Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, Edinburgh

Kirknewton, Edinburgh, EH278EB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

Gary McLellan said...

57%
60%
60%
50%

Stayed 29th July 2019

Food and service in both Pentland and Brasserie was disappointing. Brvice was good in Braid Bar but not in main tail bar. We gave up on ordering as it took so long. Golf and leisure facilities were very good and reception staff also were efficient. We upgraded our room and were positioned beside a metal ramp and staircase which was at a fire exit but was used constantly by guests. Room was dark (218).

Kenneth Nicol said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2019

Lovely hotel with good food, dinner and breakfast. Rooms a bit difficult to find from main reception, but I suppose it takes a bit of time to adjust. Overall very happy.

Alan Cupples said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th March 2019

Unfortunately the hotel is getting some renovations which we were unaware of and disrupted our stay a little. On the Saturday there was a strong smell of paint thinner and on our 2nd morning there was work being done in an adjacent room which was started around 8 which was annoying. The appeal and decor of the hotel was ruined by a huge amount of notices posted throughout apologising about the ongoing work. The food on the first morning was nice but I feel it wasn’t anywhere near as good on the 2nd morning when the hotel was busier. I wouldn’t have booked it if I was aware of the ongoing work but would consider going back once the work is finished.

David Sinclair said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2019

Hotel very comfortable, nice lounge and dining areas.

Brenda Oldham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2019

Lovely friendly clean hotel . Couldn't fault the hotel at all. Lovely 3 course meal in the brasserie . Room had lovely comfortable double beds in and was spotless with everything you would need for your stay.

John Greer said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th January 2019

Very pleasant stay, with very good service from a friendly and helpful staff.

David McKnight said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th December 2018

Food was very good in main restaurant but disappointing in brasserie. Staff very friendly and attentive. James Braid bar is in need of better decor.

Diane Slater said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th November 2018

Excellent stay at Dalmahoy Hotel lovely rooms, clean and modern with excellent amenities such as a huge flat screen TV and a fridge and a very comfortable bed both restaurants were very good. The views were lovely and the golf courses excellent.

Gerry Farrell said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2018

You’ll find it hard not to be impressed with the appearance of this hotel as you drive up towards the main building, surrounded by the golf course and open fields it really is lovely. Check in was easy. The route to the room is via an array of corridors etc but all well marked. Our room was lovely, clean and spacious with the added bonus of a fridge. We ate the first night in the busy brassiere which you don’t need to pre book, the service was very good and the food nice although we did have an issue with a part of it (cold, over cooked chips) that said, when we mentioned this to the waitress she was quick to apologise and raised the matter further with the head waiter who came over and spoke to us and ensured we were compensated. This was further followed up by a senior manager who must have Ben told as he came through to the bar to speak with us. It’s this attention to customer satisfaction that makes a good hotel a great hotel. The following night we ate in the main restaurant, the service here again was excellent and the meal was superb. We really loved our stay here and will certainly be returning. Top mark to the wonderful staff.

Lynda Cunningham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2018

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Staff very professional and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with everything you could want. Bed was extremely comfortable. Would definitely recommend and we will revisit.

R Kemp said...

74%
100%
20%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2018

Hotel and breakfast great,, evening meal on first night disaster ,,two and a half hours to get fed,, not good enough

jean gibb said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th May 2018

Overall break was very good, and staff very attentive, and offer of help always there as my husband is disabled.

Gordon Smart said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2018

Lovely hotel. Coctail bar and Bairds bar was excellent. David in the tail bar was exceptional.

Diane Leishman said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th March 2018

Enjoyed our stay. Was able to upgrade to a Junior Suite which was just fabulous! All staff are friendly and customer focused. Food in the restaurant for the evening meal was excellent. Just a small point about the scrambled egg for breakfast leaves a lot to be desired.

sandra blackhall said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2018

Another great stay at this hotel.

Jean Murray said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th March 2018

We have visited this hotel several times and cannot fault anything about it, the rooms, the restaurants, the staff we found perfect and we are already booked to return for Christmas.

Vivien Stewart said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th March 2018

Our Stay at the Dalmahoy hotel and Country Club was wonderful. The room was lovely and very comfortable. Our meal was delicious and the wine choices were of excellent quality. The breakfast staff and the food was of a very high standard. The service when checking in was very efficient and the staff were extremely pleasant. The waiters on duty within the Brassiere Restaurant were cheerful and very professional. Overall we would recommend to friends and the deal was great value for money

Miss Skinner said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th March 2018

Myself and my husband stayed in the beautiful Morton Suite. The room was beautiful , very spacious , facilities were great , bathrooms were very luxurious. Only issue was that during the night , pretty much all of it there was a sound of running water to the left hand side of the room , it was like a running tap in the room , which was obviously pipes that run down , it was very loud which kept us up so didn’t sleep much. Apart from that everything was perfect and not to forget the beautiful breakfast

Valerie Cavanagh said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th February 2018

Very pleasant stay

Andrew Burke said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd February 2018

Enjoy period setting but modern facil

liz keohone said...

57%
90%
40%
40%

Stayed 27th January 2018

Phoning the week before we went I could only get 9 pm for dinner, we were told we could go to the Barasarie , but as there only 4 of us, we could not book a table ??? The only book for 6 or more !!!! So we went 7.30 pm and got our starter at 9.45 pm , needless to say I never eat my main meal. I think this is unexcepable that the can’t cope with the numbers they have booked in for a Saturday night

john webb said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th November 2017

Great stay, staff excellent ,attention to detail superb, would recommend it to friends, great spa and pool.

Craig Smart said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th September 2017

Lovely hotel great service from all staff had a very pleasant overnight here with my wife would highly recommend dalmahoy and do great deals on a romantic break

Scott Jenkins said...

60%
90%
70%
20%

Stayed 22nd April 2017

Food is served lego size ( tiny portions ). My fiance had hair all over her buffet breakfast! ! Hotel full of golfing ignorant ss.

Kathleen McBride said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th April 2017

Had a lovely 2 night say here recently. Lovely hotel and very relaxing venue.Excellent meals and staff very helpful. Rooms are comfortable and spacious but feel they need a little upgrading! We will be back.