Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Thainstone House, Inverurie

, Inverurie, AB515NT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Gayle Rankin said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th September 2019

Great service from all staff. Food was amazing. We booked a king size room which was quite small and could do with being refurnished.

A guest said...

70%
70%
60%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2019

Enjoyed our stay at Thainstone House. Staff were very pleasant, only negative is I feel there are major training issues within the dining room staff. Service was very slow both at dinner and breakfast.

Joanne Miller said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th June 2019

Gorgeous hotel, beautiful surroundings and staff couldn't do enough for you, will definitely be back.

Audrey Flynn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2019

Excellent hotel, friendly staff and delicious food. Would thoroughly recommend.

John McKay said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

Excellent stay at the hotel.Excellent food and staff were very professional and courteous.Room was compact and bijou,however adequate.The 6 course taster menu was superb.Unfortunately the deal I was on only permitted a £20 allowance in the Stockman's lounge which was poorly staffed.I would rather have put my allowance to dinner in the Green Lady restaurant.We subsequently dined there the following evening.

J Irvine said...

74%
80%
50%
90%

Stayed 11th February 2018

Enjoyed our stay in the main. Room was clean and tidy, food was good and service was good except for the following :- first night in the dining room we got the table we asked the receptionist to reserve for us. Everything went ok until we finished our main course. We the had to wait approx. 15mins for the sorbet, and then the one sweet we had ordered at the start of our meal never appeared and never appeared, until I cancelled it and asked for our coffee to be taken to our room. The same problem arose on the second night, in addition to the fact that the receptionist had again very kindly reserved a particular table for us but didn't materialise. The young waiter hadn't set the right table. Again, the service deteriorated towards the end of the meal to the extent that most of the attention seemed to be given to the downstairs bar, and our restaurant was devoid of staff for lengthy periods. Eventually our sorbets and sweet were served almost as an afterthought. One of the young ladies on duty seemed to chat to one table of guests for an inordinate length of time, to the detriment of anyone else in the restaurant. It will not put us off returning to the hotel, but it is a great pity that such a nice hotel with good food and surroundings should be spoilt by an apparent lack efficiency and consideration for all guests on the part of some of the staff.

Scott McFarlane said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th August 2017

Really nice place. Friendly staff. All of them. Great six course taster menu.

ALEX MCLEOD said...

57%
60%
70%
40%

Stayed 17th June 2017

After reading reviews I was looking forward to visiting the hotel, but was rather disappointed . We were meet with a warm welcome from reception, but after that it went downhill. The room was small and cramped more like a single room, no hairdryer or appropriate socket to enable you to use the mirror and dry your hair. Afternoon tea was enjoyable, food in the Stockman bar was very average, breakfast not enjoyable and staff in restaurant were rather disinterested. Location and grounds good. Doubt if I would return.

elsie struthers said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th May 2017

Thw hotel is set in parkland and surrounded by trees It is very quiet and we had a great time watching the wildlife come and go. Many species of birds and even a little roe deer came to visit. The hotel itself is a mixture of old and new. Some of the seats have comfy old cushions that make you feel comfy and relaxed. There are no airs and graces. Just along from reception is a lovely seating area with a glass atrium that aloows lots of light in and the light changes as the weather doeas and as night comes down. All very peaceful. There is a great wee pool and spa area. The staff are brilliant. nothing was too much bother to anyone. They were all friendle, but particular mention must be made of Laura Grant. What an asset she is. I hope her tails take off. Finally, I would like to commend the young chef. The food was fantastic! we had the taster menu and particular mention must be made of her soups, smooth, creamy veloite texture. The lamb was cooked to perfection as was everything else. Having been in the industry myself, and a teacher of cooking skills, I recognise a talent to be nurtured. The manager was very helpful with directions to places pf interest. On the downside, there were no leaflets with places of interest, the toilet paper was cheap as chips and a false economy, there were not enough toiletris (I had to use my own),no paper tissues and a lack of bags for sanitary products. But all that apaert, it was still agreat place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. Making some changes to the negatives will help on your journey to 5 stars. Well done everyone.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2017

Excellent.....have an egg allergy and it was handled with absolute aplomb. Food was excellent. Had taster menu each evening with completly different selection each dinner.Staf extremely friendly and gracious . Bedroom a bit dark but very comfortable. Bar not always staffed so service a bit erratic. Cracking wine list!

John Gallacher said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 24th March 2017

We both had a great time. The staff are very likeable , very professional and can't do enough for you.

A guest said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th March 2017

While the room was clean and had sufficient facil, it was a bit small for a double. Seemed more suitable for a single, although I appreciate our booking was quite late. It would not however put us off from booking the hotel again.

Hazel Black said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th January 2017

Great hotel and Spa. This was our first visit to this lovely hotel and I'm sure it won't be our last. Our room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed and the decor was also to our liking. We really enjoyed the leisure area with the outside hot tub and spa. We had dinner in the Green Lady restaurant and opted for the taster menu and the food was excellent. We also had a very tastie breakfast with plenty of choice. There was plenty of spacious areas with lovely open fires to sit and relax in which we really like. The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel and made our stay very enjoyable.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th January 2017

Another enjoyable stay at Thainstone. It really is a special place. Feels more like a home, albeit upper class, than a hotel.The public areas are spacious and relaxed. The staff are local, friendly and knowledgeable. There is a lot to do one the area - castles and Pictish stones as well as good walks. We will be back

Graham Johnston said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2016

The food was excellent, the staff very helpful, efficient and professional, the leisure facil were very good and comprehensive. The only downside (and I'm being very picky) was the decor in the bedroom and the lighting levels in some of the public areas was a little dull and gloomy. Overall, most enjoyable.

campbell leslie said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st August 2016

Highly recommended

norman lillie said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th February 2016

We were more than delighted with our stay at Thainstone. The staff are delightful and totally professional. Pleased that the receptionist knew the translation of the Latin quotation that greeted our arrival. The taster menu was just right enough but not too much food. The house itself is unusual with the asset of lots of public space appropriately furnished and with a sunny aspect. The dining room in particular is just the right size and although full for breakfast never seemed crowded or noisy. We were not in best of health so did not use spa facil but we will return as this hotel more than exceeded our expectations.

GORDON BRYSON said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th December 2015

Great to find customer service isn't dead! Despite arriving particularly late Clare on Reception was fantastic. Sandwiches and refreshments were organised really quickly and meant we ended our busy day a bit more refreshed. Breakfast in the morning was one of the best I've had for a while, with all items cooked to order. Great value all round - I'll be back!

Yvonne Brechin said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th December 2015

Lovely stay, excellent service and great food.

A guest said...

0%
0%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 29th June 2010

Stay cancelled.

A guest said...

0%
0%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 27th June 2010

Stay cancelled.

John Murray said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 24th October 2010

Stay was cancelled.

Karen Gammie said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 21st November 2015

Enjoyed the hotel staff were all pleasant and helpful. Not enough staff to cover breakfast waited a while to be served.

ian young said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 8th July 2015

Another nice stay at Thainstone Has been upgraded since my last visit. Rooms comfortable The set menu has a rather limited choice extra for vegetarian dish Leisure facilities nice with new outdoor jacuzzi Overall nice place but can be overpriced Aberdeen rates

Craig McBean said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st April 2015

We loved our stay at Thainstone. The only criticism we had, was that you had to look for someone to serve you at the bars. This was not laziness but because they had 2 bars and the diningroom to look after. When we went to pay there was a problem with our card which said it was blocked. On return we phoned our bank and they said that a payment had not been requested. This was frustrating for us as others were checking out and we were panicking about how to pay ??