Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, Edinburgh

Kirknewton, Edinburgh, EH278EB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

audra baxter said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th September 2021

Lovely hotel, great room, bathroom needs upgraded. Food was nice . Had a terrible issue with a male member of staff in the tail bar . Ross 1 of the manager's handled it though .

Michael Houston said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st August 2021

A very welcoming hotel with lovely staff members. Would like to give a special mention to Lewis who was absolutely brand new with my partner and I, not only making us feel welcome but going above and beyond to make our experience a memorable one on our first mini break together. The hotel manager was also extremely helpful as he went out of his way to escort us to our room upon arrival and tell us more about the hotel and its history. The facilities are incredible, in particular the golf course which is one of the best courses I have played on personally. Will 100% return to Dalmahoy Hotel and Country Club in some capacity in the near future.

Mr McLellan said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th June 2021

Very nice hotel food and staff excellent only problem for me was in the tail lounge they had no draft beers which was a major fault as guests should have been told beforehand hotel is all about golf no walks very handy for going into Edinburgh which was great.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2020

Had a lovely two night break at hotel. Felt safe with the COVID regulations in place. Rooms clean and staff friendly and helpful.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2020

Had a lovely two night break at hotel. Felt safe with the COVID regulations in place. Rooms clean and staff friendly and helpful.

Jamie Scott said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2020

hotel was amazing. was my.partners 40th and the hotel gave is an upgrade to the turret suite .which was fabulous. steven from customer relations I think he was from . went over and above to make sure everything was ok and the staff were pleasant.

A guest said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 27th September 2020

Had lovely relaxing stay. Room was clean & refurbished. Hotel social distancing measures were in place & continues cleaning o areas were maintained. Would visit again

Jason Trainer said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 27th September 2020

We booked evening meal thinking it was in main hotel, however it was in brasserie above leisure Pool. Disappointed as room looked more like Wetherspoons pub, lack atmosphere. Waited 35 mins for our main course, service slow, lack staff, wife got free glass wine for inconvenience, Hotel was good apart from this. Breakfast was in main Hotel & was excellent.

Mary Woodburn said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2020

We had a night at Dalmahoy House Hotel to celebrate our golden Wedding Anniversary . The staff at reception and dining were very welcoming and pleasant. Our room was fabulous it was Her majesty’s room. Dinner and breakfast were both good. Hotel has a lovely setting with golf course all around it. Will definitely be back by for more than one night

Angela Harris said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 11th September 2020

I'm afraid we were a little disappointed in the hotel. We could not book in the main restaurant for dinner which was the primary reason for the visit. It was our 30th wedding anniversary. The brasserie was not the same in any way. Breakfast was a little chaotic but ok. Our bill was wrong both in the Brasserie and on departure when we had been over charged. Altogether disappointing I'm afraid.

Natalie Gray said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 25th January 2020

This was our 4th visit to the Dalmahoy Staff were friendly, room was nice Food was lovely a bit of a long wait between starter and main course. Disappointed we were unable to use the facilities. The pool was being refurbished so only the gym was available. This had not been mentioned when we checked in. At time of booking the offer stated use of the leisure facilities when the pool is actually closed for the next 2 months! very disappointed!

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th January 2020

Lovely stay ,large room. Pillows far too soft like a marshmallow, shower could have had more pressure, enjoyed meal in the brasserie, very pleasant staff,

Gillian Tobin said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 27th December 2019

We had a lovely stay here in between Christmas and New year. Rooms were spacious and clean. The only issue was waiting a bit longer than normal on our food, however we weren’t in a hurry so just relaxed and enjoyed the atmosphere.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. Great value for money. The courtesy shuttle bus to Edinburgh park to get a tram into Edinburgh centre is a bonus.

William Baird said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 10th November 2019

Hotel was generally excellent with one exception. The formal dining experience was poor, the service was slow and the food of varied quality with supplements on most dishes. The leisure facilities were excellent and we ate in the Brasserie on our second night where the food and service was far superior, special mention to the housekeeping staff and to Craig in the Brasserie.

Fiona Thompson said...

70%
80%
60%
70%

Stayed 28th October 2019

Enjoyable stay but marred by a few niggles. Despite phoning the night before to book dinner there was no record of a booking. The main course was warm not hot and no one asked during our meal if everything was ok, only after we finished. Drink and supplement charges were removed from our bill but we would rather just have hot food! A fried egg ordered at breakfast took 15 mins to appear. The attitude of the maitre d' in the bistro was poor and we had to ask for our bill 3 times before it appeared. WiFi very poor for hotel of this standard.

James Carlin said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th October 2019

had a lovely stay at Dalmahoy. Beautiful hotel and staf very friendly and approachable. Dinner was delicious and great choice on DBB rate. Only issue was a wedding was on and this affected the service in the bar area - there only really was one bar for guests (the golf club was not for me and only open until 10.30) so wedding guests used this too (the entire wedding party in there when we went for dinner so struggled to get a pre dinner drink as they behaved as though it was their space and not for guests!) with only two staff members for the bar area and drinks in restaurant - this slowed service quite considerably which was frustrating. Extra staff on wedding nights might be useful. Didn't get my prosecco either but I also forgot to ask. I would go back as it was lovely but would be wary of weddings.

David Sinclair said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd October 2019

Very comfortable stay, excellent lounges and dining area.

deborah goozee said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast amazing and our evening meal was nice. Only grumble was don’t be fooled by the name of bar!! The tail bar has no idea his to serve a tail! No points for presentation !!

deborah goozee said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast amazing and our evening meal was nice. Only grumble was don’t be fooled by the name of bar!! The tail bar has no idea his to serve a tail! No points for presentation !!

A guest said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 8th October 2019

Had a lovely stay

Kenneth Nicol said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2019

Lovely hotel with good food, dinner and breakfast. Rooms a bit difficult to find from main reception, but I suppose it takes a bit of time to adjust. Overall very happy.

Alan Cupples said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th March 2019

Unfortunately the hotel is getting some renovations which we were unaware of and disrupted our stay a little. On the Saturday there was a strong smell of paint thinner and on our 2nd morning there was work being done in an adjacent room which was started around 8 which was annoying. The appeal and decor of the hotel was ruined by a huge amount of notices posted throughout apologising about the ongoing work. The food on the first morning was nice but I feel it wasn’t anywhere near as good on the 2nd morning when the hotel was busier. I wouldn’t have booked it if I was aware of the ongoing work but would consider going back once the work is finished.

David Sinclair said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2019

Hotel very comfortable, nice lounge and dining areas.

Brenda Oldham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2019

Lovely friendly clean hotel . Couldn't fault the hotel at all. Lovely 3 course meal in the brasserie . Room had lovely comfortable double beds in and was spotless with everything you would need for your stay.