Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Holyrood Hotel, Edinburgh

81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh, EH88AU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

A guest said...

85%
80%
90%
N/A

Stayed 15th September 2022

Hotel was very good overall with comfortable room and all you could ask for at breakfast and efficient service. However, found the air con function didn't adjust for increased Temperature, and the courtesy tray in our room did not get replenished during our two night stay. The menu prices were a bit eye watering but we supposed this was the Edinburgh price norm. Location was good for the Royal Mile, although a bit away from Princes Street and shops. Would use this hotel again - no problem.

Tailford Carole said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st September 2022

Four star hotel but the hand towel in the bathroom had a big hole in it. A small mirror to apply make-up would be helpful as too far away from mirror to see properly (short sighted). There were wires hanging down from the back of the tv so unsightly. Would also add, a few more main course choices in the restaurant wouldn't go amiss. Plus side - nice staff in restaurant and Porter very helpful with arranging a taxi. Breakfast good quality. Shame the lady at the desk on checkout didn't ask how our stay went - does this give a hotel a 4-star recommendation?

stewart edington said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd July 2022

This is our third stay at hotel and along with our two friends have found reception very professional and friendly.Breakfast was fab but our evening meal was exceptional,all agreed it was best we have for a long time.Service was also first class.Room was also more than adaquate.Will definitely be back.

Lindsay Smith said...

44%
50%
70%
10%

Stayed 19th July 2022

Central location and helpful staff but tired hotel. Room was clean but hook behind bathroom door was missing and screws exposed. Soap dispensers were empty at sink and in shower. Food at breakfast was cold, toast wasn't toasted, my poached egg was raw the first day. We were glad we weren't there for dinner.

Stanley Mitchell said...

47%
70%
70%
0%

Stayed 20th July 2022

Nice clean hotel in a good area. Staff polite and pleasant with easy check in/out. Shaving mirror missing from bathroom, holes where it should be. Let down badly by the breakfast which at best was warm and to be put onto cold plates, so all cold by time you got back to table. Certainly not worth the money.

A guest said...

40%
60%
50%
10%

Stayed 6th July 2022

Location of the hotel was probably it’s best feature , sadly. Room was worn and tired looking and the breakfast food was terrible. Coffee was undrinkable. Served a purpose but won’t be rushing back . Sad as great potential but looks like owners have no interest in making it more attractive to potential customers

G Iain Callaghan said...

80%
80%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 30th June 2022

Lovely hotel close to where we were going in Edinburgh. Benefits from having onsite swimming pool and gym. Despite that, sadly the Steam room wasn’t working which was a little disappointing. Excellent staff. Would recommend. Look forward to coming back.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th April 2022

Had a lovely visit to Holyrood Hotel in Edinburgh. Accommodation was lovely and staff, we couldn’t fault. Perfect break.

J Kane said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd April 2022

Great value for money, rooms very comfortable and clean with great walk in shower. We had to contact reception regarding no remote control for TV but this was quickly rectified. Reception staff were very helpful with car parking enquiry.

anne marie simpson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th April 2022

This was an excellent trip . Room was ready on arrival around 1 o’clock .Food in the restaurant was excellent. All round excellent experience

Murdina Mclaughlin said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th April 2022

Lovely hotel,staff very nice and helpful,we were on a meal deal, menu was good we ate again next night as we were to tired to go out had mains only which was reasonably priced.

andrew sanders said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th April 2022

Very pleasant staff and you’d be lucky to find food of this quality at this price anywhere else - chapeau to the chef and assistants !

Dawn Quinn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2022

Stayed 1 night with 73 year old mum and 14 year old daughter. Staff were very helpful and very accommodating. Couldn't help enough. Room was extremely spacious. We had a twin with a extra bed. Dinner and breakfast was amazing. Did not use spa but looked fab. Highly recommended.

Ashley McLachlan said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th March 2022

Excellent value. Staff friendly & helpful

IAN BEATTIE said...

100%
100%
100%
N/A

Stayed 1st April 2022

FIVE STAR

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 28th March 2022

A great hotel. Friendly staff comfortable rooms, great value for money.

A guest said...

60%
90%
80%
10%

Stayed 25th March 2022

We were very much looking forward to our evening meal but were extremely disappointed. A set menu with no choice to order from the a la carte. The staff while helpful and pleasant weren't well trained. The bottle of white wine we ordered arrived luke warm and our main course was not as described on the menu. The chicken should have been served with potatoes but arrived with a mound of chips. When queried, the waiter said there had been a "run" on potatoes. If that was the case we must have been served frozen chips. Our meal in addition to the chips was a chicken breast, half a grilled tomato and a large mushroom. No veg, sauce or gravy. I would have expected better from a 4* hotel and have often had better from a 3*. On complaining at checkout we were given a £20 bill reduction.

Lezley Cassidy said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th March 2022

Hotel was nice and staff were very friendly and efficient, especially the receptionist on arrival. However we were very disappointed to receive an email the afternoon before our stay to say the pool was closed for maintenance. We were advised that we could still use the other facilities however on going down the steam room was also closed and only the sauna open. We went for our evening meal and were informed the fryers were broken so we could not have chips and they could only offer us boiled potatoes, not ideal when one of our party had a burger! Ordered a Diet e only to be told the hotel had run out and were not receiving an order until the next day. We did enjoy our stay and the food was lovely however the reason we had booked was for the use of the leisure facilities which we did not get.

wilma campbell said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 21st March 2022

Fantastic stay .. staff friendly and helpful .Great location. Definitely would return.

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 17th March 2022

Staff were good, pool was too, room a bit dated, bed was comfy, treatments at spa were lovely, would stay again but maybe not b&b, breakfast was slow but tasty on the first 3 days, last day not great as it was buffet, was barely warm and greasy, not tasty, other small negative the shower screen hinge and rubber seal had black mould

Stephen Cassels said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th March 2022

Lovely staff, good rooms, great value especially for location.Drinks expensive but it is a 4 star hotel. We would definitely stay again.

Elaine Salt said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th March 2022

Hotel in great location for many of Edinburgh's places of interest. Very helpful concierge when I called to book an overnight parking spot. The only receptionist very pleasant despite having to deal with numerous guests checking in at the same time. Lovely spacious twin bedded room. Two proper armchairs in which to relax, coffee table plus a further chair and large desk. Very clean and comfortable beds. Very friendly and attentive staff in restaurant. Three choices on 3-course menu for those on dinner, bed and breakfast basis - particularly nice starters and dessert. Lovely pool in basement - at 7am had it to myself for quite a while. Great value for money. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Catriona Main said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 12th March 2022

Had a lovely overnight at this hotel. The room was well equipped and really big. Didn’t have the best view but hey ho. The evening meal was nice too but the wine was very pricey - £11 a glass. All in all our stay was great and was certainly worth the money. Thank you

teresa clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th March 2022

me and my friend took our daughters here for a chillout break, from the moment you booked in evrything was first class the staff, the rooms are spotless well presented,the meal at night was in the bar restaurant tails and service amazing and food.have been here many times its alittle away from princess st but loads round this area cafe, bars shops

Susan Lorenson said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 11th March 2022

Very pleasant stay comfortable bed and rooms