing to suit vegetarian wise. We agreed a dinner option then they charged us 4pounds for side chips. Won't be recommending or going back I'm afraid. Very disappointing to say the least.

Angela Ashton said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th April 2022

We had a lovely 2 night stay at the Hotel Colessio. We had a nice big room, huge comfy bed. All the staff were very friendly, the restaurant food was very good and I loved the presentation of the ‘Apple Mouse’ Dessert!! A lovely hotel and I hope to return again soon.

Jackie Mackenzie said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2022

Had a lovely three night stay at Hotel Colessio. Staff were friendly and helpful. Vanessa on reception was particularly helpful in sourcing some additional "birthday items" for us. Room was spacious and comfortable. Restaurant also lovely, very plush decor. Would recommend this hotel to others

Amanda Murphy said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th April 2022

Had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable for my husbands birthday. Excellent food and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Thank you.

elizabeth Dawson said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 10th April 2022

Good location with plenty of parking spaces, decor very nice, not many staff-some multi tasking but all were very courteous, pleasant and helpful. Food was well presented and tasty but we were offered exactly the same menu each night and 3 of the 6 choices had a surcharge. Not what we expected from a 4* Hotel.

Neelia MmcAallister said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th April 2022

Great experience, stayed in a king deluxe. All staff helpful room clean and food lovely. Will be returning.

stacy mcgookin said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 23rd March 2022

Lovely clean room, pleasant staff and relaxed atmosphere.

Rosemary Kitson said...

47%
90%
50%
0%

Stayed 19th March 2022

Hotel is lovely staff are very nice but food is terrible .Will never go back on dbb basis as we had no dinner it was disgusting .but will go back on a bed and breakfast basis .hotel is in great position

Tracy Campbell said...

80%
70%
N/A
90%

Stayed 11th March 2022

Accessible room not great as wheelchair couldn’t go round bed. No iron or hairdryer in room so had to ask for these. No masks were worn in public spaces and no enforcement, including staff. No lunch available one day as chef was busy with a wedding and there was little choice the next day as they had run out of mayonnaise. Management never thought to nip to shops. Staff extremely helpful and friendly but most were inexperienced. Very difficult to identify staff as they had no badges or uniforms on. The general manager and , who we believe, depute manager were very friendly and attentive. Mix up on a couple of occasions with evening meal which were rectified. Continental breakfast was disappointing as there was only cereal one day and cereal, mixed fruit and yoghurt the next day. No cold meat, cheese, pastries, etc. We had to ask for toast and then butter as none were offered. One of our seats was wet in the restaurant. Although breakfast was a bit disappointing the evening meals were excellent. The bar and restaurant areas were nicely decorated and had a nice atmosphere.

Billy Hare said...

84%
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 4th March 2022

Fantastic staff very good hotel food

A guest said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 1st March 2022

The hotel itself was well kept and comfortable. Our mattress protector had a few stains which was addressed whenever we informed reception by 11 o'clock in the morning. We went out for the day and returned about 4.30 pm to find that nothing else had been touched ie clean cups, glasses and tea/coffee refills. There was then a knock on the door at 4.40 pm to check if we needed anything done. The dinner menu had only 2 choices of main course that did not have a supplement for DBB guests which we thought was a bit unreasonable. We are aware that restrictions are only recently being lifted and it may be that staff are needing a bit more training to be up to scratch for when the hotel starts to get busier.

sheila mcloughlan said...

34%
70%
30%
0%

Stayed 27th February 2022

Stayed here on the. 27th off February for one night and it was a total disgrace. Booked dinner bed and breakfast, was meant to get strawberries and chocolate in room instead I got some small cakes. No-one had the decency to come a let me know that there was now strawberries. Went down for dinner and there was nothing on the menu I could eat, it was all game and one vegetarian choice. Went for breakfast had to ask for milk as the jug was empty had to ask for orange juice as that was empty there was open cereal boxes let on table next to other cereals husband asked for full Scottish breakfast, the poached egg was solid, his mushrooms was missing and so was his black pudding when I said to staff about the missing items she said there was no mushrooms and she brought out black pudding half way through breakfast. It cost me an extra 65 pounds to go out for dinner as there was nothing on menu and all as you get off staff is sorry the manager is not in I think it is a total disgrace when you book dinner bed and breakfast and it cost you a extra 65 pound

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th February 2022

I brought my Partner to Hotel Collesio for a Birthday treat and it’s the best experience EVER! I would definitely recommend to try this place. Everything we ate was amazing and the staff was more than friendly! Hector - polite and courteous and was always helpful and always engaged with the customers. Catherine - An absolute joy to have a chat with and always made sure we was looked after. Clifford - Although recent, he was someone who had plenty of Character and always made us feel welcome. Could ask for a better experience, these guys made it more memorable and would 100% visit again Thank you Hector, Catherine and Clifford

Wilma Phillips said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 21st February 2022

We had a very nice stay, chance to meet up with friends. Great pre-dinner tails before a tasty dinner. Nice room and good breakfast.

Diane Eaton said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 20th February 2022

Our friends couldn’t go due to Covid and they were fully refunded, My Hotel Break was excellent at getting this approved by the hotel, the refund was back in our account 2 days later, 5 stars

Tanya Bennett said...

47%
60%
30%
50%

Stayed 19th February 2022

Nice hotel but very understaffed chad to wait 30mins to check in and had to wait same for breakfast although was only 2 tables being served the rest was sitting uncleared and breakfast was not very good. Paid extra for a bigger room but not worth the upgrade.

Stacey Ferguson said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th January 2022

We inky had one issue and that was with the duck but was sorted out straight away frim staff

Tracey Hay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd January 2022

My husband and I stayed here 23/01/22 Where do I begin from the moment we walked through the hotel doors the staff could not do enough for us the room was impeccable Aswan the rest of the hotel, the food was outstanding and the service was fantastic cannot wait to stay here again. Unfortunately we missed an email before arriving to upgrade I would have loved to have seen how they could have out done themselves with what we had

anne biggins said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 21st January 2022

Had a lovely stay. Staff were so nice in all areas of hotel. Great value for money. Hotel in a great location. Only small thing was no mirror in room. Not great when drying air and wanting to check outfit on!!!

Margaret Graham said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 17th January 2022

An excellent value break I at what we appreciate is still a very difficult time for the hospitality industry. Standards of hygiene were mostly high but I did comment on breakfast service where a staff member was basically serving with mask around his chin. passed on to reception . We know it is a quiet time but we had a very limited choice on menu before supplements were added. My duck supplement was totally unacceptable for a tiny slither of duck. Unfortunately I have to say not four star dining which was dissapointing. Passed on to chef but again nothing rectified.Our room was immaculate, very clean and comfortable.

Fiona Leake said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 14th January 2022

The room was to dark, couldn’t see!!! and nothing wrong with our eye sight. Food - far to many supplements, only about 4 choices without supplements. My starter was shop bought pate (shocking) for 4* and had no taste. My risotto was tasty but served Luke warm, very disappointing.

A guest said...

50%
70%
70%
10%

Stayed 30th December 2021

The hotel was lovely only let down was the food not sure if it was the time of year we went or not.

Evelyn Addison said...

74%
80%
90%
50%

Stayed 30th November 2021

Have stayed a few times here but a little disappointed this time. Room was fine but food disappointing. Difficult to find anything on dinner menu that did not have a supplement. Thought nearly £8 supplement bit steep on catch of the day already priced at £21. Breakfast had very limited choice on cold buffet. Cooked breakfast OK apart from inedible black pudding which was so hard couldn't cut it.

A guest said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 25th November 2021

Check in was very professional and courteous Room was spacious and clean Evening meal was great and the service was excellent Breakfast was poor, tea was tepid and full Scottish was overcooked???? Sausage and black pudding could have broken a tooth