Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Majestic Hotel, Harrogate

Ripon Road, Harrogate, HG12HU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Angela Kelly said...

85%
80%
90%
N/A

Stayed 5th May 2019

Fantastic hotel lovely food lovely tails will be back

vicki aston said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th May 2019

Beautiful break away for our anniversary would highly recommend Great staff, amazing room and fabulous food

James Hughes said...

44%
80%
20%
30%

Stayed 23rd April 2019

My wife and I stayed at the Majestic for 2 nights and booked dinner in the restaurant for the second night. The hotel is undergoing a major overhaul and the hotel kept us informed of progress on building works, (including the status of the swimming pool etc.) prior to our arrival. Within 15 minutes of arrival the hotel fire alarm was sounded and after a short while my wife and I left the room and the alarm stopped so we returned. This happened a number of subsequent times and we assumed they alarm was being tested and ignored it. This should have been communicated to guests as it was a little unnerving. The bedroom provided had been updated and the bed was very comfortable but the room was very hot and would benefit from air conditioning. On the second night my wife and I went to the restaurant at 19.00 as booked and were advised that the booking had not been made and that we would have to wait until 20:15 for a table which was unacceptable. we complained at reception and the staff were great, finding us a table immediately and gave us complimentary drinks by way of apology for the mistake. Our order was taken and a starter received within 10-15 minutes which was great. However, after c. 40 minutes we had to enquire where our mains had gotten to and they were brought out within 5 minutes but were dried up and luke-warm. We didn't return the food as we were gry and it was then 20:30. Our overall experience is one of disappointment as the hotel is comfortable and staff pleasant. Our experience of the restaurant has negatively swayed our experience and we will not be returning to the Majestic in the future.

Fiona JOSEPH said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th April 2019

Fabulous stay here, plans for new leisure facilities look great.

Lynette Blaymire said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 7th April 2019

We enjoyed our nights stay.the only thing wrong was the choice of evening meal wasn't that good.apart from that everything was lovely.our bed was comfy they breakfast was very nice.

Ashleigh Hunter said...

50%
10%
80%
60%

Stayed 24th March 2019

Stayed here for my patners birthday after booking online. The photos of the building looked lovely hence the reason I booked but upon arrival it looked nothing of the sort. The bar & restaurant were lovely and looked classy but the bedrooms were very dated and not modern at all. I was quite deflated as we don’t get a night out often let alone go away for the night much we spent most of the night at the weatherspoons round the corner. For the price I paid I would have much rather booked the premier inn next door.

Ashleigh Hunter said...

50%
10%
80%
60%

Stayed 24th March 2019

Stayed here for my patners birthday after booking online. The photos of the building looked lovely hence the reason I booked but upon arrival it looked nothing of the sort. The bar & restaurant were lovely and looked classy but the bedrooms were very dated and not modern at all. I was quite deflated as we don’t get a night out often let alone go away for the night much we spent most of the night at the weatherspoons round the corner. For the price I paid I would have much rather booked the premier inn next door.

A guest said...

34%
30%
70%
0%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

This is our second visit to this hotel , the first time was a very pleasent stay , we could not fault it . This time was very different story . We had to have our room changed are we weren’t happy that the room , was dull and dingy and only 2 out of 5 lights worked . Our replacement room was far better suited apart from their was limescale round the taps , the room was only dusted In the main places , other places were thick of dust .Also I dropped an earring and it went under the bed , upon trying to retrieve the earring , I come across a pair of dirty dusty men’s boxer shorts which had been there a very long time judging by the amount of dust on them . The restaurant has been beautifully decorated but the menu was very limited , it was only table d’hôte and not ala carte .after waiting over 30mins once seated to be waited upon . Unfortunately there was nothing I ate for starter or main on the menu , spoke to headwaiter who then had word with chef and was told “sorry but if you don’t like anything off the menu there’s nothing that we can do “, so we had to go into town for food even though we paid for Bed,breakfast and evening meal

Jayne Mothershaw said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th March 2019

Hotel is being refurbished and we were told about this before the stay. The new restaurant, and bar have been tastefully refurbished as well as the bedroom that we were allocated. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by cheerful and professional staff, we were greeted by every staff member we encountered, which we thought was very impressive. I mentioned that the stay was for my husbands birthday, and the hotel put a lovely plate with some handmade chocolates on which had a 'Happy Birthday' decorated in chocolate which was a lovely wecoming surprise. The work taking place did not affect our stay, and we are looking forward to seeing the hotel refurbishment fully completed later in the year. Outstanding 3 course dinner, breakfast food the best we have had, even included smoked salmon, mackerel and a pancake machine to make your own pancakes, would certainly recommend this hotel and have recently made another booking.

Jane Hughff said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th March 2019

Our stay was first class,the only issue we had was evening meals didn't start until 6.30 and we were booked for the theatre for 7.30 so there for had to cancel our desserts as wasn't enough time to eat it

Laura Hill said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th March 2019

We had a lovely stay at the hotel. The staff and food were outstanding and the restaurant and bar area are stunning. Our room was basic but once the renovations are completed I’m sure the whole hotel will be fantastic. Overall the deal we got was excellent value.

Paul Dickinson said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2019

Excellent location near town centre. Superb food and clean.

A guest said...

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 25th February 2019

On visiting the Majestic Hotel, my wife and I had a couple of issues with cleanliness in the room, but the staff were very quick to resolve them. After this the rest of the stay was great, the evening meal was excellent the breakfast each morning superb choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel is undergoing refurbishment but it didn't affect our stay. I'm really looking forward to seeing what it is like when complete.

jackie robinson said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th February 2019

Room was lovely. Food gorgeous. Staff helpful and friendly. Pool leisure facilities were disappointing

Jessica Scully said...

60%
10%
100%
70%

Stayed 15th February 2019

We stayed here for Valentine's weekend and having read other reviews was a little worried on what to expect.From the minute we arrived untill the moment we left we felt well looked after.The staff really do go above and beyond to ensure that you have the best stay imaginable .We were upgraded to a newly refurbished room on arrival and it was lovely .I was not disturbed once by the ongoing work that was being carried out. The food was good, the breakfast was great with allsorts to chose from!The best thing for me was the amount of detail that the staff here put into everything!it doesn't go unnoticed from Lyn that seated us at breakfast and explained how everything worked to Itzi that upgraded our room and ensured we knew what was what and where everything was .All of the bar staff were fab and I just can't wait to return when the renovation is complete to see if it could possibly improve anymore .Thanks for having us majestic

mandy foster said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2019

I booked for myself and husband to stay for a valentines night away,excellant value at £49.50 per person for a 3 course meal,bed and breakfast,and full use of the facilities.

April Thirlaway said...

57%
60%
30%
80%

Stayed 14th February 2019

Hi, we had a great stay. The hotel is going through a makeover! And its clear that work is going on but this did not effect us. We stayed in a superior twin room which was large and very clean. The furniture looked a little worn. We ate at the restaurant for evening meal and the food was brilliant, very slow in bringing drinks and the staff were not as organised as they should have been. Breakfast was great but again the staff seemed a little dis-organised. Overall a great stay, great position in Harrogate. Would love to stay again once the work has been completed

A guest said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st February 2019

Had a lovely night away refurbishment going on but that didnt spoil our visit. The food was amazing and plenty choice. Hopefully can come back again once all the works have been complete.

Allan Wilkinson said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 27th January 2019

Nice room once they gave us the correct room.. Would be better if there were no workmen on site. Breakfast was great plenty choice nice restraunt.. Evening meal wasn't for us. No basic roast dinner or good old English food.. Overall pleasent stay staff were great..

Ruth Lister said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th January 2019

Great weekend as always stayed here several times

George Winch said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2018

We had a very good stay at The Majestic. The staff were excellent , very attentive and professional. Although there was a lot of work going on in the hotel (we were informed before going) this did not have any effect on our stay, all workers were very polite and professional. We will definitely be making a return visit when work is completed.

Stephen Martin said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd July 2018

We booked a very last minute break for two , not sure we had the garden room due to all the scaffolding ,but we had a lovely room ,very comfy and everything we needed. We had dinner on the first night and it was very good , the service and staff on duty were excellent. Also had a wine and beer in with that. All in all very nice stay for a great price. Would love to see the hotel when it is all finished, but not sure it will be within our price range.

Donna Tran said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2018

Great location. Staff professional and friendly. Evening meal and breakfast first class. Renovations had no effect on our stay and had a delux refurbished room.

Julie Driver said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th June 2018

Stayed in Deluxe room - couldn't fault it. Pool area small but ok - jacuzzi wasn't working though which was a tad disappointing. Pool attendant knew it wasn't working so not sure if it's going to be fixed anytime soon. 3 course a la carte evening meal and breakfast included - both were very nice. Renovation work going on both inside and outside but didn't bother us. Would stay again.

June Mottershead said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 2nd June 2018

Booked two rooms at the Majestic in order to celebrate a friend's birthday. The rooms were more than adequate. The staff were efficient and friendly. The food was first class and good value. On the down side we arrived at midday and there was no hotel car parking available. The majority of the car park was unavailable owing to a truck demonstration. Our sleep was also disturbed at 3.300am - 4.00am by loud voices and laughter coming from he beer garden followed shortly afterwards by bedroom doors banging on our floor. I can only attribute this to the number of hen parties in the hotel.