Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, Edinburgh

Kirknewton, Edinburgh, EH278EB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

L Stewart said...

70%
40%
80%
90%

Stayed 19th February 2022

We arrived slightly early and were checked in - I had asked for something in the room to mark my husbands birthday plus booked the deal with the complimentary wine and both were missing - I was not awfully impressed with the free upgrade either as the room was small and slightly dated with a thick layer of dust on the tv cabinet We enjoyed using the pool and had a drink in the bar above - dirty windows and glass doors plus foot at the foot of the tables - just quite run down and dirty The evening meal and breakfast were lovely and the staff very attentive but I was not overly impressed with the hotel itself - even with the offer I did not think it was great value for money

nicholas callaghan said...

40%
10%
80%
30%

Stayed 18th February 2022

We were rather disappointed with our stay (we stayed in room 240). On arrival, our son found a plastic hair brusder the bed, making me think the room hadn’t been cleaned thoroughly. I went into the bathroom to find hairs in the bath & on the toilet seat. The sink hadn’t been cleaned properly either. The shelf at the tea making area was very dusty. The county club reception area was also untidy, with rubbish (a face mask) on the floor and cardboard boxes lying around. The tiles at the swimming pool also needed swept as they had some sort of crumbs on them. Dinner was also disappointing as the carpet at our table was covered in Rice Krispies. We both ordered the burger which was very greasy. We had placed a special request for our sons meal which was honoured so we were happy about that. Breakfast was enjoyable - no complaints. The staff were very friendly but overall I think the hotel could have been a lot cleaner. We will not stay again unfortunately.

laura wilson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th February 2022

Beautiful hotel, staff very friendly and approachable. Couldn’t do enough for us. Rooms beautiful and clean.beds very comfortable. We used the pool and all areas were lovely and clean. Food was amazing as were the tails. Will definitely be back!!

Stan Jackson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th January 2022

room and food excellent but tail bar and Brasserie closed Pity we were not informed on booking.Awkward walk to room upstairs,downstairs and finally upstairs. No lift No comparison to other 4star hotels we have visited

Murray Jamieson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th December 2021

My wife and I had a tremendous weekend at the Dalmahoy Hotel and country Club. We had a Deluxe King room which was lovely and had everthing you need , very comfortable and modern.The hotel was tastefully decorated . Check in was fast and efficient and as for the staff everyone we met during our stay couldn’t have been more pleasant and helpful it really made our stay so special . The food was out of this world best we’ve ever had on a break. Both breakfast and dinner were exceptional. We couldn’t have asked for a more enjoyable break.

Brenda Tortolano said...

100%
N/A
100%
100%

Stayed 28th November 2021

Lovey stay. Leisure facilities great

audra baxter said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th September 2021

Lovely hotel, great room, bathroom needs upgraded. Food was nice . Had a terrible issue with a male member of staff in the tail bar . Ross 1 of the manager's handled it though .

Michael Houston said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st August 2021

A very welcoming hotel with lovely staff members. Would like to give a special mention to Lewis who was absolutely brand new with my partner and I, not only making us feel welcome but going above and beyond to make our experience a memorable one on our first mini break together. The hotel manager was also extremely helpful as he went out of his way to escort us to our room upon arrival and tell us more about the hotel and its history. The facilities are incredible, in particular the golf course which is one of the best courses I have played on personally. Will 100% return to Dalmahoy Hotel and Country Club in some capacity in the near future.

Mr McLellan said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th June 2021

Very nice hotel food and staff excellent only problem for me was in the tail lounge they had no draft beers which was a major fault as guests should have been told beforehand hotel is all about golf no walks very handy for going into Edinburgh which was great.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2020

Had a lovely two night break at hotel. Felt safe with the COVID regulations in place. Rooms clean and staff friendly and helpful.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2020

Had a lovely two night break at hotel. Felt safe with the COVID regulations in place. Rooms clean and staff friendly and helpful.

Jamie Scott said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2020

hotel was amazing. was my.partners 40th and the hotel gave is an upgrade to the turret suite .which was fabulous. steven from customer relations I think he was from . went over and above to make sure everything was ok and the staff were pleasant.

A guest said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 27th September 2020

Had lovely relaxing stay. Room was clean & refurbished. Hotel social distancing measures were in place & continues cleaning o areas were maintained. Would visit again

Jason Trainer said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 27th September 2020

We booked evening meal thinking it was in main hotel, however it was in brasserie above leisure Pool. Disappointed as room looked more like Wetherspoons pub, lack atmosphere. Waited 35 mins for our main course, service slow, lack staff, wife got free glass wine for inconvenience, Hotel was good apart from this. Breakfast was in main Hotel & was excellent.

Mary Woodburn said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2020

We had a night at Dalmahoy House Hotel to celebrate our golden Wedding Anniversary . The staff at reception and dining were very welcoming and pleasant. Our room was fabulous it was Her majesty’s room. Dinner and breakfast were both good. Hotel has a lovely setting with golf course all around it. Will definitely be back by for more than one night

Angela Harris said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 11th September 2020

I'm afraid we were a little disappointed in the hotel. We could not book in the main restaurant for dinner which was the primary reason for the visit. It was our 30th wedding anniversary. The brasserie was not the same in any way. Breakfast was a little chaotic but ok. Our bill was wrong both in the Brasserie and on departure when we had been over charged. Altogether disappointing I'm afraid.

Natalie Gray said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 25th January 2020

This was our 4th visit to the Dalmahoy Staff were friendly, room was nice Food was lovely a bit of a long wait between starter and main course. Disappointed we were unable to use the facilities. The pool was being refurbished so only the gym was available. This had not been mentioned when we checked in. At time of booking the offer stated use of the leisure facilities when the pool is actually closed for the next 2 months! very disappointed!

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th January 2020

Lovely stay ,large room. Pillows far too soft like a marshmallow, shower could have had more pressure, enjoyed meal in the brasserie, very pleasant staff,

Gillian Tobin said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 27th December 2019

We had a lovely stay here in between Christmas and New year. Rooms were spacious and clean. The only issue was waiting a bit longer than normal on our food, however we weren’t in a hurry so just relaxed and enjoyed the atmosphere.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. Great value for money. The courtesy shuttle bus to Edinburgh park to get a tram into Edinburgh centre is a bonus.

William Baird said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 10th November 2019

Hotel was generally excellent with one exception. The formal dining experience was poor, the service was slow and the food of varied quality with supplements on most dishes. The leisure facilities were excellent and we ate in the Brasserie on our second night where the food and service was far superior, special mention to the housekeeping staff and to Craig in the Brasserie.

Fiona Thompson said...

70%
80%
60%
70%

Stayed 28th October 2019

Enjoyable stay but marred by a few niggles. Despite phoning the night before to book dinner there was no record of a booking. The main course was warm not hot and no one asked during our meal if everything was ok, only after we finished. Drink and supplement charges were removed from our bill but we would rather just have hot food! A fried egg ordered at breakfast took 15 mins to appear. The attitude of the maitre d' in the bistro was poor and we had to ask for our bill 3 times before it appeared. WiFi very poor for hotel of this standard.

James Carlin said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th October 2019

had a lovely stay at Dalmahoy. Beautiful hotel and staf very friendly and approachable. Dinner was delicious and great choice on DBB rate. Only issue was a wedding was on and this affected the service in the bar area - there only really was one bar for guests (the golf club was not for me and only open until 10.30) so wedding guests used this too (the entire wedding party in there when we went for dinner so struggled to get a pre dinner drink as they behaved as though it was their space and not for guests!) with only two staff members for the bar area and drinks in restaurant - this slowed service quite considerably which was frustrating. Extra staff on wedding nights might be useful. Didn't get my prosecco either but I also forgot to ask. I would go back as it was lovely but would be wary of weddings.

David Sinclair said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd October 2019

Very comfortable stay, excellent lounges and dining area.

deborah goozee said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast amazing and our evening meal was nice. Only grumble was don’t be fooled by the name of bar!! The tail bar has no idea his to serve a tail! No points for presentation !!