Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood, Edinburgh

81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh, EH88AU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

tom mooney said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th February 2024

Stay was great from start to finish, good check in room nice dinner on first night really nice breakfast both mornings great selection, staf so friendly and helpful.

Catherine Sharkey said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th February 2024

On entering the hotel the welcome at reception was great , the staff were friendly and helpful.The hotel lobby is very inviting lovely seating area .All the staff from the restaurant couldnt do enough for you,fod was really nice breakfast was amazing somethingfor everyone,staff always on hand to assist.Our party of six were impressed by how we were treated .

Sue Kirkup said...

97 %
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th January 2024

Welcoming and helpful staff, extra effort made for birthday, message and sweet treat left in room. Room ready on arrival even though we were early. Staff made every effort to talk and engage which is nice. All hotel spotlessly clean and well equipped, thanks for a fabulous break

Carole Christie said...

80 %
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 13th December 2023

We stayed here last week for 2 nights, our room was ready when we arrived and we were in one of the newly refurbished rooms - room was huge with a very large tv and a lovely bathroom with walk in shower. But there was a table with only one chair and no desk or dressing table! Dinner on first night was included and we had 2 tasty courses from set menu. Breakfast had good choice of food but unfortunately the food was only lukewarm but the scrambled eggs and salmon were delicious. Only one lift working. All staff members we met were friendly and helpful, the hotel is under refurbishment but we would be more than happy to stay again.

Clare Freel said...

84 %
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 16th December 2023

Very happy with our stay at this hotel. The rooms were very clean. The food was excellent and all staff friendly and attentive

A guest said...

94 %
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th December 2023

Fantastic hotel. Great experience from start to finish. Room was amazing, staff helpful and friendly. Will definitely be back.

John Watters said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th December 2023

Hotel was lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lighting in room could be brighter. It was quite dull. Temperature in the shower was luke warm even though temperature gage was up full.

A guest said...

74 %
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th December 2023

Reception area and dining/ Breakfast area can’t fault as well as the food delicious but the area on the ground floor once you go through the door is in need of an update as is the rooms the long table one of the legs was falling off and cleaners had not cleaned the toilet enough this is a 4 star hotel but would not give it that! Also a bit of a trek to Princess street would not go back as plenty nicer hotels in Edinburgh

William Porter said...

84 %
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 5th December 2023

Another enjoyable break in this hotel, we stayed here last year and the upgrades have been worthwhile. Friendly helpful staff, lovely clean room, comfortable bed and warm. Dinner was nice but the portion could maybe gave been a bit larger- I know it is a set menu for the deal. Definitely will recommend to anyone looking to stay in Edinburgh, and we'll be back

Pauline Mackay said...

64 %
20%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st December 2023

Staff were very helpful and polite. Our rooms on 6th floor were very cold. We did have a plug in heater to use, but was really cold in bed. Spoke to other guests on this floor and they also found the rooms very cold! Used taxis as location was further than I thought although we did walk into centre on 1 occasion.

Elaine. Ross said...

100 %
100%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 28th November 2023

Very good value for Edinburgh. Very welcoming staff. We were able to change our room on arrival as only a king bed was available online and my sister and I were able to change to a twin. The room was a little scuffed on paintwork and but was clean and a good size. It was a little cold so we used the heater provided. Tiny attention to detail needed in terms of bathroom dusting but I am picky. I would stay again.

A guest said...

84 %
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th November 2023

The hotel was lovely, however was woken up by drilling and hammering at 9am from the renovations which are taking place

Ian Williamson said...

87 %
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th November 2023

Nice hotel and good base to visit attractions. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay. We knew that there was work being carried out in hotel but didnt expect to be awakened by the noise of drilling and hammering at seven in the morning. Apart from that it was an enjoyable couple of days and i would use the hotel again, once refurbishment was finished.

A guest said...

74 %
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 13th November 2023

Lovely hotel. Only complaint was that the cooked breakfast was cold. Other than that there was plenty of choice on the buffet. Facilities were great.

Carol Maxwell said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th November 2023

Fabulous stay last week for two nights, all the staff were very friendly and the room was large and spacious, breakfast was very good too, special mention for David the concierge, who was very helpful and booked us our taxi, gave us vouchers for The Britannia and was very knowledgable to talk to, we hope to return early next year

Catherine McDonald said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2023

Staff were helpful and friendly. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was lovely too. I stayed at same hotel last year and would stay again!

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2023

My partner and I had a lovely overnight stay. There is work going on but it didn’t interfere with our stay. Bed was comfy, room was very clean , all staff were helpful and friendly.There was a great selection at breakfast and you could ask for porridge or salmon . Would stay again only fifteen mins from Waverley train station.

annie telford said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2023

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were there to celebrate my husband’s birthday and on checking in we were informed we had been upgraded. It was a lovely surprise and a nice start to my husband’s birthday celebration.

Karen Cassidy said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2023

We had a great stay at hotel, rooms were nice and comfortable, breakfast was fantastic, only downside was noise of work being done but still had lovely stay

Marilyn McIntosh said...

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th October 2023

We had a lovely stay on one of the beautifully refurbished rooms

Mary Park said...

77 %
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 15th October 2023

The only fault I had was no handrail in shower or mat as it was very slippery.

Stephanie McGrane said...

90 %
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd April 2023

The staff were honestly the nicest team I have ever came across in a hotel. I used to work in different hotel chains for many years and can honestly say each one of the team were so lovely and positive. I know how tough working in hospitality is, and everyone we interacted with seemed like they genuinely liked their job and wanted to be there. The food was lovely, we had afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast and it was all lovely. The room was a little tired, I previously trained in the hotel when it was a Macdonald, so understand it's needing a bit of a refurb, but it was very spacious and had everything we needed. The staff really made the stay truly wonderful.

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th April 2023

Lovely hotel with excellent facilities, friendly staff and excellent breakfast

A guest said...

70 %
30%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th April 2023

Welcome at reception wasn’t the best no info or anything just given room key. Room itself looked the part although wasn’t nice on the eye the fly catcher with lots of dead flies inside. The bathroom was ridiculous, bath was filthy hairs and grime, the silicone was mouldy and cracked, we opted for showers instead of a relaxing bubble bath as planned. The bathroom ended up flooded with water as the shower screen seal wasn’t doing its job. After breakfast the bathroom has a strong smell of urine from the drains. Breakfast welcome was lovely, staff weee friendly and helpful. Food was excellent although the sausages weee cold.

A guest said...

94 %
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th April 2023

I stayed along with 2 other couples and have to say that whilst Some of the decor was old fashioned the rooms were big and comfortable. The food we had on our first night was of high quality and tasty. All 6 of us agreed that the attitude and friendliness of the staff was first class. We were also grateful that we could book in at 12 midday with no fuss