Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Thainstone House, Inverurie

, Inverurie, AB515NT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

DONALD SIMPSON said...

67%
10%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th November 2020

Had a fabulous stay celebrating my wife’s 60th birthday. Staff excellent., spa lovely and outside hot tub., meals amazing, all COVID measures adhered to. If there was a criticism it would only be to cut out existing silicone around shower and replace, as first impressions made it look grubby, however the whole bathroom and room were spotless, this just let it down a little., but we most definitely will be back as everything was perfect in beautiful surroundings.

E Hill said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2020

One of the best hotels we stayed in. The hotel has its charm and it has a feeling of antique but not old. Looks like the hotel just been painted. As you enter you are treated to the smell from the fire from the bar, which adds a nice feeling to the whole experience. We sat one afternoon by the fire and just enjoyed its warm, Barry made sure to keep the fire on. We could not find any fault in the hotel. Even pre-arrival the staff was helpful, Sam at the spa was more than happy to answer all my question and eased my mind about actually going ahead with the booking. On arrival we were greeted by the GM William Inglis and the receptionist Matthew. They were both friendly, made us feel welcomed. We stayed in room 102 and it was spacious and the most comfy bed and pillows. When we mentioned it to the GM in the morning, he even gave us the name where they source the pillows. All staff went the extra mile. They even accomodated all of our request as it was our anniversary and we brought our own cake and nothing was too much for them. Barry in the restaurant took good care of us and when the next afternoon we wanted a wee bit of our cake he was more than happy to make sure we get few slices with our teas and coffees. Yvona from reception was helpful too and she was also friendly. Matthew answered all my questions even after me going back every five minutes lol. He was very patient and went extra mile and printed out some history of the hotel for us to read. The General Manager was always around from early morning to later, doing rounds at breakfast, serving, cleaning and same at dinner. He was just passing by when I was talking to the reception as I forgot to pack our toothbrushes. Silly me. He immediately offered to buy some and brought them in next morning. Now that is service. We had dinner on both nights. Food is amazing, we had mussels, scallops, venison and all were the best that we had. Meat just melted in the mouth, the flavors were perfect. The spa was well organized and it was nice to see only 6 people to be allowed in the pool area at the time. We had booked the outside hot tub and it was just the two of us in in the evening and it was relaxing. Thank you for the brilliant stay. We will definitely will be back.

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th October 2020

Fabulous stay at the hotel. Enjoyed the DBB deal, which was excellent value for money and the food fantastic. Made use of the leisure facilities Including the outside hot tub and even booked myself in for a massage, very relaxing. Staff very friendly and helpful. My only negative was the room size, for a king size room, there wasn’t much room for more than the bed. Would love to stay here again and will be recommending it to friends and family.

Lorna braid said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st February 2020

Lovely hotel with good facilities. Staff are all very helpful & the food is delicious. Room temperatures were warm which was nice in February and the open fires in the Club Room make it a perfect location to relax over drinks or coffee

Gayle Rankin said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th September 2019

Great service from all staff. Food was amazing. We booked a king size room which was quite small and could do with being refurnished.

A guest said...

70%
70%
60%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2019

Enjoyed our stay at Thainstone House. Staff were very pleasant, only negative is I feel there are major training issues within the dining room staff. Service was very slow both at dinner and breakfast.

Joanne Miller said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th June 2019

Gorgeous hotel, beautiful surroundings and staff couldn't do enough for you, will definitely be back.

Audrey Flynn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2019

Excellent hotel, friendly staff and delicious food. Would thoroughly recommend.

John McKay said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

Excellent stay at the hotel.Excellent food and staff were very professional and courteous.Room was compact and bijou,however adequate.The 6 course taster menu was superb.Unfortunately the deal I was on only permitted a £20 allowance in the Stockman's lounge which was poorly staffed.I would rather have put my allowance to dinner in the Green Lady restaurant.We subsequently dined there the following evening.

J Irvine said...

74%
80%
50%
90%

Stayed 11th February 2018

Enjoyed our stay in the main. Room was clean and tidy, food was good and service was good except for the following :- first night in the dining room we got the table we asked the receptionist to reserve for us. Everything went ok until we finished our main course. We the had to wait approx. 15mins for the sorbet, and then the one sweet we had ordered at the start of our meal never appeared and never appeared, until I cancelled it and asked for our coffee to be taken to our room. The same problem arose on the second night, in addition to the fact that the receptionist had again very kindly reserved a particular table for us but didn't materialise. The young waiter hadn't set the right table. Again, the service deteriorated towards the end of the meal to the extent that most of the attention seemed to be given to the downstairs bar, and our restaurant was devoid of staff for lengthy periods. Eventually our sorbets and sweet were served almost as an afterthought. One of the young ladies on duty seemed to chat to one table of guests for an inordinate length of time, to the detriment of anyone else in the restaurant. It will not put us off returning to the hotel, but it is a great pity that such a nice hotel with good food and surroundings should be spoilt by an apparent lack efficiency and consideration for all guests on the part of some of the staff.

Scott McFarlane said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th August 2017

Really nice place. Friendly staff. All of them. Great six course taster menu.

ALEX MCLEOD said...

57%
60%
70%
40%

Stayed 17th June 2017

After reading reviews I was looking forward to visiting the hotel, but was rather disappointed . We were meet with a warm welcome from reception, but after that it went downhill. The room was small and cramped more like a single room, no hairdryer or appropriate socket to enable you to use the mirror and dry your hair. Afternoon tea was enjoyable, food in the Stockman bar was very average, breakfast not enjoyable and staff in restaurant were rather disinterested. Location and grounds good. Doubt if I would return.

elsie struthers said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th May 2017

Thw hotel is set in parkland and surrounded by trees It is very quiet and we had a great time watching the wildlife come and go. Many species of birds and even a little roe deer came to visit. The hotel itself is a mixture of old and new. Some of the seats have comfy old cushions that make you feel comfy and relaxed. There are no airs and graces. Just along from reception is a lovely seating area with a glass atrium that aloows lots of light in and the light changes as the weather doeas and as night comes down. All very peaceful. There is a great wee pool and spa area. The staff are brilliant. nothing was too much bother to anyone. They were all friendle, but particular mention must be made of Laura Grant. What an asset she is. I hope her tails take off. Finally, I would like to commend the young chef. The food was fantastic! we had the taster menu and particular mention must be made of her soups, smooth, creamy veloite texture. The lamb was cooked to perfection as was everything else. Having been in the industry myself, and a teacher of cooking skills, I recognise a talent to be nurtured. The manager was very helpful with directions to places pf interest. On the downside, there were no leaflets with places of interest, the toilet paper was cheap as chips and a false economy, there were not enough toiletris (I had to use my own),no paper tissues and a lack of bags for sanitary products. But all that apaert, it was still agreat place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. Making some changes to the negatives will help on your journey to 5 stars. Well done everyone.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2017

Excellent.....have an egg allergy and it was handled with absolute aplomb. Food was excellent. Had taster menu each evening with completly different selection each dinner.Staf extremely friendly and gracious . Bedroom a bit dark but very comfortable. Bar not always staffed so service a bit erratic. Cracking wine list!

John Gallacher said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 24th March 2017

We both had a great time. The staff are very likeable , very professional and can't do enough for you.

A guest said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th March 2017

While the room was clean and had sufficient facil, it was a bit small for a double. Seemed more suitable for a single, although I appreciate our booking was quite late. It would not however put us off from booking the hotel again.

Hazel Black said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th January 2017

Great hotel and Spa. This was our first visit to this lovely hotel and I'm sure it won't be our last. Our room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed and the decor was also to our liking. We really enjoyed the leisure area with the outside hot tub and spa. We had dinner in the Green Lady restaurant and opted for the taster menu and the food was excellent. We also had a very tastie breakfast with plenty of choice. There was plenty of spacious areas with lovely open fires to sit and relax in which we really like. The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel and made our stay very enjoyable.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th January 2017

Another enjoyable stay at Thainstone. It really is a special place. Feels more like a home, albeit upper class, than a hotel.The public areas are spacious and relaxed. The staff are local, friendly and knowledgeable. There is a lot to do one the area - castles and Pictish stones as well as good walks. We will be back

Graham Johnston said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2016

The food was excellent, the staff very helpful, efficient and professional, the leisure facil were very good and comprehensive. The only downside (and I'm being very picky) was the decor in the bedroom and the lighting levels in some of the public areas was a little dull and gloomy. Overall, most enjoyable.

campbell leslie said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st August 2016

Highly recommended

norman lillie said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th February 2016

We were more than delighted with our stay at Thainstone. The staff are delightful and totally professional. Pleased that the receptionist knew the translation of the Latin quotation that greeted our arrival. The taster menu was just right enough but not too much food. The house itself is unusual with the asset of lots of public space appropriately furnished and with a sunny aspect. The dining room in particular is just the right size and although full for breakfast never seemed crowded or noisy. We were not in best of health so did not use spa facil but we will return as this hotel more than exceeded our expectations.

GORDON BRYSON said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th December 2015

Great to find customer service isn't dead! Despite arriving particularly late Clare on Reception was fantastic. Sandwiches and refreshments were organised really quickly and meant we ended our busy day a bit more refreshed. Breakfast in the morning was one of the best I've had for a while, with all items cooked to order. Great value all round - I'll be back!

Yvonne Brechin said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th December 2015

Lovely stay, excellent service and great food.

A guest said...

0%
0%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 29th June 2010

Stay cancelled.

A guest said...

0%
0%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 27th June 2010

Stay cancelled.