Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, Edinburgh

Kirknewton, Edinburgh, EH278EB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

William Baird said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 10th November 2019

Hotel was generally excellent with one exception. The formal dining experience was poor, the service was slow and the food of varied quality with supplements on most dishes. The leisure facilities were excellent and we ate in the Brasserie on our second night where the food and service was far superior, special mention to the housekeeping staff and to Craig in the Brasserie.

Fiona Thompson said...

70%
80%
60%
70%

Stayed 28th October 2019

Enjoyable stay but marred by a few niggles. Despite phoning the night before to book dinner there was no record of a booking. The main course was warm not hot and no one asked during our meal if everything was ok, only after we finished. Drink and supplement charges were removed from our bill but we would rather just have hot food! A fried egg ordered at breakfast took 15 mins to appear. The attitude of the maitre d' in the bistro was poor and we had to ask for our bill 3 times before it appeared. WiFi very poor for hotel of this standard.

J Clyne said...

67%
90%
60%
50%

Stayed 22nd October 2019

Room very good standard but no hand wash in bathroom. Food expensive in Pentland restaurant. Brasserie food quality poor. Felt very cold in the Brasserie and had to put on my outdoor scarf as I was shivering therefore I suggest enclosing this area with glass doors or increase heating. We used the James Laird bar the first night for a drink and it was like sitting in a fridge the temperature was so cold in this bar we had only one drink and left. However Swimming pool excellent facilities.

James Carlin said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th October 2019

had a lovely stay at Dalmahoy. Beautiful hotel and staf very friendly and approachable. Dinner was delicious and great choice on DBB rate. Only issue was a wedding was on and this affected the service in the bar area - there only really was one bar for guests (the golf club was not for me and only open until 10.30) so wedding guests used this too (the entire wedding party in there when we went for dinner so struggled to get a pre dinner drink as they behaved as though it was their space and not for guests!) with only two staff members for the bar area and drinks in restaurant - this slowed service quite considerably which was frustrating. Extra staff on wedding nights might be useful. Didn't get my prosecco either but I also forgot to ask. I would go back as it was lovely but would be wary of weddings.

David Sinclair said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd October 2019

Very comfortable stay, excellent lounges and dining area.

Brian Hunt said...

57%
90%
50%
30%

Stayed 20th October 2019

The standard of bar food in the Brasserie was poor and did not justify the high prices being charged. The salmon on couscous dish we had on our first night was dreadful. To make matters worse a service charge of 12.5% was added to each lunch and evening meal bill but none of the staff who served us told us that this would be added or that it was discretionary. Kippers were on the cook to order breakfast menu each morning. I ordered these on three consecutive days only to be informed that the kitchen had run out. Come on Dalmahoy, surely you can do better than this?

deborah goozee said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast amazing and our evening meal was nice. Only grumble was don’t be fooled by the name of bar!! The tail bar has no idea his to serve a tail! No points for presentation !!

deborah goozee said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast amazing and our evening meal was nice. Only grumble was don’t be fooled by the name of bar!! The tail bar has no idea his to serve a tail! No points for presentation !!

A guest said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 8th October 2019

Had a lovely stay

T Bradford said...

54%
80%
30%
50%

Stayed 1st October 2019

Very disappointed, not enough staff, or if they did have enough the management were hopeless.

Gary McLellan said...

57%
60%
60%
50%

Stayed 29th July 2019

Food and service in both Pentland and Brasserie was disappointing. Brvice was good in Braid Bar but not in main tail bar. We gave up on ordering as it took so long. Golf and leisure facilities were very good and reception staff also were efficient. We upgraded our room and were positioned beside a metal ramp and staircase which was at a fire exit but was used constantly by guests. Room was dark (218).

Kenneth Nicol said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2019

Lovely hotel with good food, dinner and breakfast. Rooms a bit difficult to find from main reception, but I suppose it takes a bit of time to adjust. Overall very happy.

Alan Cupples said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th March 2019

Unfortunately the hotel is getting some renovations which we were unaware of and disrupted our stay a little. On the Saturday there was a strong smell of paint thinner and on our 2nd morning there was work being done in an adjacent room which was started around 8 which was annoying. The appeal and decor of the hotel was ruined by a huge amount of notices posted throughout apologising about the ongoing work. The food on the first morning was nice but I feel it wasn’t anywhere near as good on the 2nd morning when the hotel was busier. I wouldn’t have booked it if I was aware of the ongoing work but would consider going back once the work is finished.

David Sinclair said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2019

Hotel very comfortable, nice lounge and dining areas.

Brenda Oldham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2019

Lovely friendly clean hotel . Couldn't fault the hotel at all. Lovely 3 course meal in the brasserie . Room had lovely comfortable double beds in and was spotless with everything you would need for your stay.

John Greer said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th January 2019

Very pleasant stay, with very good service from a friendly and helpful staff.

David McKnight said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th December 2018

Food was very good in main restaurant but disappointing in brasserie. Staff very friendly and attentive. James Braid bar is in need of better decor.

Diane Slater said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th November 2018

Excellent stay at Dalmahoy Hotel lovely rooms, clean and modern with excellent amenities such as a huge flat screen TV and a fridge and a very comfortable bed both restaurants were very good. The views were lovely and the golf courses excellent.

Gerry Farrell said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2018

You’ll find it hard not to be impressed with the appearance of this hotel as you drive up towards the main building, surrounded by the golf course and open fields it really is lovely. Check in was easy. The route to the room is via an array of corridors etc but all well marked. Our room was lovely, clean and spacious with the added bonus of a fridge. We ate the first night in the busy brassiere which you don’t need to pre book, the service was very good and the food nice although we did have an issue with a part of it (cold, over cooked chips) that said, when we mentioned this to the waitress she was quick to apologise and raised the matter further with the head waiter who came over and spoke to us and ensured we were compensated. This was further followed up by a senior manager who must have Ben told as he came through to the bar to speak with us. It’s this attention to customer satisfaction that makes a good hotel a great hotel. The following night we ate in the main restaurant, the service here again was excellent and the meal was superb. We really loved our stay here and will certainly be returning. Top mark to the wonderful staff.

Lynda Cunningham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2018

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Staff very professional and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with everything you could want. Bed was extremely comfortable. Would definitely recommend and we will revisit.

R Kemp said...

74%
100%
20%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2018

Hotel and breakfast great,, evening meal on first night disaster ,,two and a half hours to get fed,, not good enough

jean gibb said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th May 2018

Overall break was very good, and staff very attentive, and offer of help always there as my husband is disabled.

Gordon Smart said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2018

Lovely hotel. Coctail bar and Bairds bar was excellent. David in the tail bar was exceptional.

Diane Leishman said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th March 2018

Enjoyed our stay. Was able to upgrade to a Junior Suite which was just fabulous! All staff are friendly and customer focused. Food in the restaurant for the evening meal was excellent. Just a small point about the scrambled egg for breakfast leaves a lot to be desired.

sandra blackhall said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2018

Another great stay at this hotel.